Colindale Gardens, NW9

By
Redrow Homes
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 17 in Colindale
4.13 (based on 143 reviews) 4.13 (143 reviews)

Category Scores

4.10
Facilities
4.35
Design
4.17
Location
3.94
Value
3.77
Management

Colindale Gardens is a mixed-use development in the heart of North West London. It features a large range of studio, one, two, three and four-bedroom apartments and duplexes. Additionally, there are a range of three and four-bedroom townhouses alongside cafes, restaurants, retail facilities, a residents-only gym and a concierge service. Colindale Underground station is the nearest transport link with connections to the Northern line. Help to Buy is also available at Colindale Gardens.

 

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
From £360,000
Studio Apartment
0 Bed
1 Bath
505 sq ft
Redrow
More info
From £375,000
One Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
539 sq ft
Redrow
More info
From £500,000
Two Bed Apartment
2 Bed
1 Bath
762 sq ft
Redrow
More info
From £610,000
Three Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
1004 sq ft
Redrow
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 139 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Best development in North West London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

This is a great place to live, it’s a good walking distance from the supermarkets and the train station. The concierge are very helpful indeed and I enjoy having a gym just downstairs. Overall I think it’s a great place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The train is too close and it’s noisy

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking issues

What is the best feature of your home:

I love the bathroom and kitchen design. The door handles and also the built in units.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the amazing 5* review! We hope you continue to have a great time living here.

I was expecting more for this price.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Apartment distribution is good but there are many details which have not been thought out. The quality of many finishings is quite poor.
The gym and the sauna continually have numerous faults.
It takes weeks and many emails to have a response from managment service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is good, the tube station is near but there is not any decent supermarket near, surrounding access roads are poor and always jammed.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Extremely high service charge, extremely poor after-sales service.

What is the best feature of your home:

The flat distribution is very nice, floor windows provide high luminosity, big rooms, very nice isolation makes the flat warm in winter.

3
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best newbuilds in NW London.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Very good location in NW London. Very near to the tube and M1 on the other side. Well built. Very spacious and good cross ventilation. Big rooms. Maintenance of common spaces not up to the mark. Customer services very late to respond. Overall impressive.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very open. Very green.

Maintainance lacking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You can’t change your heating agency. You can’t adopt pets.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded but not adequately. Lots of stuff, they ignore.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

All in one the flats are very nicely done with a good atmosphere inside.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

The flat looks very nice and have spacious living rooms, bathrooms, and balconies. It is quiet, warm, and stylish inside. Most of the fitting in the flat are well done and requires low maintenance. There is floor heating almost in every room except the bathrooms. The bathrooms are equipped with electric radiators. For the floor heating are extra costs to pay every month, even in the summertime, which raises the heating system to an expensive one. After almost two years in the flat some of the fittings, like door handles, window locks, heating system, and thermostats failed and needed to be repaired or replaced.

Kitchen: Generally, good quality and great Siemens appliances. The sink requires high maintenance when frequently used, needs to be cleaned quite often because of the shape of the sink and the water taps design is not good for this shape of the sink. I personally cook a lot and Would love to have more space for kitchen appliances and food.

Bathroom: stylish and pleasant, with great light options. Good looking and up to date tiles on the walls and flooring, which are low in maintenance. There is no floor heating in the bathroom, however, there is a heating element at the wall. The bathroom fittings are generally good concerning the materials, but the sink and the water tab need to be cleaned almost every day because of their rectangular shapes. The water cannot easily drain and stays at the flat horizontal surfaces. There are a lot of glossy surfaces where the fingerprints are seen immediately.
Bedroom: Light color carpet flooring, spacious wardrobe. I personally like the light carpet inside the bedroom but it’s difficult to keep clean. I would wish my bedroom would be more spacious.
Balcony: Great flooring, very spacious equipped with lighting.

