Clippers Quay, M50

Clippers Quay, M50

By
Grainger, Amstone Ventures
Ranked 33rd out of 58 in Manchester
4.06 (86 reviews) 4.06 (86 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.30
Facilities
4.10
Design
4.49
Location
3.65
Value
3.88
Management

Clippers Quay is a residential development by Grainger and Amstone Ventures.  Designed by Leach Rhodes Walker Architects, it comprises of over 600 one, two and three-bedroom apartments. In addition, it features an on-site gym, residents lounge, cinema room, work zones and private gardens. The location is ideal with bus and tram routes on residents’ doorstep.  

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

DO NOT LIVE HERE

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Since living here there have been a large number of GDPR breaches. Within the first week we knew every single residents personal email address and full name. Later, information on what dog breeds lived here, flat numbers and photos of inside other peoples apartments were wrongly shared. Your personal information is NOT safe under this management.

There is a huge problem with organised crime in the area which Clippers are aware of, particularly regarding the frequent bike and parcel thefts. Unfortunately despite of all this, there are several doors around the building that do not close or lock properly and back gates that have been broken for nearly over a year which impinges on residents security.

No rent compensation has been given for the closure of the amenities. Despite being a FSTE 250, multi-million pound company, they have claimed they cannot afford to offer any compensation. The amenities in their words are “an additional benefit to renting at Clippers Quay and not part of the rental breakdown” which includes a Gym, Cinema Room, Communal and Dining Area. So arguably if all amenities were removed they would still charge £900+ a month for a one bedroom apartment, which is completely ludicrous. Clearly their rent prices do consider these amenities ​as it is Clippers main selling point and the reason why we and many other residents moved here.

There have been some inconsistent menial attempts to host community events such as a pumpkin competition and a glass of mulled wine in the reception and recently a food vendor parking up outside that you pay for yourself. In comparison, Clipper’s competitors like The Trilogy and Duet have organised a wealth of community care packages and events such as delivering a Rudy’s Pizza and Donuts to every door, hosting Chocolate and Cocktail Masterclasses, giving out free chilled drinks, ice cream and breakfast bundles. We were promised that in joining Clippers we would become part of a growing community, but a huge amount of residents here, including ourselves, feel that Clippers have done a complete disservice to its residents out of greed and complacency, especially during the pandemic where it was more important than ever to pay attention to our community.

Clippers Quay is marketed as a “pet friendly” rental company, this is FALSE. The residents had to contact Dogs Trust recently when Clippers released a new pet policy which banned and discriminated against certain pet breeds living here, some of which already lived in the building. Disgustingly they also led us to believe it was done in association with the Dogs Trust themselves. The Dogs Trust later issued a statement saying that they will NEVER discriminate against any dog and they had absolutely nothing to do with the pet policy. Clippers have also put in place restrictions on where our pets can go and recently said that they are no longer allowed on certain grass areas and need to be on a lead at all times.

The huge number of issues we have had during our time here have been met with nonchalant responses and we have been totally disregarded. This review box is honestly not big enough for me to fully explain, but there are a huge number of other problems we have experienced with WiFi, parcels, false promises etc. Clippers will always blame other people for their wrongdoings, they do not take any responsibility and have clearly outlined that their mission is to make as much money as possible at the expense of their residents. Please save yourself the hassle we and many others have had to go through and do not consider living here. We will certainly not be renewing our contract.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a huge amount of bike theft that goes on in the supposed ‘secure bike sheds’ inside the ‘secure underground car park’. When me and my parter moved here we secured our bikes in the shed with the highest quality locks and within 24 hours they were gone, along with a number of others. The doors were smashed in and lock sawed through. After speaking to other residents I had learnt this was a regular occurrence and a shocking number of bikes had been stolen. Grainger and Clippers knew this, but still encouraged us to store our bikes there and said that it was secure and had CCTV, completely misleading. It is not a safe place for anyone’s property.

