Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

By
Berkeley Homes
Ranked 6th out of 89 in South East London
4.20 (380 reviews) 4.20 (380 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.23
Facilities
4.32
Design
4.15
Location
3.91
Value
3.74
Management

Royal Arsenal Riverside is a beautiful riverside neighbourhood. It offers one, two and three bedroom apartments.   Additionally, residents benefit from the convenient transport links. These include: National Rail, DLR and on-site Thames Clipper. Also, residents have access to a gym, swimming pool and a concierge.

Read more Read less

Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

A truly flexible place to live with amazing views!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

Living on the Royal Arsenal development has been a really pleasant experience and has given us so much more than we ever hoped living in London would bring. Stunning views, great facilities at the doorstep, flexibility for travelling into and out of London and an incredible sense of community You’d normally expect from somewhere far more rural!

The design of the development is flexible for both shopping and socialising, whilst also allowing easy access to explore areas slightly further afield – when you need a bit of escapism.

The buildings are clean and well kept and the Property management team will always do their best to help with any problems – even if it sometimes isn’t always an instant response.

Although aesthetically pleasing, some of the communal areas around the development (Especially the water features) can attract an influx of excited children throughout the Summer days which (although lovely) can sometimes make working from home a very noisy experience due to the noise amplification of many buildings close together.

It’s been great to see a bigger security presence in recent months. We generally feel quite safe living here, but as isolated incidents do happen – it’s reassuring to see well lit walkways, CCTV and extra security presence.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We love the local transport links – bus, DLR and train all close by and being able to catch the Thames Clipper to work from the pier is a real dream! The local pubs are good but it would be great to have a bigger variety of places to eat too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the delays to cross rail would be so significant!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

We’d love to have the ability to change heating supplier as we pay a high charge currently but are locked into the community heat project.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind comments – we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying the great facilities, transport connections and beautiful views.

A Pleasant Development with a Lot to Offer – Bring on Crossrail

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Given that it is now ten years old, Warehouse Court has aged quite well from an external standpoint, which is not something I can say for earlier buildings on the development, particularly those from the early 2000s. It’s now at a stage where it could do with a bit of decorating and a refresh internally, which I’m hoping will be scheduled soon, particularly with increases to service charge and as of this year, the ground rent too. I do wish that we had access to dedicated gym facilities for the building, as is the case with some of the newer builds. It might make me more inclined to go!

With regards to building and property management, Rendall & Rittner tend not to be the most transparent with their costings, which seemingly continue to increase the service charges year on year. Many residents have appealed to Berkeley to review their tenure as a great number who attend regular residents meetings find it difficult to communicate or get straight answers to simple questions. Given the ever increasing number of buildings on the development, there should be certain economies of scale which we just don’t seem to ever see.

The community heating scheme is my biggest bugbear, however. I don’t see why residents should be forced into a monopoly, with SSE charging whatever extortionate rates they please for both standing charge and unit energy cost. Residents should have options, especially when the reliability of the unit has been so appalling over the past ten years. It may well be green, but it certainly must have paid for itself many times over by now – the standing charge alone is three times what it would be for those on the national grid.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Woolwich could always benefit from more mid market food options. There are plenty of pubs around, however these tend to be the lower end of the market and most do not offer food. The only real options are the Great Harry (Wetherspoons), the two Youngs pubs on the development which offer almost identical menus and then the Tap Room which although nice enough, only offers pizzas due to its smaller size. It would be nice to see the Dial Arch and the Guardhouse owned by different breweries to increase the variety of both beer and food options – they’re literally opposite each other so I can’t really understand the purpose.

Open spaces are done well – there is sufficient green space to make the area not feel too overcrowded, though I do see that the later phases of development seem to be going higher and higher as the available land finally starts to dry up.

Transport links are good in Woolwich, with access to buses, the DLR, overground railway and cycle routes over to Greenwich etc. The delay in Crossrail as been a significant disappointment, particularly as it was used as a major selling point for the property – distance from the city is a bit of a persistent problem as it just takes far too long to get anywhere!

