Alexandra Tower, L3

Alexandra Tower, L3

By
Select Property Group
4th
Ranked 4th out of 24 in Liverpool
4.28 (23 reviews) 4.28 (23 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.83
Facilities
4.26
Design
4.87
Location
4.22
Value
3.74
Management

Excellent

48%

Very Good

39%

Average

13%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Alexandra Tower, by Select Property Group, sits on the River Mersey, Liverpool. Built in 2008, the tower comprises of 201 apartments across 27 storeys. Residents here benefit from secure indoor parking and also an entry-phone access system. As well as this, the development has a 24 hr concierge and riverside views.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Alexandra Tower – Great location and building; disappointing management company

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Building is modern and generally well-designed. Majority of apartments have excellent views over Liverpool and/or the river. Kitchen sizes in many apartments are a little small but generally adequate. Building is well-insulated and apartments retain heat throughout the winter better than most, although this can be an issue during warmer periods in summer.

Development feels relatively secure requiring fob entry and has 24-hour concierge. Concierge team is very good, accepting deliveries of post and offering assistance whenever required. Tom and Paul, in particular, are excellent; they have a brilliant rapport with residents and I have always found them to be professional and helpful. It is reassuring to know that they are available at any time and they are key assets to the building, despite the shortcomings of the broader management company.

Building has an attached multi-storey car park with allocated parking spaces. These are on an apartment-by-apartment basis so not all apartments include parking. Arguably the biggest downside to the property is the lack of available guest parking at site, although there is a paid multi-storey public car park a short walk away. There has been a recurring issue with one of the building’s vehicle lifts and this has now been out of service for several weeks, leaving only one working lift for access in or out of the car park. No explanation or timescale for a fix has been provided by the management company at present.

The public areas are generally well maintained by the concierge team and cleaning staff, although there is a percentage of residents who make their jobs much more difficult and do not treat the building with much respect. There are general waste and recycling facilities on the ground floor with signs requesting that boxes be broken down but these are often ignored causing the containers to fill up and overflow unnecessarily, and rubbish has often been left in lifts and public spaces by an unfortunate disrespectful minority of residents.

Requests for meter readings are straightforward and carried out by the concierge team, although I have occasionally had issues where submitted requests have not been received and booked in by the management company until I have chased for them.

Overall, I have been extremely happy living in the building and would absolutely recommend it, although I do feel that the management company is the one aspect where the development currently falls short. This is currently the one area preventing me from giving the development 5 stars.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location on the waterfront. Walking distance to the city centre. Close to amenities such as Costco, Home Bargains and local restaurants, including Cargo which is on the ground floor of the building. Location is far enough away to avoid the disturbances that can sometimes be associated with city centre living. Close to cultural attractions such as the Three Graces, museum and Albert Dock and only a short walk to main train station.

There are a lot of proposed developments in the works with the Liverpool Waters project and others expected over the coming years. This does mean that there is a fair amount of ongoing construction work to be aware of but this will hopefully be of benefit to the area in the longer term.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No on-site visitors parking; main internet provider is Hyperoptic; council tax band is quite high.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Problems with the vehicle lifts aside, I have had an issue with my apartment which I have been trying to resolve with LivingCity for approximately 10 months now and have been extremely disappointed with their response. Whether having a management company located in a different city to the building they are managing is a factor, I don’t know, but I don’t feel that the service they are providing reaches the standards I would expect given the high annual cost of service charges at the building.

That said, I would reiterate that the on-site concierge team are great.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Place for Singles and Couples.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

We have been living in Alexandra tower for two years now. It is a place with a wow factor by being next to the river and port.

Before the corona epidemic, we were enjoying beautiful cruise ships visiting our place.

The things we like about the place:
It is in a good location in the city center nevertheless it is generally silent place. The building is overall clean. The concierge accepts your mail and online shopping.

The building is well isolated. We rarely use heating even during the coldest times.

Cargo Restaurant on the ground floor of the building is a nice place for a festive dinner especially if you like seafood.

The things we do not like:
Parking is a big problem. There is no parking place for every apartment. People complain about usually broken car lifts.

Windows never cleaned since we moved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

For shopping, there are Homebargains, Costco, and a small Tesco shop close by. Other than that you need a car for regular grocery shopping.

Liverpool One and Albert Dock are just 15 minutes away by walk. I suggest restaurants in Albert Dock.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You should consider about your commuting and if parking is really important for you, avoid this place.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have never got in touch with building management.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good Development With Few improvements for perfection.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

It would be great if the building would have a some room in every floor to dispose of the trash instead of going in the lift with it. Something like a in wall tunnel that takes the trash straight to the bins in the ground floor. The building is nice but I struggle cleaning the windows as there is not a service to do so, as the windows don’t open properly it’s hard to clean although I feel good of the window opening security.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the area, few shops are nearby but for a little longer walk you can get to many others. Transport is poor around, I don’t usually take bus, but it I would have to it would be a little annoying.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Poor humidity escape issues. Condensation happening in the windows.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

As I mention the trash and maybe a service for windows cleaning.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Alex Tower

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The design of the building is abit outdated. There’s limited parking which works via a car lift which is sometimes broken. Not all residents can have access to car park, in my 8 months here, I’m not sure how I’d even get a parking space if I needed it.
The concierge area looks a bit cramped but it does what it’s intended to. Parcels are received and signed for by the concierge, who stored them in the parcel store in the back. The only downside is, if the concierge is not available at the desk, you have no way of collecting your parcel. The lifts are functional and are maintained regularly, can be a bit of a pain when waiting for a lift, there’s 25 floors and 2 lifts.
Building management is great, although it doesn’t seem like it sometimes because the building is over 10 years old and carpeted so there’s a bit of a smell at times.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: views of the river Mersey. It is a peaceful area, mostly clean and well kept. There’s a seafood restaurant downstairs. There’s a Costco and a home bargains about 5 minutes walk from here.