Co-op is just on the corner and very convenient, however there is a huge amount of theft that goes on there and only recently the front of the shop was smashed down in an attempt to steal the cash machine money.

Exchange Quay tram stop is close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– The management is awful and incompetent.
– Their “Pet Friendly” marketing is beyond misleading.
– Poor value for money.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is good for easy travel.
Some of the reception staff are lovely and very helpful.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

5* living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The building management here are fantastic as they always communicate regularly with residents about in house events, competitions or what’s going on in the area. They have an excellent system for parcel management and obtaining utility information. The facilities at Clippers Quay are second to none and by far supersede anywhere else I’ve lived previously. The quality of the flat and the furniture included is excellent and well worth the price when you factor in the location and in house amenities, like the gym, barbers, coffee shop and cinema room to name a few. The staff I’ve interacted with have all been nothing but amazing from the day we moved in and always have a smile on their face. Paris is possibly the most cheerful person I’ve ever met and he can’t do enough to help if you need it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property has excellent transport links into media city, the city centre and further out into Manchester. It’s close to superstores for food shopping and also has outlets nearby for other shopping. There’s a great selection of restaurants and pubs nearby in media city, or a short tram ride into the city centre for an even bigger array of choice.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known more about parking arrangements if I have a visitor over, eg is it possible to get a temporary one night permit or if it’s something to pay for.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The team have always been very quick to respond and arrange for someone to come and take a look at an issue we raised regarding the flat. They sent a maintenance man up the same day and ensured all COVID guidelines were followed to get it looked at.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

thank you so much for your kind words and we are over the moon that your are enjoying your stay with us.

Great Flat, Poor Value for Money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design of the flats is great, ours is very spacious compared to a lot of city centre flats and get lots of light. A downside is that the air filters mean that smells coming from other flats (food/smoke/etc) travel between flats which isn’t always nice. During COVID we had no access to the shared facilities which of course isn’t CQ’s fault, but they refused to consider a rent reduction based on this, and refused to let us use the gardens of the empty block despite not having a balcony or garden ourselves. Dogs also aren’t allowed to run around or be off lead in the designated “dog garden”. The building management staff are incredibly friendly and attentive and prompt whenever we’ve needed them. Overall however the value for money is poor, as you can get a 3 bed house with a garden for the same price in areas that are a similar distance to city centre.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walking distance to city centre or 10 minutes on the tram that stops right outside. Walking distance to Media City too, however the Quays have gone downhill recently in terms of crime and ASB and you wouldn’t always feel safe walking here at night

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Dogs aren’t actually allowed to run off lead in the communal gardens, and there is a LOT of litter & dog mess that doesn’t get picked up in the gardens so if you have a scavenger dog you need to watch they don’t eat scraps out of the bushes like ours did!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The cost! Or the access to outside space. A balcony or roof garden would have made a world of difference us, but flats with balconies come with a hefty price tag too.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
1
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback.

Good start, but could do more.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The flats are nice and modern and each block includes a different set of furniture. Some sets are better than others- I would have expected the more expensive building to feature a more classy style, but it doesn’t. I expected the kitchens to also include a splashback that covers the kitchen wall as some other developments do for around the same price. The kitchen also has no under-cupboard lighting, making it less attractive in darker scenarios. This can also be said for the bathroom. There are no lights to shine from the mirror in the bathroom, making it hard to see when washing etc. The bathroom is also a bit plasticky. It was cool the first time I saw it, but I would prefer a tiled interior with additional lighting. The amenities (communal spaces) were shut due to Covid-19, but I’d expect at least a drop in rent or exchange as these areas really sold it to us.

