Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23

Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23

By
Davidsons Homes
1st
Ranked 1st out of 16 in Warwickshire
4.31 (29 reviews) 4.31 (29 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.97
Facilities
4.31
Design
4.52
Location
3.90
Value
3.69
Management

Located 3 miles from Rugby town centre, and within easy reach of a choice of Ofsted ‘outstanding’ schools, Houlton has excellent road and rail connections across Central England. The development offers 2, 3, 4 and 5 bedroom homes.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Great Aspirations but Delivery Lacking

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Poor range of facilities/amenities. Tuning Fork is very expensive with slow service from grumpy staff.

Terrible enforcement of estate rules – satellite dishes everywhere and poorly kept front gardens detract from the visual appearance of the development.

Poorly thought out temporary signage that blocks visibility splays and insufficient road markings to prevent parking in dangerous places such as on pavements or on the approach to junctions.

Lots of good ideas from the main developer but execution is often lacking eg. rubberised finish in playground leaches colour. Plenty of trip hazards throughout the development from unfinished surfaces or finished surfaces that are falling apart already.

The open space and ecology in the development is excellent with a. Increase in bird life year on year.

Quality of the school building is good – with lots of fresh air inside. Outdoor facilities could be better – playing field floods easily.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Friendly neighbours. No real issues with traffic noise except vehicles clattering over the bump by the school because it’s not signed/marked. Access to the ecology corridors is good. Signage could better; road signs/house numbers/no parking signs etc…

Insufficient wheelie bin storage.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t sign your house off until you’re happy with it, even though the builder will pressure you to.

Make sure you read everything about the estate rules that your conveyancer gives you.

Familiarise yourself with future development plans.

What is the best feature of your home:

Internal layout and thermal performance. Warm and cozy in winter and cool in summer.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Something for Everyone

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The design of the development is very well thought through and connects well to the wider and existing development/phases with consistency in design and characteristics. As the phase we live in is one of the smaller ones we do not have many facilities however there are efforts such as a local green. The wider Houlton site/development is great and has loads of great features and facilities such as a restaurant/cafe, visitors centre and community hall that can be hired, I think a Co op is also due to open soon.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Limited range of Shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance currently however the wider site development will include more of these. Open spaces and green areas are very good and situated all over the wider development, great for dog walks. Currently no bus routes unfortunately however these are to come in the future. Street parking is not a big problem and have lived previously in areas where the cars are parked more heavily on the street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Always bargain for free incentives as without complaining we would not of been offered this.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We complained during our pre completion as our house number was registered incorrectly therefore we gave our solicitor this information which had to be all changed later on when the correct address was given, however we did receive a free flooring incentive for this trouble. When snagging items were raised they were addressed and booked in quickly and fixed without disruption and to a good quality, the workers carrying out the works were friendly and helpful.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review of Houlton Development April 2021

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The development is a mixed bag. Some very well designed thought out areas and spaces along side some that feel more cramped and poorly designed.
The green spaces, size of paths and distance from the road along with the gated walkways are examples of good thought and planning.
Whilst the management company do make odd decision or fail to deliver, engagement with them is good.
Lack of shop has been frustrating but that shouldn’t be an issue much longer. Getting the school, tuning fork and green spaces open early in the development phase have made the development a more attractive and viable place to live.
Overall I’m very happy to be living here and the positives certainly out weight the negatives.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Range of local shops poor. Although I’m sure this will change once the CO-OP is built.
It makes a change that the facilities are being built along side housing development and mostly as promised. Most new developments build houses then fail to deliver on facilities
Frustration is that due to the facilities being of high standard, they are mostly used by those outside the development meaning residence don’t get much chance to use them. Fundamentally paying for something for all else to use.
New road has made it more convenient to access parts of the town. Down side is this leads to a lot of excess traffic that uses the route as a cut through. A lot of lorries and speeding cars.
Parking on our street is good. Lots of space to park. Seems our street is the exception though as walking down other streets can be harder due to cars on pavement.
Cars parked dangerously on roads around the park is also a common occurrence. Often people outside the development who are too lazy to walk from the tuning fork.
Our street is very quiet and a pleasant place to live
Easy access to all of the green space and walkways, which are a nice welcomed addition to have on your door step.
Plenty of bins for rubbish and dog poo. Not that it stops people leaving rubbish and dog poo
Grass cutting seems too frequent in the summer months but is left to look shabby and over grown outside of that.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Disappointed to learn the green fields and orchard at the development entrance (Davidson’s side) won’t stay that way. Was a very welcoming, pleasant and enticing entrance.
Also disappointed that most user of all the facilities aren’t locals. Locals tend to avoid due to over crowding or lack of access

What is the best feature of your home:

Kitchen/diner/family room. Large open light filled and sociable space for all the family to enjoy. Is where we spend 90% of our time

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful open spaces, packed with wildlife. A great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The design is brilliant. I love that the builder has incorporated nature spaces into its designs. It’s a well looked after area around where we live and we attract lots of wildlife which feels like such a luxury being so close to a busy town and with a city on our doorstep.

Building management is ok, parking can be an issue in weekdays as builders don’t have enough parking provided for by the developers. Mud is a huge issue in winter and dust in the summer making washing cars a weekly task.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenience for travel up and down the country makes it a great location.

There is a real lack of shops, although the co-op is planned to open this year, as Houlton grows we will need a supermarket to meet demand of number of houses being built to avoid this building up traffic in town.

