Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

By
Berkeley Homes
4.18 (344 reviews) 4.18 (344 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.21
Facilities
4.31
Design
4.12
Location
3.91
Value
3.76
Management

Royal Arsenal Riverside is a beautiful riverside neighbourhood. It offers one, two and three bedroom apartments.   Additionally, residents benefit from the convenient transport links. These include: National Rail, DLR and on-site Thames Clipper. Also, residents have access to a gym, swimming pool and a concierge.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£540,000
1.9.901 Compass Wharf – 1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
560 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£450,000
2.4.407 Navigator Wharf
1 Bed
1 Bath
549 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£742,500
2.6.603 Navigator Wharf
2 Bed
2 Bath
832 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£470,000
2.0.3 Building 10
1 Bed
1 Bath
522 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£852,500
1.14.1402 Compass Wharf
2 Bed
2 Bath
832 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info
£645,000
7.1.2 Building 10 2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
843 sq ft
Berkeley Homes
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 330 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A pleasant and convenient development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Area is safe and clean. Greenery of the compound is a great plus. Management is very responsive. Build is of good quality and I have been having a comfortable stay since I moved in. The Saturday market adds to the lively atmosphere. It would be nice to have more restaurants around the area though.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A cozy riverside neighbourhood situated within a well connected community comprising of amenities such as a coffee shop, pub and a Tesco express inside the premises and the Woolwich Arsenal DLR station is a five minutes walk from the property. M&S food hall and the forth coming Cross Rail Station are also at a very close proximity. There is an onsite Thames clipper service as well. All in all a wonderful property that is very convenient for working professionals.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We would have been happy with more restaurants

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very responsive and our problems have been solved immediately.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you enjoy living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

10/10 for RAR

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

We have lived in RAR for over 1 year and the management, concierge, facilities are fantastic. Completely worth the price, the grounds are so well looked after and gardens always look beautiful. Parking permits are easy to obtain which is great for visitors. On site hotel is also fantastic.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Access to all major supermarkets & high street shops in local proximity.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is a bit of an issue, make sure you can get a space as they’re very valuable

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fantastic, always respond immediately. We’ve had lots of little snags sorted by them for free

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jessica – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you enjoy living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

Royal Arsenal Riverside Life

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Well thought out development – old and historic buildings have been preserved. Green spaces are abundant and vegitation is very well kept. Overall estate is kept very clean. Facilities are excellent, especially the swimming pool

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent transport links. A small but good variety of shops, particular the smaller cafes/restaurants. Traffic noise can be loud – a function of the busy road. Occasional anti-social behaviour – loud groups etc.. Green spaces are abundant

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Crossrail delays…

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

N/A – not had any significant issues that required raising to building management

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for leaving a review. The history of the site is something we really worked to preserve, so we’re delighted that you like the mix of heritage and modern architecture – we think this is one of the things that makes Royal Arsenal Riverside unique.

Excellent Area

Review Date Aug 2021

The rustic design and overall management of the buildings is second to none. I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay so far and look forward to the future development of the site. They are improving it daily and managing it on a regular basis. I have no doubt that it is one of the up and coming residential areas in SE London

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The view is excellent, people are nice and responsible, in terms of trash there isn’t any issue. Have had a pleasant time thus far since I’ve moved.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I enjoyed the fact that water had been covered by the landlord

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There hasn’t been any issues to raise, and the landlord has been extremely accommodating and helpful

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your kind comments Aimen. The history of the site is something we really worked to preserve, so we’re delighted that you like the mix of heritage and modern architecture – we think this is one of the things that makes Royal Arsenal Riverside unique. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your time at RAR.

Beautiful Development

Review Date Aug 2021

Minotaur house has an intercom that links to your mobile phone which is great as you can let visitors in easily. The facilities are very well kept – always clean, always smelling nice

The concierge feels really nice and classy both in decor and in service – the concierge staff are always very polite, friendly, and helpful, and this means a lot as all the decor would be negated if the service were poor

I love the development overall – Everyday I take walks around here as do many others. There’s lots of well kept greenery, a great riverside walk, and a good atmosphere.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I live at Minotaur House and I feel extremely well connected to the city, with everything I need on my doorstep.

