Ymyl Yr Afon, CF48

Ymyl Yr Afon, CF48

By
Lovell Homes
1st
Ranked 1st out of 1 in Mid Glamorgan
4.18 (26 reviews) 4.18 (26 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.08
Facilities
4.38
Design
4.62
Location
4.12
Value
3.92
Management

Ymyl Yr Afon is a collection of two, three and four bedroom homes. Furthermore, the development will transform a former colliery site into 110 homes.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

YMYL YR AFON

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The houses are designed well and are spacious. They look nice and there were the expected issues with new builds but majority of internal house issues were fixed quickly. I was initially worried about the size of the gardens but actually the size was fine, though my garden had constant issues with flooding.

The entire estate looks good, though there are issues. The trees planted around look really nice though the hedges that were planted at the front were planted during a heat wave and died straight away leaving dead ‘sticks’ in the place of a hedge for 2 years.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transportation is very good as it is close to the local train station and bus stops. Swimming pool and gym are very near but very little options for restaurants and shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Add £8000 to the marked price as you will need to spend this to fix the garden.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There have been numerous (8-10) issues with the house internally, most of which have been fixed in a timely manor.

Though there are some exceptions:
1) My garage got flooded every time it rained and Lovell supports response was it is only for storing a car. Better to keep your car on the road as that at least has drainage.
2)My garden was bad to the point of being unusable, pretty much a swamp after it rained (regular occurrence in Wales). This was only fixed when we got a landscaper to put in drainage and artificial grass.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect House and Location for us, but do your homework.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

We have the Hardy and are really pleased with it. The design of the large open kitchen and large separate lounge suit our needs perfectly. Upstairs is great and offers lots of storage in the boiler cupboard. Now in terms of ground management we’re not happy. To me, maintaining lawns should be more than just cutting them once a month, especially when we pay close to £200 a year. The hedge is also a shambles, it has completely died the plants used where too young and couldn’t handle the weather conditions, this is still yet to be re-planted.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There a few local corner shops which are excellent. There are great links into nearby shopping villages. There’s a train station 5 mins walk away which gets you into excellent nightlife in about half hour. We’re fortunate as we have a private drive that only 5 others share so parking is not an issue and there is a fantastic community feeling. One thing I would say and it’s not about the development as such; is that bin collection day can cause a mess and get blown everywhere.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be prepared for snags. This was our first new build and didn’t realise you that there will be quite a few issues to get fixed. Get a good solicitor who has dealt with house builders, luckily we had this without realising and our solicitor was excellent. Also, check all toilets flush correctly as our downstairs toilet wasn’t quite right, our solicitor put a clause in the contract that meant it would have to fixed before we would complete. It was a weeks work to finally fix the plumbing. We still completed in just 4 weeks, so be picky with your solicitor!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Initial issues dealt with well and did receive great service to begin with. However, later issues are dealt with poorly leaving us without some services for too long. Eg 22 days without a usable shower.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

4 bed detached Lovell Ymyl Yr Afon

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Lovell have been quite good overall.
Sales team really helpful and informative.
Had a number of snags when we moved in which for the most part we’re resolved some are outstanding. Had issues with water entering the garage so keeping an eye on that.
House design good large bedrooms and living space and decent size gardens. I do believe that the gardens could come with basic turf as standard which they currently do not.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent transport links as so close the the train station not sure about the bus service as don’t use it.
Only one local shop.
No restaurants or bars near.
Good walking paths right outside house.
Close to 2 primary schools one English and one Welsh and not too far away from the high school which is good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The garden sloping away and having our neighbours garage wall in our garden which we have to allow access to at any point. This was not pointed out to us and when questions the response was it was in the dress.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Communicated in a timely manner.
Most snags completed well and quickly, some are still outstanding.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Ymyl Yr Afon, CF48
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely home but could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Good size house, but some design flaws. Unable to mount mirror above sink in bathroom due to the window – this design also means the window is difficult to reach if you’re 5’1” like myself. French doors from living room to dining room open in towards the living room – would be better if they opened out into the dining room as it limits space in the living room for furniture.

Kitchen is a good size but a lot of unused space – more top cupboards would be a bonus.

Garden – 0/10. Absolutely appalling state. No top soil at all. A very uneven mess of clay and rubble (we’ve dig up quite a few whole bricks whilst working to get it to an acceptable state!)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not much to do around the area, but only 10 mins drive to the main town of Merthyr Tydfil. Train station is a few mins walk away from the development, with access to Merthyr Tydfil and Cardiff. Development has mostly driveway/garage parking. Weekly bin collections, a quiet and friendly estate to live in. Very little traffic noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I’d known how bad the garden would be before moving in so we could have prepared ourselves mentally and financially for the work that needs doing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had a few issues after moving in, which were all resolved fairly quickly.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good design and build, not so good customer service

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The house design is great they have made good use of the space and finish was good. The site is not very well kept – the grass is dying on certain parts of the site and from personal experience any problems are taken ages to be resolved. Sales staff are always not very helpful very disappointing customer service. Site staff are much more helpful but take ages to resolve any issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is great there is a shop and park nearby and train/bus facilities close. We have no problems with parking by our house.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make sure you are very thorough on the walk around and list any minor issues you may see

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have resolved issues after numerous emails/phone calls

