Clippers Quay, M50

By
Grainger, Amstone Ventures
Ranked 20th out of 36 in Manchester
4.22 (based on 77 reviews) 4.22 (77 reviews)

Category Scores

4.43
Facilities
4.19
Design
4.56
Location
3.77
Value
4.04
Management

Clippers Quay is a residential development by Grainger and Amstone Ventures.  Designed by Leach Rhodes Walker Architects, it comprises of over 600 one, two and three-bedroom apartments. In addition, it features an on-site gym, residents lounge, cinema room, work zones and private gardens. The location is ideal with bus and tram routes on residents’ doorstep.  

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£900 pcm
Apartment 107
1 Bed
1 Bath
525 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£930 pcm
Apartment 809
1 Bed
1 Bath
525 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£1,170 pcm
Apartment 912
2 Bed
2 Bath
668 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£1,090 pcm
Apartment 604
2 Bed
2 Bath
711 sq ft
Grainger
More info
£1,450 pcm
Apartment 311
3 Bed
2 Bath
1020 sq ft
Grainger
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 77 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Clippers Quay Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2020

The development itself is great. I think that the building has been developed to a high standard – it has excellent features and the design is modern and clean. The facilities within the development are excellent, in particular the gym and the downstairs ‘common area’ are definite selling points when it comes to these flats. The staff that work at the development are incredibly welcoming and helpful, in particular Paris and Jacob who will provide advice / help with anything, without hesitation. The property management team that run the development remain supportive and involved, which is a big plus. I find it a shame that these flats are only available to rent, and not for sale as I think they would be a good investment opportunity.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has all necessary amenities – a tram stop nearby, multiple shops / big retailers, a big gym and an area for walking around.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to have seen bigger flats on offer, in particular with slightly wider bedrooms and living area. I would also like to see comfier sofa’s being used in the flats where furniture is provided (although I note from looking at the newer flats more recently furnished, that these appear to be different and so maybe this has already been addressed?)

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

First impressions of clippers quay

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Good development, the room sizes however are disproportionate with everybody paying the same rent it’s not ideal. Facilities are good machines in gym. Really good staff on reception, very helpful and the facilities overall very modern. Need more parking.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really good area good transport links, restaurants could be better

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the gym was included so that I didn’t have to buy a membership elsewhere.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Equal room sizes/rent adjusted for smaller room so it’s fair

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you are enjoying your time so far. However, we will take your feedback on board to continue improve our customer service / offering.

I’ve had the best time living here, it’s a shame really that my work is taking me elsewhere as I’ll constantly be comparing my next location to here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design for the rooms are modern, clean and above par for meeting expectations. The facilities are spot on, albeit couldn’t be used too much as a lot of our stay was during the COVID-19 pandemic, making them out of bounds. That is a regret of mine, however, it was not the fault of the property management!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The complex is in an ideal, perfect location, can’t really ask for more. It was a shame that the Co-Op has just shut beneath for redevelopment, but apart from that, perfect.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The rooms get hot very quickly! you don’t need your heating on much at all!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t had any issues or queries really, so yes everything

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

thanks for your feedback and we wish you the best of luck in your new apartment!

Great Flat, Poor Value for Money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design of the flats is great, ours is very spacious compared to a lot of city centre flats and get lots of light. A downside is that the air filters mean that smells coming from other flats (food/smoke/etc) travel between flats which isn’t always nice. During COVID we had no access to the shared facilities which of course isn’t CQ’s fault, but they refused to consider a rent reduction based on this, and refused to let us use the gardens of the empty block despite not having a balcony or garden ourselves. Dogs also aren’t allowed to run around or be off lead in the designated “dog garden”. The building management staff are incredibly friendly and attentive and prompt whenever we’ve needed them. Overall however the value for money is poor, as you can get a 3 bed house with a garden for the same price in areas that are a similar distance to city centre.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walking distance to city centre or 10 minutes on the tram that stops right outside. Walking distance to Media City too, however the Quays have gone downhill recently in terms of crime and ASB and you wouldn’t always feel safe walking here at night

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Dogs aren’t actually allowed to run off lead in the communal gardens, and there is a LOT of litter & dog mess that doesn’t get picked up in the gardens so if you have a scavenger dog you need to watch they don’t eat scraps out of the bushes like ours did!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The cost! Or the access to outside space. A balcony or roof garden would have made a world of difference us, but flats with balconies come with a hefty price tag too.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
1
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback.

