About Avant Homes

Avant Homes operates in Scotland, the north east of England, Yorkshire and the Midlands. Their focus is discovering better ways to design, specify and deliver outstanding homes.

Number of Developments

23

Ratings

3.87 Rating

Rating (based on 190 reviews)

Excellent

32.63%

Very Good

41.05%

Average

18.95%

Disappointing

2.63%

Very Poor

4.74%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 23 developments

Avant Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 190 reviews

Love the design, disappointed with the poor finish and customer service communication, lack of empathy and service

We are happy with the design and space we have in our new home. We are not satisfied with the after care service and the huge number of snags and errors. We have had lots of wasted days waiting in for contractors who have not shown up and no one has bothered to let us know. The communication is shocking and we have been told that Avant charge contractors for no shows so why do we not see any of this money in ways of compensation? We have been in the house over 6 months now and are still waiting for work to be completed, such as the cracked render that was like it before we moved in. We were told by the electrician who came to move a light switch that was placed behind the door that his priority is getting the first fixes done on the new houses, they are rushing these even more than ours. We have had about 15 internal doors ordered and each time they are damaged so then have to order more.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a small range of shops locally which we like as we live in a village. The range of restaurants is very minimal, and not many available on deliveroo or uber eats. Parking is quite tight but hopefully this will improve once the development is complete as we cannot park on the road as it is unfinished and constantly has construction vehicles up and down it. This is the only noise we can hear from our house.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that our house wouldn’t be up to the same standard as the show homes and that we would be still waiting for dates for snags 6 months on.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It is clear that finishing as many houses as quickly as possible is the priority, not those who have moved into the rushed poorly finished ones. The are not empathetic about the wasted days and how infuriating it is when no one bothers to let you know they aren’t turning up due to another poor excuse. The site team also told me that what the sales team sell us and what they can achieve are two different things, which says it all!

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Avant Homes look impressive – but that’s not what you get.

Avant Homes are shocking. The layout of the development crams as many properties into a small space. Small back gardens and many houses have no front gardens at all. Straight out of your front door onto the pavement. Some houses have drives that are too narrow to open your car door when you park on them. Some of the small houses are really small. There is also an area of council owned social housing within the development. There was a green space but that is currently under 5 metres of soil and rubble. There is no obvious maintenance of the green areas apart from an occasional mowing of grass near the show homes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very quiet development. No major roads nearby. Construction still in progress on site. A good selection of local shops in the immediate area or not far away. Small supermarkets provide most essentials and there’s a good range of take-aways. Major supermarkets a few miles away in Worksop. Sheffield is half an hour away and Nottingham not much longer. There is a local train station on the line between Worksop and Nottingham. Connections from there to other destinations. Trains every hour but don’t run late if you want a night out. Buses to Worksop and Chesterfield. Parking on the development is tight, especially as it’s still a building site so contractors park all over the place. Large vehicles can be hazardous and materials left lying about. Council services seem pretty good. Local health centre leaves a bit to be desired, and some hospital appointments mean going as far as Doncaster. Bins get emptied on time most weeks and include a free green bin collection. Generally a nice location not far from what we need. M1 only 10 minutes away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Avant are no better than any other shoddy builder. Avant’s show homes look great. But, what I learned is that’s not what customers get. I got a shoddy substandard build thrown together in a rush by unskilled bodgers in order to earn bonuses for a shockingly bad management. It’s not the things you can see that are the problem, it’s what you can’t easily see. The blocked drains, the leaky pipes, the broken bricks, the fittings that haven’t been secured properly (all our toilet seats fell off because the wrong fastenings had been used). The ill-fitting doors and windows letting draughts. The turf laid over the rubble. And once you highlight these problems it takes months for them to get fixed – if at all. It takes up hundreds of hours of your time chasing them up and waiting in for them not to turn up on the agreed date. Every corner was cut, and every penny and every minute was saved. And when I complained I received abuse from the management, including the Chief Exec. Avant are shockingly bad.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

My house had over 160 defects. Avant have been back 56 times so far, and it still isn’t what I paid for. It isn’t anything like what was promised. They are utterly incompetent from top to bottom. They can’t build a house, and they can’t fix one. Some items have been fixed 6 or 7 times. They come to fix one problem and cause two more. We have 450mm of loft insulation but none of the doors and windows fit properly so the house is cold and draughty in winter. Promises made, are simply broken. And once their two year warranty is up they just walk away and leave you with all the problems they didn’t bother to fix.

