Snowdon Grange, TA20

Snowdon Grange, TA20

By
Tilia Homes
5th
Ranked 5th out of 10 in Somerset
3.61 (12 reviews) 3.61 (12 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.42
Facilities
4.00
Design
4.50
Location
3.58
Value
2.67
Management

Snowdon Grange offers a selection of three and four bedroom homes, suitable for first time buyers, families as well as those looking to downsize into one of the forma bungalows. On the outskirts of Chard, this rural area borders Devon and Somerset, with convenient proximity to the town centre, as well as near to the A303.

 

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Gorgeous home – site management needs improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Ever since we walked into the show homes we loved the houses. Whether it a bungalow, 4 bed or 3 bed they all feel so spacious. We went for a 3 bed being a first home and couldn’t really ask for more as it’s very generously sized. Have a decent driveway for at least two cars with easy access to park on street. Very large garden which isn’t quite so common on new builds these days.

The road conditions though on the estate however has at times been near on un drivable however the site team deem it adequate. The road is full of potholes and bumps which even at 2 mph feel horrendous. The site team keep promising the road will be finished however every time they don’t deliver or do as they say. Then when you chase you get ‘selective responses’. Driving through the conditions just quite frankly frustrate us so much as you have a lovely home however at times have had to park on the road due to not being to able to get through, and then the groundworkers make you feel like you’re getting on their way.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local to the area so knew what it was like prior to buying. Brilliant transport links to bigger towns and beaches. Street is nice and quiet.

Have been some anti social issues partially due to the sales staff not informing us we’d be near social housing, and the social housing company don’t seem to vet any tenants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

House has a lot of extras as standard where other developers would need to pay additional. Would be nice to see the options list prior as the sales lady we seen when buying told us there wasn’t a list we could see…

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Within the first 8 weeks when you have meetings with the site manager excellent. However site manager has left now and when you go via customer service you have to be prepared to chase and chase and chase as they don’t seem to pickup emails or follow up on anything.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spacious, modern and homely

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Spacious, modern and homely. Parking spaces are adequate next to the house but it is a squeeze if people start to park on the road in front of houses. Street lighting is unpredictable, some work and some don’t. There are locations e.g the path that is running through the new estate that is not lit up so is not safe to walk that way in the evenings. Defects were reported and resolved but did take 3-4 months to get someone to attend and resolve the issues. The road surfaces were not laid until 6 months after move in which created additional wear to your vehicle and even now only some roads have been surfaced, others not. Water was not connected to the mains for around 3 months after moving in either so pressure was a trickle, now resolved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Spacious new homes in a semi rural location but within walking distance to shops, schools and fields! Close to train stations and bus routes so excellent for commuters. Recycling & waste bins are collected on separate days but always the same week. Minimal – no traffic noise from my situated house so very peaceful to sit outside in the evening. Some antisocial behaviour has been reported at the local park but this has soon stopped. Street lighting is unpredictable, some work and some don’t.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lovely area, peaceful garden atmosphere during summer evenings and a real sense of community.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The site manager responded to me by saying “everyone has that problem” so showed no compassion, urgency or apology towards the water pressure issue. All contractors that have come to the house however, have been lovely!

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

some good some not so good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Snowden Grange has provided for us the ideal design of property with regards to both upstairs and downstairs bedroom and bathroom accomodation. It is also good that there is a range of property styles attracting families as well as retired couples.
The only planned facilities are for children in the play area which we would rarely use.
Although we fully expected some ‘snagging’ issues with a new property it has been very disappointing with regard to the time it takes to resolve issues with both the house and especially the roads. Promises and deadlines are frequently forgotton or missed. Some issues have been outstanding for almost 6 months

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a good range of local shops but some areas of Chard are sadly run down and would benefit from redevelopement or refurbishment. Chard is served by a reasonable bus service but limited routes and connections to train stations. Our area of Snowden Grange is a quiet development with very little traffic noise and good off street parking has been provided on the development, however it is disappointing that commercial vans are being allowed to be park on the roads which we believe is against the covenant stated in the purchase documents

