Bellway Homes at Berry Hill, NG18

Bellway Homes at Berry Hill, NG18

By
Bellway Homes
4th
Ranked 4th out of 14 in Nottinghamshire
4.11 (22 reviews) 4.11 (22 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.45
Facilities
4.27
Design
4.50
Location
4.18
Value
3.55
Management

Berry Hill has been carefully planned to meet the needs of a wide range of people, working closely with the some of the UK’s leading home builders to create individual homes that meet high environmental standards. Berry Hill  is a great place to live and work, creating a thriving community, Berry Hill will feature shops, cafes, a school and many other amenities.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Bellway Brilliance on Berry Hill

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I fell in love with our house design the moment I viewed the show home and felt so happy to have been able to purchase a plot with the same design home. The sales team were fabulous at every point of the journey especially with us reserving our plot in summer 2020 in the middle of the pandemic. The builders and site managers are often seen around the estate and are happy to help if you approach with a query. We had quite a few visits from the site manager in the first few weeks who ensured any problems or snags were sorted and fixed efficiently. Everyone has been great 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Although we are still awaiting amenities to be built on the site itself there is shops and bars available locally within a short walk of the development. The development currently runs a free bus service to the town centre which is great. Our street is lovely and quiet and everyone is very friendly, there’s a lovely community atmosphere. Plenty of parking due to houses having their own drives with most having space for a minimum of two cars. We’ve had no issues with bin collection or anti social behaviour. Our house is at the back of the development however minimum noise heard from the main road behind us.
There is lots of green space nearby and lovely little walks that have been added into the development plans which add to the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long it would be until the roads were fully surfaced. Half of our street was started in March this year however is still yet to be completed

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quickly and efficiently. Very good communication, helpful after sales team. We had an issue with our carpet and they replaced the whole room within a month of being informed of the issue sending someone out to assess the problem within a couple of days of the concern first being raised. We have also been able to approach the site manager around the estate when we have had a problem and he has called in the same day to see what he can do to help.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design of the Bellway development is well thought out for any family to live comfortably.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The design of the Bellway development is well thought out for any family to live comfortably. The houses are not too close together and the garden size is larger than expected. All of the living areas and bedrooms are a decent size. The facilities are of great quality and the attention to detail is impressive. Plenty of storage space, could do with an extra cupboard in the kitchen and a double oven rather than a single would have been better, however the space is utilised really well when including the built in dishwasher and washing machine. The building and property management have been excellent with quick responses every time we had an issue no matter how big or small. The Bellway customer care team are so courteous and provide excellent customer service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are shops, petrol stations and pubs/restaurants within a short driving distance but nothing as yet in walking distance. There is however free transport from the development on the main road. I haven’t experienced using this service as I am a driver however more often than not there is a bus on the route when I am driving by so I’m presuming transport availability is sufficient. There are beautiful nature walks near by and within reasonable walking distance such as Berry Hill Park. Parking availability on my street is great, a minimum of two cars on every drive and some driveways can fit three cars. Never had any problems with the bin collection. No anti social behaviour what so ever. The traffic noise is persistent as we are directly next to a main road, however it depends on personal preference as to whether this is a problem or not. Once again this hasn’t caused any issues for our household. Neighbours on the other hand have complained about speeding cars and motorbikes making unnecessary noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How the end of the garden sloped quite significantly and was not as level as expected.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues raised have been responded to very quickly and they are always eager to get them resolved sooner rather than later.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The houses are well designed however extra storage would be great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

We have lived on the development for over two years now. We are still having ongoing issues with our property which should hopefully be resolved this coming week. I wish the builders would be more considerate with the amount of rubbish blowing out of their skips onto our gardens and would try and limit the amount of times a day the large tracked diggers go past our house as it shakes everything! We would also love for the pavements and roads to be sorted out as we have a young child who struggled with the uneven ground.
The houses are well designed however extra storage would be great

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is situated in a good location to get to mansfield and Nottingham town centres. I would love to see a shop and a children’s play park, the bus route could be improved as well as family friendly cycle routes

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had employed an independant surveyor before completion
We wish we had been made aware that our plot would have constant building traffic and mess surrounding it throughout our two years-other streets have been built and moved on from- however we have not had this luxury

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have spoken to site managers about a couple of issues which have never been dealt with do we no longer approach them

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love the design of the house and it works well for our family

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Love the design of the house and it works well for our family .
Would have preferred a bigger utility as the kitchen is large .

Love the large kitchen and lounge – perfect for a family . 3 large double bedrooms is really great for our family too.
The garden is quite overlooked now which is a little disappointing as you don’t realise until the other houses around are built .

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely area. Still waiting for local shops and restaurants to be built . We were informed when we bought that they would be built soon but nothing as yet .
Parking is limited on the street as the roads are very narrow. We do hear some road noise from the 617 but it is improved since more houses have been built .

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ensure you always email customer care rather than rely on phone calls as not everything is logged otherwise .

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Still dealing with issues . 2 year warranty ends this month .

