City North, N4

By
Telford Homes
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 21 in Borough of Islington
4.13 (38 reviews) 4.13 (38 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.84
Facilities
4.16
Design
4.66
Location
4.08
Value
3.55
Management

City North is a development from Telford Homes. It’s set in North London’s vibrant Finsbury Park, right on the edge of 110 acres of parkland. Also, it has facilities such as a roof terrace and a Wi-Fi Lounge.

Read more Read less

City North, N4 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 38 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Great place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The actually apartments are so nice. Windows block out noise. The concierge staff are so friendly. M&S and Picture House just downstairs. It’s great. It is a beautiful design, the east side is a little lacking but the west side lobby is amazing. Cycle stores are great. There are thefts occasionally so get a great lock.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great place to live. Transport is perfect, apartments are quite. Couple of small issues, you need to check your exhaust fan is installed the right way, otherwise you have to replace the ceiling in the bathroom to fix. No parking is also not ideal but one side of the station is very safe. Homeless people outside, but you get that everywhere and they only bother women occasionally.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great gardens and pavilion area, amazing views.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Getting a fob is a little difficult, also I have had a fault with the toilet and we are in the third month of trying to fix this

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

My building, Carriage House, is lovely. It’s quiet. It’s well kept. It’s only missing fresh flowers in the lobby 🙂 but it’s a great building and the staff works hard to maintain it. The view from my late is great in the summer time. The outdoor spaces are fabulous. I really appreciate the regular window cleanings.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location above Finsbury Park train station is great. It’s so close. But there is a lot of foot traffic. There are a wide range of nice shops and restaurants in area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the foot traffic in the area and the limits on the outdoor space.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have always been speedy and courteous. The staff is understanding and communicates every step of the way when things are out of order.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent enough

Review Date Apr 2022

The building is quite nice overall and we are pleased to have got the flat. The flat is nice and spacious, lots of light, they stay warm even without a lot of heating.

The communal areas are not very exciting though but functional enough.

There are however a number of issues.

Even with the caveat of the pandemic , the building construction has gone on for a very long time and materials are stored unsafely across the residence. There have been a number of issues (ants nest in walls of building, poor plumbing leading to flooding, heating not always working) and a lot of snagging in individual flats. Don’t feel the management team are proactive enough in finding faults and slow to respond to resident complaints.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of great restaurants, cafes and shops.

Incredible transport links and on the Night Tube so can be pretty much anywhere in very little time at all.

Finsbury Park itself is beautiful and always bustling – definitely a park with character.

Downside of all the shops is rubbish left outside on the street for collection in bags so prone to being blown away etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Being given enough time to go through the flat with a fine-tooth comb and find the bits that are easy to cover poor quality work (under cupboards, extractor unit)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slowly – even with the caveat of the pandemic, it’s taken a while to get even minor snagging issues remedied. The contractors when they turn up though are amazing professionals and cannot fault them.

3
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Telfords Best Avoided In My Experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Telford Homes who build the property have some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Based on how bad they are my advice to anyone looking at one of their properties would be to look elsewhere as the stress is significant. Disappointing at best.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is excellent couldn’t be better. Bin collections are poor and the bin rooms are often overflowing. This has led to rats which property management have not kept on top of properly at all. If properly managed this location would be excellent but sadly the company in charge seem to show no interest and are hostile to residents. Service charges in the building are very high even by London standards.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If we had know how awful Telford Homes would be to deal with we wouldn’t have bought here. If we had known how bad the property management company were we wouldn’t have bought here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management are slow. Issues raised in September 2020 are still ongoing with no end on site. Residents are not a priority and are treated poorly. There is a petition online from many sites managed by this company citing all the same issues as here so it appears to be a company issue rather than a site issue. Although Telford homes were made aware of these issues they have been unwilling to assist the residents with these issues.

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location but utterly useless developer and management.

Review Date Apr 2022

Absolute utter rubbish service from the senior management team on both developer(Telford Homes) and estate management company(R&R).

Especially Telford homes nearly always blaming someone or something never used any common sense had to argue to the moon and back to get snags fixed. It’s now 20months in I still have snags to fix. Last response from Telford Homes was a month ago. They have a memory of a gold fish and absolutely no organisation ability at all. If I didn’t manage and keep track of my own snags list they would of forgotten all of it. I have gaps around the windows that lets air in it’s now 20months, their window contractor TGM simply said there is nothing they could do. Customer service? They simply don’t care. Avoid at all cost !!

