Grainger

Number of Developments

7

Ratings

4.32 Rating

Rating (based on 108 reviews)

Excellent

45.37%

Very Good

46.30%

Average

5.56%

Disappointing

1.85%

Very Poor

0.93%

Based in the UK, Grainger is a British-based property developer and the UK’s largest professional landlord. It aims to create new communities, designed to cater to the needs of renters. Consequently there are flexible tenancies on offer and a dedicated Property Manager at every development.

Grainger developments

Currently there are a number of Grainger developments on HomeViews. These include purpose-built neighbourhoods like Tiltman Place and 19-27 Young Street. Similarly, Grainger is the developer behind Abbeville Apartments, a residential block in East London’s Barking suburb. The development is currently rated the number one development in Barking.

“I enjoy living here, my apartment is very spacious, clean and large as it is a new build. the quality of costumer service is very efficient and always there to to help.” – Verified resident on Abbeville Apartments

Additionally, Clippers Quay in Manchester is another development by Grainger. It features an on-site gym, residents lounge, cinema room, work zones and private gardens. Most noteworthy, the development spans five separate blocks and is so vast a dedicated underpass is being built under the six lane Trafford Wharf Road to connect residents with the tram stop on the opposite side. Finally, the development is also pet-friendly.

“A great place to live and the management team have been so helpful with anything we’ve needed. They have organised some great resident events which gave us the opportunity to meet some of our lovely neighbours. The apartments are lovely and the views over the quays are stunning.” – Verified resident on Clippers Quay

Grainger reviews

“Really nice accommodation, newly built three years ago so everything in great condition when I moved in.” – Verified resident on Macaulay Walk

To find out more, click on the developments in the list below to read reviews from residents. Do you live in a Grainger development? Leave a review here. Similarly, if there’s a Grainger development that you can’t find on HomeViews, click here to submit a new listing.

Developments

Showing all 7 developments

MAP

Grainger reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 108 reviews

Great and happy with it

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management

I moved in three years ago, but my husband bought the flat 10 years ago as one of the first residents. He saw it as a very good investment at a time when Finsbury Park was still only up and coming and not as great as it is today. He thought it looked like a brilliant block of flats, modern and big sizes compared to what else is available.

We have a parking space with the flat which is really useful. I believe you can only get one now if you buy a flat that has a space or if you can find another resident to rent their space. In the centre of the development is  communal area which lots of the flats with balconies look over, we are on a side that faces a the Andover Estate and have two Juliet balconies but we look out onto lots of trees and get great sunsets.

The staff on site are excellent and we have the same guy who is here in the day and rotating staff at night who are all very helpful, friendly and get to know you.  The staff also patrol at night so if there is anyone loitering then make sure they are told to move on so you always feel very safe and secure. We have a 24 hour concierge service. They also take in all the post and Amazon deliveries so you don’t need to worry about anything. We are looking to move to a house soon and I don’t know what I will do when I don’t have this perk! There is a Facebook group for residents, which is really helpful if you want advice, need borrow something or want a last minute parking spot for a visitor. I believe the service charge is also reasonable compared to other serviced properties around Finsbury Park.

We are lucky enough to have three bedrooms, one we sleep in, one is a guest room and one we use as an office/music room. The flat is very open with a lovely kitchen and living area. It is great for hosting dinner parties for our friends.  The sound insulation is great – we never hear our neighbours. The insulation is so good we hardly ever need to use our heating which keeps bills down.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the area, we are only moving away as we want to buy a house and be closer to my new office, but I have now lived around here for 7 years. For transport you are close to Finsbury Park tube which has the Piccadilly and Victoria lines as well as trains to Kings Cross and Moorgate. We are near Seven Sisters Road and Holloway Road so there are lots of buses – you can get to Kings Cross and Camden within 20 minutes. The tube is a 5-7 minute walk from the development and buses 1-5 minutes away.
There are some great places to eat out and brunch places – our favourite is Round Square, an excellent Chinese restaurant and take away, and the Bedford Tavern is a great locally run pub. We are right next to Crouch End and the beautiful local community where I tend to meet up with my other local friends.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How close we are to Crouch End and how easily connected the area is.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Life at Clippers Quay

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management

We was one of the first tenants in Clippers Quay and they are a very long way away from keeping tenants here for a long duration.

