Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1

By
A2Dominion Rental Only
5th
Ranked 5th out of 12 in Bristol
4.14 (based on 36 reviews) 4.14 (36 reviews)

Category Scores

4.08
Facilities
4.03
Design
4.81
Location
3.53
Value
3.61
Management

Canons Gate is an A2Dominion by Rental Only development located on Bristol’s Harbourside. The development features 101 rental only apartments. Additionally, Canons Gate features include balconies, landscaped communal gardens and open plan living rooms. Furthermore, the Harbourside is full of great places to see and go, offering plenty of bars, restaurants, shops and visitor attractions.Similarly, Bristol Temple Meads station is only a 23-minute walk away.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,025 pcm
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
530.4 sq ft
A2Dominion Rental Only
More info
£1,415 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
733.8 sq ft
A2Dominion Rental Only
More info
£2,250 pcm
3 Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
1082 sq ft
A2Dominion Rental Only
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 36 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Impressed!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2019

A2 Dominion, particularly the local branch, have been very easy to deal with. The process of viewing, referencing & setting up the tenancy was efficient & hassle-free. The property is a great standard and communal areas are kept clean. Any repairs are carried out promptly & without difficulty.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

An excellent area of the city near to the picturesque harbourside & bustling centre with a wide selection of bars, restaurants, shops & attractions.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Only one parking space comes with each flat, managed by an external agency.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for leaving such a fabulous review. I really value your feedback and hope that you continue to enjoy living at Canons Gate for a long time to come.

Location location!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design of the building is good with a well planned and developed kitchen/living space. The bedrooms are well designed and the layout allows comfortable living and versatility in furniture arrangements.

The property management are generally quite good and responsive, although they often lack conviction and follow through on completing some tasks.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of restaurants, bars and cafes in the vicinity. Excellent local, domestic and international travel routes close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish that I had asked more questions around how repairs, maintenance and issues were dealt with

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is absolutely the best feature of the property.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A comfy and luxurious residence

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The property has very good facilities inside which includes centralized electrical heating. It has a very good ventilation system which keeps the air inside the house uniform. Maintenance is great which is done periodically. The ventilation system is checked annually and the windows are cleaned twice a year. Repairs are dealt quick.
Happy with the service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very comfortable residence at harbourside with plenty of amenities around. There is a Tesco just few yards away and several great restaurants too. Very close to the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The living room window is sealed. Would’ve been great if there was a user friendly openable window in the living room. The carpets are quite old. I think its time to change to change the carpets.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing area, maintenance could improve.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Lovely bright flats, pleasant design and well thought of materials. Communal patio is rather small but beautiful. A gym would be heavenly. No secure area for the bikes. Problems with the elevator, moths, and a constant smell of garbage at the communal entrance. Best aspect of the flats are the location and the design. Maintenance and repairs not working very efficiently. Hope that changes for the better soon as we love to live here!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing area. Near the river, bars, restaurants, Tesco express, ‘we the curious’, transport links, pharmacies, fish monger, butcher, bio-food and many more! Downside – traffic noise and pollution.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lift would break down often. The bikes will be stolen often and still no gates installed. Main entrance smells badly. I suspect there is sadly a problem with the ventilation from the bin room.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In some instances fast and efficiently, mostly however disappointingly, especially with the bikes and the moths. Have yet to contact them about the horrible garbage smell at the front entrance but it’s been almost a year and it’s getting stronger so I should better do so soon.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best location, great design

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The flats are well designed with efficient use of space and clean design. The ground floor courtyard is especially lovely to have green space whilst living right in the city centre.

Property management are quick to respond to queries and helpful. The car park and underground bin store is easily accessible and I really appreciate the recent addition of food waste facilities to improve the environmental impact of the building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing location, river on your doorstep and quick and easy access to the city centre, Redland and Clifton in walking distance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make sure to keep bikes as secure as you would on the street even when in the locked car park

What is the best feature of your home:

Other than the location, the ground floor courtyard is a really great feature adding green space to city centre living

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very nice place!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Building is very modern and well looked after. The lobby and entry way to the building is secure which gives peace of mind when ordering online. Car park is nice. The rooms are a generous size and well fitted. A2 are very responsive to messages and offer and competitive price for the room.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very central and a quite location which is very nice!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There were a few flys in the cupboards that we could have known about. Simple manuals on how to use the boiler and such would also be handy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fast responses when asked about repairing a tap within the flat that was damaged prior to moving in.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

2 Canon’s Gate

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The flat is large and lovely. Great courtyard out back. The bright colour scheme inside the flat is lovely. The open plan setup has been very good for socials. It is a very low maintenance flat: we’ve literally barely had the heating on in four years because the flat is so well insulated (the air ventilation system obviously works very well).