The street outside my flat is pedestrianised, so immediate traffic noise isn’t too much of an issue, though the nearby road is still audible. Parking is fairly limited, though I have been able to find a space for visitors when necessary by requesting a temporary pass from the concierge. We occasionally have anti-social behaviour, but this is generally dealt with fairly promptly on reporting to development security.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The true ongoing cost of the community heating scheme and when Crossrail was actually likely to arrive.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

A bit of a mixed bag really – some issues get tended to fairly swiftly, but then some require continual follow ups and chasing. Often you are told something will be resolved soon or that a certain individual or department will get back to you, but then you hear no more.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jacob – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted to hear that you are enjoying the open green spaces and on-site amenities at Royal Arsenal Riverside. If you wish to discuss your concerns regarding the property management services, please do contact us rare.information@berkeleygroup.co.uk

Great area :)

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Area looks very modern and stylish, and at the same time classic and antique, which is a huge plus. They enjoy green areas and an increasing number of places to relax. The area is constantly developing, which also results in more shops, restaurants and swimming pools in the future. Well-developed city transport is a great convenience, but the big disadvantage is the constant delay of the Elizabeth Line, which will greatly improve the commuting to work for many residents. I consider the management of the area and buildings to be good: clean and pleasant. More should be invested in security in the area and the replacement of old intercoms, which do not allow you to see who wants to enter our building, and with more residents it is difficult to communicate, because in fact only one telephone number can answer the intercom. I rate the rest very well. I will definitely stay longer in this charming area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very friendly and quite safe and clean. I miss more variety of restaurants and better places to chill out.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Depending on who will look after you, but be prepared for the fact that most things have to be done by yourself. You have to ask and remind yourself, and the agency does not care. The area is great and recommendable, but you have to be ready that no one will be interested in you when renting.

What is the best feature of your home:

The apartment needs refreshing and some repairs. Reported to the agency but to no avail. No customer interest.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind comments Grzegorz – we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying living at Royal Arsenal Riverside.

Royal Arsenal Riverside review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

Royal Arsenal Riverside, Duncombe house is great!
I have never moved into somewhere so organised, the concierge have been super helpful with any query I have whether it be , parking, deliveries (which they hold for you if your not in) gym memberships, general queries they are very friendly.
I also love the design of the buildings everything looks very professional yet homely which is key.
A lot of time and effort goes into the landscaping and the plants nothing is ever a mess!
The facilities are the best I have ever come across in the London complex’s. Everything is modern and looked after it is only getting better and better!
We now have water features, outdoor seating areas and grass areas where children can play, plenty of areas to walk your dogs and do outdoor exercise.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I find it very useful that we have a Tesco extra, Sainsbury’s and M&S within our complex so we have plenty of choice. We also have a gorgeous cafe Boulngerie Jade, perfect for your take away morning coffee or to sit in and work! As well as a delicious breakfast! There are 2 great pubs The Guard house and Dial-Arch which both do amazing roast dinners! Or perfect for bar snacks and drinks!
If you fancy a great atmosphere with some oven baked pizzas then head over to Taprooms! Or simply get a takeaway!
Within the Royal Arsenal Riverside there are 2 gyms just for residents one including a pool with jacuzzi which is very relaxing! There is also a cinema room facility and fantastic lounging areas indoors and outdoors.
Royal Arsenal Riverside is very child friendly having many families around including a nursery and doctors inside the complex. You get a great sense of community.

The DLR and woolwich train station is a short walk away, with great links to Canning Town, London Bridge and charring cross . We also have the ferry service getting you to Greenwich, Canary Wharf and Embankment etc!
Remembering the Elizabeth line is opening shortly which is based inside Royal Arsenal complex which is another plus!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

find out what is included. Gym/pool/cinema

What is the best feature of your home:

I love the community of my home. I feel very safe.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind comments Mollie – we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

An ideal area with good-value property and excellent facilities

Review Date Jul 2021

Overall, my impressions of the Royal Arsenal Riverside development are very positive. The area is well-maintained and visually appealing, and sees minimal road traffic meaning that noise levels are generally very low. The location is excellent, both in terms of convenient access to local services such as the DLR and train stations, and also in terms of offering a splendid river view. The area feels very safe at all times, and is home to a local farmer’s market and an upcoming creative district. The planned Elizabeth Line station, within a few minutes’ walking distance, should also offer more convenient travel opportunities. Finally, given all of these positive aspects, I consider my rent to be surprisingly low compared to other similar properties elsewhere in the city.

