About AddLiving

AddLiving offers a range of urban apartments in their ‘Villages’. They call their buildings villages as they create real active communities. In addition AddLiving create places where residents can live well, feel safe, and make friends. As well as this they offer on-line leasing and on-site management and maintenance services, helping the renting process. 

AddLiving Developments

Velocity Village, by AddLiving, sits in the heart of Sheffield. The development is great for professional’s or student’s, due to its central location. As well as this the local amenities are in close proximity with a 10-minute walk to the main train station.  In addition, Velocity Village is a secure environment being self-contained and comprises almost 300 one or two-bedroom apartments and studios.

AddLiving Reviews

You can read reviews from AddLiving residents on HomeViews. Also, if there’s a AddLiving property you can’t see on the site, click here to submit a new listing. As well as this, if you live in a AddLiving, click here to leave your review. You could help someone considering your development find their next home.

Number of Developments

2

Ratings

4.20 Rating

Rating (based on 13 reviews)

Excellent

38.46%

Very Good

53.85%

Average

0.00%

Disappointing

7.69%

Very Poor

0.00%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 2 developments

AddLiving reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 13 reviews

Great for couples and students who are just starting out and not too familiar with Sheffield, but not the cheapest option!

Overall, while there have been some issues with the place, I’d say its a pretty good development.
It has an overall aesthetic design, corridors are regularly cleaned and upkept, there’s a bin chute point on each floor, an amazon locker onsite, a flat occupants only parcel locker onsite (so you rarely need to go down immediately to collect parcels unless anything you order is too big for them) and an indoor recycling area.
The flats themselves are not amazing in design. Speaking just in terms of the flat I’ve been in (which is a 1 bed student apartment that I’ve shared with my partner) the bathroom is hard to ventilate (has no windows) and the bedroom is hard to ventilate (only having one tiny openable window to the indoor balcony) especially in extremely hot or cold weather. While there is a ventilation system, it doesn’t work amazingly and the vents look as if they haven’t been cleaned in forever. There’s only one openable window and the one balcony door in the whole property, so unless you’re pretty quiet and the temperature is just right to have the door wide open (which it rarely is) it’s very difficult to get fresh air into the flat. In the summer too, due to having these big un-openable windows, it becomes a bit like a greenhouse! As for the kitchen, it’s design is sloppy for the price at best. If you’re a student or couple of students who do more than just microwave meals and love cooking, this isn’t the place for you. Very little counter space, the counters seem quite low, the fridge is right next to the oven (so gets a bit heated by it), there are not many cupboards for storage and there’s no small drawer for cutlery, knifes, etc. The sink is also circular (nightmare for cleaning square trays), there’s no drying rack, and, in our flat at least, the countertop seems to be angled so all water flows toward the back right corner behind the sink, which creates a nasty grimy build-up if not dried daily. The kitchen just feels a bit rushed and badly fitted overall.
Aside from the kitchen, the rest of the living spaces are mostly fine, just wish there was more light and a closer mirror in the bathroom, and that there were more sockets around the place to plug different things in! (none behind the sofa for laptops or phones). The little storage room for the washing machine and water tank has been really useful for storage and organising laundry. The indoor balcony I’d say is most useful in the summer when its warm enough to sit out there and dry clothes, in winter it does feel like you’re paying for that extra area of space which would be more useful if it was just part of the living room.
While I haven’t made much use of them, there are things like table tennis tables in the courtyards and a giant chessboard onsite for tenants to use. There’s also the Yepps café, a café within a University of Sheffield building onsite (which you don’t have to be a student to use) and other onsite amenities like a gym and underground parking, however membership and parking spaces are not included in the rental price. The maintenance team and property management team are super friendly and easy to contact, so when we have had things break that are fixable, they have been repaired and sorted quite quickly.
I’d say much of my issues lie within the price of the place, the rent is currently £700 per month if you’re one person in the apartment. Fortunately, they do allow couples to share one bed flats, and having done that, it’s been much more affordable being able to half all the bills and rent. Even still, the place does feel a little expensive for the amount of space you get between yourselves and for the issues we’ve experienced. The price also seems to be only going up, the rent having been £675 last year, and it is largely due to that that we’ve decided to move out after living here 2 years. If the rent was £600-£650, I’d be perfectly satisfied with the quality of the development.
In conclusion, if you’re a couple of students who have a reasonably high budget, don’t know Sheffield too well, mostly eat out and do minimal home cooking and want a really safe place to live in for year or so that’s in the heart of the city centre, I’d say this is the ideal place for you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great if you’re a student, there’s a small Tesco’s and a co op nearby, the Yepps store onsite is great if you like bubble tea or want imported food goods. There’s also a great curry place just around the corner. There’s lots of security systems and cameras around the complex so it feels very safe and secure. If you’re young and able bodied, it’s about a 5-10 minute walk to the cathedral in the city centre and you can get onto any tram line from the stop that’s there – that’s been really useful! There are some University of Sheffield buildings on site, some about a 5-10 minute walk away and the main buildings around the SU are about 15-20 minutes away, but note the walk is nearly entirely up-hill. There are a number of vacant buildings nearby and there’s just recently been a lot of demolition going on across the roads surrounding the complex. Not necessarily negative, but there may be a lot of construction going on to look at and hear in the next few years IF you’re in an apartment facing out from the complex. Having lived in an apartment facing inward to a courtyard, we’ve not heard much of these activities nor been affected by them.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How much the kitchen would annoy us! And equally, how hard it would be to ventilate the place throughout the year.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded well. There’s a dedicated online system which you pay rent through that you can also flag issues with the property on. Maintenance usually turns up in the next few working days from our experience and the issues we have had have always been resolved to a satisfactory level.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
User submitted image of  Velocity Village, S1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Disappointing