We have had our flat inspected once in four years, and that was after a month of us being there, which has suited us. On that inspection we asked them to fix the fridge door, which never came to pass.

We couldn’t quite understand the tree setup in the courtyard of Canon’s Gate. Having two rows of trees in the middle of the courtyard meant it could not be used as a communal space for, for example. kids to play or people to hang out.

We found there was no sense of community at all amongst the flats, which may have been in part due to the courtyard being unavailable for communal socialising.

We didn’t like the fact that the rent increased every year, particularly given the fact that you’re a housing association. Whilst it may only go up £30 a month a year, our rent is now substantially more than it was four years ago. Whilst we acknowledge inflation, it is also important to note that wages haven’t increased over the last four years.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is on Bristol harbourside, which is great. Lovely couryard out back.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That Amazon couriers often leave parcels in the lobby, even though our flat isn’t connected to the lobby.

What is the best feature of your home:

The size of the flat, and the level of sunshine…

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It’s a peaceful and safe place. you can really call it home.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The admin is approachable and they will reach our timely in your queries. Timely check of the ventilators and supported with fire alarms. The rubbish are organised and collected timely. The window screens are cleaned timely as well and the facilities such as elevators, parking are clean and working efficiently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Accessible to Harbourside, Cabot Center and pubs! The place is peaceful despite the distance with the pub, and the view of the harbourside is such a breather in the midst of the lockdown.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

the rooms are not equally divided. for sharing tenants, it’s quite a handful.

What is the best feature of your home:

accessibility to Cabot Cente along with the workplace.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live but out of reach for most people in Bristol.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

My flat is modern, spacious and well designed. It is kitted out to a high spec and is pretty environmentally friendly. We almost never put the heating on as it is so thermally efficient. The appliances are modern and work well. We haven’t needed much work or repairs done on the place as it is so new but they can be a little slow when asked. The rental prices are not remotely acessible for most people in Bristol though with anyone on a minimum wage or low paying job struggling to live here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is next to the beautiful Bristol harbourside and close to the city centre and local shops and bars. It is also close to Brandon Hill with amazing views of the city. The immediate area however is a little sterile with all chain shops and bars.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The ground floor has a pretty good community vibe with lots of interaction with neighbours.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, the landlord does respond to repairs that are needed. They are usually carried out promptly but there have been a couple of cases where it has taken too long. All sub-contracted out.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The development itself is okay, a bit bland and boring. The build quality of these apartments leaves something to be desired. The balconies started dusting and has to be replaced very quickly. It’s a new build and has obviously been built with profit in mind.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area doesn’t have much to dislike, it’s probably the nicest part of Bristol outside of Clifton village.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the build quality of the flats was fairly poor (standard new build).

What is the best feature of your home:

The location and the fact we can park in outside the flat.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good location, terrible property management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Nice location. Needs more common green space. The stark white colour and lack of any inventive design or detailing reminds me of some kind of Eastern European prison facility.
Positives would be that it has excellent insulation so the apartment is very warm in the colder months.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like- location.

Dislike- no secure bike lock. The ‘secure’ one is constantly broken into and A2 refute to take accountability.
Property management is an all time low. If something breaks in our apartment it is weeks before anything is done about it. For example we are now on week 3 of our washing machine being broken even though they knew it was faulty from week one of us moving in.

Design is awkward and makes no sense. We have a two by four cubbord space you can only reach through a gap no bigger than a foot due to the placement of the redundant washing machine.

All in all, worst property management I have ever encountered. Can’t wait to leave.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I believed the reviews on google.
That we would be paying at least 10% more than our neighbours in rent.

What is the best feature of your home:

Insulation. The carpets are also disgusting so you don’t have to worry too much about the odd stain you create yourself.

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Location

A2Dominion Rental Only

About A2Dominion Rental Only

A2Dominion Rental Only is an award-winning landlord that has been renting and managing homes for over 40 years. They offer…
Number of developments 12

4.12

Average rating based on 219 reviews

View company