My only minor criticisms would be some small communication issues I have had as a private tenant when working with the tenancy management agency previously – however, these have not been significant issues, largely just being delays in responses. All other services provided by the management agency have been excellent – the concierge facility in particular has been very impressive. Their employees are unfailingly polite and helpful, and the option to have parcels delivered to them in the event of my absence has been useful on a number of occasions.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is very conveniently located, with easy access to the local DLR and train stations, and the area is generally quiet and well-maintained. There is a good variety of local shops of all types, as well as a frequent farmer’s market. The upcoming Woolwich Works creative district is also promising, as is the planned Elizabeth Line station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The intercom system for Building 45 is not set up by default and has no receiver in my flat – I needed to speak to the concierge to get it set up. Before this, I had to deal with several rather confused delivery drivers who could not understand why they could not reach me.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

When renting properties in the development, it would be helpful if the listing more clearly stated whether the property is managed by Royal Arsenal Residential or whether it is rented directly from a private landlord.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ben – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you are enjoying living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

Come for the gorgeous buildings,stay for the community

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

We’ve been here for about 6 years in 3 different flats. We started renting with Royal arsenal residential who were awful, we wouldn’t receive responses when we asked for help with things including when our heating wasn’t working in winter. We also had a lot of trouble getting our deposit back because of made up issues. We’ve since moved into a new flat with London stone and they have been nothing but helpful quickly solving any issues with the flat and in a very friendly manor.
The buildings I have lived in are all kept lovely and clean, the newer ones have a very hotel esque feel to them while the older ones have lovely vintage features as they’re from WW2.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The community is fantastic, it’s like living in a small town where people help their neighbors out. Woolwich isn’t without its problems though and it isn’t the safest place especially for woman as there’s been a number of woman followed home and some muggings. I was almost mugged myself last year while walking home.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Most of the buildings are locked into a contract with SSE for their supply. SSE have openly admitted that they charge us a higher standing charge (ludicrously high) because we cannot leave so they don’t have to be in line with competitors.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Unfortunately because we have the original massive single glazed windows it is very hard to keep the flat warm which means our heating bill is much higher than it has ever been.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi KL, thanks for leaving a review. We think the community is great too! Please follow us on Twitter or Facebook if you want to keep up with all the latest news from the community.

James E review of Royal Arsenal Riverside

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Property management from Rendall and Ritner is very poor: much of our furniture in the downstairs lobby has been stolen. Fire doors and have not been fixed. Service charge amounts are high, often delayed and incorrect. In addition they are significantly higher than the level of service provided. Lifts are slow to be fixed when faulty. Help for residents moving in and out is limited. e.g. no vehicle access ever allowed to Compton House and no trollies to hire.

Lovely preservation of old buildings. More development should be like this. Makes it a very enjoyable place to live and invite people to visit. The natural landscaping is exquisite and something that I value very highly, especially when compared to other new developments. Most new buildings are also nicely designed with brick. Not a fan of the newest Waterside buildings.

Enjoy that the development is a largely car free area, with most parking underground and lots of secure bike parking.

Having a concierge service is great.

So excited for the theatre to open. Love that there are some local shops and cafes, wish there was more of this!

Lots on your doorstep – transport, restaurants, gym, supermarkets, and close to town, and close to open green spaces. Would be good with a hairdresser, vet, pet groomers, bookshop, board game cafe, dry cleaners/tailors, restaurants to draw people in, especially with the arts centre and crossrail opening.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Green spaces around the development are hugely valued by residents and used all the time. It would be a real shame for Maribor park to be turned into more buildings, as is currently planned. This is especially the case given the premium on green spaces now working from home is such a mainstay.

