Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

By
Berkeley Homes
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 34 in Greenwich
4.18 (355 reviews) 4.18 (355 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.21
Facilities
4.32
Design
4.13
Location
3.92
Value
3.76
Management

Royal Arsenal Riverside is a beautiful riverside neighbourhood. It offers one, two and three bedroom apartments.   Additionally, residents benefit from the convenient transport links. These include: National Rail, DLR and on-site Thames Clipper. Also, residents have access to a gym, swimming pool and a concierge.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£567,500
1.9.901 Compass Wharf – 1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
560 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£782,500
2.14.1403 Navigator Wharf
2 Bed
2 Bath
832 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£777,500
2.13.1303 Navigator Wharf
2 Bed
2 Bath
832 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£512,500
4.0.4 Building 10
1 Bed
1 Bath
522 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£510,000
4.0.1 Building 10
1 Bed
1 Bath
498 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£892,500
1.14.1402 Compass Wharf
2 Bed
2 Bath
832 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£532,500
3.2.207 Galley Wharf
1 Bed
1 Bath
549 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£867,500
3.8.802 Galley Wharf
2 Bed
2 Bath
833 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 341 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

A Pleasant Development with a Lot to Offer – Bring on Crossrail

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Given that it is now ten years old, Warehouse Court has aged quite well from an external standpoint, which is not something I can say for earlier buildings on the development, particularly those from the early 2000s. It’s now at a stage where it could do with a bit of decorating and a refresh internally, which I’m hoping will be scheduled soon, particularly with increases to service charge and as of this year, the ground rent too. I do wish that we had access to dedicated gym facilities for the building, as is the case with some of the newer builds. It might make me more inclined to go!

With regards to building and property management, Rendall & Rittner tend not to be the most transparent with their costings, which seemingly continue to increase the service charges year on year. Many residents have appealed to Berkeley to review their tenure as a great number who attend regular residents meetings find it difficult to communicate or get straight answers to simple questions. Given the ever increasing number of buildings on the development, there should be certain economies of scale which we just don’t seem to ever see.

The community heating scheme is my biggest bugbear, however. I don’t see why residents should be forced into a monopoly, with SSE charging whatever extortionate rates they please for both standing charge and unit energy cost. Residents should have options, especially when the reliability of the unit has been so appalling over the past ten years. It may well be green, but it certainly must have paid for itself many times over by now – the standing charge alone is three times what it would be for those on the national grid.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Woolwich could always benefit from more mid market food options. There are plenty of pubs around, however these tend to be the lower end of the market and most do not offer food. The only real options are the Great Harry (Wetherspoons), the two Youngs pubs on the development which offer almost identical menus and then the Tap Room which although nice enough, only offers pizzas due to its smaller size. It would be nice to see the Dial Arch and the Guardhouse owned by different breweries to increase the variety of both beer and food options – they’re literally opposite each other so I can’t really understand the purpose.

Open spaces are done well – there is sufficient green space to make the area not feel too overcrowded, though I do see that the later phases of development seem to be going higher and higher as the available land finally starts to dry up.

Transport links are good in Woolwich, with access to buses, the DLR, overground railway and cycle routes over to Greenwich etc. The delay in Crossrail as been a significant disappointment, particularly as it was used as a major selling point for the property – distance from the city is a bit of a persistent problem as it just takes far too long to get anywhere!

The street outside my flat is pedestrianised, so immediate traffic noise isn’t too much of an issue, though the nearby road is still audible. Parking is fairly limited, though I have been able to find a space for visitors when necessary by requesting a temporary pass from the concierge. We occasionally have anti-social behaviour, but this is generally dealt with fairly promptly on reporting to development security.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The true ongoing cost of the community heating scheme and when Crossrail was actually likely to arrive.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

A bit of a mixed bag really – some issues get tended to fairly swiftly, but then some require continual follow ups and chasing. Often you are told something will be resolved soon or that a certain individual or department will get back to you, but then you hear no more.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jacob – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted to hear that you are enjoying the open green spaces and on-site amenities at Royal Arsenal Riverside. If you wish to discuss your concerns regarding the property management services, please do contact us rare.information@berkeleygroup.co.uk