All in one the flats are very nicely done with a good atmosphere inside.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Groceries shops are available nearby, although not the largest shops. There is also a Japanese sorcery with takeaways, a Chinese and Italian restaurants, as well as a very nice pub. The Royal Airforce Museum with a free admission offers a pleasant leisure activity. The Middle Essex University is a further addition to the area. The Colindale station is in walkable distance and should become even closer to walk, once the development is finished. The Colindale station itself will be redesign in the near future too.

Enjoyable is the large open space at the development side, there you can exercise.
The Colindale station is within a walkable distance and will become even closer to walk when the development is completed. There are also plans to rebuild the Station itself in the near future.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Would like to know about the noisy police school in front of my flat.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would have changed the sink in the bathroom and in the kitchen, as well as the water tabs. These appliances require a lot of maintenance and cleaning every day if you want it to look good.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Colindale Gardens, NW9
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice and pleasant development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Generally, the flats are very pleasant, warm, quiet, and stylish. Pleasant is the gym with a sauna in the development, which is very close. The development provides a pleasant and modern ambient.

Room ambiance:
There is ventilation in the bathroom, and living room, no ventilation in the sleeping room. The flooring is very good-looking, low-maintenance, and solid. The floor heating offers a great feature and offers warm floors in winter, however it is quite difficult to adjust the right room temperature, as it gets often very warm in the rooms. But that is a typical issue with the floor heating, as the materials get warm and radiate the warmth for a long time, even after the heating has been switched off. Other minuses of the floor heating are the development is that the maintenance, provided by an external company, costs quite a lot of money every month, even during the summer.

Windows: good quality, get cleaned two times a year from outside by an external company. The window in the sleeping room cannot be open wide e.g. for warm summer nights or good airing without a special key.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are about some close grocery shops nearby, such as Tesco, Sainsbury’s, and Coop. Furthermore a pharmacy, bakery, café, Japanese grocery, and Chinese & Italian restaurant, as well as a nice local pub. The Royal Airforce Museum with free admission is a gib plus for the area.
The police school in the neighborhood gets quite loud for one week every month but also delivers a show with music and orchestra. During this time it can be challenging working from home, especially with business calls.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have liked to know the costs of the heating system in advance to better evaluate the costs of renting.

What is the best feature of your home:

The bathroom is very pleasant to be in, nice, cozy, and stylish.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Colindale Gardens, NW9
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Colindale Garden flats

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

The sound of the upstairs neighbors using the bathroom comes to our living room very loud and it is embarrassing when having guests over.
The kitchen and the bathroom sinks are flat and the water doesn’t easily extract from them and it sometimes stays on some parts of the sink.
The intercom our building has had faulty for more than 2,3 months and it took the customer service forever to even respond to us let alone to fix it!
The bedroom doors do not have locks, which is very needed and the rooms are not secure enough.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The shops and local amenities are close to our neighborhood, and the tube station is close (10,15 mins away).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I could’ve known that we have to pay for parking permits for £1000 per year and the fact that the development does not have enough parking spaces to allocate to the residents

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Add more storage space. Add a designated space to hang chandeliers in. Add a built in fibre cable within the flats to allow the choice of choosing other broadband providers, etc.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Redrow Homes

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

I really like the area that the property is located at. I like the design of the development and we have very friendly neighbors. The state management needs to be improved on a high extent, the corridors in our building all have spider webs on the corner which are not cleaned properly. The lifts sometimes smell like trash which they shouldn’t, etc

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very nice and friendly community, very helpful as well.
The shops and restaurants are close to the area and the tube station is just 10 mins away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lack of parking in the development. I wish we knew there is limited parking spaces in the property and whenever we have guests over, they are always supposed to pay £1.50 for an hour and if they decide to stay overnight they have to pay an awful amount of money just for a night for the car…

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The customer service of Redrow is not very good to deal with. They usually take the longest time to get back to us in order fix an issue which is not very satisfying

