Brook Place, S11

Brook Place, S11

By
Grainger
4.59 (43 reviews) 4.59 (43 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.65
Facilities
4.58
Design
4.81
Location
4.12
Value
4.49
Management

Brook Place is located 10 minutes from Sheffield city centre. The developer and landlord for this ‘build to rent’ development is Grainger plc. Brook Place comprises of 237 new homes with a range of studios, one and two-bedroom apartments. There is  an on-site service team and a range of amenities for residents to benefit from.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A brilliant little Apartment Complex just out of the centre of Sheffield

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2020

The Apartments are only a year old so it has a very new feel about it, and you can tell effort has been put into the design of the entire complex. For example, there is an on-site mini gym for those who aren’t worried about a full membership nearby and there is a dedicated study area and kitchen which can be hired out for hosting events. The concierge is fantastic and does a great job of collecting parcels when you’re not in! Our flat has two bedrooms with both an en-suite to one bedroom and a main bathroom for the other which is great, and something I think should be standard in flats like this (but often isn’t!). The furnishing has been done to a modern and reasonable standard, however I do wish the kitchen had a higher spec to it. The laminate work surfaces and sink are fine but nothing special and an induction hob would have been better than the ceramic one chosen, which is not very quick to change temperature and gets dirty very easily. However, the flats have a very nice feel about them and the open plan living diner is well thought out – a slightly larger living room might have been better though. I like the laminate flooring used through the living room and kitchen but I much prefer carpet in bedrooms.
Finally, the roof has been made into an area which residents can use, with bean bags, chess sets and table tennis etc. Which makes for a really good use of the space.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is excellent and being on the west side of the city is definitely the right side to be on (much greener and far better areas). The city centre is a short walk away with all of the amenities you could need, and then a large Waitrose and Aldi are a short walk away for local shopping. The apartments are just off Ecclesall Road which is perfect for young professionals, with plenty of independent bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants as well as access to greener areas such as The Botanical Gardens and Endcliffe Park. Plenty of transport links available from nearby, however parking is very limited on the surrounding streets which is the one drawback. Overall, it strikes a great balance between a central location and the benefits of being out in the leafier suburbs of Sheffield.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is very limited in the area if you do own a car. You will be fighting it out for either an expensive car parking space in the car park on the ground floor or one of the spots on the street for free/metered (the council won’t allow you to obtain a permit for your car if you live in this property).

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Larger bedrooms! The bedroom with the en-suite suffers in size and this results in smaller floor space than ideal (a bit of a squish to fit a small desk in alongside the bed, which is a shame).

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern yuppie living

Review Date Nov 2020

Brook Place is beautifully designed – as a home worker I’m particularly grateful for the communal lounge/working space, as I regularly use it to work if I need a break from the apartment. We moved in at the end of August so only caught the tail end of summer, but we can’t wait for 2021 spring to roll around so we can be up on the fab roof terraces every weekend!

The on site staff are all great and make a lot of effort to get to know the tenants. It wouldn’t be the same without them here.

It’s a shame that we’ve been living here during the pandemic, as we would love to make use of the dinner function room (which is amazing!!), but we plan on doing that as soon as we’re allowed.

As a downside (and there aren’t many), it’s a shame that the gym hours are restricted – there aren’t many options left for those who work all day Monday – Friday.

Overall I’m thoroughly enjoying the experience of living at Brook Place (and being allowed to have pets is a massive bonus as it means we were able to get a puppy!). By far the best living experience I’ve had as a young adult.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Brook Place is perfectly placed just off Eccy Road, in close walking distance to bars/restaurants/shops. It’s even a couple of minutes from Aldi and Waitrose so you can also walk to do your weekly food shopping.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the gym has limited opening hours.

What is the best feature of your home:

The communal roof terraces are a true selling point – when it’s warm and sunny you wouldn’t even know that we’re in Sheffield (feels like you could be abroad!).

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Brook Place, S11
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Friendly community where your house is a home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Brook Place is a lovely building to live in. The resident services team provide a first class service and noting is too much trouble. They are always available and deal with repairs/concerns promptly. There is a great community feel with roof terraces to meet new people and entertain friends. Brook Place is a very modern building which fits well in the landscape of Sheffield with its nod to the steel industry. There is an on sight gym which is free for resident use making it so much easier to keep those fitness goals. Although the rental cost is higher that some developments or private flats the facilities do make up for that. The building is also pet friendly and all pets are just as important to Brook Place as their humans!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

With 2 minute walking distance to the bustling and vibrant Ecclesall Road, with a variety of shops, bars and restaurants. The local GP surgery is right next door for all of your medical needs. Whatever you need is right on your doorstep living at Brook Place. It is a 5 minute drive to Sheffield train station and the interchange. There is also lovely green spaces near by for exercise or dog walking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Just be aware that the kitchen hob has a 15 minute timer on that cannot be disabled so after 15 mins of cooking it will switch off.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The noise of the rain on the window sill if you live on the first floor is very loud owing to the material it is made of but this is something that you can get used to.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Almost perfect living accommodation for professional couples.

