Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23

Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23

By
Bellway Homes
Ranked 80th out of 87 in West Midlands
3.56 (16 reviews) 3.56 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.00
Facilities
3.75
Design
3.69
Location
3.44
Value
2.75
Management

Houlton Meadows is set in 40 acres of natural habitat. The homes have been built to a high standard with modern interiors, fitted kitchens and dedicated parking provision.

Read more Read less

Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Should be nice in a few years!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Building itself if nice and not had many issues. Garden was built with a big slope so all the water flooded to the bottom of patio up against house when it would rain and the grass in cold weather is all mushy and drainage is poor. I extended patio which has helped with water against house but grass is still mushy and have reported this months ago. They could have put more effort into building the garden flat, I don’t mind the slope but the fact it’s contributing to poor drainage and a patio turning green with makes me wish they had just took more time to make it flat.
Not any facilities around here currently as still a building site and blocked off to Houlton centre but should be better when fence on station road eventually comes down.
Shower and bathroom are nice but floor was poorly laid and when contractor came out to correct the parts of laminate not stuck down he did a lazy job and re sealed the edges against the wall with silicon over the old silicon so it looks poor. Silicon around bath and shower is already coming away and separated so I will need to re do myself.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good aspects are it is up and coming and I think in 3 years it will be nice to live here. Open spaces are blocked off by a fence on station avenue at the moment so need to walk all the way around which is long. Also have lived here for over a year and roads and unpaved, muddy and there isn’t a street light on my road. I understand the roads as David Wilson are building opposite and they will probably be done after but a street light is a basic thing. Right now it is very noisy due to building works opposite and front of house and cars are constantly filthy. Again not complaining just pointing it out. It would be good if Bellway or David Wilson offered to clean everything after but I doubt it.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had picked a flatter garden or inspected the garden better.

What is the best feature of your home:

It is warm due to the insulation which I have been impressed with. Bathrooms look nice.

2
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall, Houlton Meadows is an amazing place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The development and design itself is lovely – there are many different homes but it looks very smart and well thought out driving around the streets. The show home that we viewed was really nice and gave us many decor ideas!
The greenery areas around have many different plants and looks really good, especially when all bloomed in the summer. Unfortunately some areas are not well kept at all, but overall the thought and design are great.
The property management/building management has been the aspect that we have felt extremely let down on – out home is great, however the very few issues we had have still not been handled over a year now after moving in. We have chased and chased and have had no reply.
The local facilities are great, making it a really lovely family walk through the development and we are really excited to see the whole finished look of Houlton Meadows

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is close to all local amenities – there is now a local shop, supermarket is close by, school and local park is within walking distance. Transport links are much better now that the bus route has started to. It’s also easy to get to the train station which is very useful.
Our street is lovely to live on – the neighbours are friendly and so far no problems! We park in a communal car park. Unfortunately, the upkeep is not great with many Arabs having overgrown grass/weeds. Some homes with more than 2 cars have started parking on the grass verges which has sadly ruined the grass and isn’t a pleasant site driving in to our car park.
Traffic noise is quiet. Considering there is still a lot of building work, the noise is not too disruptive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had looked more in to the local area when we were deciding to buy this house – we were shocked at the amount of facilities Houlton had to offer. The nature trails for walks and the local park just to name a couple. If we had known the amazing community feel of Houlton then we would not have hesitated and have bought the house straight away, rather that taking weeks to decide!

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen is our best feature. We did not have say over the colour/ design as we bought a shared ownership home, but the design and colour choice was perfect for us. We was pleasantly surprised that it came with flooring, integrated washing machine and integrated fridge/freezer. Most homes that we had viewed with different developers didn’t. So great addition from Bellway

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

I moved here a year ago and building work was opposite my house, anything was kept tidy by the builders and very little noise . Had no problem getting to my driveway and the roads were kept clean throughout the builds.

Bellway has design the planning of the houses well and I’m not overlooked.

Had a few snags in the house but was soon sorted.

The whole of Houlton is very attractive and have a good community service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The co op in Houlton is very good , so is the restaurant, Tuning Fork.
The open spaces and the park is excellent and clean.
There are local shops and takeaways in Hillmorton which is about a mile away and two bars.
Good bus route .
The street I like on is lovely,quiet and well kept , bins emptied regularly.
I’m not far from the main road and train line but hear nothing from inside the house.
Been here a year and had no problems with parking or neighbours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only annoying thing was the sales office, as they could never answer any of the questions about certain things in the house and how they worked

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen /diner and big french doors, lovely units.
The garden is large and south facing.
Bedrooms are a good size and en suite is big .