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

the roads will take a long time to be made up and safe

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

some have been cleared but some others are outstanding for at least 6 months

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quiet, friendly neighbours living.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Tilia Homes have designed a good range of houses. Our four bedroom home is a good size, with plenty of storage space (as we opted for double wardrobes in two bedrooms). The facilities are good, such as utility & cloakroom. However, water pressure is POOR. Building management isn’t great, we’re still chasing our snagging list despite living here for almost 10 months. Whilst some building aspects are great, others have been poorly finished. For example, our front garden has been poorly landscaped & the kitchen quality could be better. Our flooring is poor, we opted for lino as part of our package – if you can avoid this, we highly recommend you do so. Where possible, source you’re own carpet – the carpet provided is awful. In summary, we live on a very quiet road, with practically zero traffic, & have wonderful neighbours. It’s just a shame Tilia Homes don’t go that extra mile to look after customers once the house purchase is complete.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Sadly, the build does not qualify for a local shop, however – there is a Sainsbury’s that’s walkable in 15mins. Tesco & Lidl are 20/25mins walk. There are a handful of good restaurants within a few miles, & some very nice local pubs just a short drive. We’re yet to check out any bus or train routes, but from what I understand both are reliable. Crewkerne & Axminster train stations are both a short 15mins drive. We are lucky to live on a cul de sac with good off-street parking & a handful of visitor spaces. Bin collections are well-managed & reliable. There is minimum traffic noise & very-low anti-social behaviour issues.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Water pressure

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, they have responded – however not all issues have bene dealt with,

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fresh looking spacious new homes, but after care isn’t great, over promised and under delivered.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The look of the development is lovely, the house designs are lovely fresh and spacious, what let’s it down is the final details of finishing a phase before starting a new one, still have unfinished roads, lampposts that don’t work, lack of communication from developers regarding continues works on roads,
Over promised constantly and under delivered always.
Snagging lists after a year still not complete, as companies fail to reply or get back to you. Still have items on put snagging list unfinished.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The layout and location of the development is lovely, close to town and lovely homeowner neighbours.
Parking availability is poor, and antisocial behaviour from social housing hasn’t been tackled correctly in the last 13 months since living here, this includes drug use, shouting and swearing while drunk at all hours of the night and early morning.

The look of the development is lovely, what let’s it down is the final details of finishing a phase before starting a new one, still have unfinished roads, lampposts that don’t work, lack of communication from developers regarding continues works on roads,
Over promised constantly and under delivered always.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Try to avoid a home near social housing, it seems the tenants aren’t vetted very well and downgrade the area making it looks less attractive due to constant scrap cars, motorbikes etc being brought on to the development by associates of social housing tenants and left for days, usually without tax or mots, yet local police won’t do anything even with constant reports from various home owners to the police and development and housing association, to make them aware of anti social behaviour and drug use/dealing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We gain some reply and we are made to feel things are being done at the time, but soon find out you get forgotten and palmed off with excuses.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Don’t, just don’t buy at Snowdon Grange!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

If I was given a house for free on this development I wouldn’t even live here. Build quality is very poor. After 12 months we’re still suffering with problems in our home. Uneven floors, joined up bits of carpet, faulty plumbing, faulty heating, faulty electrics, wonky kitchen cupboards, uneven walls, water logged garden to name but a few of our snags. Development roads full of pot holes and undriveable! Parking issues throughout as residents block drives and park on pavements because there isn’t enough space. Badly managed by Tilia with no interest in any kind of standards and a total lack of respect to customers. Sales will offer you the world to get you in the door but in reality once they have your money they don’t give a monkeys. Oh and let’s not forget the management company that Tilia have assigned, sending threatening letters demanding payment as phase one is completed yet the truth is they are not finished working on the properties in phase one and roads aren’t even fully tarmacked. This place is a joke, we’ve seen people selling their property for tens of thousands of pounds under market value, what story does that tell you? If you want to know whether you should buy at Snowdon Grange, DONT! I think the only way we will be able to sell this house is if we raffle it off!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A review about living in our street is purely subjective and I suspect every resident experiences different issues however the most common issue is parking or lack of. Some of the four bedroom properties only have two parking spaces so a lot of cars block the pavements forcing kids and Mums to walk in the road. Residents driveways are often blocked by other residents cars due to the lack of parking. The roads and pavements have remained unfinished for over a year with pot holes everywhere. Police are often seen on the development dealing with the local drug users and boy racers.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known how bad Tilia was before we bought as we would have walked away and spent our money elsewhere.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Issues have been attended to in a very badly managed way and some issues remain despite attempting to fix. Other issues still exist or have to be repeatedly fixed because the quality of workmanship is very substandard.

