Avant Homes at Berry Hill, NG18

Avant Homes at Berry Hill, NG18

By
Avant Homes
Ranked 7th out of 14 in Nottinghamshire
3.71 (11 reviews) 3.71 (11 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.00
Facilities
4.27
Design
4.55
Location
3.55
Value
2.82
Management

Excellent

9%

Very Good

55%

Average

36%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Berry Hill has been carefully planned to meet the needs of a wide range of people, working closely with the some of the UK’s leading home builders to create individual homes that meet high environmental standards. Berry Hill  is a great place to live and work, creating a thriving community, Berry Hill will feature shops, cafes, a school and many other amenities.

 

 

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Love our home – but not because of the experience.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Beautiful looking homes and phase 1 has a great standard spec, although I believe this has been drastically reduced for phase 2 buyers which is a shame, especially considering the price these homes are being put up for sale for. Generally snags were rectified however this wasn’t always quick. Many homes have been investigated due to cold rooms, no conclusive findings were reported and no further action was taken by our builder to rectify this. Contractors have little respect for those living in homes on the development and this does not seem to have been taken seriously by the builder. Overall we love our home but this is due to the changes we have made to make it ours, rather than due to the experience we have had with the builder since purchasing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shop is approx 15-20 min walk away although we are due to have shops as part of the wider development (no date confinement at this point). Berry Hill Flyer bus is available but does not run into the evening, next closest bus requires a walk to Nottingham Road or Chatsworth Drive depending on destination. Open spaces are poorly maintained, get partially mowed periodically but are generally filled with weeds. Paths get easily eroded by rainwater and can become dangerous. Close proximity to Harlow Wood which is a lovely walk. Parking on the main road through the Berry Hill Lindhurst Development is also less than ideal and at times dangerous.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had known how cold the house was going to be, perhaps partially due to it being open plan but many varying house types have experienced issues with this also. Also wish we had known how poorly the open spaces were going to be maintained, which is not the responsibility of the developer.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Site manager very responsive, senior management in the organisation also seem genuinely interested however we do not feel this always follows through down to those who are supposed to be taking the action.

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Serial new home buyer found a place for life

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Our house is 4 bed Tetbury design and it gives people the wow factor when they come to visit for the first time. It’s a large house with a fabulous open plan kitchen / dining area with bi fold doors downstairs. All the upstairs rooms are of reasonable size without being large. There’s plenty of features in the house you’d expect to pay as an extra in other house builders – digital shower, full height tiling, bi fold doors, Hive heating, quality appliances. Our garden is of reasonable size, but the quality of turf laid at ours and other houses within the development has been of sub standard. Our snagging items have been handled with nicely, even if some have taken a bit of time.

The estate, like any new build estate, is often full of builders litter and and it doesn’t seem a priority for the devloper to keep it tidy during construction.

Overall we are very happy in our new home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is idyllic, on the Southern edge of Mansfield attached to a well renowned current estate. The facilities within walking distance are minimal, there’s only a petrol station shop and that’s 15 minutes walk away. As with all new development, local facilities such as parks and shops are the very last to go in and we’re still awaiting these to be built, but we can really see the potential in the overall site once these are done. There’s no anti social behaviour, no traffic noise and we have ample parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To thoroughly picture yourself and your furniture in your new home and then chose lights and plug sockets accordingly!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Every single after care query we have raised has been responded to in a professional way.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovley development, but beware of builder aftercare

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Overall the design of the housing is pleasing to look at and the interior layouts are lovley, but the overall Aftercare of the properties when things need addressing are where standards begin to fall. You wait for days and even weeks for anyone to be in touch regarding issues you have and they can take months to sort depending on how skilled the trade is that attends, which most of the time is sub par for what we paid to live here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall lovley area to live, with open areas to enjoy, very peaceful and friendly. Currently no shops restaurants or bars etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad the Aftercare actually is. Just ensure you check your property before signing any contracts to ensure you have minimal disturbance when your in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They eventually responded. Initially after the first month of living there the Aftercare was great, but beyond this point its like they don’t want to know, waiting for months for things to be rectified.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Avant homes have good quality fixtures and fittings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Really convenient location. Plot is on the front of the estate so feels very open. Avant homes have good quality fixtures and fittings, let down by some poor workmanship from subcontractors. Landscaping of the estate is coming on well with lots of trees and open spaces. Parking can be a challenge during working week due to builders cars and other vehicles. Large amounts of dust created with a very infrequent road sweeper visiting. I lived on another new build estate and the developer provided a free window cleaning service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really nice community feel, quiet. Haven’t experienced any antisocial behaviour. I use my own vehicle but public transport links appear good. Local facilities are still being developed.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Really enjoy living here in the main. Very quiet, good access to major routes.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Problems have mostly been sorted in a timely manner. If greater attention to detail was applied initially, many problems would have been easily avoided.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development but with some negatives

