About Populo Living

Originally named Red Door Ventures, Populo Living was established in 2014. Owned by Newham Council, the company’s aim is to design and build more/better homes for Newham. Populo Living provides homes for private rent, social rent and shared ownership, and have already completed four developments in Stratford, East Ham, Plaistow and Whitechapel.

Number of Developments

3

Ratings

3.40 Rating

Rating (based on 4 reviews)

Excellent

25.00%

Very Good

25.00%

Average

50.00%

Disappointing

0.00%

Very Poor

0.00%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 3 developments

Populo Living reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 4 reviews

Nice but could be improved.

Design of corner flats causes a lot of wind on the balconies which is a shame. No facilities offered such as parking or a gym which is a shame. Windows are washed rarely but flats are lovely and spacious from the inside. Offering two bathrooms, some ensuite, which is great for having guests over. Property management feels poor, lift breaks often and sometimes maintenance requests are not responded to timely.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nicely located with good connection to all parts of London and shops! Would have loved onsite parking as cars often get damaged and maybe a small gym available.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Situation on the street, cars get damaged quite often.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Sometimes better/faster than other times, average service overall, not bad.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A mayor plus point to the development are the balconies

I have encountered many issues in my flat over the past year and a half and it has been a struggle to get these issues resolved quickly and thus leaves many points of improvement for the property management. However, the site itself is cleaned regularly and kept well. A mayor plus point to the development are the balconies. They are spacious and designed verg nicely. However, the outside windows could be washed a little more often through the property management, instead of once a year. The design of the building is clean and recognisable for for example deliveries and parcels being delivered wrong is very rare, which is great! Besides being gated and offering a lift the building does not offer any other facilities such as parking or ground floor parcel/mail lockers.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Range of available shops/restaurants and bars is great! Stratford Westfield is about an 8 minute walk and offers a wide range or stores and restaurants. In addition, transport links are incredible as the DLR as at the end of the street and the nearest tube stations are both about an 8/10 minute walk away as well! The bins provided are plenty for the entire development and are emptied often, which is an absolute plus as a clean living space is so important. However, the neighbourhood itself is a bit of a down side to the development. There is no on-site parking. One will have to pay for a yearly parking permit for street or nearby parking spaces parking which is a shame but do-able. Another down side is the occurrence of anti-social behaviour encountered in the area. During the evenings and warmer months of the year this is especially prominent. However, no vandalism occurs in the neighbourhood which is a definite plus!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The neighbourhood is not the greatest. I wish I had known about the occurrence of anti-social behaviour in the neighbourhood as this is really one of my biggest issues with the development.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had to wait a year for a water pressure issues to be fixed. This has really taken away my standard of living in the flat as well as the comfort and pleasure I had when first moving in. Often took long to get things arranged and I often did not hear anything unless chasing management myself.

1
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great flat, building management leaves something to be desired

Flat is great, all services function as expected, building overall is a little dirty but mostly fine. Building management is utterly disappointing. Poor response times, lack of care and urgency. Major issues take a while to receive a response, but ultimately get sorted.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to Abbey Road DLR station, and Westfield Shopping Centre. Relatively quiet, well connected with buses and trains, easy to call taxis.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very Slowly, and with a lack of care and urgency. Problems have been solved, but it has been painful and slow.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great to rent because you wont regret

Everything about the house hold meets my requirements. Its made in a way where there are no doubts in your head. Management is great! Everyone was accommodating and managing well with my queries. Absolutely great for families as school is round the corner.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its a great area for delivery and very basic. Very simple and straightforward. I have been here for 3 years and haven’t had an issue other than the floor. Its been a great couples years and many more to come.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The creaks on the flooring

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It was dealt with as soon as it could and some times even with immediate effect

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report