Clippers Quays 12 Months In

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design is very sleek and modern in all blocks. Gym facilities are very useful and monitored/cleaned regularly during COVID-19 times. Management has been super helpful with maintenance issues cleared quickly and without hassle. The staff on reception are always super friendly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Having just renewed for another year at Clippers Quays we can confirm it’s a really good place to live. Supermarket on the doorstep and a metrolink to town just across the road the location is great. Media City is also a 10/15 minute walk away for bars/restaurants. The local area is also developing with a couple cafes/bars open practically on site.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would definitely recommend going for a flat overlooking the river, as the view is excellent.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, all issues (although all minor) have been cleared easily and without hassle

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you are enjoying your time with us.

Money hungry landlord

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Communal area nicely presented with the cinema and dinning room, great gym, completely opposite interior design in the apartments. Looks cheaply,poor ikea dressers, run down carpets, linoleum throughout the kitchen,living space and bathroom-which look like sth from a ferry boat.
Unfortunately we stayed there during lockdown and most of the building facilities got closed (gym and communal area, 2 reasons why we decided on the apartment). Eventho paying a higher rate for them the management never thought to offer a discount on rent.
But then again now we can’t even seem to get out own money back from them. They find bogus reasons to deprive you from your deposit, so watch out. Make a video as soon as you rent the apartment, specially if you feel it wasn’t professionally cleaned.
We paid our rent in full upfront and now they re charging us delayed rent fees??!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location, great walks to media city, nice views,if you have the the balcony facing the canal

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s a guy that comes and sings oasis songs in the late evenings, record every little damage in the apartment prior to moving in, only one lift in the building- sometimes smells like piss and vommit.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of the home was probably the balcony with the amazing view, the gym and the communal area-which we didn’t get to use as much.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your review and feedback. Its unfortunate these uncertain times have made your stay more difficult but we have tried to make our building safe for all to use and to a heard to the government guidelines. If terms of fees you have been charged for late rent fees please contact, if you haven’t already, to look into this.

Clippers quay review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Modern design. Well managed with amenable staff. Great facilities included in the rent. Well maintained and always clean. I’ve enjoyed my year here. Would highly recommended. Rent around average for the area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area. Close to city centre. Beautiful views of the river.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great transport links with a tram and bus service on the doorstep.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I am happy with everything. There is nothing I would change.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your kind feedback. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us.

Clippers quay review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Well managed. Friendly and approachable team.
Good gym, new bar and excellent meeting space with kitchen and cinema room.
Good building design, great views of the river and close to old Trafford stadium.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice area good transport links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good on site gym

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More notifications of building developments. Can get noisy in the morning.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback we will feedback back to the team.

Good start, but could do more.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The flats are nice and modern and each block includes a different set of furniture. Some sets are better than others- I would have expected the more expensive building to feature a more classy style, but it doesn’t. I expected the kitchens to also include a splashback that covers the kitchen wall as some other developments do for around the same price. The kitchen also has no under-cupboard lighting, making it less attractive in darker scenarios. This can also be said for the bathroom. There are no lights to shine from the mirror in the bathroom, making it hard to see when washing etc. The bathroom is also a bit plasticky. It was cool the first time I saw it, but I would prefer a tiled interior with additional lighting. The amenities (communal spaces) were shut due to Covid-19, but I’d expect at least a drop in rent or exchange as these areas really sold it to us.

It seems very quiet around here, pandemic or not. There doesn’t seem to be that much of a community, however I believe it has picked up since the Bee Orchid bar opened.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Clippers Quay is situated in the right place if you’re commuting to MediaCity or the City Centre and don’t want the hustle and bustle. Shops and amentities are available but selection is a bit sparse without travelling by car at the moment as the tram is insufficient or too slow. Clippers Quay is near the White City retail park which is very handy, with Tesco just up the road. The complex recently had a bar open, the Bee Orchid, which is a lovely, independent bar. This also includes the Co-op and Cult & Coffee- a barbers/coffee shop. However, recently, Clippers Quay announced that Grainger themselves have taken over not one, but two of their own units, which will limit hospitality growth and has made us unsure whether to renew our contract for next year, this is a very poor decision and we are very disappointed. There are enough offices next door at Exchange Quay, and I wouldn’t expect to pay the price we do for another business’ benefit. It doesn’t do anything for us, or other residents who came here expecting to enjoy the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The internet isn’t as great as I thought it would be, the service hasn’t operated brilliantly during the pandemic and having to work from home.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I’d improve a few of the cosmetics in the flat as for the price, I feel it could be better.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your feedback and we will continue to improve our service.