Our street is beautiful, our house is very well spaced from neighbours and we aren’t overlooked at all which is amazing for a new build.

Traffic noise can sometimes be an issue living opposite communal spaces, but the only issue I have is the speed of vehicles travelling around the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there was a better understanding of the master plan, and future developers in mind. If we knew redrow were coming soon, there’s a possibility we would have held out a little longer to buy over that side instead.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of our home is the location. Overlooking the beautiful nature trails, attracting lots of birds to our front garden. We aren’t overlooked by any property and have the ability to park 3 cars on our drive.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Houlton review

Review Date Apr 2021

One of the best developments we’ve viewed in a 40 mile radius.

Plenty of property types to choose from and a range of prices.

Facilities are really good, plenty of upkeep over the last two years, facilities team are friendly, approachable and helpful.

Building and property management on the whole good, some communications have been poor such as power cuts, repairs, road surfacing and access which is an annoyance but generally no complaints

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic local area with good transport links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be sure to do your home work, bus routes, parking etc all issues that have arisen for others in our area, not for ourselves but something to consider

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some better than others

Mostly good response and quick to resolve

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I love Houlton

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

I wish I could have designed the kitchen in my home as the fridgefreezer is behind the door and not much room between the sink and cutlery draw if your washing up either. The washing machine space did not have a door on it and spoilt the look of the kitchen. We have had this done since. The construction of the house is very good and the brick work very good however the work inside the house need looking at. Workmen do not seem to be given enough time to do a job and so we had a very long snag list that has only just been completed after 16 months. The post occupation and customer service staff are all very good and helpful considering the amount of work they have to do.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The open spaces in Houlton are lovely with lots of different walks to do. The nature walks have been well developed but I was hoping they would have planted spring bulbs to cheer it up. The co op is coming at the end of the year which will help. We have the Tuning fork restaurant but no actual pub or doctors surgery at the moment. St Gabriel’s school is a really good school and the secondary school is due to open in September. I think the 20 mile speed limit needs to be painted on the road as not everyone adhere to it and the signs are very small. The close I live in is lovely and cars can get past although it is a little narrow and no curbs. There is no extra parking for visitors.Bin collection is very good. We do not have any problems with anti social behaviour and it is very quiet here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Setting up utility bills is quite daunting and no help was given. Also trying to get WiFi sorted was a nightmare. Each time we have shared the information with our neighbours.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

On the whole the were quite good but some jobs took a few times to get right.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful homes but poor service.

Review Date Jul 2021

Beautiful homes but poor service. We are looking for our forever home and just love the Davidson homes visually. At the houlton development in Warwickshire there competors are alot more welcoming.

Date today is 31/07/21

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are currently house hunting and the sales lady who works on the houlton development in Warwickshire development, simply gave the impression like she couldn’t be bothered in dealing with us. She was clearly relaxing in sales office with shoes off! 10minutes later she opened the sales door with her person phone in her hand and completely had a closed body language and kept it all very brief and not welcoming. So looking a a different builder in the same area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We haven’t purchased on this development. We are currently looking for our forever home.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not purchased on this development currently house hunting

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
1
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Houlton green spaces and wildlife

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Houlton has a great range of beautifully designed homes, and large green spaces to enjoy a walk and take in the fantastic wildlife we have around here. We especially love the old farm orchard where the co-op and offices are being built on, and hope the developers maintain what is left of it to protect the habitats. The green space and countryside feel is the reason we moved here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Houlton has one restaurant, and a shop with offices being built. We were looking forward to the David Lloyd gym and outdoor pools – the design looked first class.

We do have a problem with people driving too fast along the link road and through the estate, mainly people using the estate as a cut through to get to work in DIRFT. People overtaking in dangerous places. Crick Road is especially a dangerously fast road, we witnessed a very near miss with overtakinging recently – speed cameras are definitely needed along there before there’s a serious accident.

We have had a few incidents with break ins, one attempted recently in broad daylight whilst owners were in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That they were going to develop the land on the orchard and fields across the way.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slow but helpful in the end. We would prefer them to be quicker.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well priced, plenty of spaces

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Houses are great and well priced at the time of purchase. The houses are well designed and quality of workmanship is great. Asides from ongoing issues with patio doors leading into the garden, which allows water in during heavy rain, we’ve not had problems with any aspect of the property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Currently there are no local shops, but a coop is under construction.
We don’t use the public transport, so can’t comments on that.
We have had no problems with antisocial behaviour, parking is good since all the properties on the estate have garage or driveway at least, asides from contraction vehicles, noise level is no bother.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have not had any issues since moving in. I was well informed at every stage of the development. The roads get very muddy during wet seasons and dusty when dry. This is caused by on going construction work, it has taken longer than expected.

What is the best feature of your home:

Beautiful area, garage, garden, bedrooms and living spaces are all suitable for living demands.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love Houlton, Warwickshire

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The design of development is great for both Davidsons & Morris homes. No building mgt as ours is a freehold house. Estate management provides an excellent service looking after the open spaces, ponds, children’s park & walkways. The houses are of different designs with character including Georgian and in the main there are good spaces between them.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Friendly area, fantastic open spaces with park, shops & pub to be built, slight noise from DIRFT.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Just be aware of DIRFT noise at night when windows open (on east side of development)

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Solar panels should be on every property. Dining room should be slightly larger.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
User submitted image of Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
User submitted image of Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
User submitted image of Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23
User submitted image of Davidsons Homes at Houlton, CV23

Location

Number of developments 10

4.25

Average rating based on 141 reviews

View company