It seems very quiet around here, pandemic or not. There doesn’t seem to be that much of a community, however I believe it has picked up since the Bee Orchid bar opened.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Clippers Quay is situated in the right place if you’re commuting to MediaCity or the City Centre and don’t want the hustle and bustle. Shops and amentities are available but selection is a bit sparse without travelling by car at the moment as the tram is insufficient or too slow. Clippers Quay is near the White City retail park which is very handy, with Tesco just up the road. The complex recently had a bar open, the Bee Orchid, which is a lovely, independent bar. This also includes the Co-op and Cult & Coffee- a barbers/coffee shop. However, recently, Clippers Quay announced that Grainger themselves have taken over not one, but two of their own units, which will limit hospitality growth and has made us unsure whether to renew our contract for next year, this is a very poor decision and we are very disappointed. There are enough offices next door at Exchange Quay, and I wouldn’t expect to pay the price we do for another business’ benefit. It doesn’t do anything for us, or other residents who came here expecting to enjoy the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The internet isn’t as great as I thought it would be, the service hasn’t operated brilliantly during the pandemic and having to work from home.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I’d improve a few of the cosmetics in the flat as for the price, I feel it could be better.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your feedback and we will continue to improve our service.

Nice, but not luxury.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Grainger have made a good attempt at making Clippers Quay a modern, sociable and exciting place to live, although I wouldn’t quite agree with their claim that the apartments are ‘luxury’. Whilst Grainger have incorporated some great features such as communal games area, gym and theatre, they have held back on a variety of features I would expect to find in a ‘luxury apartment’. I would expect the back wall behind the kitchen worktops where the sink etc is, to be finished with a wipeable splash back (like a glass or a plastic), instead it’s only matt white paint which is impossible to clean without re-painting so ends up looking grubby. I would expect more integrated kitchen lighting, such as a led lighting strip on the under side of the cupboards. I’d expect a built in microwave and wine cooler. I would expect the bathroom to be of at least a modern tiled style. The white plastic style in the bathroom appears modern at first glance, but it feels cheap, and likely is. You’re essentially standing in a plastic box. As a result the flooring in the bathroom isn’t solid and makes quite a thud as you move around. I’d also like to see chrome plated wall electricity sockets and touch screen intercoms too.

All of the above features mentioned appear in other luxury flats of a similar price point in and around Manchester, so I’d expect Clippers Quay had them too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Personally love the area as it’s in between MediaCity and the city centre, so it’s extremely fast to get to either on the tram (around 7 minutes for both). It’s located on the Quays, which is a lovely area. It’s great to be able to step foot outside the apartment block and go for a lovely walk or a run around the Quays. There are a good amount of amenities nearby too, the co-op, Cult & Coffee, The Bee Orchid and more too.

I dislike that the area a has a high crime rate for thefts such as bicycles and mobile phones. I don’t feel safe walking alone at night unfortunately.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you can, avoid moving into any apartments facing Trafford Road. We viewed the apartment at a lunchtime, so sound levels were low so we didn’t experience the true volume until we moved in. When it’s rush hour you can’t have the window open whilst watching tv or taking a phone call as it’s that loud with the traffic. The concrete paths and brickwork means the sound bounces up the walls, we can hear every conversation of pedestrians on the ground (were 5 floors up). I understand this is a given with living in a busy city on a main road, but it’s a nightmare in summer when windows need to be open. That said, the windows are excellent and do a great job of cancelling the noise when they’re closed.

Another point, it’s great the WiFi is free, but it’s pretty terrible. Virgin rarely provide the 100 mbps they advertise, it’s more like 30 mbps, which isn’t bad but it’s not what was advertised. Grainger would have been better to do a deal with Hyperoptic to offer all tenants free Hyperoptic, as Hyperoptic without a doubt the best internet provider I’ve ever been with. We’ve requested Hyperoptic cables be put in and enough residents have registered interest so hopefully in the future that may be an option, although it’ll be frustrating as of course won’t be free.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Average. They seem to not care about resident concern. Parking is £100 pcm, and spaces are crammed in. I was given a tiny sized car parking space, with barely any room either side. Meanwhile cars of a similar size has metres of space next to them. I asked to move to an unallocated spot and was told I couldn’t.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your constructive comments it is appreciated. I will feedback to the team and continue to improve our service. We hope you continue to enjoy your stay with us.

