Cane Hill Park, CR5

Cane Hill Park, CR5

Barratt Homes
Ranked 11th out of 29 in South London

Rating Details

3.88 (based on 45 reviews) 3.88 (45 reviews)

Excellent

22%

Very Good

62%

Average

11%

Disappointing

2%

Very Poor

2%

Category Scores

3.40
Facilities
3.91
Design
4.31
Location
3.49
Value
3.00
Management

Cane Hill Park is a residential development by Barratt Southern Counties located in Coulsdon. The development features a range of one to five-bedroom apartments only a short walk from Coulsdon South station, with trains serving directly into Central London in 27 minutes.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Cane Hill Park, Coulsdon

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Cane Hill Park is a very nice development. It is a large development and the design of the houses is modern with a lot of houses being over three floors and all houses having solar panels.

The development is generally well looked after although it has taken a while for some ongoing maintenance issues on the development to be rectified. There are a number of playgrounds, a trim trail and a small woodland area with good pathways linking the various parts of the development.

There is a Residents Association which keeps residents up to date on issues relating to the development and also helps represent residents when dealing with the estate management company.

A bus route has recently started which runs along the main road through the development. The bus route goes through Coulsdon town centre which is useful for shops (as there are no commercial shops in Cane Hill) and connecting to other bus routes or getting to the train stations.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Cane Hill Park is a very nice area to live. The area generally feels very safe and there is a strong sense of community here.
There are a lot of young couples and families living here and there are a number of playgrounds and open spaces for people to enjoy. There are a number of other bigger park spaces nearby which are a short walk from Cane Hill.
A bus service has recently started which connects Cane Hill Park to Coulsdon and Old Coulsdon.
There is a local farm with a shop that sells a small number of items such as eggs and potatoes. It is only a short walk into Coulsdon where there are a number of independent shops, cafes and restaurants in the local high street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known more about the annual estate maintenance charges and what these covered.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not yet had to raise any issues directly to the estate management company.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Convenient and friendly

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I’m not too pleased with the build as there are multiple problems and the development is too cramped. It’s great to be so easily connected to London and Brighton however it means the prices are naturally higher.

The building manager who does the responding is great but the contractors aren’t great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that its a ten minute walk to train station.

i dont like the amount of houses

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known about the poor building techniques used.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The woman who does the responding is great but the contractors arent great

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good for young families

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

There are large bedrooms in the house.

Kitchen is a good use of space as it is the home of the house.

A lot of our utilities have not worked – which is a worry as we have only recently moved in. This needs to be sorted soon.

I wouldn’t add anything, in a very nice area and it is such a rarity to find a space with so much green – it does not feel like you’re in London.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good for children growing up but there isn’t a lot going on.

Young families are around which is good for looking after each other.

Heavy traffic

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A shared issue for the whole development is the bin cycle – once every two weeks is not enough and is a real issue.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

Nothing that we would add, in a very nice area and it is such a rarity to find a space with so much green – it does not feel like you’re in London.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development with some bad traits.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The kitchen is good and is a real family area.

Bedrooms are a good space for children.

Could be bigger and more open planned, should have made much for of the space.

Furthermore, the developments that have the lounge room on the middle floor are so poorly designed – they try to make up with a balcony which doesn’t have an ounce of privacy. The kitchens should be dual use as a kitchen / diner.

I would like to add an extension but it is not possible for the house!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s green and it’s quiet.

However it can be too quiet at times, which is annoying especially in terms of no nearby shops or things to do for the children. The woodlands is quite nice and very rare for London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bins don’t get collected enough, fortnightly system should be adapted for this development.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

Extension would be good but it is not possible for the house!

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not bad

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

People park a lot down the road, there should be double yellow lines to stop everyone from parking. The are is very green, nice and very safe. They’ve been some security incidents in the past and there’s a neighbourhood watch, but more could be done.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Next to building site and the road near is a bit dangerous.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We knew everything before we moved in apart from the things mentioned.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Some internal things. But otherwise wouldn’t change anything.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quiet and family friend

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The flats great, I really like the area as its really quiet and peaceful, and the greenery around is fab. I’m not so keen on the parking situation, as many people are parking on the roads because of the nearby train station.

I wish the kitchen was slightly bigger and had more space.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that its quiet and the general area

i dislike people parking on the street

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known to do the small stuff

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I wish the kitchen was slightly bigger and had more space

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Average

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I like the way they done the development, there’s a nice and friendly community.
The sun in my back garden is very hot always. Bit of a walk to shops and buses and there’s hills. The WiFi reception is good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Theres a lot of nosy people, petty neighbours but the schools are close to the community. No visitor space to park though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not unhappy moving in, no issue. Couldve been a lot worse.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice area to stay but a hassle to move in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I purchased my home via David Wilson Homes and have been living in Cane Hill Park for just over two years. Right from the start they pressurised us to get things done within 30 days. There was a time pressure to exchange contracts, which was annoying because it took us time to work things out with our solicitors. They were also quite keen to use their mortgage broker, which we did but I think it would have been quicker and a lot smoother if we had used someone else who we knew.

The timeline for moving in was slightly delayed. We were meant to move in at the end of January, but we didn’t get to move in until April. They did keep us well informed during this time, which was helpful. I think lots of people were slightly put out by this as we all moved in at the same time, but we weren’t too fussed as we didn’t want to move in during winter.

Once we were able to move in, it was a bit of a hassle. There were quite a lot of snags that we identified, and it has taken a while for these to get sorted. There were a number of different issues like various marks on paint work and there was a large water leak from the first floor to the second floor, which they did actually sort out quite promptly. However, we have to chase David Wilson Homes to make sure they are dealing with the smaller issues. I think the management are ok, but there shouldn’t have been this many problems in the first place.