Review Date Dec 2020

Likes:
– Warm and welcoming reception staff who work hard to make living here a pleasure
– Social spaces have made it easier to become good friends with fellow residents
– Excellent Gym facilities
– Spacious communal area great for alternative working spot / social space.

Dislikes:
– Non-smoking rule is not enforced strongly enough by Property Management
– Some perks such as free coffee machine in the communal lounge were removed after first year
– Car park rental price is too extortionate and not transparent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes:
– In easy walking distance of multiple supermarkets, excellent public parks, a variety of independent stores, cafes, and eateries.
– Regular bus links to city centre.

Dislikes:
– In-ear shot of Sports Bar with noisy beer garden.
– Situated between council estates and student housing, meaning (before and after Lockdown) there are often noisy night owls returning home in the wee hours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were misinformed that the roof terrace and other social spaces were dog-friendly when in actual fact, they are not, despite allowing residents to own pets.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. Being a new building, there have been a few odd jobs and faults that have been addressed by the reception team promptly and to a decent standard.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

shody insulation and building

Review Date Dec 2020

the apartment will be freezing in winter and boiling in summer, you have little to no insulation both heat and sound wise as you will hear neighbours having conversations in there own apartments and hear them using their toilet.

When you approach property management with noise issue you will be told “That’s strange as no one else has raised this type of complaint” however if you speak to other residents they will tell you they have raised similar complaints but have not had them addressed and have recieved a similar response.

You can hear people walking up and down the halways talking and when it is complained about the official email to all residents stated “This is by design as it is not required”, The walls/roofs aren’t straight so it shows this building was just “thrown up” for as cheap as possible, to an extent that the sliding warddroabs open on their own.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

very close to the city and has good green spaces around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i had known of noise and heat insulation issues.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

don’t lie to tenants about issues, try to resolve issues.

4
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Brook place is a lovely place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2020

Brook Place is a high end apartment block with lovely touches that make the apartments feel more homely but still modern and fresh. There are a range of shape and size apartments, some of them really unique and something to suit a wide range of needs. The staff are lovely and it’s so handy having resident services on site for everything you could need. There are lovely communal areas including a gym. The price may seem premium but considering it’s central location and high end finish it’s worth that little more for comfortable living.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is so central for everything you could want in Sheffield – for universities, hospitals, shopping, parks and outdoor spaces are the highlight of the area. So many place to eat and drink you’ll never be bored.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Certain positioned apartments are slightly more likely to hear noise from main corridor doors and lifts.

What is the best feature of your home:

The ability to have pets in such a nice and modern apartment.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Brook place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2020

The building is beautiful, there have been challenges related to the some of the work done by contractors in building the development. These have taken time to sort out. Also, it is unfortunate that (even before lockdown) the lounge was closed for residents at 11pm. Originally the lounge and rooftop was open at all times which was a real draw for myself to choose the development as it facilitated meeting new people.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is located next to a rather busy street

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that terms on the longue and the rooftop areas would be changed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Well enough, there have been times that I was frustrated with the manager’s response and treatment of the staff.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Brook place; a well-manged development with a high-end feel.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

The Brook place development is a contemporary, well finished apartment complex. The design and lighting of the shared spaces (entrance hall, living room, games room, dining hall) is tasteful and warm and gives of a high-end feel. The parcel collection service is very good and on-sight security is reassuring for residents. The roof terraces offer fantastic views of the city. Overall I would recommend Brook place to prospective tenants.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is perfectly situated close to the city center, while also being within walking distance of the more rural parts of Sheffield i.e. Endcliffe park. The vibrant Ecclesall road is only a minutes walk away, with many local shops, bars and restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That it is not possible to get a parking permit for the area around brook place for residents of brook place

What is the best feature of your home:

Modern furnishings and nice natural lighting provided by floor-to-ceiling windows in both the living room and bedroom.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

About the building

Review Date Nov 2020

I really like the design from granger it’s a modern finish and to a high speck. The staff are very friendly and always walk round with a smile on there faces. I think the fact that you can bring your pets in and out of the building and also have them living with us is always good especially with the current climate of COV19 and whilst on the topic the staff have being brilliant with keeping safe distance. The outdoor spaces are great with different spaces around the building, inside the building it is kept very clean and tidy which is always good as it makes the place very nice to be a part of

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the staff and people maybe some rough people inside living

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

They tell you parking price but ways round the parking

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No problems with the building as of yet as building is still new

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Life at Brook Place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

My favourite thing about living at Brook Place is the ease of everything! The booking and moving in process was all very simple. The fact we have a gym and lounge onsite means we don’t have to go very far to workout or even go for a coffee with friends. The staff are amazing & always happy to help and have a chat. It’s amazing that we are able to have our cat here & it is one of the only places in sheffield which welcomes pets! The apartments are designed and furnished beautifully and are equipped with great facilities. The community is also great here, the team are always putting on competitions and events (pre-covid) which were great. I could go on and on about how much we love living here!

