Bedford House, CR0

Bedford House, CR0

By
Clarion Housing Group
3.54 (7 reviews) 3.54 (7 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.86
Facilities
3.57
Design
4.00
Location
3.29
Value
3.29
Management

Excellent

14%

Very Good

71%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

14%

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

1 Bensham Lane

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Very little thought was given to the design of the building. Residents of 1 Bensham Lane must leave the building to access the bin store which opens onto the street. Each resident has a key but the locks can break. Then vagrants sleep there and make the place messy and untidy. There are two locks but, at the time of writing, only one works.

Residents of 3 Bensham Lane and the London Road block have access to their bin store via the car park but they have no car parking spaces.

There are cycle stores but there is no process for gaining access. I have requested this on a number of occasions without success. One of my reasons for purchasing my flat was that I thought that secure cycle storage was available. After moving in, I locked my bike in one of the bike stores but it was soon vandalised and bit by bit parts were stolen until there was othing left. The specific location where I locked my bike has a fence but it doesn’t reach the roof so thieves simply climbed over. There are two bike stores with fences that do reach to the roof, making them secure, but they are already taken. Now I take must carry my bike through my flat (to avoid dirtying the carpets) and park it on the balcony. My balcony is very small so I must upend the bike to open and close the door.

Building management is below average with the lobby frequently looking untidy. A lot of the paintwork is dirty. Carpets are falling away on the staircases.

Clarion have never provided me with a correct invoice for my monthly management charges. I have been chasing them since October 2019 (I moved in in August 2019) for correct invoices but they seem uninterested in engaging with me.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The immediate area has a good selection of small stores: Tesco Express and many ethnic groceries; also various harware stores. It is not far to walk to Croydon town centre where there are larger shops.

There is a good Chinese takeaway across the road. There are also plenty of chicken and chips takeaways in the local area. Also one or two ethnic eateries. For bars and dining out, one would need to go into or around Croydon town.

There is no green space in or around the block.

For transport, there are a numbber of bus routes that stop very close to the block. West Croydon train and bus station is within walking distance. East Croydon station, with high speed trains to London, Gatwick and Brighton, is a 25 minute walk or a bus ride away. Croydon has trams to Wimbledon, Beckeenham and New Addington.

Each flat in owner occupied 1 Bensham Lane has a single parking space in a covered car park. Cars enter via fob operated gates which frequently do not work and are left open. Pedestrians can enter from the road through a fob operated pedestrian gate. Residents of 3 Bensham Lane can also enter via an exit from their block even though they have no car parking spaces there. The same applies to the block on London road.

There is no free parking in the street during weekday daytimes, though there are metered spaces where one can park for a limited time. After 5pm and on Sundays, parking on the single lines is free.

There is a lot of traffic noise, especially from emergency vehicle sirens and motorists sounding their horns, although when the windows are closed, the double glazing mitigates the sound significantly.

The area in which the block is located tends to have a numer of less desirable people who have been known to cause trouble in the car park when the gates are left open. In the evenings and night some local anti-social behaviour can occur. I would not recommend single women to walk between the block and West Croydon station in the dark evening when crowds of youths congregate on the streets. There have been a number of stabbings recently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that secure bike storage is unavailable.
I wish I had known that there high speed broadband is unavailable. The internet is the copper cable ADSL. I had assumed that a block as new as this would have fibre to the flat or, ate the very least, fibre to the cabinet but this is not the case. It is impossible to obtain an estimate of when this might become available although the residents are attempting to have it installed privately, i.e not through BT Openreach.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I am an owner occupier so Clarion will not help with internal repairs. For small repairs in the communal areas, they are reasonably responsive. For more major issues such as the car park gates or the lift out of action, one may wait for some time.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A Great, Well-Designed and Managed Development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The development at Bedford House is affordable and maintained well, the design is great too – very safe locking doors and alarms installed, lifts are usually fixed very immediately if there is a problem, cctv installed around the premises, car park at the bottom of block and a bin room at the back with recycling, key thob doors and a pretty well maintained communal space, spacious apartments that are well designed. The property management, are good at receiving calls and taking any repair reporting, and understanding if ever get into arrears. We have a caretaker or warden in the property who hoover and maintain the refuse area well. They also deal with post and leaflets that come into the foyer, usually say hi and seem hard working. Its quite a deterrent to the anti social behavior we can get at times.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The range of shops are quite good, we have a local tesco, many news agents, a solicitors, DIY shop and beauty salons a new cafe has opened up the road and quite a few takeaway shops although not many restaurants at all. There’s a few parks around the area and pubs all within walking distance. The transport is good; buses just outside the apartment or a walk away and then the main Croydon train stations are not far either. The area is a bit untidy and has a lot of signs of poverty and even street crime but generally its quite okay.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish it was more of popular place to swap with, as I would like to move from the area one day in the near future but unfortunately its not very desired, from my years of experience of property searching. I wish I knew I couldn’t own part of it as I’d like a place I can part own one day soon and I wish I knew we weren’t allowed a plant in the foyer as it just looks cold and poverty stricken and dire without. The car spaces were also very pricey which was not helpful.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Convenient developmet

Review Date Mar 2021

Building looks nice. Flats are differing sizes. Bin store is outside – not so convenient. Builling needs painting internally. Lift sometimes breaks down. Quiet unless you open the windows – road is a bit busy with lots of police & ambulance sirens. No secure bike parking. Lots of residents keep their bike on the balcony.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to Croydon town centre so plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Transport links are many: buses, trains & trams. Street can be a bit dirty but busy with plenty of shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I realised that there is no secure bike storage.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Most repairs are fixed within a week or so. Some can take months.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Flat in the heart of croydon

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The design of the building is very beautiful with many unique aspects such as an extra toilet upstairs. The fact the flat is duplex makes it seem more home-like rather than flat-like. There is always a day and night caretaker/staff patrolling the area to prevent Anti-social behaviour.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is plenty of parking around the flats and a few residential parking bays underneath the flats. Public transport is extremely easy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a very nice view, especially when the sun is setting which gives a lovely calm atmosphere.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review of Bedford House

Review Date Mar 2021

Building and property management is extremely poor. Complaints take too long to be acknowledged and rectified. Building design is good, big windows but execution has been poor. A lot of issues with windows and balcony doors.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good range and quality of local shops, restaurants, bars & parks nearby. Excellent transport links.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Shoddy workmanship.

What is the best feature of your home:

Big open windows that allow alot of light in and the balcony is good too.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Avoid Clarion Housing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The design of the building is very poor. There is no direct access to the car park from the entrance of the building. We have to go round other block of flats. Building management and property management are very poor. Lift was broken for many months until they fix it. Car park gate was broken for many months and many cars got vandalised during that time.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Poor parking availability, bin collections very rare, thiefs operating in this area, big traffic noise

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known about the poor customer service of Clarion Housing.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best thing is that the energy bills are low in the winter.

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Bedford house tenant

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Good management and design of flat. Very thought through project. The building management are great and you can easily get ahold of everyone. There are a few parking spaces underground and on road parking all around. The neighbours are friendly and a very nice community

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Many local shops opposite. Easily accessible to trains and buses

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good view

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 9

3.83

Average rating based on 67 reviews

View company