I can walk to the DLR station in 4 minutes. And my local butchers, supermarkets, takeaways, doctors, are all within 5 minutes walk which feels great. Very convenient.

This is all within Woolwich town centre which has a mixed vibe to it. The population seems “Lower class”, with a contrasting hub of affluent people living within the Royal Arsenal Riverside development.

Woolwich doesn’t have a nightlife scene which doesn’t bother me as the city is 20 minutes away on the DLR

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I did my homework before moving and knew that the council tax would be around £140 in my 1 bed flat – i also knew Woolwich isn’t the best area, so there were no surprises for me.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’ve not had any issues as of yet – I’ve phoned concierge with a few queries about facilities and they were very helpful

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback Ehsun – we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying living at RAR.

Good overall

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Some impact noise when upstairs neighbors drag chairs or drop things but better than older builds. The lack of a proper intercom is also a small pet peeve (it works through an app on your phone which has its drawbacks and doesn’t always work) but nothing major. It’s clean and well maintained overall.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Some street and traffic noise even with the windows closed but good in general

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise isn’t completely gone even though it’s a new build. Percussion noises still get through when someone drags or drops something.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The intercom was broken but it was fixed about a week later

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi – thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate you taking your time to give us feedback. We’re delighted that you enjoy living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

An amazing place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The newer parts of the Royal Arsenal Riverside development are an excellent place to live with great views, fantastic facilities, a great gym and swimming pool. (It is just a shame these facilities had to be closed for months last year despite being for residents only and not public facilities.)

The community has a fun, youthful vibe and is populated with many ambitious young people. It feels very safe even late at night. Having said that, I should warn that the surrounding areas of Woolwich outside of the Royal Arsenal Riverside development do not have the same feel and can be dangerous to walk alone at night.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Woolwich has changed rapidly over the last 5 years and has transformed into a bustling community with leading class amenities and picturesque walks by the river. Royal Arsenal Riverside is at the forefront of this transition and I’ve really enjoyed seeing the changes whilst living here. On top of this, I’m really excited for the crossrail station to open and this will cut down commute times significantly making Woolwich the ideal location for anyone working in the City or Canary Wharf.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Use of balcony is very restricted. You can only have plants and 2 chairs. BBQ not allowed even if you have a very big balcony.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t personally raised any issues, but I have seen that maintenance problems have been sorted pretty quickly, e.g. broken handle on front door of the building and the repainting of communal areas.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear that you feel at home! We also love the community atmosphere at Royal Arsenal Riverside.

Pleasant and safe residences and responsive management

Review Date Aug 2021

Design marrying old and new very pleasing; the new-builds, however, look generic in comparison to similar properties on the river. Facilities are well kept, though (likely because of schedule delays because of the pandemic) some parts looking time-worn. Building and property management, especially the concierge, very responsive.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are convenient, but restaurants and bars have suffered from pandemic closures. Transport excellent, but will likely have moved out of the area before the Crossrail will have opened 🙁 Feel very secure walking within the development day and night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d measured the interior doorways–had to dismantle one to bring in a piece of furniture.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Have not had an occasion to deal with building management directly

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for leaving a review Nixi. The history of the site is something we really worked to preserve, so we’re delighted that you like the mix of heritage and modern architecture – we think this is one of the things that makes Royal Arsenal Riverside unique.

Pleasant area with sense of community, but not without antisocial behaviour

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The development has been well-thought out in terms of giving the impression of green space, retaining heritage character and wide pedestrian walkways however the ongoing building of tower blocks will reduce light in the gardens that may struggle to cope with the population.
The gardens are beautifully maintained and cleaners do an excellent job but vandalism still takes place.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Royal Arsenal Riverside has plenty going for it with professionals and young families thriving. Easy access to small supermarkets, several pubs, DLR, train and Thames clipper are huge assets. The Jade cafe, Yoga Studio, several gyms, Waterfront Leisure centre swimming pool and proximity to the Reach climbing wall are also benefits.

It remains to be seen whether The Works will bring more people and businesses to the area or just noise and anti-social behaviour.

The delay to Crossrail has had significant impact for many people with short commutes simply not materialising.
Takeaway options in the area are limited with no excellent Thai, Chinese, Greek, Lebanese or Turkish options nearby or even accessible with Uber/Deliveroo. However the Farmer’s Market and trading on Dial Arch Square does provide additional eat out options.