A great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The one-bedroom flats are very spacious, much more so than others we found in a similar price range. Despite the kitchen and lounge being joined, they really feel like separate rooms. The bathroom is also spacious, with plenty of storage space, and the bedroom is a good size, though is furnished with a double rather than a king size bed. We love the residents lounge area, and often use it when working from home. The 24hr onsite gym is also great, and really handy if you’re sleeping odd hours. Also, the staff on reception are some of the friendliest people you’ll meet. They really make the place feel homely. The only thing we’ve complained to management about is the damaged vinyl flooring. Unfortunately, they were unwilling to fix some holes before we moved in, and so we’ve had to cover them with a rug. Apart from that, we’d definitely recommend Clippers!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is perfect for our needs. The tram station is just across the road and gets us into the city centre in about 10 minutes. There’s a small co-op just outside the reception entrance, and a few larger supermarkets within walking distance. The building is generally quiet, though dogs can get a little over-excited at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We should have been made aware that the damaged floors would not be fixed. We signed contracts assuming they would be, though this was only hinted at.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

We would switch out the double bed with a king-size.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are always striving to improve our service so we will take you points on board. Thanks again and I hope you enjoy your stay with us.

Homely Apartment Building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Management are easy to contact and generally respond quickly. All the concierges are really friendly and great to chat to giving the property a homely feel. The apartments are pretty sound proof, I’ve rarely heard noise from my neighbours. The gym is great with good facilities and the lounge is good for both doing work or socialising. The apartment itself is really spacious, one of the only bedrooms I have had plenty of storage and wardrobe space. The kitchen feels separate enough to the living room and the sofa is super comfy. Living room is between the 2 bedrooms which is nice because you can have some space from flatmates should you need it. We’ve not had any problems with either the aartment or entire building since moving in 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are plenty of supermarkets a 10 minute walk away and the tram is over the road for quick journies into the town centre. There is a nice walk by the canal to Media City which is good to do on sunny days.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We didn’t realise there was a massive billboard across the road. The light from it in the evenings can be seen through the bredroom blinds which can be disruptive to sleep but didn’t take long to get used to. The building hosts social events and sometimes competitions with prizes which are fun. There are also social groups to get involved with like a book club or mother’s group etc. It’s nice to be able to get to know your neighbours and socialise with new people if you want to.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

With Coronavirus we asked about potential help with the rent and management replied within 3 days with a possible and helpful solution should we need it.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jenny,

Thanks for your review. We are glad you are enjoying your time with us. If you should of any other feedback whilst your with us please do not hesitate to raise it with management.

Thanks again and keep entering those competitions!!

Clippers Quay Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2020

The development itself is great. I think that the building has been developed to a high standard – it has excellent features and the design is modern and clean. The facilities within the development are excellent, in particular the gym and the downstairs ‘common area’ are definite selling points when it comes to these flats. The staff that work at the development are incredibly welcoming and helpful, in particular Paris and Jacob who will provide advice / help with anything, without hesitation. The property management team that run the development remain supportive and involved, which is a big plus. I find it a shame that these flats are only available to rent, and not for sale as I think they would be a good investment opportunity.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has all necessary amenities – a tram stop nearby, multiple shops / big retailers, a big gym and an area for walking around.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to have seen bigger flats on offer, in particular with slightly wider bedrooms and living area. I would also like to see comfier sofa’s being used in the flats where furniture is provided (although I note from looking at the newer flats more recently furnished, that these appear to be different and so maybe this has already been addressed?)

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

Not Worth it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2020

Issues getting our deposit back:
Special mention to the building manager who will rinse you for as much as your deposit as she can. FYI they charge a cleaning fee for menial things that constitute to general wear and tear.

They tried to increase our rent by £50 (making the total rent for a one bed flat £900) after only one year.

Furniture is rubbish quality – the sofa is so cheap it’s comfier to sit on the floor.