Local amenities and transport links could be better. A closer post office or even a tesco would be beneficial. The closest train station is about 15 minutes walking
Everything useful like gym, post office, train stations is a good 15 minutes walk

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had know how dated everything was. I moved into a furnished apartment.
The carpet and floors have had an eventful life, they are really at the end of their lifetime, in heat, the carpet kicks up a stink and makes the whole place stuffy. Kitchen and bathroom drains could do with an update.
The apartments aren’t as modern as I would like but you can tell, in their prime, they were the best of the best.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my apartment is the view of the river Mersey that I get from the lounge and the master bedroom. My favourite feature is my bedroom window, it gives me a full view of the dock and quays

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall amazing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The concierge facility is really helpful and friendly even if you want any information about the city and where about they are happy to help you. The flats are designed in such a way that you het the best views from your bedroom to your livingroom.

There are two lifts in the building but the rotation of them lifts are soo fast you would never wait longer than a 1min of so.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its in the perfect location if you like peace and quiet but at the same time don’t wana be to far away from the action

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Always make sure to keep the windows closed when leaving the apartment as it gets really windy..

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I only ever had 1 issue it was about my electricity meter reading and within the next day they sorted that problem out.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best views in Liverpool but poor management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The location and the views in our building are amazing but the management is disappointing at times. We have floor to ceiling windows with probably the best views in Liverpool but two massive cracks (also floor to ceiling) that have not been fixed in the 5 months we lived here. During our viewing we were told that it was obviously unacceptable and dangerous and an appointment to fix it had already been booked in… which was a lie. Also the windows are never cleaned from the outside and there’s bird shit on it. One out of two car lifts has not been fixed for weeks (because it isn’t covered in insurance apparently). One time the other car loft broke as well which left us unable to use our car for the weekend.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is really nice and close to the centre. Lime street is only 3£ in a taxi if you’re in a rush.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Our landlord is very quick and keen to help us with all of our issues whereas our viewings were managed by another company that gave us false information about windows being fixed and we had broken windows ever since we moved in.

What is the best feature of your home:

Our flat is in a nice location and very affordable for a two bedroom flat with amazing views.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The wholesome apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

In aspect of design, a bigger kitchen would have been great. The concierge facility and building management team is really good. The trash gets cleared often ensuring hygiene and the property management company sanitizes the frequent touch points which has been very helpful during the covid 19 era.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Things I like about the area –
It is literally a five minute walk to the city center and a ten minute walk to albert dock. The apartment is close to train station and bus stands. There are multiple voi and cycle rentals available right next to the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The apartment tends to get too cold during the winters and extremely warm during the summers. Not ideal to have a herb garden.

What is the best feature of your home:

I like the fact that there is separate space for the washer dryer and is not fitted into the kitchen. I also love the view my all the rooms showcasing the mersey river in all its glory.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of  Alexandra Tower, L3
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Alexandra tower.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The design is beautiful, large window. However the insulation is so bad, when it rains the rain enters through some gaps in the window. Also there’s a lot of condensation in the windows which makes the place prone to mould. I have to wipe all that water from condensation everyday to prevent the mould.
The kitchen material is bad as well, it looked nice and shiny then everything started peeling off because of the moisture.
The building management are very helpful. However the property management are not very helpful especially with structural problems in the property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is beautiful and most flats have direct view on the river or the city. It’s close to a big home bargains and a Costco. However, it’s a bit out of the way, there are no bus links. It’s more accessible by a car. But if you have to commute by bus it’s very hard. I have to walk 30 min everyday to get the bus.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Council tax band, and insulation problems and transport links.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view and large windows overlooking the Merseyside.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Alexandra Tower

Review Date Jan 2021

The building it’s self is in a prime area of liverpool. The views are amazing from my appartment here. The concierge staff are really nice here. Almost everything in this building is spot on, the lifts are just a major let down. 1/2 car park lifts are almost always not working, currently, the left car lift has been broke for the last 4 weeks. The lifts inside the building also break a lot with maintenance doing poor jobs on them, not thinking about the long term too much. Otherwise, the building is spot on.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have a parking space at Alexandra tower. The car lifts are always breaking and we have been down to 1 lift for the last 4 weeks. Also problems with the lifts in the main building, breaking often.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about how poor the lifts are here, I would have still moved here though.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view is definitely the best feature of our home.

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location and place to live with some possible improvements

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Well designed with good views and friendly helpful concierge staff. No issues with bins or parcel receipt. Often issues with one or both car lifts, one has now been broken for several months which creates issues during busy times. Cracks in windows which have never been fixed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location 15 min walk from Liverpool one, with views across the Mersey and Liver building. 15 mins from nearest train station but 30 mins from line streets. No super market close by, nearest is 10-15 mins drive but some smaller shapes within walking distance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No major supermarket nearby. No visitor parking. Closes shops only 5-10 min walk.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Never responded to issues around the cracks in windows. Car lift remained broken for months

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3
User submitted image of Alexandra Tower, L3

Location

Number of developments 1

4.28

Average rating based on 23 reviews

View company