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live and raise kids

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Good development, great design homes, excellent neighbourhood, green spaces , biking, walking etc. people are friendly. Great community to meet and celebrate your festivals. Excellent park nearby for kids to play during sunny days. Local schools for primary and secondary available

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent locality , good design homes and great neighbourhood. Only short coming is local shops , facilities like GP

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Excellent community and amazing neighbourhood to live and raise kids.

What is the best feature of your home:

Home design and space use is excellent. Very spacious roads

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I like the fact I have ground floor for easy access

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The buildings are great different type houses for everyone I like the fact I have ground floor for easy access nice & private too there are only 3 storey high which is good too &new build aswell I love it

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have a car so everything is great I have my parking spot to & shops are great easy access to the town & also we have bus routes which is great if I need them

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing I’m hapoy

What is the best feature of your home:

I love the fact I’m on ground floor my car right near me too

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Life at Houlton Meadows

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Great location and great value for money from Belllway. The residents are generally warm and friendly. I really enjoy the development and its design. Simple but very communal. Coop in Houlton is great place for groceries and the Barn is amazing for dining. Schools are great too I hear. Bellway is generally very quick to attend any issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location and access to motorways. Very quite neighbourhood and very communal. Coop in Houlton is great place for groceries and the Barn is amazing for dining. Schools are great too I hear. I like the open areas in and around the development, very nice walking routes.
Though, there are something that could be improved all around, mainly surrounding the condition of roads. Sometimes the roads are very slippery. Potholes are starting to appear more commonly which have costed many peoples car tyres. Public transport links aren’t that great, but I am looking forward to the new Houton station to be opened soon.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t realise the communal living is this great. Very helpful neighbours and an amazing atmosphere!

What is the best feature of your home:

Overall its a comfortable home for our small family. I quite like the kitchen and the garden.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not a bad plot

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Development is coming on nicely.
Access through to the rest of our street would be appreciated to all residents on Bellway and sourding areas, even if this was a walk through access.
Roads are being damaged due to heavy vehicles. I myself don’t feel there are any major issues with this development. Different people have different things they do and don’t mind. You can’t please them all.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The mess coming under the fence from storage area not great, damage to roads and curbs not good either.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No rather happy to be honest, building work that’s going on isn’t really and issue, it’s obvious on house viewing this plot is still developing so it’s to be expected.

What is the best feature of your home:

I enjoy the Large kitchen and living room areas. For a new build/housing association property garden is an ok size. I have seen smaller.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Design of the property could be reconsidered

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Design of the property could be reconsidered, little storage areas
Living room has stairs so function as part hallway
Downstairs toilet would function better as a hall way cupboard
3rd bedroom is too small to fit single bed, more of an office/study

Bath in main bathroom does not have hand shower

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good quiet neighbourhood with friendly neighbours
Bin collection is frequent
2 driveway spots available with our property Like many locally not much off street parking available

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Shower did not drain properly so had to contact landlord to contact bellway homes
Stagf in sales office could not offer much help

What is the best feature of your home:

New build so everything is clean and tidy
French doors to garden
2 parking spots on driveway and property on flat land not incline or decline

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

really nice and modern, not too far if you drive, quiet, shops near by

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

Same as above, new build properties are often build too quickly without attention to detail being taken into consideration only bad thing about them. Quite worrying when you purchase property as you have this for quite a long time not much like renting as you can just leave.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good things are: really nice and modern, not too far if you drive, quiet, shops near by.
Bad things: Housing association don’t know anything, difficult when your a young first time buyer on your own and need help had to figure things out my own, little things in the property I’ve noticed are off definitely due to it being a new build seems rushed minor details not done well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The problems that come with a new build because of how rushed they are built within a year

What is the best feature of your home:

Kitchen/living room is the best open plan I really like that

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Houlton Meadows is a great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

Houlton Meadows is a great place to live. It’s safe and friendly and is in a good location. Although it is still under development, Bellway keep it clean and tidy and the builders aren’t intrusive. There are planned green spaces and it’s close to another new community with a shop, park and local communal events. A good local pub would be a great addition though!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are 2 pubs/bars within walking distance and both are disappointing. There is a co-op close by but no other local shops so not much variety. Transport links are good, the planned new station will make it even better. We love living on our street, parking is fine, there’s no antisocial behaviour and very little traffic noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Pay for a legitimate snagging report, the developer will take your concerns about your new home more seriously.