Issues we’ve had:
– Locks changed twice because they were a fire hazard / broken
– Sink flooded our kitchen
– Shower leaked all over the floor EVERY time it was used
– Kitchen fan broke and had to be entirely replaced
– Blinds in the bedroom had to be reattached because they were put on poorly

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location for commuting is good – the tram stop is only over the road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lies we where told:
– The building is pet friendly – they constantly restrict access for dogs. Now they’re no longer allowed on the grass and must be kept on a lead at all times.
– There will be a hairdresser downstairs – big fat lie by the person who made up our viewing as he went along
– Guest parking – again big fat lie at our viewing
– The internet is ‘very fast’ – regularly had to be turned on and off due to issues
– The communal areas are open 24/7 – they close at 10pm
– Windows where only cleaned ONCE during the entire year – absolutely filthy

What is the best feature of your home:

The location for commuting is good – the tram stop is only over the road.

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Life at Clippers Quay

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2020

We was one of the first tenants in Clippers Quay and they are a very long way away from keeping tenants here for a long duration.

So, where do I start. When we moved in we was advised that there would be guest parking. We moved in, no guest parking. So if you have guests staying over please do expect to pay £20 a night because you live right next to old Trafford. If not, feel free to buy a parking space from them for an extra £100 that you will barley use.

When we moved in there had been many problems with the house;

– under the kitchen sink they had not cleaned any of the building work which left loads of dust, screws and a Stanley blade covered up behind the board
– the door locks kept falling off everyones door, and they tried to charge tenants £50 to fix them. Then, the whole complex had to get their locks changed, TWICE!
– when you go for a viewing look at the hallway floors, near each door you will see big grey circles. This is because nearly every other shower in the building has had a leak.
– we moved in under the assumption the communal area was 24/7, they then closed this down at 10pm.
– they said the building was pet friendly, now no pets are allowed off the lead in the communal area garden so all pet owners only have to walk 20 minutes to the nearest field to let your dog stretch their legs
– the fan above the oven broke, TWICE and even to the day we moved out made the sound of a petrol scooter when turned on

Following the fantastic service we had received after just 12, they felt their 5* apartments vouched for an uplift of £50 a month, bringing the monthly rent to £900. Look down the road by Elmira Way and you can get a 2 bed for £850 (we had just a 1 bed apartment)

To round up the fantastic property management expertise, they for whatever reason felt the need to include a £50 deep cleaning fee upon our departure. Given my partner spent 4 hours before moving out, and we moved into a building site I was completely shocked. I even showed her the pictures and she kindly told me to raise a case with the TDS who hold the deposit.

I suggested that they should consider implementing a cleaning processes to apartments when tenants move out so that we are not hit with this unhidden fee. I’m pretty sure they would have a cleaner go in and clean something when they move out (you hope) so why they feel the need to charge people this fee is beyond me.

If you want to live in a cheaply built, poorly managed apartment then Clippers Quay is the place for you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The areas itself is great, everything is on the doorstep which is one of few good things about living at Clippers Quay.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the property managers live on Cuckoo Land

What is the best feature of your home:

There was not really one. The bedside tables maybe. Good luck trying to snuggle up on those tacky grey couches. I feel like the hunchback after 12 months

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we would appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If you could send any feedback to info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

The flat itself is nice but the management is awful

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The flat itself is nice, it has a good communal area and a gym. However it is overpriced and my experience with management has been awful. We were lied to about our move in date so we made arrangements around this date only to have all of our emails ignored and we had to move all of our belongings out of our previous place and couldn’t move in until the following Monday during work. We also had an issue with our lock and heard that a lot of other people had the same problem so we went to maintenance and I was spoken down to and manipulated to the point that I left feeling as if I was in the wrong for informing her of the issue. A month later all of the locks were changed as there was in fact a fault however I did not receive an apology.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like how close it is to transport links, supermarkets and media city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how awful the management team were, we’re currently waiting for our move out date because of numerous negative encounters with them.

