Fortescue Gardens, SW19

Fortescue Gardens, SW19

By
Clarion Housing Group
4.26 (16 reviews) 4.26 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.25
Facilities
4.63
Design
4.81
Location
4.13
Value
3.88
Management

Excellent

44%

Very Good

50%

Average

6%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A great first flat but management improvements required

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The development is great and everyone who comes to visit loves it too. It has a stylish exterior and interior and it’s a very secure site. The building is also very quiet – being away from the busy roads, you never hear any traffic.

The flat itself is all very neutral and modern. It has great floor to ceiling windows and being in a south facing flat the rooms get a great amount of light during the day. They have very good sized balconies which feels like an additional room and it’s sheltered so it can be enjoyed in the cooler months too. One bug bear is that on the marketing floorpans and brochures, it had a dishwasher in it, but upon arrival, they had said it was a “luxury” item and this would have to be bought ourselves.

The residents are friendly and of similar age and our block feels like a little community which is nice.

There have been minor snags and initially these were dealt with quickly. However I’m still waiting, 5 months on from my last list and none have been dealt with and correspondence has been non existent/slow. There are lots of different departments at Clarion and my emails often get passed around lots of different people without me being cc’d in and I always need to chase to get anything done/sorted.

As we moved in during the pandemic, I wish they still offered a home demo over a video call once we had settled. There were things I found out weeks/months later by speaking with neighbours which could have been resolved earlier if I had known.

Wall insulation needs to be improved. Day to day you cannot hear your neighbours, but if they have friends over shouting does travel through the walls to other flats.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: Location is great and quiet. 5 min walk to supermarkets and retail parks, close to the River Wandle and Mordon Hall Park for some nice walks and small independent shops/restaurants. Short walk to the tube with easy access to central London. Surrounding streets are quiet with no anti-social behaviour and I never hear the traffic as we are far enough from the main roads.

Bad: No visitor parking (and not allowed to get a visitor permit for the street outside either). Bin facilities are good, though wish we had another recycling bin as it tends to get full quickly. Some noise from the industrial estate behind the development, but not often.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew we’d need to get our address registered before moving in. It took a month or so with a few of us trying to sort it out.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Initially these were dealt with very quickly and my emails were acknowledged. However, a few months in, my snagging emails have been ignored for 5 months without a response even when I followed up on numerous occasions. With 4 months until our 12 month defect period is over, I hope these get resolved in a timely manner.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Briefing of Forsteque/Breakspear Gardens – A Resident’s perspective:

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Cleaning is OK, also the Gardens. Bins evacuated promptly. They responded quite quickly when I complained of leaking Tap in Bathroom.

There is already BT & Virgin Broadband connections, saving you stress and reducing costs of installation (although it is not free).

Also, I’m happy for the many electric Vehicles charging points. You don’t need to go outside the premises to charge your Car.
There are 2 disabled parking available which is useful.

I was impressed that they allowed Residents hang TVs on the Walls (with permission). Some new buildings do not allow it to avoid damage to the Walls.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property is well maintained, use of high quality materials, courtesy window blinds, security. The Manual is a very useful guide.

Salt wasn’t spread on the ground during the snow until a few days later, a risk for Residents.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The Council tax is highehr than I anticipated (no fault of theirs).
There is enough dedicated parking space for each Flat but it was not properly marked, rather than side by side, it was front to back and therefore limited the spaces. However, Residents have sorted it out.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice blocks of flats with added benefit of outdoor and communal spaces

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Development is very good. Design of the buildings and flats are really nice – terrific to see a development of flats which doesn’t squeeze in an silly number of tiny apartments stacked up to the heavens and instead spreads them across 4 smaller blocks, keeps the height of the buildings reasonable and within the character of the area. All the flats have some outside space which should be a given with new developments but often isn’t. Great that the buildings have solar panels and some eco-friendly features. The addition of a small communal space with small allotments for each block to share is also brilliant. Residents are a mix of young single people, couples and families so a nice mix.

Interior seems well made and there is little sound bleed between flats. The facilities in the flat are good, only bug bear might be that it would’ve been good to get a fan oven rather than a basic one and that the flats do not include dishwashers despite the initial marketing plans implying that they would.

