Taylor Wimpey at Westvale Park, RH6

Taylor Wimpey at Westvale Park, RH6

By
Taylor Wimpey
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 11 in Surrey
3.96 (18 reviews) 3.96 (18 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.17
Facilities
3.56
Design
4.44
Location
3.78
Value
3.22
Management

Excellent

33%

Very Good

56%

Average

11%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Westvale Park is development by Taylor Wimpey in Horley, which will include a range of facilities such as a neighbourhood centre, community hall, medical centre, school, parks and a shop. The development sits a few miles away from the historical town of Horley and for those looking to commute from Horley Train Station to London Blackfriars or London Victoria, the journey is only 45 minutes.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Great location, nice development just needs a few improvements…

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The design of Westvale looks nice but the house numbers don’t marry up so many people and deliveries get lost. The main disappointment in the ground maintenance, the grass tends to be left and over grown, the flower beds are unkempt and the main road in on Westvale tends to have overgrown grass and litter. We also have a field nearby wich runs past the river mole. It’s a lovely place to take a walk or walk your dog. Simon’s Eggs Farm shop is a 20 mins walk away through the fields and is worth the walk.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We have lived at Westvale since Feb 2020. We live close by to shops and supermarkets (5 -10 min drive) and have fantastic neighbours. It took a while to get our move in date sorted but once in they came to do any repairs that we reported as soon as possible. We have a primary school on the development and I believe we are hopefully getting a shop/restaurant/GP surgery and place of worship in due course. We have a drive so no major issues with parking but in some streets off street parking is limited. We have had a couple of incidences of antisocial behaviour but the police arrived quickly and dealt with the situation. It was more of a domestic dispute. Bin collections are fine but there has been issues with garden waste collection as the days were wrong. This has been reported and resolved now. As for traffic our road isn’t particularly busy and we hear little traffic at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the move in date as I may have chosen another home to make sure we moved quicker. Check the street for parking before you move to Westvale as some roads are limited. Also Westvale Road and Webber Street are the most used roads so tends to be busy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The property management was pretty quick but they didn’t update the system so we would receive calls and emails about the same issue. We kept having to complete the same form due to lack of communication but other than that they were always contactable and tried to resolve issues as soon as possible.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Design is good, but the only complaint we have is that our drive is not next to our house.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Design is good, but the only complaint we have is that our drive is not next to our house, but the house in the middle has a parking space right next to out side garden. Luckily we were able to swap with the neighbours who rent the house next to us, but otherwise it would be impossible to water all our plants without soaking the neighbours car and we have to go onto the soil, which has resulted in a few of our plants being stepped upon as there is inadequate room for two larger cars side by side. This is a bid disappointment, and it is setting up people to fall out with neighbours. If i bought the middle house then i would expect to be parking at the far end not right next to someone else’s garden.
The building management is great, John helped a lot, and Pauline in sales is fantastic!, the property management is diabolical, nothing looks good that is meant to be taken care of by them, even cutting some grass in front of where we live is a challenge for them.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Living on Campbell Grove is ideal, very quiet, not much traffic.
Hopefully we will have shops etc in due course and roads will open up so that it will be much quicker to access other areas.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were aware about the drive, but this is something we have heard so many people talk about and they agree that it is just not good the way they have given the space next to our house to someone else. If i were to do it all again, knowing how strongly i feel about this point, then it would be a deal breaker for us.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We would ask the site manager if there was anything that we needed repaired, and with a smile he would get this sorted out promptly, and then he would ask us if everything was alright.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Westvale Park is a wonderful place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Very happy with he overall build of our house and the general build and look of the development. Ground maintenance could be better in general around the development and more visitor parking is needed. No issues with property management so far other than some recent snags not being responded/dealt with but prior to this all issues were dealt with promptly, professionally and to a good standard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient for all shops, restaurants, bars & open spaces by car but fewer local amenities within walking distance however the development is not yet finished and there are plans for a shop and pub. Lots of green spaces for walking. No visitor parking on our part of the development which does cause some issues but generally very peaceful and safe community.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wasn’t aware of the lack of patio! I wish there had been enough patio slabs laid in the garden to make it usable otherwise I would have budgeted to be able to have this done when moving in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Response has always been very good and issues have been dealt with promptly and to a good standard. The building site team are friendly, helpful and courteous.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review of the Westvale Park development in Horley

