The Grange, S81

The Grange, S81

By
Harron Homes
Ranked 7th out of 16 in Nottinghamshire
3.88 (11 reviews) 3.88 (11 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.55
Facilities
4.64
Design
4.55
Location
3.91
Value
3.36
Management

The Grange is a new build development of 4 & 5 bedroom homes in the village of Shireoaks. Each home for sale has been designed to the highest specification including stylish kitchens, sleek bathrooms and generous living spaces, catering for every modern comfort.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

A year of ownership & a year of pain.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The development is large with very little green space on-site and tightly packed houses, particularly noticeable with larger model houses sitting side by side. That said, property density in no small part driven by government & council development requirements so you won’t likely escape that fact on most sites.

The site has been largely neglected from a ground management point of view during build, with verges on the perimeter left un-kept for the best part of a year. The main road into the site remains unfinished, and private road surfaces degraded after less than 3 months of laying.

The general mix of housing designs are pleasant, with a good rotation / distribution of different styles around site. It’s disappointing however that there are so few trees and greens to break up the concrete jungle.

It’s disappointing that there is no option or availability to have the house network cabled, so we’re in the dark ages, and no options at all for any kind of smart home setup or integration with Harron’s offerings.

I would also add that the lack of solar panels as standard, heat pumps or any sort of energy saving technology on a development in 2021 is really poor, especially since the list price of our property type alone has increased £50k in less than 1 year for no increase in specification what-so-ever.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The grange is situated in a pleasant little village on the outskirts of the larger town, though the village itself is lacking in general facilities. That said, it’s situated just off the A57 which is the main link to the M1 and A1 in either direction, and a

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The standard of finish you see in the show homes is not representative of what you will get in your own property, not even close.

I wish I’d known that once the house was handed over, the actual chances of getting problems fixed was slim to none, I would have pushed so much harder pre-handover as that’s the only leverage you’ll ever have.

Pay very close attention to what is and isn’t included, even down to the lighting and electrics plans (which were rushed through for us) – the standard specification is awful pendant lights almost exclusively.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Radio silence for months at a time, continued delays, very little action, impossible to get any written commitments or acknowledgement, impossible to get dates when things will be addressed.

Covid-19 remains the favourite excuse, yet doesn’t seem to stop them building houses and finding available contractors for that..

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
User submitted image of  The Grange, S81
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Easy Part Ex Quick Turnaround

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Houses designed well in plenty of space, any niggles corrected pretty quickly, very quick transaction time and stress free – part ex and was in the house within 8 weeks perfect when your expecting a baby, even thought the estate is still being built construction traffic and noise is managed well and away from house

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well located development near to local amenities set in a village location, not a lot of passing traffic

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Pretty much everything is the same as when sales sell it to you, best advice is to go and find the house you want to view on another site if there isn’t a show home of that model nearby

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All problems have been fixed in a quick efficient manner or they have sent a contractor to deal with it

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not enough hedges

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The design of the development is generally good – particularly for properties on the outer edges. Within the main drives, there are some issues with parking which should have been anticipated as many households have multiple cars. Landscaping provided by the developers is largely insufficient to maintain the privacy of property; multiple residents have had to add to the landscaping to prevent gardens and driveways being used by other residents as short cuts or paths.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Small number of local shops, some good some bad; the chippy is great!
Good transport links, local train station in walking distance is very handy.
Traffic noise can be loud due to poor road surface on main road nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How narrow our shared drive would be, it causes problems with turning cars around and visitor parking.
Also that people would keep cutting through our hedge and using our drive as a shortcut.

2
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Love the design of my house (the design of the house and the feel of the village were the main reasons that I chose to move here). The gardens are a good size when compared to the other new developments near by. Only facilities that will be on the site are two play areas and these have not yet been built. I understand that the play area will be for young children. The local primary school is adjacent to the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I am really enjoying living in the village. There area is lovely and their is a good village atmosphere. Lots of nice walks along and around the canal. An ok selection of amenities for a village of this size. Train into Sheffield is a useful service.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make sure you keep detailed notes of dealings with everyone at Harron (pre and post completion). Their record keeping has not been good.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Only issues have been dealing with Harron Homes and getting snagging items looked at. Major issues (doors not locking etc) were dealt with promptly, but everything else has been very very slow, not very well organised, and hard work! The internal communication between Site and Customer Services appear to be poor.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Love the structure of our house. Ideal for us as a family of 4. Our favourite aspect is the openness of the first floor from the landing to each room. The open kitchen dining area is big enough but not too big that we have to run around to grab things. Perfect for hosting as well as we can cook and chat to our friends at the same time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very peaceful and quiet place. Just what we were after. Great new community as well! No traffic noise, and plenty of parking space by the roads which you don’t tend to get with new builds. But because it’s a quiet place, stores and facilities are a little far, only 5-10minute drive but not would take 40-50mins to walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing in particular. We had already known some people who lived in this property that told us to wait a bit to paint any rooms as the house naturally cracks as you live in it, which we have done.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They respond quickly for some things, and others things have taken a little time, which is understandable as they are still building newer homes

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very Happy Here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Development and developers are good – once it’s all been finished, it will be a nice little estate.
There’s plenty of grass areas to walk the dog and the kids to play. The design is good – doesn’t feel too crowded like a lot of new build estates. Great fibre broadband.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, quiet area. A few small village shops close by. No anti social behaviour and not a lot of traffic noise – nice wide roads, lots of parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make a list of all of your snags and make sure you keep following up with the developers about them.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yep – all of our snags have either been seen to or are in the process or getting sorted

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good Development, poor customer service

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Happy with the layout of the site and the house styles. Building management style extremely poor customer service and willingness to rectify snagging issues and to accept responsibility. Would seriously think twice before buying from Harron Homes again.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very happy with the area and very close to all local facilities including railway station and supermarket and only a short distance from town centre and motorway network

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Poor customer service. Better quality after sales service required

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some but not all, there are still outstanding issues and developer blames Covid fir not rectifying all and now cannot get a response

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Positive.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Designs of our estate and nearby homes are lovely, the availability of nearby stores are very limited. My thoughts on building management and property management have constantly been positive, always kind and helpful people have helped us sort things out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The variety of stores in Shireoaks are limited, however the green space and availability of transport is very convenient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Since moving I have not wished that I knew anything beforehand.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There has been instant responses to any problems or issues that I have raised.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Two years later

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

We had some snagging problems and it’s been hard to get them done with COVID but all in all it’s a lovely house
My garden is still an issue with the turf it’s been done twice now but it still looks ruff
I’m thinking of slabbing the whole lot
And I’ve only just learnt I am responsible for the bit in front of mine

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Low crime terrible traffic
We only had one shop on the Main Street but the old post office been revamped
But would love to see more shops like a parade with a grub pub
The road that comes off the roundabout is not done yet would like to know why ?
No play areas for kids but I believe one is being done
The communal areas where very overgrown and looked a mess
They have been done now but it’s taken a year

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The garden I would have had it done myself

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice houses could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The houses are nice and open however they are lacking in some aspects such as quality where mud covered the skirting boards from the builders and lack of insulation in some areas of the house. The rooms are easy to design and also provide a fair amount of space.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of friendly people and nice houses. The views are nice and there are lots of places to take part in activities

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there would be a big warehouse being built on the field next to the houses

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have but there could be more help when it comes to it

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Grange, S81
User submitted image of The Grange, S81
User submitted image of The Grange, S81
User submitted image of The Grange, S81
User submitted image of The Grange, S81
User submitted image of The Grange, S81
User submitted image of The Grange, S81

Location

Number of developments 6

3.52

Average rating based on 68 reviews

View company