About Elan Homes

Elan Home’s objective is to build homes to meet local housing needs and create vibrant and sustainable communities. Elan Homes aim to build quality homes  with contemporary fixtures and fittings and inspired interior decor.

Number of Developments

2

Ratings

4.09 Rating

Rating (based on 15 reviews)

Excellent

46.67%

Very Good

40.00%

Average

6.67%

Disappointing

0.00%

Very Poor

6.67%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 2 developments

Elan Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 15 reviews

Great Location

Small development with easy access and simple layout. Set back from the main roads so in a quiet location along the river which is great for walks.

With such a small development there are no facilities such as green spaces, parks etc but all of these are a stones throw away. They have tried their best with the landscaping on the site but again this could be improved on the entry road which is just essentially a brick wall. Some plants/trees could have been planted along the pathway. Or perhaps a nice brick sign with the developments name.

Build quality seems good, no major issues with build and a small list of snags on the inside which compared to other developers they cannot be faulted.

The developers themselves are good, easy to contact but can be slow to reply and sort certain things. We had an easy sales process but immediately after the sale the developers had made a mistake with their final bill and the way they dealt with it was absolutely disgusting. Threats and accusations blaming the buyer when in fact it was the developers solicitors fault. No apology or compensation offered.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Development is in an ideal location, close to the M60 and only 10 minutes to Manchester City Centre. Plenty of supermarkets in easy reach and other everyday shops. Lots of open green spaces for walking such as Heaton Park, Rhodes Lodges and more.

Convenient bus service to Manchester, Middleton and Oldham and affordable taxi rates.

Local area is quiet but road noise from M60 to be expected. Roads can get busy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good – The walks along the river at the back of the development. We didn’t know about this when we bought and found it a great surprise and gorgeous for summer walks.

Bad – That the developer will blame you , threaten you and accuse you of something that you didn’t know about as it was actually their and their solicitors fault and not from the buyers end. Make sure you check all the paperwork they send you!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Response regarding snagging from customer service can be quick however waiting for them actually sorting the issue is another story.

1
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

From start to finish the customer service has been poor

My experience with Elan homes has been poor to say the least. From start to finish the customer service has been poor. I moved into a new home last June, raised numerous snags due to poor workmanship and finish. I am still waiting for the snags to be completed 8 months on. They do not respond in a timely manner and the build quality is poor. I will never buy from this company again and I advise anyone considering buying a new home to think very carefully.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is great and the facilities are good. The issues I have are with the developer, who quite simply do not know or care about their customers. I would not buy from Elan again.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I would have known how poorly the homes are built and how bad the customer service was going to be.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Response has been poor. I am still waiting for snags to be resolved. I am also still finding issues.

3
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall, very lovely houses and a friendly estate to live on in a very convenient location for young families.

Beautiful houses, lovely design and feel to the estate. However, maintenance to the general area’s has had to be chased up on various occasions due to overgrown weeds etc on the communal landscaped areas. Snagging lists for the housing was very slow and poor communication throughout of experience with Elan around getting issues resolved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very convenient location with supermarket, dentist, gp, schools, nursery and Worcester hospital all within walking distance. Also very close to Worcester woods which is great for dog walks and days out with children. Estate does lead out onto Newtown road which can be congested at busy times. Plenty of guest parking on the estate, timely bin collections and little traffic noise. Some anti social behaviour (police call outs) to the housing association flats at the back of the estate. However, overall a lovely community feel on the estate with lots of young families and friendly faces!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had got a professional snagging completed to ensure that everything that needed rectifying was completed early on.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Tradesman have been sent to us to complete our snagging list. However, this took various calls to customer care and you are also not always told when to expect them or they do not turn up when advised.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely house, poor aftercare

As said the location is excellent but there has been significant delays and the after care has been very slow. The care of the communal areas is very disappointing. The houses themselves are lovey, very nice layout and some nice final touches. Overall we are pleased with our house but more could be done in regards to after care and site care.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is absolutely amazing, backed on to a nature reserve and near many local amenities such as the hospital and shrub hill station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That snagging is a massive deal on a new build and not something I’d ever thought about

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Problems have mostly been fixed but it’s a slow process

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More