1
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Really nice property and quiet area to live in. I haven’t had any problems with the property. The builders were all nice people they have only just now finished we moved in during Feb 2021 and only just finished outside now but can’t complain its nice

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice development the properties are nice. Moved in Feb and roads in estate only just now finished. Shops about 20 min walk bins have been good and it’s quiet

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Sometimes the mix of social housing and private tenants can often cause problems. I would make sure private buyers know which plots are social and which plots are private so they understand as it doesn’t seem like they are made aware before they buy

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The design is lovely although could do with improvements, there’s small issues that just seems like poor care or laziness. And repairs ect have taken a while. Communication with the developers had also been difficult. Overall the development is lovely there are just some small issues that can be resolved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a lovely development to love on although it is very far from and shops everything else, there’s one bud that stood outside on the road all the other you have to get from town which is approx 20 mins away

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s not very neighbourly unfortunately, although I feel this is due to me being housing association tenant in the middle off loads off private homes

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good and Bad

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

First of all I must say the development is in a very nice location any the property design is pleasing on the eye, but that is where the positives end. We have been here 8 months now and still have numerous snags. The kitchen units are falling apart, we have been promised a visit from Symphony to look into it but so far no show! Insufficient drainage means our garage floods every time it rains, the front door does not fit the frame and the garden fences are so loose they are dangerous. We are consistently promised visits to resolve the issues but no one ever comes!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

First of all I must say the development is in a very nice location any the property design is pleasing on the eye. We are close to shops and amenities including a new leisure centre. The area is mostly quiet we the occasional noisy outbursts from the social housing tenants who also cause parking problems. Bin collections are regular and effective.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Snags do not get dealt with effectively, not very good at answering emails

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

So many snags, a few dealt with but many outstanding

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good New Development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

So far we are very happy with the services provided. The actual appearance of the house is very pleasing, the interior of the house is built and finished to a very good standard, and for a new built house it appears to be built very well with very little snags or cracks appearing which is not really something associated with a new build. We are yet to submit our final snagging list but when we initially submitted our first list they were actioned promptly and finished to a good standard

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of the development is very good as it is on the outskirts of Chard, a short 5/10 minute walk in either direction will take you to the town centre or will take you into the countryside and walking along the Snowdon hills. The town itself offers plenty of shops, supermarkets, pubs, takeaways and gyms. The new leisure centre also has a swimming pool and soft play area. The public transport links from Chard are very good as buses will take you to Taunton, Axminster (onward train to Exeter) and Yeovil.

The estate itself is actually very nice, the design of the houses so far are very good, however we are still waiting for the road to be finished which is a slight frustration. Bin Collections are now smooth and hassle free, this is also the same with Parcel deliveries, during the early days we often found we got missed as no one could find us. Unfortunately the only thing letting the development down is a few residents living in the Social Houses appearing to treat a nice new build house as a drug den and on a summer day decide to ruin a nice afternoon by smoking the stuff. Tilia homes refuse to take responsibility, Abri are also very slow and reluctant to do anything and the police are monitoring, but for the residents it’s very frustrating.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing i wish we knew were about some of the hidden upgrades that weren’t the clearest after viewing show homes and then planning the look and design of our own house. Trying to get works done after are proving very challenging or expensive.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When we first moved in we were very happy with the handling or any issues or queries we had as the Site Manager at the time was always happy to go above and beyond to get the issues resolved and would often check in to ensure everything was okay.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 6

3.82

Average rating based on 47 reviews

View company