Most flats have had some minor snags and issues but generally I have found them to be made good in a reasonable time and the builders that developed the site, Skillcrown, have still been available and have been helpful with any niggles. In terms of property management – it is generally decent, sometimes difficult to get through to the right person at Clarion on certain issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: location is quiet and not too close to noisy main roads. Good array of retail shops nearby and while there isn’t lots of bars, restaurants or cafes, what there is good and there is easy transport to busier spots like Wimbledon, Tooting and Balham. There are some nice nearby spots with local independent businesses growing at Merton Abbey Mills and Coffee in the Wood also.

Bad: Could do with more recycling facilities as the one recycling crate we have is shared between a number of blocks and fills up fast. There is also a problem with people dumping litter or not looking after the area around local footpaths also. Some nice green spaces locally but the area definitely would suffer if there was any less.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Getting the address registered / post service set up was a problem and took some team work by the new residents to sort. We didn’t get post for weeks and then it all arrived in big chunks for a while, plus many delivery companies couldn’t find the address for a while because it was a new postcode. Having that better prepared or knowing in advance would’ve been good.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Not much, I’ve been very happy so far as it is. Some allowance for visitor parking might be nice given the majority of flats which don’t have spaces.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, lovely flats but needs some management improvements

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Absolutely love the design of the properties, particularly how it looks from the street and the internal layouts. I particularly like how the balconies have been designed to not overlook any neighbours. The interior of the flats are well finished with good useable layouts.

Very happy that there are parking provisions, however the electric vehicle charging points could be more spread out to cover the whole car park rather than 3-4 spaces which are allocated to other properties. This is a major barrier for us looking to purchase an electric vehicle.

We like having external bin stores that are secure and not obtrusive, however these lack sufficient recycling capacity (1 recycling bin, 3 normal bins) which leads to recycling piling up constantly in the bin store.

Property management is okay, however we’ve reported several defects since moving in and still waiting for these to be rectified 4 months later. Moved into the property which had been ‘snagging tested’ by the developer but had no gas and a substantial gas leak at an incorrectly fitted meter.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Wide range of local shops and supermarkets very close. Excellent transport links due to living near a tube line and several main bus links.

Bin collections are good and regular, minimal anti-social behaviour and noise. Some noise from the industrial estate behind the development at unsocial weekday morning hours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Would’ve liked to know more about the aftercare offer and statistics of previous property’s aftercare. Would’ve been better to be clearer up front about service charges and the steep increases.

What is the best feature of your home:

Convenience of the location to the local facilities, and overall layout and design of the flat and the block.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

An excellent development, but be wary of Clarion developments

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Overall, the development is a first class piece of engineering. Lovely, modern and spacious flats (for London anyway!) with easy access and are very modern. Facilities are good on the whole with a children’s play area, lift and spacious balcony. Although the interior is a great design, we found the finish on the disappointing, with several scuffs and chips in areas, as well as a broken air fan.

Also as BBC’s Watchdog has pointed out, it’s a deep shame that Clarion raise prices such as ground rent, general rent and service charge rather extortionately (e.g ground rent has risen by a third in a year!) and service charge has also risen without much proof of them actually doing anything. We had a broken lift for over a month and some areas of the communal space is still shoddy. Individual charges has also been broken down by Clarion and have identified some rather bizzare charges, I.E £6 a month for TV aerial maintenance, so with all flats that’s over £200 a month to keep a TV aerial intact? Seems suspicious. So be wary.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is ok, certainly the end of the Clapham/Tooting buzz, but enough here to keep entertained and well stocked. The area is quiet and family oriented. The location of the flats do make you rather overlooked if you live at the front of the building. Bin collections once a week, but within 24 hours the recycle bins are overloaded and very difficult to use. One major let down is parking, it seems that the council has refused on street parking which is very strange considering the main road outside the development is largely empty. Clarion charge an outrageous amount for a parking space so unless your property comes with one, you can only park a car in a neighbouring street with no permits. Which is a shame.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The key area of concern is Clarion. The raising of ground rent, rent and service charge is rather shocking and has put us off staying here long term. (£100 rise in service charge, £30 rise in service charge)