So, where do I start. When we moved in we was advised that there would be guest parking. We moved in, no guest parking. So if you have guests staying over please do expect to pay £20 a night because you live right next to old Trafford. If not, feel free to buy a parking space from them for an extra £100 that you will barley use.

When we moved in there had been many problems with the house;

– under the kitchen sink they had not cleaned any of the building work which left loads of dust, screws and a Stanley blade covered up behind the board
– the door locks kept falling off everyones door, and they tried to charge tenants £50 to fix them. Then, the whole complex had to get their locks changed, TWICE!
– when you go for a viewing look at the hallway floors, near each door you will see big grey circles. This is because nearly every other shower in the building has had a leak.
– we moved in under the assumption the communal area was 24/7, they then closed this down at 10pm.
– they said the building was pet friendly, now no pets are allowed off the lead in the communal area garden so all pet owners only have to walk 20 minutes to the nearest field to let your dog stretch their legs
– the fan above the oven broke, TWICE and even to the day we moved out made the sound of a petrol scooter when turned on

Following the fantastic service we had received after just 12, they felt their 5* apartments vouched for an uplift of £50 a month, bringing the monthly rent to £900. Look down the road by Elmira Way and you can get a 2 bed for £850 (we had just a 1 bed apartment)

To round up the fantastic property management expertise, they for whatever reason felt the need to include a £50 deep cleaning fee upon our departure. Given my partner spent 4 hours before moving out, and we moved into a building site I was completely shocked. I even showed her the pictures and she kindly told me to raise a case with the TDS who hold the deposit.

I suggested that they should consider implementing a cleaning processes to apartments when tenants move out so that we are not hit with this unhidden fee. I’m pretty sure they would have a cleaner go in and clean something when they move out (you hope) so why they feel the need to charge people this fee is beyond me.

If you want to live in a cheaply built, poorly managed apartment then Clippers Quay is the place for you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The areas itself is great, everything is on the doorstep which is one of few good things about living at Clippers Quay.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the property managers live on Cuckoo Land

What is the best feature of your home:

There was not really one. The bedside tables maybe. Good luck trying to snuggle up on those tacky grey couches. I feel like the hunchback after 12 months

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we would appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If you could send any feedback to info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

The flat itself is nice but the management is awful

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management

The flat itself is nice, it has a good communal area and a gym. However it is overpriced and my experience with management has been awful. We were lied to about our move in date so we made arrangements around this date only to have all of our emails ignored and we had to move all of our belongings out of our previous place and couldn’t move in until the following Monday during work. We also had an issue with our lock and heard that a lot of other people had the same problem so we went to maintenance and I was spoken down to and manipulated to the point that I left feeling as if I was in the wrong for informing her of the issue. A month later all of the locks were changed as there was in fact a fault however I did not receive an apology.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like how close it is to transport links, supermarkets and media city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how awful the management team were, we’re currently waiting for our move out date because of numerous negative encounters with them.

What is the best feature of your home:

The communal area is really nice and the gym as well

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t had a good experience with ourselves but we do appreciate any constructive feedback to help us improve our customer service. If wish to raise anything further then please contact us on info@graingerplc.co.uk and we will strive to improve our service.

Not Worth it

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
2
Management

Issues getting our deposit back:
Special mention to the building manager who will rinse you for as much as your deposit as she can. FYI they charge a cleaning fee for menial things that constitute to general wear and tear.

They tried to increase our rent by £50 (making the total rent for a one bed flat £900) after only one year.

Furniture is rubbish quality – the sofa is so cheap it’s comfier to sit on the floor.

Issues we’ve had:
– Locks changed twice because they were a fire hazard / broken
– Sink flooded our kitchen
– Shower leaked all over the floor EVERY time it was used
– Kitchen fan broke and had to be entirely replaced
– Blinds in the bedroom had to be reattached because they were put on poorly

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location for commuting is good – the tram stop is only over the road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lies we where told:
– The building is pet friendly – they constantly restrict access for dogs. Now they’re no longer allowed on the grass and must be kept on a lead at all times.
– There will be a hairdresser downstairs – big fat lie by the person who made up our viewing as he went along
– Guest parking – again big fat lie at our viewing
– The internet is ‘very fast’ – regularly had to be turned on and off due to issues
– The communal areas are open 24/7 – they close at 10pm
– Windows where only cleaned ONCE during the entire year – absolutely filthy

What is the best feature of your home:

The location for commuting is good – the tram stop is only over the road.

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More