Cotton Field Wharf, M4

Cotton Field Wharf, M4

By
Manchester Life
Ranked 8th out of 32 in Manchester
4.60 (based on 20 reviews) 4.60 (20 reviews)

Category Scores

4.65
Facilities
4.60
Design
4.90
Location
4.20
Value
3.90
Management

Excellent

60%

Very Good

40%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Cotton Field Wharf, by Manchester Life, comprises of 302 apartments for rent. Situated in Ancoats, Manchester, residents here benefit from a range of resident amenities. Including: car parking, cycle storage, a club room, gym, private terrace and 24/7 concierge service.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Happy Homemakers

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The external appearance of the building is pleasant and I am happy to see it and point it out. The communal areas of the building are also pleasant and well maintained.

The apartments themselves are well designed: spacious, airy, appropriately allocated spaces and plenty of power sockets, switches, etc. There are plenty of windows and lots of light, which is essential to a happy home.

This is a new build and there are a number of minor snags which are being ironed out or are not of major concern. Some of these are being dealt with as part of the review process. Some of the materials used in the construction of the apartments may be questionable or not to everyone’s taste: the bathroom surfaces appear cheap and clumsily constructed for instance.

Building management are pleasant and responsive. Any issues we have actually raised have been dealt with quickly, or at least when considered with the restrictions of the lockdown in mind. We have no complaints here. The building maintenance staff are pleasant and, again, responsive. The front-of-house staff are friendly, accommodating, and good company; it’s important to have a genuine welcome when you return to your building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are close to the waterways and the city without being too close.
Properties in the area are attractive and there is plenty of greenery to be seen.
We can access the station, the city, or the Village easily within ten minutes.
There are great amenities within five minutes walk, such as Aldi, Pure Gym, Co-op, restaurants and bars.

News of unsavoury events in this locale are not uncommon on resident and local online portals. There seems to be an increasing amount of crime; i.e. robberies and antisocial behaviour. There is no shortage of homeless activity and drug use evidence along the canals and we have stopped running near the canals now as a result of this.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We don’t drive, but there is a fair amount of noise about space squatters in the car park.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of our home is the natural light we receive from our large, south-facing windows.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

CFW ancoats

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

CFW is a nice looking development, the flats are spacious and well laid out and modern furnishings in the kitchen and bathroom. Some of the finishes are rough around the edges like the windows and bathroom counters. And some appliances are poor quality for the price of the rent like the washer dryer and dishwasher. But overall the flats are nice and bright with big windows and space to make it your own.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Ancoats is a great area to live with lots of bars and restaurants, and still very close to the center of town.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be thorough with the inventory check list

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They respond quite quickly but require some chasing

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Cotton field wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Cotton field wharf is designed like any other Manchester life building which feels very modern. It’s located on a canal so has good views which can be seen from a lot of the flats. There’s a club room and gym which both overlook the canal. The gym hosts a range of exercise equipment and can be used throughout the day and evening.
Most of the concierges are friendly and able to help with your needs.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Cotton field wharf is located in Central ancoats which has lots of lovely coffee and independent food stores. Under the building there’s a bar, ice cream shop and cafe. Located on a canal, there’s lots of greenary and space to chill. Cotton Field Wharf is about a minutes walk from cutting room square which hosts a range of tasty restaurants and bars.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I’d have known the development plans around the area

What is the best feature of your home:

The flat is modern and provides easy living. It’s location.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Cottonfield resident

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The building looks great from the outside and I really like the layout inside our in-line two bedroom flat. We have loads of common space and a great kitchen with good amenities. I LOVE the walk through wardrobe and having our own en-suites. The conceirge are all lovely and most of them are super helpful, making an effort to learn names and appartment numbers. Theres great soundproofing between appartments so we never hear the other residents from our flat

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really close to fun bars, restaurant and cafes
Fantastic location next to the canal
Love having cask, pollen and eudamonia on site
Easy to walk to the city centre
Easy to drive out of manchester

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That management have limited hours and dont answer the phone

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better overall management – the letting agents arent very helpful on the phone

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, pretty good building, bad tenancy renewal policy

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the interior of the flats is very good, though I’m not a huge fan of the look of the outside of the building. The management is okay in terms of sorting out problems in the flat. But the contract renewal policy is pretty bad, they don’t allow you to move onto a rolling contract after the first year, so you have to commit to another 12 months every time which certainly has posed a bit of a conundrum for us since I’m employed on a fixed-term contract. The rent is also pretty expensive. The main draw of this development for me personally is the location.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very conveniently located for access to Manchester city centre and both Piccadilly and Victoria train stations. The area also has a lot of shops, bars and restaurants which are all very nice. The marina is lovely as we have a view right over it from our balcony.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known it wasn’t possible to move onto a rolling contract after the first 12 months.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Allow rolling tenancies after the first 12 months.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The development is great. Very well managed and Kept. The gym is very complete, the social areas are beautifully decorated and my apartment is perfect for me.

The development is situated in a marina, with green areas and an small wharf just in front. The design is modern with large bedrooms and storage space.

24 hours concierge with the possibility to receive parcels at any time, make my life easy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This area will be a beautiful place to live, however currently is not as safe as I would like it to be. Also, too noise as to many ongoing works are done.