Unfortunately there is a significant level of anti-social behaviour, greater than can be managed by the friendly PCSO and on-site security. Bike theft, muggings and fights are quite frequent occurrences and cannabis is smoked widely. As it is mainly pedestrianised, the Arsenal also seems to be used for drug exchanges. Overnight it is common for large groups of people to walk through the development shouting and/or fighting.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The failure of Crossrail to open is a real blow to the area and with no real timeline it is tricky to plan life around an unknown.
There is public access to all the RA gardens so on a sunny day expect green spaces to be full, as people living outside use all the facilities.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When we had a leak (after 5 years) from a foreshortened inflow pipe to the toilet into a wall cavity, that had been patched with plaster(!) it was tricky to get any help and we were not able to use our home warranty which was supposed to last for 10 years.
Balcony cleaning/maintenance has been delayed for many years and management are often very slow to respond to the building’s tenant requests.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Mary – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoy the community and on-site amenities at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here! If you wish to discuss your concerns with anti-social behaviour further, please do email us at rare.information@berkeleygroup.co.uk

Beautiful but expensive

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Beautifully designed riverside development, excellent mix of old listed buildings lovingly restored and new high rise. Waterside club offers excellent facilities, development very clean. Property management is too expensive though, always increasing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

In listed building so no tower blocks nearby, gated secure parking. Low noise. Kept very clean. Local M&S excellent, hoping crossrail eventual opening plus Woolwich works will add more shops. Shame no cinema.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No double glazing in older listed buildings

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded quickly to a design issue before completion which was rectified.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for leaving a review JK. The history of the site is something we really worked to preserve, so we’re delighted that you like the mix of heritage and modern architecture – we think this is one of the things that makes Royal Arsenal Riverside unique. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying the on-site amenities. Please do contact us at rare.information@berkeleygroup.co.uk if yo wish to discuss your concerns further.

Great development that is only going to get better!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The Royal Arsenal is a great place to live. The gardens are fantastic and well looked after and the general design of old and new mixed together is great. I’m glad the listed buildings have all stayed.
Lockdown has meant that a lot of the retail and restaurant units aren’t yet filled but once we get back to normal, Crossrail opens and developments finished we are looking forward to enjoying everything on our doorstep.
Transport links are great-better than any where I’ve lived in London before and that’s before the Crossrail opens.
The property management team are really friendly and helpful but things can take a while to get resolved and we feel unsociable behaviour isn’t dealt with very well.
The concierge team are really friendly.
There is a real feeling of community here which we love.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We love living here but there are a few issues.
Response to issues/complaints and resolving issues can be slow.
Security isn’t great-there have been a couple of incidents that I feel could have been avoided.
Not enough done about unsociable behaviour.
Bins needs to be emptied more regularly at the weekend.
Transport links are fantastic and will only improve once the Crossrail opens. It would be great though if the boat service was more regular during the day midweek. Also looking at the TFL map I can’t believe we’re in Zone 4 when the 02 is 1/2 and even Beckton is in Zone 3!!!
We’re looking forward to having more shops/restaurants once the Crossrail opens & development is finished. Was disappointed that Berkeley have applied for permission to change some retail
Outlets to be more housing-I think that would be a mistake.
We are in West Carriage House and think it’s a bit unfair that not all RAR residents can use the new pool, spa & cinema. Seems a bit unfair and developments further away from us are allowed to use them.
We love the farmers market and the new summer lates. Think the farmers market should be at least once every two weeks (once a week even better!) as sometimes it goes three weeks between them.
Really looking forward to the Woolwich works opening.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The badly placed and very loud (in the summer) extractor fan from Tesco’s and the alarm at Boulangerie Jade.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some things have taken a while to resolve and one particular issue wasn’t treated as if it was a problem at all but had a huge impact on us-not being able to sleep at night.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of  Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jo – thank you for leaving us a review. We’re delighted that you enjoy living at Royal Arsenal Riverside – we love having you here!

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18
User submitted image of Royal Arsenal Riverside, SE18

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Berkeley Homes

Location

Berkeley Homes
Number of developments 38

4.20

Average rating based on 1254 reviews

View company