What is the best feature of your home:

Stunning development with excellent modern and spacious interior with fabulous balcony.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely flat

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

We purchased our flat in the lockdown and were unable to view it physically. I was so nervous about this, but so happy I still went ahead. The flats are very spacious with great decor. I also love how it has a gated community feel with a little allotment at the end.
The only thing I would change would be the carpet in the shared areas.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Due to the Covid lockdown we have been unable to visit many restaurants but there is a local pub with a great outside area. There is nice outdoor spaces nearby and we have visited Morden Hall many times since living here.
Our flat doesn’t come with parking space and we are unable to buy a permit on the side street which is slightly annoying considering there is a lot of empty space. However, we have found a side road with free parking a short walk away.
The area is really nice and very quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Whether the flat was south facing. Due to the flat being north facing we don’t get much sun!

What is the best feature of your home:

I love the space and the decor of the flat. Also the balcony’s are big which will be great for the summer.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Loving living at Fortescue gardens

Review Date Feb 2021

The development is lovely and nice to look at, the property has big floor to ceiling windows making it feel bigger and open, and allows lots of light through. The Apollo cancers are wary to use and are smart and the design and carpentry of the flat is modern and clean. Property management is great, the lift is quiet and works really well and the building is always clean and tidy. The bins are taken out every week and it never disturbs is.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport is great with Colliers Wood tube less than a five min walk away. Tooting and Winbledon overground are close by 20-25min walk so great links to central London. Morden Hall Park and Merton Abbey Mills are lovely and it doesn’t feel like London when we go there. Lots of shops and supermarkets nearby, restaurants, coffee shops, homeward shops, chemists and gyms. No traffic noise as the development is off of a road and is private, no antisocial behaviour as it is private it’s really quiet to live here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything apart from more information on costs going up each year included in information packs or just more Information in general about the costs AFTER buying the property and what happens after a few years.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had an issue with the property which delayed us moving in and took a while to resolve but it was eventually dealt with and we love the flat.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good but can better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Need improvement for the lift, it broken down every month, Need to create more parking space

This development design good for family that provide a small park for children play in side the property.

The noise insulation need to improve, that easy to hear from the neighbours, when up stairs jumping, the echo noisy

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very convenience, walk 5 min you can find two shopping centres and supermarkets, just 8 min you can find the bus stop and the tube station pubs

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The wire/ pipe map

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Add the sound insulation material and the wood floor

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fortescue Road Development Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

I have voiced my issues with Clarion, but I’ve had issues with the customer service levels provided as a tenant. There are so many different departments that don’t seem to communicate between each other, so I find myself being passed around the different departments, being left on hold, etc. I was trying to contact the New Build Aftercare team for ages – I appreciate due to Covid there have been reduced staff levels, etc, however as a property owner I would expect to be responded to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really close to the Northern line and right by the retail parks with lots of supermarkets and shops.
Lots of green space near by, and restaurants, pubs and bars.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

On moving on ensure to get clear information and names, as well as timelines for responses to any issues you may have. Ensure you properly go through the move in documents when moving in with the Clarion employee.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is perfect. It doesn’t feel like I’m in zone 3 – it’s so quiet and from the balcony I can see all the stars at night, which isn’t normal for built up areas in London.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great property

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Super modern design, with private park for the kids/ pets, kitchen well furniture, all rooms are spacious and the bathroom looks great, close to 2 retail parks, close to a lot of grocery shopssuch as sainsburys, tesco,coop, aldi, lidl, boots, M&s. 5 mins away from the tube station, 20 mins walking to st.George hospital

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent property, really good value, quiet place but 5 mins away from 2 retail parks, enumerous grocery shops, tube station and hospital Always clean and tidy area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing to say

What is the best feature of your home:

It fits my needs, its confortble and make in a way that all furniture fits perfecttly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Fortescue Gardens, SW19

Location

Number of developments 14

3.86

Average rating based on 70 reviews

View company