The only negative I have about the building is the underground parking is very expensive so we decided not to go for that.

Overall, Brook Place is a great place to live and I would definitely recommend living here 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is perfect for myself and my partner. It is close to both our workplaces, a 10 minute walk into town, and a variety of different restaurants and shops nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only thing I can think of is bring plenty of storage if you’re like me with lots of clothes. We have boxes under the bed full of clothes/shoes due to the wardrobe not being big enough for us. Not necessarily a negative though.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have only had one problem with our apartment which was a leak which caused mould in our apartment and it took a while to sort out. It has now been resolved very well and the team were very helpful & let us stay in another apartment until it was sorted out. We appreciate that there was delays in getting contractors in due to COVID.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent

Review Date Nov 2020

Need a better smoking area- the roof?
More consistent pricing for flats and parking as some people pay more for the same thing
More cleaners on
Projector or cinema room in lounge as other Grainger places have this

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location close to shops and bars

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More help with bills

What is the best feature of your home:

Modern style and good appliances, clean and light, good size

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Property and building management is good. I believe the design could have been better to maximise natural light. E.g in my apartment, the window in the living room is small so I barely get light in the kitchen area and I have to rely on artificial lighting which is a bit inconvenient. Also, when it comes to glazing I believe it’s been done right but it might have been over the top as I have to keep my windows open to be able to sleep at night. This bothers me as to what summer would be like considering that there’s no form of cooling.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a 15 minute walk to the city centre and you can easily get a bus as well. There are good number of shops and restaurants about.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How warm it could get in the summer.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the size of the windows in the living room.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Brook place is nice place to live in when you first move to Sheffield

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2020

The management is one of the best things in the development because they are very helpful and supportive and act to solve problem very fast.
Design is very nice as it new build everything is clean and working . And the design it self is contemporary which is give it a nice look

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Brook place facilities and amenities re excellent the gym is bigger comparing to other development I was in with more machines but I would love to have more weight options. It is very near to one of nicest street in Sheffield with alot of restaurants and cafes and parks that give you different options

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They act very fast to solve the problem. Even though the dependant on other contractors to sort things so make things take longer a bet

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best Brook Place

Review Date Dec 2020

The design, building, everything looks so good and nice.
For me the most important thing was that pets are allowed, love that !
And I think with the 3 terrace it’s so nice maybe if that is a option it would be nice if one of the terrace is special for animals.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like everything here! The only thing what will be nice is a terrace also for cats & dogs 😊

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing everything is was clear!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Nothing! Is so nice everything what you need is in the apartment.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Review Date Dec 2020

Well designed accommodation with all mod cons. Apartment is spacious and thoughtfully layed out. Excellent facilities although haven’t been able to enjoy them much due to covid. Management team are very friendly and helpful. Easy to liaise with property management via online portal.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Easy access to city centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

All aspects of living here are well covered in the property induction before we moved in. Staff are very friendly to help with any questions

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Extra appliances included like vacuum cleaner and microwave

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Brook Place is brilliant !

Review Date Dec 2020

Design is great, modern looking. beautifully clean even though it’s a large build. Great parking on site. Outdoor and indoor communal spaces are fabulous. Bookable party kitchen, games room and gym. really value the concierge service

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to shops and bars and walking distance to the city centre. I absolutely love living here as it’s light and airy and the staff cannot do enough for you. It’s great coming in to a smile. Great communal areas and no real snagging issues even though it’s a new build.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can be noisy but that has resolved after my neighbour left

What is the best feature of your home:

Light and airy. Brand new ! Friendly community. Just fab

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A modern development, designed for everyone

Review Date Dec 2020

Brook Place is a modern development, designed for everyone. The building has a friendly vibe and there are plenty of well looked after communal/social areas to use (not during COVID). The location is ideal and the people who work and manage the building are very friendly and helpful should you have any issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is fantastic- right off of ecclesall road, which is a real hub of Sheffield. It’s also a 5 minute walk from the city centre which makes the location even better, plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

N/a

What is the best feature of your home:

I have a studio, but it has so much space and storage included which I love.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Brook Place, S11
User submitted image of Brook Place, S11
User submitted image of Brook Place, S11

Location

Grainger

About Grainger

Based in the UK, Grainger is a British-based property developer and the UK’s largest professional landlord. It aims to create…
Number of developments 13

4.23

Average rating based on 206 reviews

View company