What is the best feature of your home:

The communal area is really nice and the gym as well

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we do appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

Grainger Review

Review Date Apr 2021

Apartments are modern but fairly standard. Furniture is cheap and breaks easily. Location by the canal is great and good for walking. Best feature is that they are pet friendly (however we receive regular emails saying dogs have to be on a lead around the development, which seems unnecessary and there is an extremely strict pet policy). I think it is very overpriced for what it actually is, paying upwards of £1000 per month for an apartment outside of the city centre is very expensive and we have found that we can rent a house with more space and a garden for less money per month. Grainger also charge £100 per month on top of the already costly rent for a parking space, do not allow more than one space per apartment and issue fines if visitors park in any parking spaces.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A few bars/restaurants in media city, but best to use the tram line to get to the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had known that we weren’t allowed more than one parking space per apartment, we have had so many issues finding a second space that is close by.

What is the best feature of your home:

Balcony space and view is good on our side of the building and the main reason we chose to live there is due to it being pet friendly.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Plenty of potential but poor communication and handling of the lockdown period

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Life at clippers quay was great for the first few weeks, but in the last couple of months the quality of the service has been below par. The shared facilities were closed for more than 20 weeks between March 2020 and April 2021 and the responses to apartment defect repairs has been disorganised, delayed and executed poorly. Concerns were raised collectively by residents and management have stressed that improving the service was a top priority but are not willing to temporarily offer rent reduction or some kind of incentive/compensation for the months worth of facilities closures/reduced service. This is a shame as the residential team are all really nice but ultimately the level of service that was expected at the signing of the tenancy agreement has not been upheld and the residents have had to take the hit by still paying full rent or not being offered any alternative compensation/support during the lockdown period. I hope to update this review once the service improves.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

salford quays is a very nice and upcoming area with brand new apartments, offices, shops etc popping up all the time. It is a very vibrant and upcoming location for many young professionals and offers fantastic transport links with the trams and generally very accessible place. Only issue is parking

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

that the company reserves the right to close the shared amenities and still charge full price for rent. It’s the first thing advertises and shown round on the viewing so it would be better if it was emphasises to potential new customer about this

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

better quality furniture, particularly in the lounge area

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Money hungry landlord

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Communal area nicely presented with the cinema and dinning room, great gym, completely opposite interior design in the apartments. Looks cheaply,poor ikea dressers, run down carpets, linoleum throughout the kitchen,living space and bathroom-which look like sth from a ferry boat.
Unfortunately we stayed there during lockdown and most of the building facilities got closed (gym and communal area, 2 reasons why we decided on the apartment). Eventho paying a higher rate for them the management never thought to offer a discount on rent.
But then again now we can’t even seem to get out own money back from them. They find bogus reasons to deprive you from your deposit, so watch out. Make a video as soon as you rent the apartment, specially if you feel it wasn’t professionally cleaned.
We paid our rent in full upfront and now they re charging us delayed rent fees??!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location, great walks to media city, nice views,if you have the the balcony facing the canal

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s a guy that comes and sings oasis songs in the late evenings, record every little damage in the apartment prior to moving in, only one lift in the building- sometimes smells like piss and vommit.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of the home was probably the balcony with the amazing view, the gym and the communal area-which we didn’t get to use as much.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your review and feedback. Its unfortunate these uncertain times have made your stay more difficult but we have tried to make our building safe for all to use and to a heard to the government guidelines. If terms of fees you have been charged for late rent fees please contact, if you haven’t already, to look into this.

Terrible Terrible Management!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The building design is minimalism and cannot be faulted . However the management team are the worst! when communicating with them or giving them a complaint, they only give you a diplomatic reply and nothing is resolved from it. We were promised to have 24/7 access to communal area hence the high prices for this place however due to some aniti-social behaviour- they severely reduce this without deducting our rent towards that. When parcels were stolen, they couldn’t be more unhelpful as it is. Tenants there have so much anger towards the management due to their unprofessionalism and uselessness .