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The development is well designed and has good character. Despite being four different developers on site they all blend in well together and the streets and roads are connected well. My property is right at the bottom of the development, which is quite a drive from the entrance, however it’s slightly secluded which is nice. There is a school on site, however there are no other facilities to mention at this stage. There were talks of a shop, doctors surgery and a pub, however construction has not started for any of these yet. The property management company is really poor however. Recently they didn’t cut the grass which is included within our maintenance fees and when they did finally do it they damaged drains and did a terrible job which killed all the grass and was an absolute mess.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There aren’t any shops on the estate which can be inconenient at times when you need the essentials, however Tesco Express is under a 10 minute drive away. There are some lovely restaurants in the surrounding area, especially Reigate which is again a 10 minute drive away. There are also food vans which visit the estate frequently and offer a great selection of different cuisines – Meat The Chef is a firm favourite! Gatwick Airport is a 15 minute drive away, which is great when you travel abroad and Horley Station is also 15 minutes drive away with a direct trainline in central London. Our street is lovely and backs onto the fields, however there is minimal visitor parking which can be challenging at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Once you complete on your property make sure you build a good relationship with the site manager to ensure that any initial snags are rectified ASAP to avoid delays and pain and delays further down the line. No matter how big or small if something isn’t right make sure you flag it from the offset.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The site manager was excellent once we moved in and ensured any snags were rectified ASAP, however once all initial snags were rectified the after sales customer care team were really poor and ignored lots of requests. We had to turn to Twitter to raise our questions on the developers accounts which funnily enough made them respond to us instantly.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice rural location/ Quality of build very average

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The grass verges were cut so badly and all the grass was left.
So many properties squashed together making the roads so narrow
A nice kid friendly community and lovely areas to walk around.
Not much in the way of facilities at the moment as there is still more building work happening.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

No facilities apart from the primary school.
Roads are very narrow.
No visitors parking area
Anti-social behaviour

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The quality of the house is cheap

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In the beginning very quickly but after then has been slow to respond

1
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Adequate

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Charles church were slow in giving our move in date. Carpet was not laid on our home demo. Only saw the finished home 2 days before we moved it.

Outdoor street light is still not working 9 months after moving in. Drain cover on front garden is loose. Nothing has been done about it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close by to the shops.

Road bumps damage car.

My street is lovely. Everyone is very helpful and it is like a community.

Park need home, good for kids.

Bin collections are on time and efficient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Look more closely at snaggs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Issue with unclear water in upstairs bathroom. Bits I water. I was told they wouldn’t look in the pipe and they blame the family pet.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Westvale park review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

As it’s a fairly new development with houses still being built, facilities are limited but the location of westvale is really good as there is a gym nearby, pubs and restaurants in Horley and Reigate and a stone throw away from Gatwick airport. I love it heard and do see myself living here for a while

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We do not have any shops/restaurants yet as they are still to be incorporated but we do have food vans which come every week to the development. Parking is average I’d say, not more than two cars spaces for the most part.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How many shared ownership flats they were going to build as there seems to be quite a few of these around

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Maybe more parking spaces as I’ve only got the one at the moment

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

All round- Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Its widely agreed that number of houses was maximised at the expense of adequate parking for residents of their own homes. Some Interior shortcuts were taken and feels cheaper options chosen.
So far the facilities are all not built. The playgrounds are built but some built but not open and already overgrown with weeds. Bad design and material choice.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic place to live. community spirit is fantastic. Recent addition of new school is wonderful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Study the
Plans and the plots. Know what is going to be around you.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

onsite builders whom we knew sorted early issues. Responsive when issues reported.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It’s a lovely place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

It’s very pretty. Next to the river and woods.

Not close to anything by foot.

Too many houses in the development so a couple of shops would be ideal.

There are not enough parking spaces by far so cars are parked all over the place. The roads are dangerous and designed terribly. Once the through road is opened its going to be carnage.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great development manager, always happy to support.

No facilities built, no communication from site owners about anything coming in.

Poorly managed communal areas

Housing association plots let the site down.

Never enough parking. Roads are very narrow.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The true plans and not the lies from the sales team. Like the play park they out Infront of my house, after the sales team told me and my neighbours it would be an open field.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Ignored some emails, answered some emails.

Once the sale is done, they really care.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely place where to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Good position , layout and design.
Fantastic open spaces and countryside feeling.
The development is still at early stages and services/management need improvement .
Once completed it should feature all the amenities and facilities one would expect.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great development with an incredible community feeling.
Unfortunately not completed yet so it lacks facilities , shops etc
Great open spaces on your doorstep
Well serviced by the council . Still under construction which can cause noise and some disruptions

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The great sense of community which is rare to find

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More space between smaller properties
Some areas within the estate feel a bit cramped

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 84

3.91

Average rating based on 829 reviews

View company