Apart from this, It is a very interesting area, with a lot of amenities and close to the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lack of safety in this area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Every problem I had have been solved quickly. The concierges and all the staff are very helpful.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Worth the money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The building is in a perfect location with lovely views (also happens to be on top of a cafe that’s brilliant for breakfast). Concierges are always friendly and helpful. Package retrieval could be a bit more safe ideally as I sometimes see large packages left at reception unattended.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the building, could get the maintenance team in sooner when we ask though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No pet fish allowed

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

unfortunately replies to issues raised have been a tad on the slow side

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good sale but quality and management is lacking

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The development appears striking however some aspects of the flat are built cheaply leading to easy tarnishing and wear and tear, common issues that strike the building is window handle mechanisms snapping and becoming unusable and severe parking issues int he car park.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is nice including a bakery and pub connected to the buildings, about a 10 minute walk from the city center and a marina just on your doorstep.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there we no free weights in the gym and that similar mcrlife properties have a much better equipped gym.

What is the best feature of your home:

The superfast hyperoptic broadband and gym facilities and concierge

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great space, great staff and great living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The development is very well though out with great amenities and hidden benefits such as easy access points for moving in, secure parking and bin/recycling services on each floor. The concierge service is also excellent with great welcoming staff and 24 hour service. The postal room and gym are also great add ons as well as the club rooms and seating spaces located around the complex.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is great and very convenient for city living without feeling like you’re constantly within the hustle and bustle. The building and marina area is always clean and tidy with so many cute coffee shops and hang out spots.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How easy the move in process would be! We were worried this would be difficult but was extremely seamless!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Additional plug sockets in the kitchen and perhaps one on the island. But really nothing else we can think of!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice development in excellent location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The development has a gym, common room, and a little garden area. Concierges take care of parcels and everything else. The building is constantly cleaned and well maintained. Only drawback is that it gets quite hot in the building over the summer months.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice area at the canals and marina, close to the center. Nice bars and restaurants nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The building gets quite hot in the summer – at least in some parts of it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediately and have tried to fix the issues (eg. changing a light bulb)

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Moving from London to Manchester

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

We’ve recently moved in and we couldn’t be happier. Moving from London we have so much more space, it’s quiet and feels safe! Just a short walk into town and lots of great local bars and restaurants at your doorstop. Also a quick walk to the tram station! Couldn’t ask for anything more, clean building and fantastic amenities!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing area, lots of bars and restaurants! Love having the marina at your doorstep, the perfect area in town!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How fabulous ancoats is now! Due to Covid we got our flat without viewing and we couldn’t be happier.

What is the best feature of your home:

Spacious units, amazing area at a really reasonable price.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Cotton Field Wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design is great – minimal but with enough taste and quality that it doesn’t feel basic. Building and property management are always available and happy to help. The gym and communal areas are a huge highlight when you live in a smaller apartment with no balcony.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love being by the water, by the greenery of Cotton Field Park. The marina is one of the few outdoor sunny spaces in the city centre. There are great independent bars, cafes, restaurants and shops on our doorstep.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That we weren’t allowed bikes in our flats!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quickly and professionally with any issues resolved.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great flat

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Love living at Cottonfield Wharf – 2 bed flat is perfect, concierges/gym/club room are great, marina is the nicest area in the city. Only downside is the high crime rates/no visitor parking/£80 a month for a parking space. Love the flat though!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the community/marina/amnesties/easy access to public transport

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we had known about strict visitor parking

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The maintenance team fixed a shower problem quickly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The facilities are very
good and the design is modern. the
building and property management friendly and responsive. Whenever we had an issue they tried to deal with it as soon as possible. We are very happy with the flat and the services overall.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very
convenient but a
bit noisy sometimes

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The neighbourhood is sometimes noisy

What is the best feature of your home:

The flat is spacious with good insulation. I like also the design

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love it!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

It’s a really nice building and the interiors are really nice. Also love the area as it is a lively area and there is always something to do. I feel the building and corridors could have a little more colour as they do get a bit bland after living here for a year.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love living here but it is really pricey

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About surrounding building sites As they can be loud of a morning

What is the best feature of your home:

The location as it is right at the heart of a newly developing area

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy Renter at Cotton Field Wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Overall, we are pleased with Cotton Field Wharf. The interior design is nice, the room plans are spacious and offer high ceilings. The gym is decent too, and the clubroom. Dislikes – the concierge are often away from desk, and the vinyl floor comes up and warps a little.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the area, this was one of the main reasons we moved here. In arms reach we have the ‘square’ where we have lots of restaurants to choose from. In the immediate location, we have a lovely marina, park, ice cream store and coffee shop. Oh and a local pub too. The area is so clean and modern and we love living on this waterfront location.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish they would have told me about the car park gates being temperamental. It’s annoying having to get out and tap the remote against the signal box each time, whilst running the car unlocked in a fairly rough area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, they have attended maintenance works promptly, and always reply to any issues raised on the portal.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Great building great location really love living here views are great and people are really friendly and nice. Would highly recommend living here and really close and easy access to town. Flat was perfectly tidy when we moved in and no problems so far

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About the portal

What is the best feature of your home:

We feel really safe in the property and have had no problems

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great area to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the flats is contemporary and compact, offering everything you could need. There are shared spaces, gym, outdoor area… Offer to discounts in local business and sport classes and events too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great, with an increasing offer of independent businesses and a great atmosphere. Close to the city centre on foot and close to busses and trams too. There are concerns about security though and not enough green/public space to my opinion.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

For me orientation is really important so make sure you know exactly where the flat your interested in is as it won’t be the same be facing the car park than the marina.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location and spaceplan and design of the flat.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Manchester Life

Manchester Life was formed when the Abu Dhabi United Group came to Manchester in 2008 to regenerate the Manchester City…
Number of developments 1

4.60

Average rating based on 20 reviews

View company