Development image of Stour Meadows, TN25

Stour Meadows, TN25

16th

Ranked 16th out of 19 in Kent

By Crest Nicholson

3.69

(9 reviews)

Stour Meadows, is a collection of 2 & 3 bedroom new build houses situated in the new village of Finberry in Ashford. The homes have been built to a high standard with modern living in mind.

  • Crest Nicholson

    Is this your business?
    Claim your profile for free

Latest Reviews

3.69

9 total reviews

Stats

Overall

4.00

Facilities

3.22

Design

4.67

Location

4.67

Value

4.00

Management

2.78

Viewing 1-5 out of 9
Beware. Your 'dream' will turn in to a nightmare

Stuart E (Owner)

Verified Resident

Jan 2023

Where to begin? Firstly, will confirm that all incidents mentioned past or present (mainly all still present!) in this review can be proved via emails sent/received with Crest. You may not see this review for long as we know for a fact Crest try and have negative reviews removed on most review sites, that is why we are starting to leave reviews on a many as possible, to warn as many people as possible. Do not buy your ‘dream’ home with Crest and IF you do, please, please, please research carefully first and take note of the negative reviews. I would normally bypass bad reviews myself thinking it’s easier to criticise than to praise, but please these negative reviews are all genuine and ALL of them we can relate to 100%. Each and every one. So it will take me more than one review to express the utter disgust my wife and I have towards Crest. We purchased a new build at the Sevington Lakes development in Ashford, Kent. This is on the same development as Stour Meadows (which is actually only 4x houses) only further up the road. Nine months in, we still have major snagging and works outstanding. Nine months of being treated with utter contempt, fed lies, no proper answers to questions asked, no empathy or respect. Nine months of shoddy workmanship; A completely wrong kitchen installed, which they tried their very best to cover up. No dishwasher that was ordered installed and in a working condition for almost three months. One of the most serious issues being a 5-month internal gas leak caused by poor installation, therefore no less than 3x fraudulent gas certificates issued…our list of issues with them is endless; We are having to have our front cladding completely replaced, due to poor storage and water damage pre installation. Repointing to the entire back of our house, they have tried to patch it no less than 3x times. We are still awaiting our porch/canopy to be fitted. This was due to be fitted the week we moved in (1st week of May 22) then it was June, July and we still await. They tried to pass plans for a canopy not agreed to either. The driveway needs to be completely ripped up, releveled, and re-laid due to flooding. Electrics not installed to 2022 industry standards. Lofts not vented properly causing condensation issues and await extra vents to be fitted. A bit too late as insulation now wet through and in some houses the rafters are wet through too. Will they replace the insulation etc? maybe but there will be months and months of constant fighting and wrangling with them. The street lighting is only just being properly worked on now, it has been dark throughout the dark winter nights. Drains constantly blocked and being pumped out at least once a week. Once they have your money, you are nothing. For them it’s onto the next fool. Their supposed mantra is “We want you to be happy”. Absolute nonsense. They treat us all like tenants instead of homeowners. Communication is a nightmare. When you do finally get answers, they are never in the form of a direct reply to your concern or complaint. Always swerving the difficult questions or not answering them at all. The Eastern MD just hides behind his secretary and uses her to reply when he needs too. Staff turnover is beyond a joke we have literally had at least 4x site managers and 4x customer service managers over the past 9 months. We wished we never bought a home from Crest in the first place. What an indictment that is. But they don’t care anyway. They absolutely do not care what anyone thinks of them at all. End of. It’s all about the buck, OUR buck. So, we feel it is best for people to be warned rather than fall into the trap that we have. It has affected our mental health this past year it truly has, we wouldn’t wish that on anyone else. It was meant to be our dream. We have wanted to live in Finberry for nigh on 6 years. They genuinely turned that dream into an absolute nightmare. Please feel free to ask any further questions, will be happy to assist.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

At present Finberry stands alone as a development bar a new school. It has no shops etc at all at this time. Visitor parking good at weekends or evenings..........during weekdays you will more than likely find a contractor parked in these spaces. No transport links as yet, but it is close to the M20

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Again please see comments on this in the bulk of the review

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known everything that is in my previous answers earlier in this review

1

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

2

Value

1

Management


A quiet village with beautiful scenery but ...

Ann Ho (Owner)

Verified Resident

Dec 2021

It could be more impressive if they would plan the development stage more systematically. Not just the main entrance (where it creates many muddy roads), many construction heavy vehicles, kept travelling one of the main road where many residential units located, for their new construction phase. Developer should plan or build a new road for their new phase instead of creating unnecessary inconvenience /troubles/ annoyance to existing residents.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

No shops (except a dentist, a mobile fish and chip and coffee truck) in the community, and no public transportation outside the community. We need to drive at least a mile in A2070 before we can go to the opposite Orbital Park. Tho each unit has one or more parking space, some of them would like to park outside their house (along the street). This blocks the traffic to different degree, with less pleasant driving experience. Overall speaking, it is a quiet and peaceful community with some nice scenery.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not aware of any improvement even though such complaints had been raised in the community FB

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are some different constructions projects undertaking around Finberry - of which it would be less quiet and clean than beforere

3

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

4

Value

3

Management


Very well designed and landscapes, shame about the estate management being so poor

Karen (Owner)

Verified Resident

Dec 2021

What scores it lower, for me, is all the issues to do with the fees we have and to pay in terms of the land management fees. This has been quite unexpected and stressful! I love that we are in the heart of Ashford. So close to the train station, town centre and surround restaurants. Perfect location.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

We love Finberry. Beautifully landscaped with stunning houses and a lovely neighbourhood.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Terribly! The only negative I have is about after care and estate management

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That we would get slapped with unexpected land management fees, with an unreasonable demand to pay.

5

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

2

Management


Love it. Shame about the estate management after sale.

Alex (Owner)

Verified Resident

Dec 2021

It’s a shame the bus route has not been installed yet. We’ve lived here for 5 years now and there is still no sign of a working bus route, which, for my children and getting school has proven difficult. I don’t like the unexpected management fees and this is a huge negative for me.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

I love living in this location. Prime location for travel in to London or just popping in to the city centre. We have the cinema and shops just a few minutes away.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very hard to get hold of, the estate management fees for residents had been a nightmare to rectify.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About the rising fees and the way in which it was handled. Could put many people off buying.

5

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

1

Management


Great development and good finishes and good place to live

Brett (Tenant)

Verified Resident

Dec 2021

Design of the houses are modern and well thought out with the weather protection and not having to paint the house the insulation and finishes are top class. The room sizes are good and finishes are good in all the bathrooms we are very pleased with all

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Great development we live in a busy street but the Christmas lights are great and the atmosphere is awesome

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All issues were attended to in good time such as the boiler

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The road is a bit busy but is ok when the windows are closed

5

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

5

Management


Page 1 of 2

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Stour Meadows, TN25

16th

Ranked 16th out of 19 in Kent

More developments in Kent