Clippers Quay, M50

By
Grainger, Amstone Ventures
Ranked 13th out of 26 in Manchester
4.29 (based on 66 reviews) 4.29 (66 reviews)

Category Scores

4.48
Facilities
4.26
Design
4.59
Location
3.86
Value
4.09
Management

Clippers Quay is a residential development by Grainger and Amstone Ventures.  Designed by Leach Rhodes Walker Architects, it comprises of over 600 one, two and three-bedroom apartments. In addition, it features an on-site gym, residents lounge, cinema room, work zones and private gardens. The location is ideal with bus and tram routes on residents’ doorstep.  

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£900 pcm
Apartment 107
1 Bed
1 Bath
525 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£930 pcm
Apartment 809
1 Bed
1 Bath
525 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£1,170 pcm
Apartment 912
2 Bed
2 Bath
668 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£1,090 pcm
Apartment 604
2 Bed
2 Bath
711 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£1,450 pcm
Apartment 311
3 Bed
2 Bath
1020 sq ft
Grainger
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 66 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Clippers Quay Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2020

The development itself is great. I think that the building has been developed to a high standard – it has excellent features and the design is modern and clean. The facilities within the development are excellent, in particular the gym and the downstairs ‘common area’ are definite selling points when it comes to these flats. The staff that work at the development are incredibly welcoming and helpful, in particular Paris and Jacob who will provide advice / help with anything, without hesitation. The property management team that run the development remain supportive and involved, which is a big plus. I find it a shame that these flats are only available to rent, and not for sale as I think they would be a good investment opportunity.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has all necessary amenities – a tram stop nearby, multiple shops / big retailers, a big gym and an area for walking around.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to have seen bigger flats on offer, in particular with slightly wider bedrooms and living area. I would also like to see comfier sofa’s being used in the flats where furniture is provided (although I note from looking at the newer flats more recently furnished, that these appear to be different and so maybe this has already been addressed?)

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

Terrible experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Design and layout of building is ok but there are always problems with the dishwashers and washing machines. We had no hot water for weeks. The staff never wanted to help us. They even charged us hundreds of pounds when moving out for no reason whatsoever! They have caused us a huge amount of stress.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local area is fine however management is terrible.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had of known how badly managed the property is

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the management. They will bleed you dry for your money and charge you for everything and anything that they can

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you have a bad experience with us and we will endeavour to take your feedback on board to try to improve our services. If you wish to comment further please email us at info@graingerplc.co.uk

Clippers quay review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Lovely development with a brilliant community. Amendments are good and the staff from reception are friendly and helpful. Let down by some issues regarding dogs in the communal areas being condemned by the management. The size of the apartments are good value for money

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has great public transport connections to Manchester City centre and a convenient shop open most hours of the day with good staff

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the proximity to old Trafford leads to busy match days

What is the best feature of your home:

Apartment size, location, amenities and community.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jon,

Thanks for your review and we are really pleased you are enjoying your time with us. We always welcome feedback so feel free to let us know anything that can improve your stay with us.

Thanks again

Homely Apartment Building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Management are easy to contact and generally respond quickly. All the concierges are really friendly and great to chat to giving the property a homely feel. The apartments are pretty sound proof, I’ve rarely heard noise from my neighbours. The gym is great with good facilities and the lounge is good for both doing work or socialising. The apartment itself is really spacious, one of the only bedrooms I have had plenty of storage and wardrobe space. The kitchen feels separate enough to the living room and the sofa is super comfy. Living room is between the 2 bedrooms which is nice because you can have some space from flatmates should you need it. We’ve not had any problems with either the aartment or entire building since moving in 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are plenty of supermarkets a 10 minute walk away and the tram is over the road for quick journies into the town centre. There is a nice walk by the canal to Media City which is good to do on sunny days.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We didn’t realise there was a massive billboard across the road. The light from it in the evenings can be seen through the bredroom blinds which can be disruptive to sleep but didn’t take long to get used to. The building hosts social events and sometimes competitions with prizes which are fun. There are also social groups to get involved with like a book club or mother’s group etc. It’s nice to be able to get to know your neighbours and socialise with new people if you want to.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

With Coronavirus we asked about potential help with the rent and management replied within 3 days with a possible and helpful solution should we need it.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jenny,

Thanks for your review. We are glad you are enjoying your time with us. If you should of any other feedback whilst your with us please do not hesitate to raise it with management.

Thanks again and keep entering those competitions!!

Clippers Living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

I really enjoy living here. Close to so many aneminites and a good size for a one bed flat. Maintenance are onsite most of the time and are happy to help with all problems. 24/7 reception who will collect your parcel and shared areas often have books and games which is nice. Some residents leave dog mess in the lifts which is quite a downfall, but not the propertys fault.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The are is good it is close to the city centre and walking distance from media city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very glad we went for a flat without a juliette balcony. They arent very well placed if you had them open it would block your telly and the normal windows open just as wide

What is the best feature of your home:

The shared area and cinema are a lovely addition to renting here.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Resident,

Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you are enjoying your time with us. If you ever have any feedback for us during your time with us please let us know.

Thanks!