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The apartments are a good size however for what you’re paying- the quality is not great. The reception team cannot be faulted. The vinyl floor has been a re-occurring problem where they would get mark and the vinyl sheets would separate due to the sofa feet. The security for the place is the most disgusting. In the ‘secure’ bike storage, multiple bikes have been stolen and although they have cctv- they never seem to be able to catch anyone with it. For you to be able to access the bike storage, you need a fob however the lock seems to be faulty as people can just open it with force hence bikes being stolen. Multiple of parcels have been stolen from their ‘secure’ parcels room as well. Also for a pet friendly place- you’re not allowed to have your pet on the grass in the garden.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Actual reviews for the place and none of these fake ones as they do not deserve such high reviews for a terrible place

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No they have not. All they do is reply with the most diplomatic respond and then leave you hanging. USELESS MANAGEMENT

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Clippers Living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

I really enjoy living here. Close to so many aneminites and a good size for a one bed flat. Maintenance are onsite most of the time and are happy to help with all problems. 24/7 reception who will collect your parcel and shared areas often have books and games which is nice. Some residents leave dog mess in the lifts which is quite a downfall, but not the propertys fault.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The are is good it is close to the city centre and walking distance from media city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very glad we went for a flat without a juliette balcony. They arent very well placed if you had them open it would block your telly and the normal windows open just as wide

What is the best feature of your home:

The shared area and cinema are a lovely addition to renting here.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Resident,

Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you are enjoying your time with us. If you ever have any feedback for us during your time with us please let us know.

Thanks!

Fabulous Easy Renting

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2020

The building, design and even furnishing done in CQ is brilliant. Accompanying this the team from start to finish have been easy and pleasant to deal with. From the first viewing to signing the tenancy to now with any issues which may occur whilst living here all the staff members have done their very best to make it as peaceful as possible. Nothing but good things to say about the whole development!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Clippers Quay is located in a perfect spot close enough to feel like you’re in the city but just far away enough to be able to take a breath and relax without the hustle and bustle.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not really everything was laid out pretty straight forward.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any disputes or issues that have been raised the team have dealt with quickly and efficiently and have always made sure to follow up afterwards

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

Overpriced

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2020

Absolutely not worth the money! Moved here because it was advertised as pet friendly, well friendly is a stretch. Rules are constantly implemented to restrict dogs.

Management team are shocking and lie to you about thing being improved over email, then no apology when it turns out to be false.

Repairs not done.

Garden not maintained.

OVERPRICED

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is fantastic and improving all of the time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the management didnt know how to run a building.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Management.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we do appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service

Good value for money and nice decor

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

It’s quite different to privately owned properties whereas here is quite consistent and it’s good quality. Nothing yet has broken or worn so its still in good condition. Considering all of the extra facilities it is good value and is good in comparison to some other properties.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s close to everything and there’s a lot of bars and coffee shops. Although you’re not in the city centre there is still lots to do.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t think so, everyone was really helpful and it was explained to us clearly.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are helpful, sometimes it can take a while as things get fixed based on priority of the problem but things are always fixed relatively quickly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Really appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear you have had a great time with us!

Good experience, great staff

Review Date Aug 2019

I love my apartment, we have a gym, we have a telly room, and a dining room etc which is great. All the staff are really nice, deliveries always get here. They gave me a new key when I needed! Everyone really friendly.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The tram is right across the road, there is food around! The main road is hard to pull in on in terms of parking. I feel safe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I could have got a balcony, I didn’t know this which is a shame!

What is the best feature of your home:

The bathroom is an en-suite, big mirror, all white which is lovely!

