Kampus, M1

By
Native
Ranked 14th out of 21 in Manchester
4.30 (19 reviews) 4.30 (19 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.00
Facilities
4.05
Design
4.79
Location
3.84
Value
4.42
Management

Excellent

32%

Very Good

47%

Average

21%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Located in the Manchester Piccadilly district, Kampus is Manchester’s garden neighbourhood. In the centre of the city. By the canal, near the station. Minutes from everything. With secret streets, gardens and terraces, and independent food and drink.

With 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, across 5 beautiful, individual buildings – available to rent from 2021 – an on-site team on hand whenever you need them 24/7. In addition, Kampus is pet friendly (with dog walking). No fees or deposit, and super-fast broadband included. Likewise, there is a gym, yoga terrace, cinema and a lounge in which to work (or play).

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£3,450 pcm
P1 2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
750 sq ft
Native
More info
£1,575 pcm
S5 2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
675 sq ft
Native
More info
£1,300 pcm
S2 1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
557 sq ft
Native
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 19 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Nice Location, Comfortable, Needs a bit more supplementary equipment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Its been a very pleasant renting experience with one of the staff here. And the concierge staff were very welcoming and nice, and showed me around and made sure i was okay with everything before settling down. The design is very nice, and the environment is very nice. However the bedrooms lack in some storage and I feel like at least a working desk, kettle and microwave should be included.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is really good. Since I’m a student and Kampus is located in the middle of Town Centre, Train Stations and Univeristy Campus which is very convinient. Everything’s within 10 minutes walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i had known what to bring in order to be able to at least cook, boil water, sleep and eat. As there’s nothing in the kitchen before i moved in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were very quick in response and made sure the problem is solved as soon as possible

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Kampus, M1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, not so great management

Review Date Oct 2021

The stack apartments had very thin walls that you can feel banging whenever someone closes their door/ cabinets, no proper ceiling, no toilet roll holder and only one door for the supposedly two door clothes cabinet. Native Places has more than half a dozen aparthotel around U.K., they’re not rookies in building apartments, can’t understand why they would pass an interior design with no basic necessities and tell us it’s “design”. Seriously ?

Management wise, the team is doing what they could but still could be a bit more considerate. For example, if you need to fix windows for the entire block, please do it with a booking system, do not to expect us to open our doors for strangers from Monday to Friday six hours a day. That is serious security issue, and just lazy management for their own convenience.

And do not delay payments over one month if you need to pay back the tenant some money you owed them and promised to refund. Once they get your rent, the leasing person never calls back and The leasing manager is either on vacation or turning blind to enquiries, which makes me question his ability to manage (if I didn’t get the term wrong) his team.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great convenient location, shops nearby, apartment quieter than expected. Most stars earned by the location.

However the open courtyard at chorlton street was a failure, inviting rowdy youngsters to gather frequently smoking weed, drinking and shouting on weekday nights. No security or staff ever interferes or calls for help. Those youngsters even pass the property area from south block to stack block via the center courtyard, banging around and triggering alarms.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The security issue at courtyard facing chorlton street, which I think was overlooked when they designed the place. It’s too comfortable for hooligans (or residents?) not to hang around.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are nice people and solve problems by helping each other out, but some problems could be avoided if every staff was sensible. For example, don’t tell residents “you don’t need to write your apartment name as we differentiate each block with different street names”, so you can avoid future confusion with mail as the number residence expands.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  Kampus, M1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Oversold and overpriced

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Promises much more than it can deliver. We were oversold – we pay rent for facilities that are not available and residents are not kept informed on developments and updates. Increased the price of the car park with no justification. Disorganised management – utility suppliers/contracts still not sorted. Not as advertised online. Shame because the residential services team are very pleasant and helpful, but they’re put in a hard position as they have to face/respond to resident issues caused by the letting steam/investors (essentially other departments)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is brilliant. Close to all the best bars and restaurants in the city centre, but still feels private in the complex.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Oversold – advertised facilities are not available

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes – building management are excellent. Very efficient, respond quickly and sort issues well

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
1
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location and development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The management team are friendly, efficient and on it. The facilities are great and the attention to design is great throughout. The plans for new bars, shops and restaurants in the development are really good with General Store, Pollen and Nells Pizza opening in top of the existing pop ups

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Couldn’t be better location wise. Bars, restaurants, shops and travel connections within a few minutes

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing to add

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very speedy and efficient. They have fixed or dealt with issues within a few hours.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Everything is good except for the gym

Review Date Oct 2021

Everything is good except for the gym. When we compare the gym with other accommodation in Manchester with similar price, they had a better quality of gym, for example, more machine in the gym and more area for the gym. The gym in the Kampus, only have running machine and dumbbells no machine at all..