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely apartments

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

The buildings that we live in look very pleasing from the outside. Inside they are nicely designed, however they do have some weird poor build quality. However overall they make for a really decent home. The aesthetics of the apartment are really sound and look great. I wish some other bits were better thought out though like having granite across the whole bathroom, as opposed to just some walls.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really nice area, which is open with lots of greenery. Sadly the shops are a bit far away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we would have known more about the parking situation as it is quite scarce and expensive to get a parking spot here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management is alright with things. Sadly they aren’t very responsive. Our landlord on the other hand is great.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development with beautiful surroundings!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Overall property and development is good in terms of design and facilities. Build quality is good in general but after-sales service is very slow for rectification of any defects. There is 24*7 concierge service with gym, sauna and steam facilities available for residents as part of the service. There is a large public park on the development and many beautiful surrounding small gardens around buildings. However, need to pay high service charge for these facilities.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Property is located next to Colindale Station, with good availability of small and large grocery stores within reach , not many great local restaurant options to dine in but still many good delivery options available. There are 2-3 NHS GP and dental services available in close proximity.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Expensive community heating bills because of very high standing charges, high service charges for facilities including service charges for public park needs to be paid by residents. Also a number of restrictions including no water softener allowed, no lighting/decorations not allowed in the balcony, no pets, which could be annoying.

What is the best feature of your home:

Spacious, large terrace and breakfast island, very good light throughout the day.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Colindale Gardens is a great development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Colindale Gardens is a great development. Its a Family friendly and has a great green space. Design of homes are very good. Quality is well

However, management team is very weird. They think they are the boss and we have to obey them. I have lived two years such development before, and management team was very kind and helpful. Unfortunately at Colindale Gardens they treat unrespectful, unkind. Always threat about rules and lease.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Colindale is very good located area. You can travel in a half hour to city center. Actually, we haven’t heard before but as a family we liked it.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

In general we are fine
I wish to discuss more about lease structure.

What is the best feature of your home:

Our home is very bright and design very well. We are happy with the quality

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

There’s a lot going for it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

I’ve lived here for 2 years now and I would say it’s largely been a positive experience.
I’d be lying if I said there are no complaints but I also have no regrets choosing this place.
The design of the estate is clean, modern and spacious.
The apartments are solid.
The park, concierge and gym are great to have.
Tube-takers will love being so close to a station.
Drivers will love being so close to the north circular road.
Hungry people will love the diverse food options.
Shoppers will appreciate Brent Cross shopping centre for their free parking.
These are some of the reasons why I continue to live here.

The thing that annoys me the most.
As far as I’m aware, this estate does not allow pet dogs which is a policy I actually appreciate.
However, it’s obvious that there are some who choose to break this rule even though they have no legitimate reason to.
I’ll just say there seems to be a correlation between that and many cases of dog poop lying around.

Hardly a dealbreaker though.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like:
Diverse food options.
Dislike:
Terrible drivers on the roads.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Some might be interested in knowing the location of the social housing blocks in the estate.
Throughout the whole buying process I was not informed once.

What is the best feature of your home:

The underfloor heating is perhaps my favourite feature.
No radiators in sight.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great London Living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Beautiful complex. Just need better access to the underground station. Often lights are out on the path and this is not the most safe for people walking home alone. Would also benefit from some path covering to block rain.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Mix of new and old. Some parts of the area are fresh and have great facilities and shops, others are outdated and don’t match the residents.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Long access to tube

What is the best feature of your home:

Complex is a wonderful place to live with great service

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The NW9 location to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Good design, spacious park for all to enjoy. Property management is of a good standard, and the facilities are kept in a good state generally. The specs of the flats are of good quality. Otherwise, I think the property management fees are above average.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not many amenities in the vicinity at the moment, otherwise just a short walk from station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The time it would take before the through road to the station opens.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would improve the noise insulation in the walls separating flats

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Martin,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are so happy to hear you are enjoying the design and property management. We hope you continue to have an excellent time living here!

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9
User submitted image of Colindale Gardens, NW9

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Redrow Homes

Location

Redrow Homes

About Redrow Homes

Redrow Homes Limited is one of the largest residential developers in the UK. It has a network of 15 divisions…
Number of developments 16

4.02

Average rating based on 272 reviews

View company