A pleasant and convenient development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Area is safe and clean. Greenery of the compound is a great plus. Management is very responsive. Build is of good quality and I have been having a comfortable stay since I moved in. The Saturday market adds to the lively atmosphere. It would be nice to have more restaurants around the area though.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A cozy riverside neighbourhood situated within a well connected community comprising of amenities such as a coffee shop, pub and a Tesco express inside the premises and the Woolwich Arsenal DLR station is a five minutes walk from the property. M&S food hall and the forth coming Cross Rail Station are also at a very close proximity. There is an onsite Thames clipper service as well. All in all a wonderful property that is very convenient for working professionals.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We would have been happy with more restaurants

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very responsive and our problems have been solved immediately.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you enjoy living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

Nice area to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The concept of renovating old and historical buildings to new apartment are impressive, how they convert them from factories or warehouses to lovely homes. However, it also brings some cons, such as they try to maximize the space and compromised the shape of rooms, it can be tricky to fit all the furniture as they are not always square or rectangular, but some creative designs can help with that.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local neighbourhood is quiet and peaceful, however, it has all the shops needed with walking distance. A big plus, a very easy walk to the riverside.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish that we knew about the common ventilating system before I moved in, sometimes we can smell cigarettes through the ventilator when some neighbours are being inconsiderate.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We rent through an agency, so they deal with any problems if needed.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location & community feel

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Perfect location especially with Elizabeth Line opening up. Traffic noise is kept to a minimum due to the pedestrianisation of most of the development. A great community feeling living here and the facilities are an amazing bonus. The only downside is concierge can sometimes be difficult when dealing with issues and very slow with handling parcels – expect to wait hours after something is delivered to be able to collect it. Overall value at the moment is really good but we can see it slowly changing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The events at Woolwich Works and the Saturday Farmers Markets are some great perks on the development. Plenty of options for shops with more still coming.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Honestly just make the most of everything on your doorstep, because there is a lot here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been fairly good, they will send someone out to look at the issue however it seems their handyman doesn’t always know how to fix things. Our landlord is a smaller letting agent who manage some a few properties across the development.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lots of different style buildings and flats, from converted warehousing to modern flats

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Decent designed and sized flats, with most 2 bed flats having 2 bathrooms. Lots of different style buildings and flats, from converted warehousing to modern flats. Not had much need to deal with the property management from Rendall & Rittner, but when I’ve needed to I can’t say it’s been very good. Very slow to no replies to emails and phone calls and took 4 months to get a refund on some plumbing work we needed to have done that was actually an issue outside our flat, but we were dealing the effects of it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great riverside location with excellent transport links. The Elizabeth Line will mean you are 20 mins from the West End. More life now Woolwich Works and Punchdrunk has opened. Could do with more restaurants in Woolwich, at the moment it’s more tilted towards takeaways. Nice to be out of central London on the river, but close enough to get in for work and leisure.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s quiet development on the whole, not much nightlife if that’s what you are after

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The facilities team are pretty good with dealing with issues, property management not so good.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, great amenities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The Berkley development on the royal arsenal is exceptionally built. Living in Hamptons Apartments, we have found the quality great. Facilities management are great, and the cleaners really care for the property well. I think property management can be improved though as some of the members in management at concierge aren’t the most personable.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Woolwich Arsenal is a fantastic place to live. You have all the amenities and stores nearby that are needed, and there’s nothing better than starting or ending your days with a river walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Packages are constantly stolen and security feels like it’s gone down a bit.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had a leak and that took a few months to fix, granted it was during the pandemic. Could’ve been quicker.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The development is clean and has kept its historical roots which is something once doesn’t see very often. All flats are very well-designed and are of very high quality. The facilities are always clean and well-maintained and the service provided by the Concierge is always very good. I would recommend it 100%.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very nice place to live – great sense of community and amazing amenities. It’s very convenient when it comes to transport links as well. Crime would be one of the things that I like the least about the surrounding area but that’s not the case within the development itself.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t think there’s anything of the sorts – I was very well aware of everything when it comes to the area and the development before moving in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There have been times when we’ve reported noise coming from other flats and that hasn’t been dealt as well as it could have been – they’re usually very good at tackling faults within the building though.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Building 22 is a historic building, but it is well-kept