What is the best feature of your home:

The patio doors leading from the kitchen to the garden.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

please do not bye from these con artists they only care about your money not you and your standard of living as soon as i can im selling up

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

design is horrible look cheap even do expensive facilities awful street liggting works when it wants too as for property management is a disgrace im here nearly a year with untold issues with my house and they dont care havent even done a check which they were supposed to do defects check never been done when it was arranged they couldnt be bothered to show up when i vontact all i get is someone will be in touch never happens

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

not many shops yet and transport outside driving is a joke 15 min walk to first bus and taxis dont even want to know

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

hiw bad the housing association and the developer actually is

What is the best feature of your home:

there isnt any because its fauling down if i was to say anything probably the top floor bedroom

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not Houlton

Review Date Sep 2022

Terrible development with a big fence across the road. Have lived here nearly two years and progress is slow. Facilities for residents are none exsistent. It is not a development just a never ending building site, Bellway are able to give no dates of when access will be given to houlton

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

No good about living on this site. It is not Houlton. They block access to Houlton with a fence going across the road. Basically you are cut off from any facilities such as co op, school, park. It’s more like a prison.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That they would keep us locked in for two years with no access to any of the stuff Houlton has to offer

What is the best feature of your home:

None the laminate is poor and all fixtures are poor

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

House and area is very good but could do with improvements

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Building design is good however when i had leak pipe which got sorted there was no investigation tonsee what other damage was done even when i asked for someone to take a look. The was due to a fitting not been done correctly and the inbuilt washing machine not being plumbed in when it shoukd have been. Also there is a smoke alarm in the kitchen which is a silly place. which i need to remove evey time i cook smokey food otherwise it will go off which is a poor design.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location however could do with a train station closer by. Roads are still on development so they are rough and not car friendly. Also a bolt was left on the road which i drove over and need to get a new tyre for. Parking is okay but could do with mkre for when guest come to visit

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The smoke alarm is main powered so you cant just move it to a more sensible location

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feture of the home is how warm it is and how easy the heating system is to use.

2
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Hopeful

Review Date Jan 2022

The development is soley growing. What had been built so far looks great. However roads are still bad and some roads are poorly lit. Shared ownership Property management is poor as I have things that have not been fixed 6 months after reporting them. At the moment cannot comment on design of development as is incomplete .

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are shops and a restaurant but I have difficulty accessing them as there is currently a wall

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long it would take for all developers to complete construction

What is the best feature of your home:

Double french doors to the garden are fantastic- a must have for every home

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy in Houlton

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The development is modern, fresh and spacious, with a decent sized garden and ample parking. Build quality of the property is good, fixtures and fittings could be better (I.e. lack of shaving points, no shower in main bathroom, no outside tap). Otherwise very good

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Houlton is a lovely, burgeoning community with lots of young families. Local amenities are good (park, cafe, pub, shop) which will continue to grow as the development progresses. No problems with traffic or bin collections.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lack of some fairly basic fixtures (I.e. outdoor tap).

What is the best feature of your home:

The size of the second floor bedroom is palatial!!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

wouldnt buy off these theres better houses for better prices out there im selling up as soon as im in a position to do so

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

developement itself is alright not bad but the houses are rubbish wouldnt recomend as there very expensive for what your getting my house is a year old and riddled with problems bit the developer and housing association dont want to know im also in the house nearly a year and have had not had a end of defects inspection which i was supposed to have awhile back that would highlight the issues i have but they dont care

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

its ok theres a shop up the road for basics so not terrible transport links at the moment not great but does benifit from just being off the m1

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

i just wish i hadlooked into the developer more as bellway dont have the best reputation but i do hope other buyers have had more luck then i have

What is the best feature of your home:

the house itself is ok bar the issues im having if the developer cared and actually rectified there shabby building i would be much happier

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23
User submitted image of Bellway at Houlton Meadows, CV23

Location

Number of developments 69

3.94

Average rating based on 873 reviews

View company