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall a good development but attention to detail is required

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

I feel that the design of the development is good. It think the attention to detail is a little lacking, the green spaces were still covered in bits of building materials when the grass seed was sewn. I also think that the builders could be a little tidier with their work. We have lived here over two years and most days there is builders rubbish on the drive. I think a little more consideration should be shown to residents who have paid good money to live here. (I know they all have a job to do). The Lindhurst Group are not great at keeping in residents informed either, for such a big build project. The little Facebook group has proved itself invaluable for that reason alone.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Unfortunately there has nothing yet been built on the site in the way of shops, bars, restaurants but there are some a little further afield. There is a Tesco petrol station, pub and Chinese takeaway within walking distance but most other things you’d probably have to drive to. There is a bus service on the estate but I believe that the number of times it operates has been cut a little. The bin collections are good and regular. There is nothing in the way of anti social behaviour and with most roads being cul-de-sacs, the traffic noise is kept to a minumum

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that the roads on the sides streets wouldn’t be completed even though all the buildings have been and that no facilities would be built until much later in the process (i.e. much needed schools)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Customer service is slow. Covid is often blamed but the builders still seem to be producing houses. One query did take six months to sort and I had to escalate within Bellway.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Stay away from Bellway builders

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

We have had nothing but hassle from Bellway, there were many mistakes that took ages to fix. The piping underneath the bath wasn’t fitted properly so the first bath we had when the bath was drained leaked all the way down the walls into the living room and kitchen. The concrete on our drive was cracking and creating holes. Our front door didn’t lock properly or close properly so when it was heavy rain it would come through the gaps in the front door and there was a big draught and yeah it took Bellway almost a year and a half to fit a proper door. They never fitted the security clips on the boiler so our boiler failed its test. All the grouting in the en-suite shower fell out. Part of the roof inside the loft wasn’t fitted properly and they just duct taped it back up which fell down and caused rain water to come through and make our ceilings mouldy. Overall would not recommend Bellway to anyone.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself it lovely, think the estate will look nice once the builders have gone. Quite if not next to the main road

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had known how rubbish Bellway were. Our neighbours have had many similar issues which they had rectified after a long period of time for them to go wrong again after talking to people on our street many people have had similar issues from careless builders

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It took a year and a half to get a
New door fitted after it was leaking and wouldn’t lock properly. We had to raise it with NHBC

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Room for improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I love my house design and the fact that the whole development has different styles. My house is in a wonderful plot with great parking and a generous garden. Finishing touches need to be worked on within the houses and the area itself. The management don’t check the quality of work being done, particularly when snags have had to be fixed. Still awaiting facilities as promised in the plans.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself is lovely with a great community feel and close to many things. The development currently lacks what it promised in terms of shops, doctors, bar/pub, parks. This would improve the score hugely if these amenities were in place as promised. We have some parking issues with builder traffic and inconsiderate people. Bin collection is good. I really hope that the grounds will be maintained with pride, especially around the open areas and nature reserve.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that the plans might change with regards to facilities. It would be nice if we could be kept up to date on what’s happening and timescales.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

After persistent emails and calls, issues have and are still being resolved. Some have needed a few attempts to get right but eventually been done. Managers just need to check on the contractor’s work.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

House layout is good but would love more storage areas as we are struggling for space.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

We have a Somerby and really don’t understand where the gate is in the garden. If you open both of the patio doors and someone comes through the gate it will hit the door – which we have done.
House layout is good but would love more storage areas as we are struggling for space.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Our extractor fan keeps braking, we have had someone come out a few times to fix it but it still keep going back to how it was.
Very unhappy with our fence, this issue still needs to be resolved.
We have a chip on one of our tiles in the kitchen from when we moved in.
However we have some very good neighbours around us who are very friendly.
Nice areas to walk around as a family.
One of our neighbours are very noisy and inconsiderate, we have asked for the number to contact the owner as it’s a rented properly next door but are still waiting for this from June!!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That our neighbours house is a rented property, tenants are very inconsiderate.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Our extractor fan needs fixing again after several times of breaking so waiting for this to be done. We was told we need a brand new one putting in. We will email to get booked in again.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Location very nice. Not very noisy as long as you’re not close to A road.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Location very nice. Not very noisy as long as you’re not close to A road. Builders can be inconsiderate with their parking. Customer services can be very difficult to get hold of when needing things. Experienced a fair few problems with the build itself.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Development does need more shops/ bars/ restaurants. Berry hill flyer a good idea. Parking can be difficult sometimes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bellway customer services are very poor and reluctant to help.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very reluctantly, took over a year to get a replacement door we needed.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great located development with a good range of property styles and sizes

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Great located development with a good range of property styles and sizes. On street parking will be an issue if you require more than the standard 2 car park spaces per household. Support from property management was good specially Cathy form the sales office. It took years for our chosen plot to become available and she kept us informed all the way.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location with easily manageable walk into the town centre and great transport links. Friendly and peaceful neighbourhood. No local facilities on the development at this point but some should be following in due course

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

New builds can often get some white dusting on the bricks – don’t panic it will pass

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Issue with faulty fire alarm was resolved quickly and with a real sense of urgency

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Bellway Homes at Berry Hill, NG18

Location

Number of developments 62

4.00

Average rating based on 778 reviews

View company