We were able to personalise aspects of our home during the build including choosing our kitchen units and bathroom tiles, but I wish there was more that we were able to personalise. My home is family friendly and spacious for our family. The design is nice for children, which is nice for my new born. I like the garden as well as the three floors, which allows me to host guests.

In the development itself, there is a real sense of community with a nice resident’s association who organise lots of events. In particular, I really enjoy the fitness classes organised for mums around the development. There are lots of green spaces and playgrounds scattered around, which is great as there are lots of young families with children on the site.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the location is the main selling point about the development. Coulsdon South is only an 8-minute walk away with great links into Central London as well as into the countryside, which is great for commuting and travelling at the weekends. It has the best of both worlds.

Coulsdon is a small town however, with only a handful of restaurants and not lots going on. If you want to have more options for shopping, you have to travel a bit further and I do miss some of the outstanding restaurants there are in Central London. Although there is an Aldi supermarket within walkable distance away, which is convenient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

In hindsight, I wish we used a professional snagging company at the beginning. There we certain little things that we didn’t think to check, like the soil quality in the garden, which has now become bit more of an issue.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

Bus service up and down the road would be nice but that is coming soon.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The landlord is not the best

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The community and kids are strong.
The private tenants and housing association are separate so the different communities clash sometimes.
The landlord don’t have communication and there are a lot of maintenance issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the park to take the kids out there and the fields so that the cats can run around.
Racism within the community is bad and the neighbours bay is in the way of mine.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the parking bays weren’t in the right place so I can’t park in my space.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quite nice

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The general development is great due to the abundance of green spaces which provide loads of fresh air, creating an amazing environment to raise kids in. The area is also very safe. The flip side of the good factors of this area are the very little services around the location itself.

Considering the amount of council tax that we pay, there needs to be more services such as buses, restaurants etc.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of green spaces
Lots of fresh air
Safe environment
Very little services however

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I did my research of the area pretty well so there was nothing that I needed to know.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

Considering the amount of council tax that we pay, there needs to be more services such as buses, restaurants etc.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

lovely neighbourhood

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The garden is really nice and adds value to the property.

Design isnt good, lounge is on middle floor is a very bad design idea. not ideal.

It would be far better if it was wider instead of so high up.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

respectful neighbourhood that really do care, sense of security comes with it!

However, the community can be intrusive at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Theres nothing i can think of at the minute, we researched a lot

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

As ive said id like the design to be amended to accomodate

5
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pleasant area for living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

It’s very quiet area. However it is not very established with shops. The community is mixed but it’s not alright. We maintain our house well but there are many people who don’t appreciate the area and where they live. There is a Facebook group for residents in the area which helps us keep aware.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the rural side of the area. It’s quite close to the m25 and I do a lot of travelling on the m25.
I don’t like that there’s not a lot of variety for take away food.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Some of the housing association tenants cause some problems which bring it down. However it’s not too bad.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Average property

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The community around this development is very good; there are often many community organised events that are child friendly. The major downside of this property is the potential criminal activity going on around the area; I have seen some dodgy people around the area sometimes at night.

The location of the development is really good as it’s near good schools and good transport links.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good community
Organises events
Criminals

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the sound proofing of the house is not good.

Why did you choose this development:

The location of the development is really good as it’s near good schools and good transport links.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A lot of natural space

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I like how the colour scheme of my development is consistent in its design, layout and maintenance, which helps show sustainability and housing improvement within the area.

There is not enough facilities in the area such as local shopping centres, cinemas and gyms, which is a shame as we feel deprived of facilities.

The living room windows are cool as it gives us a beautiful view of the other developments and area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a lot of natural space within the park area, its quiet and well connected to central london, which makes it very handy for my family and I to travel around.

There are not many shops inside our development which is a shame as we cannot buy things in a short amount of time when needed.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t expect the house to look like it did after completition and was expecting the developer to give us a preview beforehand.

What is the best feature of your home:

The living room windows are cool as it gives us a beautiful view of the other developments and area.

1
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place to live but building management needs improvement.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Nice and spacious easy to furnish and friendly to children. The heating isn’t needed all year round also which saves money. Parking for visitors isn’t the best but for me personally It’s decent. We have had problems with hot water and that took a bit of a while with the developers to sort out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Shops and transport is quite far and a car becomes a necessity in the area. Neighbours are nice and welcoming to the area on the positive side

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

Not much perfectly happily with the facilities inside the development

5
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lots of greenery!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The huge amounts of greenery around the area make this development a lovely place all year round. The quiet and lazy lifestyle of this area is really nice, especially during the summertime. The community itself is amazing and many events are hosted around the public spaces which is great for raising kids. The negative side of this development is the fact that there are no shops close by.

The development and general local area needs facilities such as more shops and GP’s as well as more bus transport.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very green
Lazy lifestyle and quiet
Good community
No shops close by

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is not much I wish I knew beforehand due to the vast amount of research I have done before moving in.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

The development and general local area needs facilities such as more shops and GP’s as well as more bus transport.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live but area is changing slightly.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The design is really nice and there are many windows that allow air to come in and out. It is also spacious for me and my partner and my grandkids and so can come in and have enough space to play. The area is nice quiet and peaceful at all times of the day and at night as well.

I would like a bigger garden but I don’t mind the size it is now.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice residential area with a lot of greenery in the area. There is an increasing rate of crime which is disappointing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

I would like a bigger garden but I don’t mind the size it is now

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Barratt Homes

Barratt Homes is part of Barratt Developments Plc, one of the UK's largest property developers with over 30 operating divisions.…
Number of developments 18

3.85

Average rating based on 283 reviews

View company