Woolwich Central, SE18

Woolwich Central, SE18

By
Spenhill
Ranked 22nd out of 144 in South East London
4.28 (based on 15 reviews) 4.28 (15 reviews)

Category Scores

3.93
Facilities
4.27
Design
4.53
Location
4.07
Value
3.87
Management

Excellent

53%

Very Good

40%

Average

7%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Woolwich Central is a mixed-use Spenhill development designed by Sheppard Robson architects. The complex comprises of a Tesco superstore located on the ground level with 259 one, two and three-bedroom apartments situated over the retail area. Woolwich Arsenal Station is the nearest transport link and a short walk from the development which offers rail and DLR services.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Up and coming area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I chose to move to Woolwich as it’s reasonably priced for London and has good transport links. Transport links will be AMAZING when Crossrail arrives!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything I need is within walking distance which is a real bonus. Whilst the area remains pretty average at the moment, there’s lots of new and exciting things on the horizon which I’m really looking forward to.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t realise Woolwich was Zone 4, I thought it was Zone 3!

What is the best feature of your home:

It’s a lovely tranquil space above a bustling town with great views of the army barracks and Canary Wharf.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

little gardens in fhe sky

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Great location, 3 minutes from DLR/ train, 7 mins walk to crossrail. All apartments are above a large supermarket, providing distance from the bustle of a busy town.

long balconies/winter gardens, plus large communal gardens

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

veey well unconnected area, still maintaining a sense of localness in a mix of many cultures

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

lots of interesting local watering holes and eateries, dont be afraid to explore

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Generally well fo respond, however there were initially many difficulties to resolve

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development amid beautiful heritage

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The design is fantastic and really in keeping with the heritage of the site. It’s great having access to the swimming pool and cinema room, and I was a keen user of both before the lockdown. A few of the concierge staff can appear quite blunt at times, but I guess they have to deal with a lot of people so aren’t able to give everyone outstanding service every time.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very handy having a Marks and Spencer and Tesco right on our doorstep. We also have our restaurant needs pretty well covered by Dial Arch and Con Gusto. The wider Woolwich area is however quite lacking in hospitality options.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Would have to be the Crossrail delays, meaning I have to put up with a overly crowded DLR to Bank station every day.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would perhaps include a little more storage areas, as we can’t accumulate too much furniture etc. without it overpowering the property.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Convenient but too far from central london

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The development is great as there is a concierge available 24 hours a day, the upstairs area is nice as it has really nice gardens which provide a great view to see, however, sometimes it gets too hot.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is convenient but far from central london, there is no night transportation apart from buses only, at night it can be a little worrying at times

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No parking areas for residents, parking is too expensive and not private

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is that it is spacious

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love this place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

This development is amazing, i love it very much, i do not want to leave. The quality of life in the development is amazing. The town itself can be quite busy so this is a nice haven from it. It is very spacious and very quiet. I do not hear my neighbours which is fantastic.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is overrated, it does not give all the facilities and amenities that is needed in general. That being said the transport is amazing. However, the quality of the shops and restaurants are quite poor

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Landlord has been unhelpful in the past

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have not respnded well to the problems that i have raised. I have been trapped in the lift previously and they still havent fixed it

1
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely flats in great location but sub-par staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The location is great, and there are good transport links to and from the development. The flats themselves are really nice and spacious. However, it is expensive and the staff are not as good as they should be and unhelpful in general.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links are great, and the amenities are also really good, however there is a lot of litter

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the staff were going to be as poor as they were

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change how the staff ran the building as i believe that they are doimg a poor job

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Morden flat very spacious, nice kitchen plenty of room, pretty quite nice neighbours, close to local and convenient supermarkerts, less crime rate, local transport links, enough space even if living in a one bedroom house.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not much crime
close to the river
close to dlr

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

What is the best feature of your home:

Quite bright, very spacious, cozy and warm, nice balcony

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Needs improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Very good, nice a quite service charge is quite high, the neighbours are quite friendly and respectful, the building management is quite slow so issues we have within our flat hardly get dealt with. But overall the community is nice

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything is quite convenient
local transport
sewage smell arounf the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No that good, issues we have complained abput havent been resolved

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great area

Review Date Aug 2019

The development is convenient in its design as it is above a supermarket which is great. The building and flats itself are really spacious, with each building having a really long balcony or winter garden, both of which have good views. There is also a 24 hour concierge which is helpful

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has great transport, there is a real sense of community. There are some restaurants which are good and there is local history.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Temperature management is almost too well maintained, it can occasionally get too hot.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I like everything

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

For a one bedroom flat its very Nice bedroom flat neighbours are quiet and very friendly. There is a nice garden on the roof and its quite bright within the building. Not much noise within the area and nice local restaurants .

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to the river
close to central
and good transport links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You cant open windows widely

What is the best feature of your home:

Kitchen nice and morden, sapcious balcony. Comftable

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

This is a great and upcoming area.

Review Date Aug 2019

The outside of the building isn’t as nice as it is on the inside. There are good transport links which is helpful. There are good grocery shops, however there are not many shops for clothing. The royal arsenal park is nice and closeby, quiet and safe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is up and coming as there is lots to do, this is a nice area in general which is available for a reasonable price. There are a lot of shops as well

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feauture of the home is that it is modern and hotel like, the shower is nice and constantly has hot water which is a nice thing to not worry about.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good up and coming area

Review Date Aug 2019

The area itself is good and peaceful, it is up and coming, it is away from the streets which is nice. The design is alright on the outside and it is much better in the inside. The transport links are good around here too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that there are lots of shops to browse, there is good transport, however the crime is bad

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Cross rail delays in openings

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is that it is spacious

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Spenhill

Spenhill is a UK-based property developer of commercial and mixed-use projects. It currently operates as a subsidiary of Tesco PLC.…
Number of developments 3

4.23

Average rating based on 63 reviews

View company