Nice Flats in a Perfect Setting

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The flats are spacious and well designed. There is a residents WhatsApp and Facebook group and a number of residents complained about the fixtures and fittings and the landlord however we didn’t experience any issues and any problems we did report were handled efficiently by the team (Rory is really helpful). The staff on reception are all lovely and we really enjoy living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is ideally situated for commuting in to the city centre, trams run every 6 minutes and take about 15 minutes to get there. The co-op opening has been a life saver as we no longer have to walk all the way to Tesco for our shopping. The quays are perfect for walking and running, either in the morning or night. You’re also not too close to town, I work in the city centre and it didn’t feel like everything was on top of each other for me.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The common area downstairs would not be available at night time due to antisocial behaviour of residents and their friends

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We reported an issue with the bathroom shower wall and it was fixed immediately

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Sean,

Glad your enjoying your time with us and thanks for the review. If you ever have an feedback for us whilst living at Clippers please let one of the Staff know.

Thanks again!

Sizing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

We love our flat but it is very small for the price we pay an awful lot nearly £1000 a month between us and we have found houses near by cheaper with a lot more space! We might have to move soon due to the money. But we do love the building the staff and and flat overall

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love that I’m 2 mins away from work, tram stops and shops!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The full size of the flat we only saw our flat through a video rather than real life

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We always get things fixed when needed or they will find another solution

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for the review Amy and I am really glad you are enjoying your time with us. If you do decide to move please let us know and our lettings team may be able to offer another apartment that might suit your needs. Thanks again

:)

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2020

People working there are the nicest, v helpful and super friendly. The location is great (can be v. quite most of the time tho). Transports to and from the city are easy and quick. Gym is great (for taking pictures) and the working space gets u productive.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the quays and area in general

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Choose a higher floor. Add a built in microwave maybee

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Really appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear you have had a great time with us!

Fabulous Easy Renting

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2020

The building, design and even furnishing done in CQ is brilliant. Accompanying this the team from start to finish have been easy and pleasant to deal with. From the first viewing to signing the tenancy to now with any issues which may occur whilst living here all the staff members have done their very best to make it as peaceful as possible. Nothing but good things to say about the whole development!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Clippers Quay is located in a perfect spot close enough to feel like you’re in the city but just far away enough to be able to take a breath and relax without the hustle and bustle.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not really everything was laid out pretty straight forward.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any disputes or issues that have been raised the team have dealt with quickly and efficiently and have always made sure to follow up afterwards

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

Life at Clippers Quay

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2020

We was one of the first tenants in Clippers Quay and they are a very long way away from keeping tenants here for a long duration.

So, where do I start. When we moved in we was advised that there would be guest parking. We moved in, no guest parking. So if you have guests staying over please do expect to pay £20 a night because you live right next to old Trafford. If not, feel free to buy a parking space from them for an extra £100 that you will barley use.

When we moved in there had been many problems with the house;

– under the kitchen sink they had not cleaned any of the building work which left loads of dust, screws and a Stanley blade covered up behind the board
– the door locks kept falling off everyones door, and they tried to charge tenants £50 to fix them. Then, the whole complex had to get their locks changed, TWICE!
– when you go for a viewing look at the hallway floors, near each door you will see big grey circles. This is because nearly every other shower in the building has had a leak.
– we moved in under the assumption the communal area was 24/7, they then closed this down at 10pm.
– they said the building was pet friendly, now no pets are allowed off the lead in the communal area garden so all pet owners only have to walk 20 minutes to the nearest field to let your dog stretch their legs
– the fan above the oven broke, TWICE and even to the day we moved out made the sound of a petrol scooter when turned on

Following the fantastic service we had received after just 12, they felt their 5* apartments vouched for an uplift of £50 a month, bringing the monthly rent to £900. Look down the road by Elmira Way and you can get a 2 bed for £850 (we had just a 1 bed apartment)

To round up the fantastic property management expertise, they for whatever reason felt the need to include a £50 deep cleaning fee upon our departure. Given my partner spent 4 hours before moving out, and we moved into a building site I was completely shocked. I even showed her the pictures and she kindly told me to raise a case with the TDS who hold the deposit.

I suggested that they should consider implementing a cleaning processes to apartments when tenants move out so that we are not hit with this unhidden fee. I’m pretty sure they would have a cleaner go in and clean something when they move out (you hope) so why they feel the need to charge people this fee is beyond me.

If you want to live in a cheaply built, poorly managed apartment then Clippers Quay is the place for you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The areas itself is great, everything is on the doorstep which is one of few good things about living at Clippers Quay.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the property managers live on Cuckoo Land

What is the best feature of your home:

There was not really one. The bedside tables maybe. Good luck trying to snuggle up on those tacky grey couches. I feel like the hunchback after 12 months

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we would appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If you could send any feedback to info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

BAD MANAGEMENT

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2020

The building itself is decent with a cleaning service. However the management is absolutely terrible. I couldn’t fault the reception staff who are friendly but there is a lady, the residents service manager. AVOID

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself is quite good with easy access to transport, however the quality of the management is SO BAD! The building manager treats all of the residents very badly. She does not care about any complaints made and purposely tries to make people’s lives difficult

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how poor complaints etc were handled

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Badly handled – they would usually say that we caused the problems ourself

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we do appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Amstone Ventures

Amstone Ventures is a property developer founded in 1989 with a portfolio worth over £100 million, which includes mixed-use, residential,…
Number of developments 1

4.29

Average rating based on 66 reviews

View company
Grainger

About Grainger

Based in the UK, Grainger is a British-based property developer and the UK’s largest professional landlord. It aims to create…
Number of developments 7

4.28

Average rating based on 110 reviews

View company