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us. We are always looking to improve our residents experience so if you ever have any further feedback please let us know by emailing info@graingerplc.co.uk

Great location but poor storage space

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The sofas are very stiff, uncomfortable and small, the other furniture is average quality. I think I pay a reasonable amount but I moved in a while ago and since then the prices have gone up. There are staff working 24 hours and respond within 15 minutes usually. The lifts always seem to be broken which shouldn’t be happened as it’s a new build.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like how easy it is to get easy it is to get to everything but it’s not right in the centre so it’s out of the chaos.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the lack of storage as I didn’t view the flat myself but there isn’t even 1 cupboard.

What is the best feature of your home:

I would definitely say the best feature is the location.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and that you feel we need to improve our service in certain areas. Your feedback will continue to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

Poor management, but overall nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The design of the apartments are nice and modern as its a new building. The management is the main problem here, there were people smoking weed in the flat below us and the managers lied to us about having meetings with them when actually no correspondence took place. As a result we had to move apartment which is smaller and doesn’t have the same view. Also the gym is not big enough for everyone in the apartments.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love how the metro is across the road and media city ks close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

They told us before we moved in the cinema and communal dining rooms were free, now you have to put a £50 deposit down which has to get refunded on your card

What is the best feature of your home:

We love the big windows in our apartment amd the bathrooms are like wet rooms and easy to clean

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and that you feel we need to improve our service in certain areas. Your feedback will continue to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

The property is modern and the area is quiet

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The interior decor is very modern, clean and the flat is not cluttered. I also like the communal area as it is a good space to socialise with a pool table, books and board games. From my experience the maintenance team are quick to respond and friendly. From living in other properties I have also found here to better value for money.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it’s quiet when you want it to be and also how close it is to the media city and the tram stop.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything that I wish I had known before moving in.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I wish my flat was higher up so I had a better view, however this would cost more money.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Really appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear you have had a great time with us.

Amazing!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Communal areas are clean and everyone is really friendly.
really modern in the apartment and all the utilities are great.
exceptional communal areas, well maintained and staff are vigilant. The shared movie room is great and you can rent out the communal dining rooms for private dinners which we love doing.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Public transport is very convenient and plenty of food shops to choose from

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

They explained everything to us before we moved in. We feel really lucky for finding it because it wasnt well advertised.

What is the best feature of your home:

The proximity of it to the centre of town is great, 5 minutes away

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Really appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear you have had a great time with us!

The building is lovely but maintenance team are rubbish

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The building itself is really nice in terms of decor and facilities. However we have experienced so many issues with the maintenance team: taking a month to respond to the intercom not working; the door locks kept breaking; and the WiFi is awful. They don’t give enough keys for the amount of people living in the flat so you have to get them cut yourself.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love how close we are to the tram station and media city

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the actual cost for the council tax as we were lied to about that.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I wish the rooms were bigger and there we’re more en suites.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and that you feel we need to improve our service in certain areas. Your feedback will continue to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

Rent elsewhere I would say

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Very disappointed with this property. The property management is the worst aspect. Things are drastically miss sold when you view the property and I would highly recommend looking at every other property option before looking at grainger. The amenities are not included with your property rental and grainger reserve the right to withhold these from residents when they desire. So do not be fooled by the look… they are budget accommodation in a fancy frock

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Noisy main road.
Very thin walls so you can hear your neighbours watching television late at night. The local area isn’t much to write home about.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the shower water pressure is poor.
I wish I had known not to believe when they said that grainger were different from the poor reputation of all other bloc management companies.
I wish I had known that outside contractors cannot work in the building and so it takes an incredibly long time to get things fixed.
I wish I had known that you are not entitled to the amenities although they are the first thing that clippers quay show you when you come for a viewing.
I wish I had know how much I would dislike my experience before I signed on that dotted line.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature is probably the big windows allowing lots of natural light. But it is ruined by the unoccupied show properties which have their lights on 24 hours a day creating a flood of light into my bedroom at night. (Amongst a tremendous waste of electricity)

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 1

4.05

Average rating based on 86 reviews

View company
Grainger
Number of developments 19

4.15

Average rating based on 335 reviews

View company