Sherwood Croft, YO8

Sherwood Croft, YO8

By
Miller Homes
3.68 (9 reviews) 3.68 (9 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.33
Facilities
3.33
Design
4.44
Location
4.11
Value
2.67
Management

Set in the North Yorkshire village of Thorpe Willoughby, close to Selby, Sherwood Croft is a development of two, three, four and five bedroom homes.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

House design isn’t bad, the plot is what sealed it for us with a field in front and bungalows behind we are not overlooked. The building management company rmg are absolutely awful and have charged substantially more this year despite covid lockdowns so prepare for that wasted cost however overall it is a very nice place to live. We had a few teething issues early doors but miller took care of everything.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Thorpe Willoughby is only a few miles outside of selby with connections to leeds, York and Doncaster. The area is quiet and kid friendly, once building is complete there will be additional fields and amenities.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Buying a new build requires a lot of work in the beginning to make it a home however worth it

What is the best feature of your home:

The plot, the house is nice but not being over looked with no through traffic and a field in front in excellent.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

We love living here, can’t wait until its finished.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The design of the site is good and the houses are well spaced. Not much experience with the property management as yet.

Building management have been very good throughout the building process and and aftercare.

Some of the corners on the estate are very tight and difficult to see oncoming traffic.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It would have been better if all the 4 and 5 bedrooms had been designed with a double drive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not that I can think of.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

A double drive would be good as we have a 4 bedroom house and already have 2 cars. Once our children are driving we will struggle for parking.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good for first time buyers

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

I have bought a tolkein which is a three bed semi detached house and the design is all you need for a couple, however some of the room shapes aren’t the best to utilise as much of the space as possible.

The layout of the house is good and the design and quality is good, we did tend to find we had a lot of snags due to a lot of contractors working on the house at the same time however these were all corrected.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is ok, close to selby for all the shops however it’s abit of a distance to the nearest city of York or Leeds which isn’t as convenient.

Parking is ok except there are a lot of cars on the street which sometimes makes it hard to get around with oncoming cars.

Bin collections are good no issues here.

Sherwood Croft is near train lines which you can only just hear those when it’s really quiet.

Selby area isn’t great but the villages around it where Sherwood Croft is is nice and very low anti social behaviour.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there was more storage especially downstairs.

What is the best feature of your home:

Master bedroom is very spacious and a good shape with built in wardrobe which is perfect for a couple.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Disappointed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Disappointed, had numerous arguments regarding poor workmanship standards in the house.

1 example- enclosed Tv cables £200 extra, you would expect a tube running behind the plaster board so you’re able to change wires throughout the years, actually was some wires plastered into the wall. Therefore without knocking the plaster out I will not be changing the wires.

Items that were suppose to have been fitted but wasn’t. Then had the audacity to turn around and say it had been delisted from the specification since purchasing therefore wouldn’t install.

Would I buy from this company again- No

Would I recommend- No

What this company needs to understand that buying a property is the biggest single purchase of a customers life, therefore should be treated as such. Many times was we made to feel we’d just purchased a Hoody from Sports Direct.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links fantastic, 30 minute drive to York/Leeds and to major motorways. Busses frequently run into Selby town centre.

Local stores are great and handy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The 5 stars on Miller homes clearly aren’t correct

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Garden being level for a start.

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Friendly people, lovely walks

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Generally everyone is really lovely, friendly and helpful. Currently paying for upkeep of facilities we dont have e.g a park that isn’t built yet. Some problems with litter and people not picking up dog poo. Paths and roads aren’t yet complete which is quite difficult for pram pushing. Theres a lovely public footpath just to the side of the estate which I like, and also close to a big wood.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

everyone on the street is really friendly, parking seems to be a little bit of an issue with some houses only having 1 space (for 4 bedroom houses I dont think thats enough).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Paying for things that are currently not complete, such as the park, and the management company dont seem to offer much help.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better view, house overlooks 3 story houses that dont have any front garden so just a sea of bricks out the side window.

4
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good and disappointing in equal measure

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

A few snagging issues but nothing major. The site was not designed with enough car parking. The grounds are not looked after in the way which was promised, making the outside spaces look untidy when they could be really pretty with what was promised I.e. a wildflower meadow and not the huge patch of weeds!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area to live in, lovely village. A real hidden gem! Close to both Leeds and York so great for commuters.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known we wouldn’t get the quality of public spaces we were promised.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Early snagging due to poor quality workmanship was fixed relatively quickly

2
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Sherwood Croft, YO8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice estate poorly build houses

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The houses are very poorly built, which is a shame as the actual designs of the houses are great.
Parking is an issue on the estate and with the 90 degree bends a further crashes are inevitable. To date the maintenance of the estate has been poor however as its not completed the roads and parks have not yet been completed so can’t be maintained.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This development is situated in a great little village, with a fantastic local pub, the post office has recently shut down however its a short distance to selby which has every thing that you could need. Parking is an issue on the estate as many of the houses only have a single driveway despite having 4 bedrooms. There is growing amount of anti social behaviour on the estate from youths, however the mojority of the residents are decent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I regret buying this house, I wish I had paid for a professional snagger to attend the property prior to completion.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very poorly, after two years we still have outstanding issues.

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live! Would recommend!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The houses are designed well, I wouldnt say they were put together great though. Shower had no trap on when I moved in. There was a live electric wire in my kitchen and I had big drainage problems which took a long time to sort out. 9 months in total

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is fantastic. Some busy bodies but most people are nice. Houses are lovely and modern. Its a very quiet street where my children can play safely, no trouble in 2 years.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew I had nosy neighbours who monitor my every move! Also wish I’d knew about all the local walks and fields you can cut through

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes but slow. Had drainage problems and took 9 months to resolve and me chasing them

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing estate to live on !

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Design is great, love the layout, had no issue what so ever since moving in 3 years ago, other than we don’t get a lot of sun where we are in the back garden, and he downstairs toilet blocking every now and then. But overall, very happy with our home and the estate all in all.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very quiet lovely estate to live on. I do live in a housing association home but even still, it’s a great street, friendly neighbours and the homes are lovely. My mother lives just around the corner on Bay Street in a bought home and it’s beautiful.we have Had no issues with anything and would recommend 100%. Anyone looking for a new home, it’s definitely a lovely estate to live on.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had know our back garden dosnt get much sun, that’s the only thing really I could give a bad point on.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Sherwood Croft, YO8

Location

Number of developments 14

3.98

Average rating based on 71 reviews

View company