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything is good except for the gym. When we compare the gym with other accommodation in Manchester with similar price, they had a better quality of gym, for example, more machine in the gym and more area for the gym. The gym in the Kampus, only have running machine and dumbbells no machine at all..

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No comment for this review. .

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No comment for this review. .

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Building design and developments review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I think the building and its design as well as the property management are extremely nice. They have pretty spacious flats, and beautiful garden area. The gym is pretty large and has good equipment too. The only thing I’m disappointed about is that the roof terrace, study and working spaces and the kitchens and restaurants that were promised to have finished by october aren’t finished yet and I would’ve liked them to be done by now.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the location is the best part of the property, and that is very visible and aesthetically appealing to me, being a garden view apartment’s tenant. It is really vibey and social being around the gay village. The windows are sound proof enough for me to not be bothered by the noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That we would need more compartments and storage units to put all our stuff into

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were very understanding and gave really quick responses.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Kampus, M1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love living here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Since I moved into Kampus in May the team have been super helpful with everything I’ve needed and the customer service has been great. I haven’t had a chance to use the gym yet as it has only just opened, but everything else has been amazing, especially the gift box you get when you move in and the free food/drinks when there have been residencies. The little things like that make a difference.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is ideal, it is right in the middle of Piccadilly so everything is on my doorstep, it takes me two minutes to walk across to the train station which is ideal for travelling.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really that I would change as I viewed the place in person so it was exactly as I expected.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, any issues I had were resolved straight away.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Only problem is the smell at ground floor

Review Date Oct 2021

I like the design of this apartment
but it would be better if we could have a desk to work or study and a tv to watch. but I have to say the table is a little cheap with low quality.
Because the apartment is newly built so there is still some furnishing smell at the ground floor. Hope this issue could be better settled!
Staffs here are very friendly!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think this place is very convenient to me for we could easily go to the city center to buy things. though sometimes it is a little noisy outside the apartment at night( bars

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

how to be more convenient to arrive here from the airport

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The response to the refrigerator repairing was quick

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Living At KAMPUS

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Considering the delays caused by covid the management team and development team are doing the best they can, but there are still things that need doing, bars and shops downstairs are coming along, but not all amenities are finished and as a result a sense of value for money is somewhat lacking.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is spot on, being so close to several different shops and outlets, on the doorstep of the main train station, tram stop, surrounded by multiple gyms etc, it’s all very convenient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there would be so many students allowed to move in, it’s going to alter the perception of the building / area, for the worse, this was a misstep by the rental team.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, shifty, all issues dealt with in good time and to a high standard

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Personal living experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The interior design is great. The flat is equipped with necessary home appliances such as dish washer and washing machine. But they don’t provide TV and microwave and you have to get it by yourself (if you need them). We don’t need to worry about the security problem since the entrance is controlled and I really adore that. Staff here are really nice and are always willing to help. However, the sound insulation of the building seems to be not that good. I can hear the sound clearly from the flats when I just walk through the corridor and when I in my room, I can still hear the noise in living room made by my roommate. By the way, we can drop the trash just in our floor and no need to go downstairs which is great. But when you need to pick up parcels, we have to go outside and go along the street to the front desk. I mean, if your flat is connected to the reception, you may have a different experience from us.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

City center is not far away as well as some shops such as tesco and lidl where we can buy daily food and essentials. Since this place is busy and near the city center and university , I think I don’t need to worry too much about the public safety.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The full list of the household appliances they provide. If I had known they didn’t provide a microwave, I could have prepared one in advance

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I just new arrived here and I haven’t raised any problems or issues yet.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The heating design is unreasonable

Review Date Oct 2021

The heating design is unreasonable, only some radiators have signs where is 0 and where is 5 (maximum heat). And it must rely on the living room system to operate, and this system is strangely not applicable. The phone that comes with it doesn’t seem to make any sense. Suppose a friend comes to visit, he can only enter the lobby but can’t go any further, the residents still have to go downstairs because the elevator needs to brush the keys, which is very unreasonable and inconvenient.
The shower glass is only half, which is good-looking but not practical. Water will inevitably splash out in the shower. It is inconvenient to control the switch of the hot towel rail in the storage room, and the storage room does not indicate which one of the two hot towel rail switches represents

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

werid design about wardrobe (cannot fully close due to only one door), and bedside table is bench. Design have to fit daily life. 🙁 there even some furniture missing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

whether washdryer work well. (most washdryer have drying issue, I feel like all washdryer is cheap second-hand thing 🤬)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

it respond asap which is great.Employees who have problems will contact the relevant support as soon as possible to solve them, and they can borrow a screwdriver or something.

