Cala Homes at Ockford Park, GU7

Cala Homes at Ockford Park, GU7

By
CALA Homes
Ranked 7th out of 17 in Surrey
4.13 (11 reviews) 4.13 (11 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.91
Facilities
4.45
Design
4.36
Location
3.91
Value
3.91
Management

Excellent

36%

Very Good

55%

Average

9%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Cala Homes at Ockford Park, GU7 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

A lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

The estate itself is beautifully presented – communal grass areas are kept well maintained and the houses all have similar external designs, which offers a nice consistent aesthetic. The build quality is superb and the internal design is really modern and clean. Features such as shower heads, taps, ceramic hob, dishwasher, fridge etc are all good quality brands rather than being cheap and cheerful. Overall you feel proud when inviting friends and family over. Roads are brand new and not full of pot-holes. The sales team are very friendly and helpful and the after sales care carried out by the site manager is outstanding. Plenty of EV charging points on site. No issues in regards to building and property management. The main downside is how tightly packed everything is – if you have your windows and doors open in the summer you can expect to hear your neighbours and you’re also concious yourself of not making too much noise in order to be considerate, but this is quite typical of a new build estate and to be expected.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic access to Godalming town centre, train station and A3. Gorgeous pub with a beautiful garden just down the road. Two private parking spaces provided so parking not an issue, although like all new build estates everything is quite tightly squeezed together! Weekly bin collections. No traffic noise. No anti-social behaviour on the estate itself, but the surrounding estates are noticably run-down, so it’s quite an unusual contrast.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None that I can think of!

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen leading directly out to the garden and in-built wardrobe in the Master Bedroom.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall a nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

The properties are attractive in design however alot of the local residents have reported similar issues as us with the doors not shutting/locking properly windows also having the same issues. We had an issue with the internal wiring resulting in us having no Internet access for 2 months and neither the developers nor broadband provider accepted responsibility or took action to resolve the issue efficiently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Living in the area has its benefits for example its a very quiet area with easy access to lovely local pubs and restaurants however the bin collections being a rotating recycling and general waste every week means that rubbish build up happens often.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lack of access to the loft would of been a good thing to know as that has reduced the storage space for general items and limited the space in the property

What is the best feature of your home:

The garden size and general layout of the house is very attractive with a large kitchen leading into a larger garden it’s perfect for the summer months and having people over

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall a good experience

Review Date Aug 2022

Excellent design. Really well thought out spaces for modern day living.

Really helpful after-sales service. We felt extremely comfortable that all our snags/concerns were addressed.

Negative aspects are the Southern Housing Group social housing.
Would have potentially reconsidered my investment had I known the full extent of their occupation.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, easy links to the high street and train station.

Love the fact that it’s situated in a semi rural setting.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Southern Housing Group.
Wished I had known the extent of this group

What is the best feature of your home:

Clever design that really works for modern day living

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

We enjoy our house , nice design, 2 bathrooms it’s a plus !

Large kitchen! The size of the bedroom!

It’s easy to access!

Easy to park in our parking space!

Everyone are friendly at Cala home office on a site!

The size of the garden is big enough to enjoy !

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its very quiet!nice place to live! We have got a large space for 2 cars ! We feel safe!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really !

What is the best feature of your home:

The house is very light , every room are very bright !

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, lovely community but SHG not helpful

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

It is a modern and well design development. There are several nice aspects including green spaces and the woodland that Cala is going to look after. The drawback is that we had some anti-social behaviour from a particular house belonging to the Southern Housing Group Limited and we do not seem to be taken seriously and this could potentially pose a threat to the lovely community.
A shop nearby will be a must. All the main shops are far to walk to so a mini Waitrose or a mini Sainsbury’s or anything of the sort will help the community.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is well located within walking distance from the train station and town centre and, at the same time, right by lovely countryside walks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were told that there were really strict checks from the Southern Housing Group Limited before they let people moving in into their properties. We are having issues with a particular house and the Southern Housing Group Limited does not seem to take us seriously. The police have been really good at it but at the end of the day, the ones with the power are the Southern Housing Group Limited.

What is the best feature of your home:

The house is well laid out. The spaces are big enough and there is plenty of light.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

No regrets

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

The houses are well made and good quality. We have had minimal issues with our 2 bed new build house. The footpath to the station is great however not fully built yet – we were told this would be this summer but it is now Summer 2023. The corners around the bends could do with pavements, particularly as a lot of parents with prams etc. the community centre at the front will be good when finished for local yoga classes and meetings etc.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Godalming is a fantastic town for families. The high street is quaint and has lots of shops. There are cafe’s and some good pubs but we would like a few more individual restaurants/brunch places etc. we love the greenery and how close it is with lovely walks everywhere. Aaron’s hills does have some ASB from the estate behind, we have had no problems however there has been recent vandalism and loud gatherings till late in the skate park etc. we love how quick it is to London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Reserve now if unsure, prices rising continually and can always retract.

What is the best feature of your home:

Love the open space in the kitchen. The under stairs cupboard is a god send.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design aspect of the property and development is really thought out and to a high build quality

Review Date Aug 2022

The layout of the development is really good, there’s a choice of fibre to door connections. The design aspect of the property and development is really thought out and to a high build quality. The property is well insulated and economical to run. The housing association that manages the building, is really approachable and helpful. All after-care provided by the housing association and Cala homes has been 2nd to none.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Godalming station is a 15 minute walk; town centre in 20 minutes. Loads of shops and restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The location of the water meter. This wasn’t covered in the handover, and as I purchased a flat, they’re all clustered together and took a while to identify mine.

What is the best feature of your home:

It would have to be the ensuite bathroom, just finished a high quality and the shower is amazing.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well designed friendly development convenient for commuting

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

We like the overall look and feel of the houses and think they are well designed for our needs. Our neighbours are all lovely and very social but it’s generally quiet in the evenings or nighttime with very little antisocial behaviour. All our issues were sorted quite quickly when we moved in and we were happy with the snagging and handover process. Communal areas still seem to be cared for by CALA so we have not yet handed over to a property management company.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very convenient walk to the station in about 12 mins and into the centre of town in 20 mins. Excellent access to the A3 for commuting via road. All the houses have good allocated parking so there is no street parking.
As a downside occasionally there have been groups of children or very young teenagers knocking on doors when they’re bored. This hasn’t been a big problem for us but is something we are aware of happening.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you think you would like to extend the property in any way it is definitely worth getting this in writing from the developer before you exchange contracts.

What is the best feature of your home:

We chose this home because it had three double bedrooms which is quite rare for a 3 bed property in this area so it gave us extra space and is more useable in the long term.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Small steps to improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The house designs are modern and the development looks good and green spaces are maintained as best as can be expected in the current weather conditions. There is a lack of play areas and direct access to the country pathways which I would like to see sooner rather than later.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The most positive aspect is that the station and high street are walking distance, supermarkets are a 10 minute drive. The closest primary school was not up to standard and we moved our kids to a school in Witley. The neighbours are friendly and the streets are generally quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That it is worth going further afield to look at schools

What is the best feature of your home:

The finish is a high quality and the spaces are well thought out. Considerably better than other developers I viewed.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love my new house

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The development is nice, customer service has been really good so far. It is still under construction but it is going to lool amazing when all finished. The distance to town is about a 20 minutes walk
It is 15 min to the train station and there is nice path to get there through the woods.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is really great. Nice town, quiet life, good roads and close to train station. We are very happy here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think more about the town

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen is cool. It has a lot of light and receives sunshine all the day.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 31

4.21

Average rating based on 181 reviews

View company