Overall I am disappointed. The flat we have is poorly laid out, it’s all about profit and not about comfort, which for this price bracket is something they should have taken into account. Also find the cost of bills Is very high, it’s very cold due to the patio doors and balcony area. The flat is dirty and outdated. The facilities are basic and we never use them. The property is managed ok, they come out to fix any issues we have although not always to the best standard, we had a piece of metal sticking up in our kitchen and it was simply hammered back down with more nails, we both cut our feet on it, not a permanent fix at all and very unsafe. I would say the only good thing about the flat is the bathroom, no complaints there. As for the bedroom there is mould near the window, it’s poorly laid out and the bed has missing bolts so is barely able to stand. Wardrobe is bog standard and misaligned. Kitchen is poor standard and damaged again doors are misaligned etc. Living room is okay but floors throughout are pretty horrible and the sofa is very small and dirty, I would like a sofa we could both lay on and be comfy but with this it just isn’t possible. They also had a dinner table in the living room however I work from home so needed it removing to put my desk in, they told me they couldn’t store it so I had to either keep it in the flat or store it myself. They should be able to take furniture if we don’t want it, it’s not hard. It’s not on our balcony looking an eyesore taking up valuable space we need.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s great that it’s close to the city centre and not far from the University. Also has nhs walk in centre nearby which is handy. Loved that it was suitable for pets as it’s hard to find in Sheffield.
I don’t like that when viewing the show flat it was a much higher standard and was larger than we got. I would say it was borderline false advertising. They had a brand new kitchen in show flat but when we got our flat it was very outdated and the furniture was poor and doors were misaligned on cupboards etc. With the price we pay I feel the overall quality should of been better. There is also many stains on the floor from previous pets weeing on the floor and also the sofa was dirty were it looked like someone had slept on it. Bedroom is a poor layout and the space isn’t utilised, we are pushed for space as it is so find it very difficult to live how we normally would here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The fact our flat was very outdated compared to the show flat. Was disappointing, wanted somewhere nice to live for my final year at uni as I’m currently battling a life threatening brain condition, all we got was a dirty, outdated and overpriced flat.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They come very promptly which is good but the repairs are often basic and don’t always work, I believe this may just be due to covid restraints though, they can’t get proper workmen in to fully repair the issue at hand.

2
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice, modern flat with excellent building and property management. A bit on the pricey side though.

The building is a relatively modern design and everything seems to be in quite good condition. The layout is quite nice inside, although I feel like the bedroom could do with having a larger window (I am in a 1 bedroom flat, but I think some of the other flats do have larger windows in the bedrooms). My flat overlooks the courtyard – the downside to this is sounds seem to echo and carry around the courtyard and you can hear absolutely everything in the courtyard and from other people’s flats if they have their windows open.
The building/property management is absolutely fantastic here. If anything is faulty in the flat, you can report it and it gets fixed very quickly. Vicky is great and is always quick to answer any questions/queries I might have.
The price is a bit on the high side, especially since parking is not included. There is parking available in the NCP car park attached to Velocity Village, and they do offer a discount for tenants, however, it’s still about £95/month. This, on top of rent and council tax, really adds up.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is my favourite part about this development. It is really conveniently located – close to town and all the shops, close to Kelham Island, close to grocery stores. There are also a good number of cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have chosen a flat that doesn’t overlook the courtyard, because the noise (especially in the summer when I like to keep my window open because of the heat) has sometimes been incredibly frustrating. I work long shifts and especially last summer was struggling to get any sleep due to people making noise in their flats with the windows open that carried out into the courtyard.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Already discussed above, but if there was only one thing I could change it would be the price. The location is great and the flat is nice, however, I don’t think it’s quite worth what they are charging in rent, especially when you factor in the cost of parking as this is not included in the rent.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pretty and spacious studio apartment, perfect for one person.

The design of the building is really nice. I live in a studio apartment which has a bit of compartmentalisation so although the bed and the kitchen with the living area are practically in the same room, there is still a bit of separation between them.The room is very big and the kitchen and the living room are quite right. The bedroom does not receive natural light at all but this is not a problem for me at least. I have also seen the one bedroom apartments which also looked very pretty and were incredibly spacious. The only negative aspect is the bathroom which does not have a proper door, but something that looks more like the door of a wardrobe.
The kitchen has a suction, an over and a spacious fridge (perfect for one person) and the furniture in the living room is very elegant which a beautiful design.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of the building is ideal for someone who does not drive and needs to be close to the city centre. It is also very quiet, which for me is a great advantage. Various supermarkets can be reached within a 5-10 minutes walk, including a Tesco superstore. The building is a bit remote from the main street so I avoid walking alone at night. there has never been a situation in which my safety was at risk though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Before moving in I wish I knew that the bathroom does not have a regular door.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is it’s design and how spacious it is.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More