R&R can’t add up numbers on service charges couldn’t provide good reasons why the service charge apportionment share % keep changing every single year since the building completed back in 2020 and they have gone through at least 3 estate managers already in less than 2 years. Senior managers goes on holiday literally on the day when service charge bills are issued so you can never speak to someone with knowledge on issues even after complaints the same thing happens. The front staffs are friendly and generally doing ok. It’s the senior management people are useless. The founder Mr Rendall blamed emails were captured by the junk mail filter with no real apologies of poor service not even sure if he is a real person or just someone living inside the junk mailbox. It took them over half a month to respond while charging me late admin fee which they did eventually written off in the end. If I could rate them zero stars I would, utter useless.

I could write a book on how poorly Telford Homes and R&R had performed. Again avoid at all costs.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, transport links, local amenities, restaurants, bars, pubs, cinema. Large communal garden for kids to play outdoors on premises. Front line staffs are generally helpful.

The concierge have tons of wasted space that could be put into better use. Wifi lounge is a bit of waste of space. An on-site gym would of been a much better alternative.

No residential parking, only disability bays are available.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how rubbish Telford Homes after sale customer service is. They claimed 99% of the customers would recommend them. I wonder how they cherry picked to get that stats? I must of been in that 1% and I know for fact many would agree with me. Don’t take my words for it, simply search for City North resident group on Facebook.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

You are lucky if they actually reply to emails it took them 14days to respond to one of my service charge queries, meanwhile charging me late fees(they did credit back afterwards) difficult to get hold on people know enough about the building.

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

My Dream Apartment – City North

Review Date Apr 2022

I’m a private tenant at City North, Finsbury Park. The modern design, resident facilities and overall management of the building are second to none. It’s great to have a concierge which allows you to keep you mind at peace with deliveries, parcels or just general security knowing your building is safe. The in home technology is fantastic and stands up to many apartment homes in central london I have visited and it’s great to know we got in with the City North properties in the early stages as will be harder to get in soon with the demand.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I honestly couldn’t think of a better location for transport links in London. It’s so easy to get everywhere, the area is up coming with the gentrification happening and very cultural at the same time so it has great balance. New bars, shops and gyms being built will have a great impact on the area also. Would definitely recommend it for new buyers or private tenants like myself.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I would have known more about the heating plan and how energy works/is changed within the building.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very well, every time there has been an issue it has been very easy and efficient contacting the building site manager and getting things sorted.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Personally, I enjoy Podium Garden. Like that the building provides the place where residents can relax. Also, concierge’s service is useful though not all deliveries go there. In terms of design, I like that the building looks clean both inside and outside.
No problems with elevators.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location
Two Tube lines are just in 2 mins, as well as National Rail.
Many stores: M&S is in the same building and Lidl is in 3 mins.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Really enjoy having M&S in the same building. It saves a lot of time.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Recently, I have not had any problems or issues to raise

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not a strong start but now doing well.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The apartment itself contained a lot of snagging issues which took 14 months to rectify.

The development has also suffered from a large number of water leaks.

Thankfully these are now resolved and the communal gardens and roof terrace more than make up for these initial teething issues. The location is brilliant for transport links to London and beyond.

The on site team are helpful and friendly. It’s unfortunate that Telford sufferred at the hands of their JV partners.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The retail space below the building is great with a wide variety of restaurants plus M&S is the cherry on the cake.

Wide variety of bars and restaurants nearby and towards Stroud Green and Highbury.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It took a long time to put things right in the development but is better now.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It has been exceptionally slow to resolve issues with our apartment.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A very happy new tenant!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Love the City North development – from the modern look of the new build flats, and amenities from bike storage to bin store to mail delivery and concierge as well as public resident area with WiFi and rooftop are all amazing! Very happy to have moved here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the revamp of the Finsbury Park area with the addition of city north place. I used to live here before and it feels like a whole new neighborhood. The convenience of proximity to tube, as well as the new restaurants and bars that have opened up, M&S, Gymbox and movie theatre all make for such a convenient and vibrant living area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There were some issues with transfer of heating provider and it took a couple days to get the thermostats turned in so would be good to know and deal with that in advance. I think ultimately it was an error on Savills’ part in handover from one tenant to another.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been prompt and very responsive to all questions and concerns.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

City North is a lovely place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The development is beautiful and just perfectly placed. Above a tube station and walking distance to the park, what more could you ask for? The terrace is also a big plus as I certainly miss having a garden. The building management are always helpful and quick to reply to emails. Only thing I think the space is missing is somewhere to BBQ on the terrace but otherwise, a brilliant development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is fantastic; brilliant transport links and just a lovely local community. Great pubs such as WB Yeats provide evening fun and the Sunday farmers market makes everything feel that touch more homely. My commute is fantastic; only 15 minutes on the tube. Plus, East London and Kings cross are walking distance. We love the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A run through on our the heating timers work would have been very good.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are always super quick to reply to emails and help with the issue to a brilliant degree.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  City North, N4
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of City North, N4
User submitted image of City North, N4

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Telford Homes

Location

Telford Homes
Number of developments 30

4.23

Average rating based on 438 reviews

View company