Nice, but not luxury.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Grainger have made a good attempt at making Clippers Quay a modern, sociable and exciting place to live, although I wouldn’t quite agree with their claim that the apartments are ‘luxury’. Whilst Grainger have incorporated some great features such as communal games area, gym and theatre, they have held back on a variety of features I would expect to find in a ‘luxury apartment’. I would expect the back wall behind the kitchen worktops where the sink etc is, to be finished with a wipeable splash back (like a glass or a plastic), instead it’s only matt white paint which is impossible to clean without re-painting so ends up looking grubby. I would expect more integrated kitchen lighting, such as a led lighting strip on the under side of the cupboards. I’d expect a built in microwave and wine cooler. I would expect the bathroom to be of at least a modern tiled style. The white plastic style in the bathroom appears modern at first glance, but it feels cheap, and likely is. You’re essentially standing in a plastic box. As a result the flooring in the bathroom isn’t solid and makes quite a thud as you move around. I’d also like to see chrome plated wall electricity sockets and touch screen intercoms too.

All of the above features mentioned appear in other luxury flats of a similar price point in and around Manchester, so I’d expect Clippers Quay had them too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Personally love the area as it’s in between MediaCity and the city centre, so it’s extremely fast to get to either on the tram (around 7 minutes for both). It’s located on the Quays, which is a lovely area. It’s great to be able to step foot outside the apartment block and go for a lovely walk or a run around the Quays. There are a good amount of amenities nearby too, the co-op, Cult & Coffee, The Bee Orchid and more too.

I dislike that the area a has a high crime rate for thefts such as bicycles and mobile phones. I don’t feel safe walking alone at night unfortunately.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you can, avoid moving into any apartments facing Trafford Road. We viewed the apartment at a lunchtime, so sound levels were low so we didn’t experience the true volume until we moved in. When it’s rush hour you can’t have the window open whilst watching tv or taking a phone call as it’s that loud with the traffic. The concrete paths and brickwork means the sound bounces up the walls, we can hear every conversation of pedestrians on the ground (were 5 floors up). I understand this is a given with living in a busy city on a main road, but it’s a nightmare in summer when windows need to be open. That said, the windows are excellent and do a great job of cancelling the noise when they’re closed.

Another point, it’s great the WiFi is free, but it’s pretty terrible. Virgin rarely provide the 100 mbps they advertise, it’s more like 30 mbps, which isn’t bad but it’s not what was advertised. Grainger would have been better to do a deal with Hyperoptic to offer all tenants free Hyperoptic, as Hyperoptic without a doubt the best internet provider I’ve ever been with. We’ve requested Hyperoptic cables be put in and enough residents have registered interest so hopefully in the future that may be an option, although it’ll be frustrating as of course won’t be free.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Average. They seem to not care about resident concern. Parking is £100 pcm, and spaces are crammed in. I was given a tiny sized car parking space, with barely any room either side. Meanwhile cars of a similar size has metres of space next to them. I asked to move to an unallocated spot and was told I couldn’t.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your constructive comments it is appreciated. I will feedback to the team and continue to improve our service. We hope you continue to enjoy your stay with us.

A great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The one-bedroom flats are very spacious, much more so than others we found in a similar price range. Despite the kitchen and lounge being joined, they really feel like separate rooms. The bathroom is also spacious, with plenty of storage space, and the bedroom is a good size, though is furnished with a double rather than a king size bed. We love the residents lounge area, and often use it when working from home. The 24hr onsite gym is also great, and really handy if you’re sleeping odd hours. Also, the staff on reception are some of the friendliest people you’ll meet. They really make the place feel homely. The only thing we’ve complained to management about is the damaged vinyl flooring. Unfortunately, they were unwilling to fix some holes before we moved in, and so we’ve had to cover them with a rug. Apart from that, we’d definitely recommend Clippers!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is perfect for our needs. The tram station is just across the road and gets us into the city centre in about 10 minutes. There’s a small co-op just outside the reception entrance, and a few larger supermarkets within walking distance. The building is generally quiet, though dogs can get a little over-excited at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We should have been made aware that the damaged floors would not be fixed. We signed contracts assuming they would be, though this was only hinted at.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

We would switch out the double bed with a king-size.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are always striving to improve our service so we will take you points on board. Thanks again and I hope you enjoy your stay with us.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Amstone Ventures

Amstone Ventures is a property developer founded in 1989 with a portfolio worth over £100 million, which includes mixed-use, residential,…
Number of developments 1

4.22

Average rating based on 77 reviews

View company
Grainger

About Grainger

Based in the UK, Grainger is a British-based property developer and the UK’s largest professional landlord. It aims to create…
Number of developments 7

4.24

Average rating based on 122 reviews

View company