Range of local shops fairly poor, made worse by BH proposing to use the ground floor of Building 10 for private accommodation. It would be great if local residents were able to open up local businesses at reduced to maintain the great independent vibe – e.g. hairdressers, cafes. Have also heard that spaces offered are too large. Would be good to have some smaller business spaces so people in the local community can set up permanent business on site.

The continued delay of Crossrail is somewhat inconvenient, though BH have done well to deliver the station ahead of TfL opening. Otherwise transport links are very good.

Well catered for in terms of supermarkets on site.

Noise from across the Plumstead road is very disruptive as a result of poor sound insulation in the old buildings (e.g. loud music).

Recent BH construction projects have been extremely loud and disruptive, especially with weekend working during 2020. This is particularly an issue in summer months when windows need to be kept open.

Rumours of use of Waterside properties for drug hangouts. Regular smell of cannabis throughout development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Plans to replace Maribor Park with new flats was a surprise and a real shame.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

BH after sales care great, Rendall and Rittner extremely poor. For instance, lifts take weeks to get replaced, fire doors and intercom take weeks to get fixed.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi James – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you are enjoying the on-site facilities and amenities at Royal Arsenal Riverside. We are also excited about the opening of Woolwich Works.

So much happening

Review Date Feb 2018

This is such a beautiful area. There is a lot of development happening and if you look at the plans for the whole of the riverside development you can see the plans to really create a community with squares and mix of old and renovated buildings. I love running by the river and am enjoying the view and taking it all in – there is so much going on and this part of London is just on the up! Royal Arsenal has given me modern, easy living in an area steeped in history and it allows me to easily connect to other parts of London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lots of new things opening all the time – check local instagram and twitter feeds for updates. I love travelling from home to the centre of London by boat!

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback – it really is great living on the Thames! The history of the site is something we really worked to preserve, so we’re delighted that you like the mix of heritage and modern architecture – we think this is one of the things that makes Royal Arsenal Riverside unique.

A safe haven

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2019

A very calm place, it looks like a village. Across the road is a complete different place because it is busy. It is a very quick commute to city. Best place to live by the river and the cheapest! My neighbours are very quiet.

I cannot complain about conceirge, open 24/7. And the gym is nice, no pool, 6-7pm is busy but it is good conditions overall.

Double glass windows so you can’t hear anything.

It is very Scooter friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can keep pets if you request, on the contract it says no though.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you enjoy living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

Quiet development, next to woolwich town centre

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

The development itself is quiet with a few small shops on site for food and basics. Woolwich town centre is just across the road, and while much busier, has a wider range of shops, though they are not especially to my tastes, and often a bit of a mess. There are also larger supermarkets within walking distance. Transport links are good, with plenty of busses, DLR, mainline, the river boat, and crossrail coming, but who knows when?!
There are a few pubs and restaurants on the Arsenal, all of which are very nice. Across the road in the town centre the pubs are more for regulars only, if you get my drift! There’s a half decent chip shop, and plenty of takeaways.
On the development, there are also gyms, a medical centre and pharmacy, at least one nursery, and often cultural events in the main square.
Overall, its quiet, but close to a busy town centre, with retail parks, cinemas, even central London, all easily accessible.
Street parking is virtually non-existent. If you don’t get a parking space with your property, you’ll have to rent one from someone, otherwise owning a vehicle isn’t really an option. There are a handful of guest spaces via the concierge, or a paid for carpark nearby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: How quiet it is, local small supermarkets, large supermarkets in walking distance, gyms and concierge services, transport links, pubs, restaurants, being next to the river.
Dislikes: Wider area is busy, local highstreet isn’t great, street parking is basically non-existent on the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Theres a lot of building work as the development expands, and when I moved in (10 years ago) I had a lot of noisy trucks passing every day ahead of me. But to be fair, that has quietened down a lot as they’ve built nearly everywhere they can now, I think.
And if you can, get a parking space, i turned one down and I regret it!!

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind comments Dan – we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

Location

Berkeley Homes
Number of developments 45

4.20

Average rating based on 1421 reviews

View company