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The development as a whole is good, the green spaces and walking routes are good ! Good access to main roads and there is a bus service. It is a quiet and friendly area.

However there is no local shops, bars/pubs or restaurants Making it feel out the way and forgotten about

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area as a whole is good, lots of green spaces and walking routes.

A wide range of bars and restaurants are available at lots of different price points.

Traffic as a general is pretty good, although There is few hotspots for bad traffic at rush hour and weekends.

Great transport links. busses, around the area and linking to Nottingham city and derby city. Train links to Nottingham. Newark north gate train station is not a far drive away and has mainline links to London/Edinburgh.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not to take what the builders say on face value, they will try and fob you off to get away with any issues they can

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Getting the developers to schedule the builders to come and sort any issues out was difficult but once the builders and subcontractors came out they was wonderful

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor amenities but happy with house and location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Happy with Avant as a developer and the design of the house, avant have managed to do snagging for us with out a issue even some times coming twice for the same issue. The development is design nicely and doesn’t look likes house just crammed in like a lot of new build estates

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Happy with the location, no shops and no through road to Nottingham road, parking on lyndhurst way west is a accident waiting to happen

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bought of plan and as first time buyer didn’t really know what to expect

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Spoken to them sent photos of issues and then resolved all issues we have raised

1
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Balanced review

Review Date Oct 2021

Poor finish & poor choice of contractors has let avant down. However positively Beautiful homes and a higher quality choice of materials which adds to the bespoke nature of the property. The design is great as well.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very quiet and quaint so much potential. Bad is other sites aren’t finished.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Getting someone professional to identify issues prior to moving in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very very slowly and multiple times. I imagine this is because they are dealing with a lot of issues

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great house but a disappointing finish.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Great house but a disappointing finish. Taking an age to get things sorted. Obviously rushed to get finished before they had to pay for stamp duty. Spent a lot of my time chasing people and booking time off for them not to turn up

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nothing in a walkable distance. Ideally would like a pub, corner shop within walking distance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check the plans carefully! They change all the designs all of the time

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

SLOW or even not at all. Still chasing for updates

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Builders rubbish makes the area an eyesore

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Overall we love our house however we have had repeating issues and some issues that we have reported that haven’t even been rectified. Property management for the development aren’t great and the estate is full of builders rubbish. Makes the development look an absolute eyesore.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Closest shop is a 15 minute walk. Berry hill park is close by but is run down and in need of a revamp. The only public transport is a shuttle bus which has just had the timetable cut down. Crime is low on the estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Living around so many people with dogs isn’t great. Our neighbours have a dog boarding business as well as breeds her dogs and the noise is horrendous.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Overall we love our house however we have had repeating issues and some issues that we have reported that haven’t even been rectified.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Average score for avant from me

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Lovely looking houses but facilities around are very basic. Trying to get little snags sorted is very difficult especially if you work full time. Overall avant is Average rushed to meet deadlines shows when you move in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

No local shops or restaurants worth shopping or visiting except the obvious Tesco’s etc. Local bus runs through the estate every hour which I Personally don’t use however is good for locals that use it. Only lived on the estate 9 months but fed up of pot holes poor roads & noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise is horrendous not so much on avant side now but it was just as bad as the bellway is now, it’s 6 days a week 7-5ish not nice when your working nights.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Everything takes such a long time I appreciate when you find problems it can’t be fixed straight away however when it take 3-4 weeks for a response it’s pretty poor.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 21

4.02

Average rating based on 169 reviews

View company