Development image of Forster Oaks, SG1

Forster Oaks, SG1

19th

Ranked 19th out of 20 in Hertfordshire

By Metropolitan Thames Valley

3.18

(42 reviews)

Forster Oaks is nestled in a corner of Hertfordshire, combining elements of town and country. This development is ideally placed for commuting, with journey times from Stevenage railway station into London King’s Cross starting at just 23 minutes.

  • Metropolitan Thames Valley

Developments you may also like

Latest Reviews

3.18

42 total reviews

Stats

Overall

3.19

Facilities

2.79

Design

3.62

Location

3.57

Value

3.10

Management

2.50

Viewing 1-5 out of 42
Forster jokes

T brede (Shared Owner)

Verified Resident

Sept 2022

Nice flats plenty of space in the 2 bedroom and living room area. Windows maybe too big in bedroom. Building manegemnt is whack utter useless clowns. They say have a vote on something but regardless to the outcome they do what they want. I'd move out now if I could

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Shop on site very expensive. But close enough to other stores. Parking is a nightmare. Can't hear traffic inside the house

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They don't respond in a good manner. Don't take anything on board if you bring up an issue. They just do as they want in any way they can get more money

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I'd known about the parking inforcement before. I mean it wasn't there for over a year then they had a resident vote for which the residents voted about 80 percent in favour of not having parking inforcement but they got it in anyway

3

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

3

Value

1

Management


Development with mis-managed potential

Kayla (Shared Owner)

Verified Resident

Aug 2022

The flats are quite spacious. The soundproofing of the walls, ceiling and flooring is terrible, I can hear every steps my neighbours above me make, if they laugh a bit too loud or argue, i can hear everything. The design of the flooring on the balcony doesn’t make sense, it’s difficult to clean your back only without sending your mess on the balcony below. Some of the materials used were cheap, i.e the window and balcony doors. The windows seems to have expanded with the heat which makes them extremely difficult to open/close. The metal on the handle of the balcony doors is rusting.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

There are no guests parking spaces, apart from the 6 available for the WHOLE estate. When we were asked to vote and voted against parking restrictions, Metropolitan still went ahead and put the restrictions in place. The shops/businesses we were told were going to be built ended up being more flats and the few remaining parking spaces which could have been used as additional guests parkings were given to the Budgen which barely has more than 5 customers in at the same time. At least a Morrison will be built walking distance from the estate, so we will have cheaper alternative than Budgens. Bin collections have been missed a few times, which causes bin sheds to overflow and become extremely messy. Bin sheds are easily accessible by anyone outside the estate, a few instances where pieces of furniture were dumped in, and Metropolitan advised that the removal costs of these items would be added to our service charge. There are no cameras around the estate so any evidence of anti social behaviour has to be captured by residents.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In my experience, the response time from the building management is very slow and they hardly provide any solutions.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the parking situation before moving in. I also wish I had know how bad the soundproofing is.

2

Facilities

3

Design

2

Location

3

Value

2

Management


in need of maintenance

MrsTCB87 (Shared Owner)

Verified Resident

Aug 2022

Has been some changes in housing officer since moved but have been helpful since and still awaiting main door issues to be resolved months later but hoping that will hear soon. The community areas starting to look tired and in need of maintenance and refresh of the paint work

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Unfortunately due to covid the shops expected were not used but there is a local budgens. There is due to be a Morrisons supermarket built opposite my block of flats which apprehensive about. Can be the odd idiot driving on the main road fast but it’s ongoing issue for the town. Neighbours in block all friendly

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have had issues resolved with MTVH by email, online repair reporting and complaints process

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

History of voting / information given by other blocks as we were last block to move in and not aware of important decisions

4

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

5

Value

4

Management


Nice place to live but always room for improvement

Chels E (Tenant)

Verified Resident

Aug 2022

The design of the flats and houses of the complex are both internally and externally very modern. I feel the flats are quite spacious and the only difficulty we personally faced with furnishing was designing it around the radiators. The biggest issue overall we've faced is the bathroom, poor ventilation due to the placement has developed ongoing problems. Communal issues however are dealt with quite promptly, there's been a few instances over the years of problems with the water supply or the flat lift that are typically sorted or at least seen to the same day.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

There is only one shop in our complex which is very useful, there is also the prospect of having a superstore in the future. Town centre is less than a 10 minute drive and there are bus stops within a few minute walk of the area. There are also parks and fields within a 10 minute walk. Parking availability is terrible frankly, not every apartment gets a space and there are only 6 guest spaces which have to be paid for. Personally I think it's ridiculous for friends or family to have to pay to come to my home. Location is next to an industrial area so there's a heavy flow of traffic at peak times, occasional trucks and lorries at all hours of the night. The traffic is also unregulated around the industrial area, so there is occasionally people who like to race down the road and skid round into the t-junction opposite the complex.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Our building was the first to be constructed so parking availability was up in the air at the time, if you're a household with more than one vehicle there are limited places nearby where you'd be able to park.

4

Facilities

3

Design

3

Location

4

Value

4

Management


Nice development, badly managed

Jim H (Shared Owner)

Verified Resident

Aug 2022

Really nice flats, without too many quality control issues, sound proofing is good from neighbors and insulation is good, I didn't have to turn my heating on once over winter, if it did get chilly, then by the time I'd cooked dinner it would be warm again. It's cheap to run. The site manager is rubbish as she is only interested in her own self preservation, the bin sheds are poor, with no locks on the doors randomers come and dump their stuff regularly or rummage through the bins. The communal door locks regularly fail so anyone can get in without buzzing or entering a code and despite being asked loads, the site manager won't do let fobs. The parking is a joke, despite residents voting against parking management by parking wardens, they still brought parking tickets in, and people now get ticketed for parking in their own spaces. I was sold the flat having been told I could store my motorcycle in the bike storage shed, and they have now sent threatening letters saying about not keeping motorcycles in there (I will be having a legal battle over this) and the corridors are in a state having never been repaired or maintained.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

It's far enough away from Stevenage centre that you don't really get any of the associated issues, and very close to great ashby and boxwood. Very nice walks and a generally very nice area. Looking forward to the Morrisons

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No they havent, when I have tried to contact them, I have been ignored

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That they would start charging for the visitors parking

3

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

2

Value

1

Management


Page 1 of 9

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Forster Oaks, SG1

19th

Ranked 19th out of 20 in Hertfordshire

More developments in Hertfordshire