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Building 22 is a historic building, but it is well-kept (frequently cleaned, lifts working, etc), despite some signs of wear-and-tear. It has several bin collection areas, where general waste and recyclables can easily be deposited anytime. Staff, including the concierge, on the premises are very friendly, always greeting and happy to help with questions or when picking up a parcel.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is lovely to live in, a lot of greenery and beautiful historic buildings. There are also quite a few shops, restaurants, markets (every second Saturday in RAR, every day except Sundays across the road from RAR) and other services (gym, GP, dentist, etc.) within walking distance. There are a few parking spaces on the street, and some buildings have their own parking, so car-wise it is a calm area (only local traffic).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Building 22 has a few entrances, which can be confusing when expecting deliveries.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

This is not applicable as I have not raised problems or issues. Any questions that were not problems (bike registration, parcel pick up, etc) have always been dealt with appropriately.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The development is stunning a place where everything is at your doorstep. Gyms, pools, steam room, sauna, bike storage, yoga studio, the list is endless.
They even have a private cinema for the residence, just amazing.

How could anyone want anything else.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing shops, restaurants and location, just the perfect place.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had know of this place sooner

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues are swiftly dealt with by the management team, fantastic service

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A pleasant stay in the Royal Arsenal

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The buildings themselves are nice, obviously they’re all old and been converted in some way so there’s limited ways in which they can be modernised.. I’d question the PunchDrunk addition where they’ve blocked a road to put a connection between 2 buildings, but i digress!

Facilities wise, the gym, concierge, parks and the overall maintenance of all these things I can’t fault or find any negative. They have a fortnightly farmers market, and other activities throughout the year in the area and they’re all amazing, even the street food vendors they have on rotation by the gates.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is lovely, there’s a few local shops and eateries with some new ones on the way. The opening of the Elizabeth line soon will also add to the convenience of travel with already great services by train and DLR. My area specifically is perfect, there’s a nice small park across the road, it’s peaceful and all is good. I know there can be some noisy parts in the extended area, most notably towards the main road and towards the Woolwich center, the Tesco and M&S do get the odd thief bolting out their doors..

Overall though, it’s a lovely area to be in and the few issues i think you’d get anywhere and they’re minimal and don’t detract from the overall beauty and good vibes you get from being here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only thing I can really say, which is something i’m not sure how we’ll deal with or what the outcome will be in the end is now with the price cap increasing, and our water is communal but also listed as a business and not residential… (I could be loosely describing this) our water rates could increase quite a bit, which could be a problem.

Otherwise I’m a happy bunny here, the area is lovely, I can only give reasons to come join us here and the positives.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Honestly, we’ve not had any issues personally or by the time there has been an issue there’s been an update or something has been done to address it. There’s been a couple of times there have been some water issues but this hasn’t affected us or the downtime was so short it was un-noticeable to us.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Royal Arsenal is a brilliant and convenient area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

There is a full time concierge and there is now gym membership if you live within certain buildings. The area is very clean neat and tidy and well maintained. I love walking along the river thames or you can just hop onto a boat and go to central london or the 02

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The good aspect about this area is that its always clean neat and tidy. Secondly there is no traffic into royal arsenal so its nice and quite with just the residential or deliveries. The best part is that the cross rail is opening next week on the 24/05 so journey time into central will be reduced

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew about how convenient this place is. Lots of housing is coming up and house prices are going up

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have not had any problems or any issues with my property

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Have live in the development for just over a year now and it’s still as good as the day we moved in to be honest. Plenty of shops within walking distance and the area itself feels quite safe. Any issues we’ve had and reported to concierge seem to have been resolved from what we can see.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice area within east distance to all sorts of public transport.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

What changes would be happening in the development.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have sorted any issues that have been raised.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Berkeley Homes

Location

Berkeley Homes
Number of developments 45

4.21

Average rating based on 1359 reviews

View company