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Our Lovell experience.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I love the design and lay out of the house, we get so much sun in the living room through the patio doors. I find out curtains are closed more often than not, as our neighbours can see straight in from their upstairs rooms. We have had a few plumbing issues since moving in but everything was fixed very quickly when queried. The property itself is wonderful it holds so much heat we hardly have the heating on, which is a pity because I am obsessed with the separate thermostats.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a range of different facilities around being a leisure centre, parks, trails and even a few pubs. The one thing I find lacking is the distance to the petrol stations. We are lucky enough to have a driveway, but for those who don’t or those who have more cars parking is not great. Being closer to the road we get a bit of traffic noise, but not to the extent that it is disruptive during antisocial hours. The local train station and bus stops are pretty much in the door step which is great for nights out. I love our little street for the most part it’s quiet, and as a dog lover people are always passing by with their dogs to access the trail which I love seeing while washing dishes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The garden was the biggest issue for us personally. We did not pay for the garden to be done, but the condition it was left in was undesirable.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had a few plumbing problems but when raised they were dealt with really quickly. However one issue with a leak under the sink left us without water for 24+ hours. But have since had no issues.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely location – terrible design

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

As a first time buyer we found the new build timing and process perfect! We had the opportunity to save as we went along and we could see our first home being built bit by bit. Unfortunately, being one of the first to buy on the site, the process hit many faults and issues. We were delayed and the staff could’ve dealt with it better. Now we’re in our home, we’ve noticed the little issues and the lack of attention to detail. Our living room is tiny and we were told it was going to be much better. The way the windows are situated in the living room and master bedroom make placing furniture difficult. We’ve spent a lot of money getting our house just right. We’ve had a lot of movement and Lovells have not come back to fix the issues. We paid extra to have a fitted wardrobe and it’s broken. We’ve had to pay to get the whole house painted because of the terrible quality paint used on the walls. We’ve had to pay out thousands on our front and back garden because the groundwork is unacceptable. It’s an unfortunate situation for a young couple to be in, knowing the site managers told us there would be next to no issues and they’d be here to solve anything. This hasn’t been the case.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is very family friendly. There are two primary schools close by with fantastic ratings. The convenience of the local public transport is excellent with a train station at the top of the hill and having the A470 close by. Parking on site is brilliant with the double drives available and spacious roads surrounding the houses. There are local pubs but no restaurants in the village where the site is situated. However, there are many close by in the nearest town of Merthyr Tydfil. Plus it’s only a 20 minute drive to Cardiff. There is little traffic noise and low level of anti-social behaviour as it’s in a peaceful location. There are wonderful walks and the site is extremely pet friendly. I believe most residents own a pet, which is great to see. Unfortunately, the council lets the site down with its recycling policy. The rubbish situation is unrealistic and impossible to follow. They only provide small bins and collect them once every two weeks. These bins are used for nappies, dog waste and non recyclable waste too. If the bin doesn’t close they won’t take the rubbish. The recycling must be split into 3 different boxes and 2 separate bags. It’s a headache that lets down the site!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I’d known how badly the houses were designed. Wish I’d known how small my living room was going to be!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve not come back to help resolve our issues. They ignore my emails.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great value in a nice area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The house is designed well and works for us. We had a couple of issues with plumbing when we moved in and it took a while to get it sorted but it did get sorted eventually. We also had a problem with the radiator about 6 months after moving in and they were quick to come out and replace it with a brand new one! The staff in the office have always been helpful and friendly. I did find that builders park their vans and stuff blocking the road at times but now that they aren’t building near us isn’t a problem. It’s a great little house for the money we paid, amazing value

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I enjoy living in this local area, the houses are close to a post office, doctors, pharmacy, primary school, corner shops and train station, the only down side is there isn’t many take aways! The site itself is lovely and quiet, the parking at times are be bad, as not everyone parks on their drive that they have. We’ve never had a problem with bin collections, they have always come and it’s been very easy to request extra bins. We’ve have seen the police on the site a couple times but we’ve never been witness to any anti-social behaviour.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had know the way they’d leave the garden if you chose for them not to lay grass; we chose to do it ourselves but it was very difficult to level as it was just left as a tone of rubble with tree roots and massive rocks and stuff

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, we had a problem with plumbing when we moved it, it took a while to get people out to sort it and then took a couple days to actually fix the issue but it did get sorted. We also needed a new radiator which was delivered and installed quickly

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The house overall is great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The house overall is great, situated in a great place. Ideal transport links from bus and train. Layout of the house is brilliant, the rooms of the property are a brilliant size and perfect for a family to live in. Everything about the house itself makes it feel homely

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Beautiful houses, Some Neighbours are up parting 24/7 and cause alot of trouble

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Haven’t had to deal with anything, only a few problems with neighbours

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A beautiful place to call home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the development is very good and the style of houses are very nice looking,it has been interesting watching the development site grow. I have immensely enjoyed watching as the first foundations were layed to watching each stage of the build progress to new people moving in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Ymyl Yr Afon is a lovely development nestled in the South Welsh valleys, It is just on the edge of a large town with all the amenities you need for shopping etc, but it is at the same time a lovely rural village which is growing into its own little community. Our new build has now turned into our forever home. The design of our house is perfect for us with everything we need for modern living, the quality of the fittings etc is good on the whole and we have only had a few issues and lovells have addressed these promptly. The only thing that I am disappointed with is the landscaping on the estate, it is only half finished and looks a little untidy in places in my opinion it is not maintained very well,I hope this will change when the development is finished. On the whole ymyl Yr afon is a lovely place to live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The need to order the dust bins / recycling bins in advance
Opening times of local shops

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management have responded promptly to any issues that we had doing there upmost to putting the issues right. I was impressed when we first moved in we asked if there was a plumber to put in our washing machine for us but the site management done this for us for the price of a cup of tea.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Ymyl Yr Afon, CF48
User submitted image of Ymyl Yr Afon, CF48

Location

Lovell Homes
Number of developments 19

3.97

Average rating based on 316 reviews

View company