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

so-so

Review Date Oct 2021

To improve.Don’t lose the express delivery. Remind when the express delivery arrives. Please repair the induction cooker quickly. Don’t repair it after a month.There is no cold air conditioning in the room, and sometimes it is too hot to die.The room network is too bad.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The induction cooker has not been repaired for a month, and express delivery is also frequent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The internet in the room is often stuck, and many websites cannot be browsed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The network is too bad, so I need to buy extra traffic packets.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Kampus, M1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Something I think could be improved

Review Date Oct 2021

I think the apartment can provide delivery service to the door of the room. Another thing is that the bin room is often unusable, which makes people feel very inconvenient, and the washing machine is too noisy and takes too long. And because of the swing of the drum as the washing machine works, it moves.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Our apartment is conveniently located not far from the city centre. It would be nice if there were a convenience store or supermarket just below kampus.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Slamming doors is so loud that when we come home from outside, it’s so loud because it doesn’t have a cushion, as opposed to our balcony door, which has a cushion.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As long as we ask questions, they are usually solved in a relatively short period of time.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good potential for future but not there yet until all services/facilities promised are up and running.

Review Date Oct 2021

Good potential once all the additional facilities and services are online, see above. But as these weren’t available to us £2020 per month felt very expensive. Also the kitchen is way too small for the two bed apt. Not enough storage space.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

But disappointing as we have had to get our own private parking, the cafe and restaurant is still not finished and the gym only recently opened. So £2020 per month is very expensive when this is considered. We move out on the 9th Nov. Otherwise the location is good but a bit noisey from canal street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Probably that the gym wouldn’t be open until later than expected

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very efficient. Fixed issues straight away. Just had to replace a light bulb.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building design, furniture, and facilities are great.

Review Date Oct 2021

The building design, furniture, and facilities are great. Also, the Staff working there are so nice and kind which makes me feel comfortable staying in for a while. Can’t wait to see all the other facilities completed such as the cinema and the coffee shop!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is absolutely perfect! Everything is so close and all types of transportations are nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Overall, everything was as expected and even more but the cinema, Coffee shop, and other facilities needs to be done before the end of the year.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’ve just made two complaints and they where fixed as fast as lightning!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love the building!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I love the design of the buildings it’s modern and bright with the white walls but has a contrast with dark furniture which I absolutely love! The facilities are amazing especially the gym and the free yoga classes, everyone is really friendly and helpful!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love how close it is to the station and how close it is to the centre of Manchester, the only issue is the smell in the bun chute!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How loud it can get on a night especially if you live on the tram side!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Most issues have been dealt with straight away apart from one or two

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Review Date Oct 2021

You can set up some entertainment rooms, provide some large-scale activities during the festival, send some gifts to the residents, the furniture must be complete, at least there is a table in the bedroom and a microwave oven in the room。Install cameras in the corridors to enhance security。

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very quiet here, very close to the railway station, there are many supermarkets nearby, and it’s very convenient to get to the city center.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

none

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are very nice, respond to questions very quickly, and can solve the problem in the first time

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Building design is considered attractive in line with current market appreciation.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Building design is considered attractive in line with current market appreciation. If you like mingle with friends or fancy a drink, this place is fantastic as it is just next to Gay Village. Facilities are above standards from which we feel satisfactory. Management team have carried out and performed a good job.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Kampus is located in an excellent spot where it is just 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly station. Leasing associates as well as other management personnel are supportive to which we feel 100% satisfaction.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Kampus is a newly developed property which is a good place for rent

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management team responded to our enquiry or questions in an effective manner

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building is wonderful, full time reception as well as night time security.

Review Date Aug 2021

The building is wonderful, full time reception as well as night time security. It is well managed and well looked after. The staff is also very accommodating, Simon helped me throughout the process and made my transition as smooth as possible

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is in the city centre, convenient access to shops, universities, there are bus routes close by as well. walkable distance to the city centre. There is on sight parking as well. It is a Wonderful place to live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

nothing at the moment

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded quickly and efficiently at all times

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Kampus, M1
User submitted image of Kampus, M1
User submitted image of Kampus, M1
User submitted image of Kampus, M1

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Central

Central

Cinema

Cinema

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Electric Car Hire

Electric Car Hire

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Secure Storage

Secure Storage

Security

Security

Service

Service

Storage

Storage

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Native
Number of developments 4

4.50

Average rating based on 85 reviews

View company