2
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Portlands, S80
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely semi-rural development

This is a lovely development with large and spacious homes. There is a small new strip of shops comprising of a Co-Op, hairdresser and Pizza take away, but it’s only a short drive into Mansfield for the larger supermarkets, or about 40 minutes to Newark which is a lovely drive and there is a large Waitrose. There are points of interest nearby – Sherwood Pines is round the corner, then a few minutes drive is Edwinstowe and of course Sherwood Forest. Also very close are Rufford and Clumber Parks, and if you enjoy cycling or walking the routes are endless. There are good liveries nearby, and a Trekking Centre for the horse lovers among us. I like the way the Avant Homes are ‘open plan’ and have large folding patio door areas onto the back gardens. The lighting, fixtures and fittings are of a high standard and ideal as upgrades are not necessarily needed. There are large play areas for children. If I had to say anything negative, I would say there are far too many dog owners and they are not always respectful of cleaning up the dog poop.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like living here, as we are on a private section of the road and it’s secluded and there are no cars coming up and down except for those that actually live on the street. We have ample parking, but there are surrounding roads where the parking for 2 large family cars is totally inadequate so beware as it’s almost impossible to open the doors of a coupe is you are thinking of using your garage. We have parking for 2 large cars on our driveway and a garage that we use purely for storage. Neither of our cars fit in the garage but it is not a problem. There is little noise from traffic. Bin collections are fortnightly, those no glass recycle bin!! You have to go to the bottle bank. Neighbours dogs can be a nuisance as there can be a lot of barking at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

if you dislike dogs this is not the place for you as almost everyone has a dog!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We did not buy the house from new and we have not needed to contact about any issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall I am pleased with the development. It’s a quiet neighborhood.

Nice looking development. Nice house frontages and pleasant front landscaping. Fair amount of trees planted, although very sad to witness mature trees being cut down in order to facilitate construction.
There are problems with flooding from the ditch running along the development (last spring the pedestrian crossing over the footpath was completely flooded). Missed opportunity to provide residents a pedestrian link over river Welland towards west of Market Harborough (towards A4304). This could have been a fantastic pedestrian connection linking the new development with the other side of the town and a nice walking route.

The further you go into the development the less space between the houses, which is a bit sad to see and makes the area look more cramped. I also believe that a better consideration could have been given to the type of houses placed in location with northern aspect vs other aspect (eg lots of holbury type houses have north facing gardens but these houses have all the living areas and main bedrooms facing the garden – which in this northerly placement makes the house a dark house inside with not very nice internal light; perhaps location of some types of houses could have been swapped to consider quality of natural light in the house).

I really like that this development provides houses with appropriate window sizes. The bi-fold doors are amazing but not only that – the other windows are of good sizes as well (this stands out in comparison with many more developers that cut the overall costs by providing minuscule windows).
The change to the window frame color from white pvc to grey in the newer houses is really good too and makes the development look less ‘plastic’ or shall I say – modern.
Virtual tour available on the old Avant website of the completed development was really good and informative, but sad to see this no longer is available from the new website.
Overall I’m pleased with the design of the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: 1. very quiet (no traffic noise, no anti-social type noise). 2. Walking distance to town centre and it’s amenities. 3. Very good farm shop with a coffee place nearby as well.

Not so good: 1. Street layout strange, not so convenient due to adding different parts of development over the years and the street grid not being planned in a coherent way. 2. Although development incorporated a fantastic public bridelway and routes – other pedestrian footpaths and pavements could have been planned/designed better. 3. Street layout in the local area could have been planned with a view of inclusion of cycleways/cycle paths.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had checked the prices of railway tickets between Market Harborough and London. If I had known how expensive these were I might not have moved to Market Harborough.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not relevant. This is a private home, no building management.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More