High View, NE21

High View, NE21

By
Keepmoat Homes
4th
Ranked 4th out of 13 in Tyne & Wear
3.48 (16 reviews) 3.48 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.31
Facilities
3.44
Design
4.31
Location
3.50
Value
3.06
Management

6 miles from the centre of Newcastle, High View is a modern, new development with shops, entertainment, parks and schools all within easy reach.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Money before Customer

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

After we moved into our house, I had doubts that we made the right decision buying a newbuild. This was down to the Customer Care team not being helpful at all. This caused some feelings of hopelessness as we had all these issues but nobody to listen to us.
It took a juicy email, outlining all the snags and how we have been treated so far, to get the process going.

When we rose an issue, they had 5 different people come out to look at the issue before deciding that something had to be done. Our stairs were unsafe! Worst case scenario, we could have fallen through the stairs. I have no knowledge of construction but I could see that there was something wrong with the stairs. I don’t need 5 different people to look at that.
The front and back doors have yet to be fixed after 9 months of living there. When the sun shines onto the back door, I cannot open it as it drops slightly and therefore would not close again.

The customer care team work disappointingly slowly. This has caused us sleepless nights and has affected our mental wellbeing at times.

In general, I have no idea how people who have zero knowledge of construction, joinery, plumbing and electrics are supposed to raise all the issues and have them fixed because the site will turn away if the issue is not raised.
It is unacceptable to leave people in their homes (that they paid a lot of money for) with dysfunctional plumbing, creaking floors as if the house was 15 years old, and walkways unfit for purpose.

I am very disappointed in the slow process and empty promises that we have experienced with Keepmoat customer care.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Shops are just a 10 minute walk down the hill. No bars or pubs close by but you can walk to Swalwell or Whickham for restaurants and pubs.
The bus leaves right in the estate which is handy. Bin collections are regular and on time. Parking is on-street parking and available. Some anti-social behaviour and noise from the playground behind the estate which can be frustrating, especially when working from home.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The amount of stress caused by snagging issues on a newbuild house. We should have hired professional snaggers straight away.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly. It seems as if the customer care team is in need of a diary management course. We have been given multiple dates during which nobody showed up, or we have been told that they “simply forgot.” This then leaves is with more problems and another month of waiting for snagging to be fixed.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, terrible builder and after care team

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

I’m going to split this into pros and cons as although I wouldn’t reccomend the development at all to anyone there are some positives if you can look past or have the patience and resources to get over the negatives.

Pros:

The site team and staff are all very friendly. They are seperate to the customer care in this review and in the first few weeks of us moving in did a lot to help out.

The location and views are great for transport links and there is a large park out the back. As mentioned earlier were close to a variety of shops and not too far from the metrocentre or Newcastle.

Houses are a good size and layout for the prices and had they been well built would be an incredible find in a market with steadily rising prices.

Cons:

The snagging in our home has been vast and a few of the items have been quite major. They have not been completed in a timely manner at all, in fact we are still waiting for our front and back door to be repaired or replaced over 9 months since first reporting it.

The customer care staff on the phone when we have had emergencies have been dire, on one occasion we were made to feel like it was inconveniencing them that we dare have waste water coming up through our bath plug.

The work that has been carried out has never been done to the initial time scale given, delays are more common than anyone showing up on time or doing the correct work.

Getting keepmoat to take the issues we have had seriously was a battle in itself, we had to use our solicitor and source email addresses for directors ourselves as we felt like we hit a road block in communication. Overall it feels like they would have been happy to ignore us til we went away.

In summary if we could go back knowing the issues and stress we’ve had we would probably have chosen a different builder. The site team has recently changed however and with a potential buyout of keepmoat on the cards things could improve in the next few years. Til then, unfortunately I’d avoid high view and look elsewhere.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Being close to the A1 we have a good transport link. There is also the bus station 10 minutes walk away. Were also 10 minutes drive from the metrocentre. There is a Morrisons and a selection of smaller shops in the town centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The stress involved in dealing with keepmoat management, after care and customer care.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Terribly, slowly, unclear, empty promises. Our initial snags were never completed or to a poor standard a lot of which I then had to carry out the work myself. We have had to use the emergency call out 3 times and only once was the issue rectified promptly. As mentioned earlier we had to use solicitors and emailing directors above the management level we originally were assigned to push through some repairs however even doing this we are still left with issues 9 months on. My question is does the 2 year builders warrenty start when we are provided with a completed snag free home or is teh plan to continue to avoid promised dates and work plans until it runs out and we are no longer their concern?

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice development but needed better management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Design of development is fine.
Parking facilities are inadequate.
Facilities (plumbing in particular) are poor.
Building Management & Property Management are disjointed due to more than one organisations being involved (Keepmoat & Keelman) with neither taking responsibilities for things like Street Signage, Parking Control (over building contractors), faults and repairs.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good range and quality of local shops, restaurants & bars not far away.
Park & nature reserve close.
Bus transport has problems with very narrow road which goes through the development.
Parking, bin collections, & traffic noise fine.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No instructions given or left for facilities (Gas Boiler, Heating, Electric Cooker).

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

High View, Blaydon

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Overall I think the house design is great; the rooms feel more than adequate for living in and the house itself receives plenty of natural light throughout the day. I would have preferred if the back garden had been levelled at the same time as the land for the house to be built – as it has presented an issue to get sorted and will require a lot of work to do that ourselves. Chris from Keepmoat has always been exceptionally helpful and went above and beyond throughout the purchasing process.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The housing development is in an excellent location; not far at all from Newcastle with local supermarket and small shops aplenty. There is a bus depot in the area from which you can travel in all directions as well as a local train station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think it would have been useful to have included a demonstration of where the house gets daylight at various times of day as it may make a difference as to which plot a buyer would go for – if they want morning sun over evening or vice versa.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

If I could change one thing about the property it would be that the garden was level.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

What a nice place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Good design, although we could have done with being a little further back from the road, but I appreciate that would have sacrificed some garden space. Small niggles such as a leaking sink and skylight were quickly addressed.
Generous driveway leading to a well used garage is very valuable.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location – 5 min drive to metro centre, 4 mins to the A1, 15 mins to Newcastle. Good bus links and a railway station a few minutes walk down the hill, along with a good shopping centre including a major supermarket. The area feels semi rural due to the fact that there are allotments and mature trees opposite, and there are spectacular views as we drive down the hill. Neighbours are all very friendly, there’s a great sense of community on our part of the development.
There’s plenty of parking, and the road is wide enough for parking on the sides without affecting other users.
Good dog walks available locally.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Take your time walking UP the hill – it’s steeper than you think!

What is the best feature of your home:

Our home feels safe.
It is nice to live in, economical to maintain and provides ample room for 2 adults, 2 teenagers and a large dog.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

2 bedroom house

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I love my house, it’s 2 bedroom but a decent size. We’re now a family of 4 and a dog , we will stay here until the girls are much bigger there both under 4 at the moment. The only complaint I have about the house is that the living room only has doors and not windows, you can’t open the patio doors when it’s raining but warm, otherwise there well built houses, good design and well thought out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Living in blaydon is brilliant! The shops in blaydon itself can meet your everyday needs , the metrocentre is a 5 minute drive.
Our street is lovely we live right next to the park, which has a car park of its own so doesn’t take up our parking spaces, we have our own driveway and there is parking spaces opposite the house also. There is a 20mph speed limit throughout the estate that most people stick to.
The only downside about the estate is the lack of footpaths 🤷‍♀️

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think the lack of footpaths is
A major issue especially trying to teach children how to cross roads etc

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would put some windows in the living room or add a conservatory

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A wonderful home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

We have had our property for eleven years and have had no problems. Keepmoat rectified small issues after building with their snag list with no problems. General routine maintenance is all that has been required. The house is warm and well insulated, and quiet. We rarely hear neighbours. There is plenty of room for parking and the area is well laid out to allow for multi car households. I have had no complaints about our home and would recommend Keepmoat homes to others.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is very easy access to a main transport hub and a shopping centre including a large grocery store within walking distance. Local parks are ok, but there are some fantastic walks and play areas within 5 minutes drive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check out prices for everything through Keepmoat for additional services and installation. They were a good price on carpets but more expensive on fitted wardrobes- it pays to compare.

What is the best feature of your home:

Large bedrooms and multiple bathrooms- there’s lots of space!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Look Nice, but shoddy build quality

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Houses looking nice, with excellent views over the river. The build quality, customer service & maintenance of the area is shockingly bad. Constantly having to fix cracks in the interior, every step upstairs has a creaking floorboard, leaky fixing that had to be repaired and radiators had to be replaced ourselves because customer support was completely useless.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is good; close to metro centre & Newcastle city centre with easy transport links. However, being built in the valley of the river Tyne the area has a lot of hills which can be exhausting to get around by foot.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The usual comments on new build quality are true, these houses won’t last.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Do their best to get out of fixing any issues, with poor excuses and long timeframes in the hope you give up.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Find another builder

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Keepmoat is a disappointing company to deal with.
I have moved in December’20, we are in August’21 and very basic things haven’t been fixed yet.

They basically try to win by making you give up. Terrible customer care a and poor workmanship are a dangerous combination that leads to endless frustration and regret of choosing them.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location, apart from the steely hill, is great.
Easy access to the A1
Near to Metrocentre, B&Q and etc

The Blaydon train station is also very near if you’re ok with the hill

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’ve known Keepmoat better as I would have not bought the house from them.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Look at the picture of my door – 8 MONTHS IN!

It’s an absolute joke the length you have to go to have from very serious to tiny things fixed – I’ve been 8 months in the house and yet it doesn’t feel it’s mine as I have every week someone coming to fix something where they usually break something else for the following week.

3
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

4 bed house

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The developers try to keep the site clear but the dust from the building is a problem. The site is well managed abs building are going up quickly. The design of our 4 bed house is good but the kitchen dining room are small for us so we added an sunroom. The garden is large and spacious.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall living in Winlaton is wonderful. We have a local village with 5 pubs and takeaways then in Blaydon we have a town of brand name shops with loads of free parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great park called green gates just in the middle of the site.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t had any issues to resolve so this question is not applicable

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 27

3.71

Average rating based on 423 reviews

View company