Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1

By
A2Dominion Rental Only
Ranked 10th out of 22 in Bristol
4.12 (38 reviews) 4.12 (38 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.08
Facilities
4.03
Design
4.82
Location
3.58
Value
3.66
Management

Canons Gate is an A2Dominion by Rental Only development located on Bristol’s Harbourside. The development features 101 rental only apartments. Additionally, Canons Gate features include balconies, landscaped communal gardens and open plan living rooms. Furthermore, the Harbourside is full of great places to see and go, offering plenty of bars, restaurants, shops and visitor attractions.Similarly, Bristol Temple Meads station is only a 23-minute walk away.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,025 pcm
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
530.4 sq ft
A2Dominion Rental Only
More info
£1,415 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
733.8 sq ft
A2Dominion Rental Only
More info
£2,250 pcm
3 Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
1082 sq ft
A2Dominion Rental Only
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 38 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The property itself is finished to a high standard, offering modern and comfortable living. The rooms are all of a good size and attract a good amount of natural light from the large windows. Flats come equipped with all the necessities such as a fridge-freezer, washer-dryer, oven, grill and hob, and dishwasher. The flats all contain an air ventilation system which helps to keep damp at bay and keeps a continued supply of fresh air all year round. The flats are well insulated as they stay relatively warm during the colder months and noise pollution from outside is almost completely minimised. The addition of our front decking, back patio and central courtyard finish off the offering to a higher standard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property location is right by Bristol’s iconic Harboruside. With bars, restaurants, shops and entertainment right on your doorstep, it makes this the perfect location to live in. Transport links are great and link you to the whole of the city and beyond. Temple Meads train station is a short walk away and the airport is a simple taxi ride away. With Park Street, Bristol Cathedral, Clifton Suspension Bridge and many more of Bristol’s gems, there is always something to do at the weekend.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything was highlighted at our viewing – I can’t think of anything.

What is the best feature of your home:

A modern and comfortable flat in a prime location.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Couldn’t be happier!

Review Date Jul 2021

Finding the perfect place is always difficult, and finding the perfect place in Bristol is even trickier. It’s such a sort after city and places fly off the market so quickly. A2 Domain and Abi in particular were outstanding however. Abi went above and beyond to make the experience smooth and easy and we really cannot recommend her enough. She’s approached every single step (and annoying question) with a huge smile and really made it seamless. The building and location sells itself, but with Abi and A2 domain, we jumped at the property as soon as we saw it!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Canons way really is one of the best places to live in Bristol. Being from Bristol, I know most of the central areas well and Canons Way is by far one of the best. It’s central location is just around the corner from harbourside, park street, central offices and also close to all amenities such as restaurants, gyms, cinemas etc. For such a central location, you’d expect the building to be really noisy but it’s far from it. All residents are incredibly considerate and it’s genuinely a fantastic place to be.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Incredible security levels – your fob is needed on pretty much every door!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always responsive and speedy in doing so, we have been happy so far

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The property managers are extremely helpful, especially Anna!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The complex design is great. The floor to ceiling doors make the property really bright. The balcony sizes are great too.

The property managers are extremely helpful, especially Anna!

Sarah from A2 Dominion went above and beyond assisting us with the entire tenancy process. She was available to answer our questions, kept us regularly updated, really friendly too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The complex location is perfect. Central to everything.

It’s a quiet area, very secure, clean (even the communal bin storage). Staff are really friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The parking space we were originally allocated was less than ideal, within an hour we were allocated a more appropriate space. We weren’t told where the under ground parking was so would be good for new tenants to be advised if they have allocated parking with the property. We have had new tenants ask us when passing by.

Recycling is a little bit of a pain as assumed we’d be supplied with some sort of box to easily carry to the bin store. Ended up buying our own for ease.

What is the best feature of your home:

The layout of the flat, balcony, overall large room sizes. Location, secure parking. All perfect!

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Location location!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design of the building is good with a well planned and developed kitchen/living space. The bedrooms are well designed and the layout allows comfortable living and versatility in furniture arrangements.

The property management are generally quite good and responsive, although they often lack conviction and follow through on completing some tasks.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of restaurants, bars and cafes in the vicinity. Excellent local, domestic and international travel routes close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish that I had asked more questions around how repairs, maintenance and issues were dealt with

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is absolutely the best feature of the property.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A comfy and luxurious residence

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The property has very good facilities inside which includes centralized electrical heating. It has a very good ventilation system which keeps the air inside the house uniform. Maintenance is great which is done periodically. The ventilation system is checked annually and the windows are cleaned twice a year. Repairs are dealt quick.
Happy with the service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very comfortable residence at harbourside with plenty of amenities around. There is a Tesco just few yards away and several great restaurants too. Very close to the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The living room window is sealed. Would’ve been great if there was a user friendly openable window in the living room. The carpets are quite old. I think its time to change to change the carpets.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing area, maintenance could improve.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Lovely bright flats, pleasant design and well thought of materials. Communal patio is rather small but beautiful. A gym would be heavenly. No secure area for the bikes. Problems with the elevator, moths, and a constant smell of garbage at the communal entrance. Best aspect of the flats are the location and the design. Maintenance and repairs not working very efficiently. Hope that changes for the better soon as we love to live here!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing area. Near the river, bars, restaurants, Tesco express, ‘we the curious’, transport links, pharmacies, fish monger, butcher, bio-food and many more! Downside – traffic noise and pollution.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lift would break down often. The bikes will be stolen often and still no gates installed. Main entrance smells badly. I suspect there is sadly a problem with the ventilation from the bin room.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In some instances fast and efficiently, mostly however disappointingly, especially with the bikes and the moths. Have yet to contact them about the horrible garbage smell at the front entrance but it’s been almost a year and it’s getting stronger so I should better do so soon.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best location, great design

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The flats are well designed with efficient use of space and clean design. The ground floor courtyard is especially lovely to have green space whilst living right in the city centre.

Property management are quick to respond to queries and helpful. The car park and underground bin store is easily accessible and I really appreciate the recent addition of food waste facilities to improve the environmental impact of the building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing location, river on your doorstep and quick and easy access to the city centre, Redland and Clifton in walking distance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make sure to keep bikes as secure as you would on the street even when in the locked car park

What is the best feature of your home:

Other than the location, the ground floor courtyard is a really great feature adding green space to city centre living

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very nice place!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Building is very modern and well looked after. The lobby and entry way to the building is secure which gives peace of mind when ordering online. Car park is nice. The rooms are a generous size and well fitted. A2 are very responsive to messages and offer and competitive price for the room.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very central and a quite location which is very nice!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There were a few flys in the cupboards that we could have known about. Simple manuals on how to use the boiler and such would also be handy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fast responses when asked about repairing a tap within the flat that was damaged prior to moving in.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The flat is large and lovely. Great courtyard out back.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The flat is large and lovely. Great courtyard out back. The bright colour scheme inside the flat is lovely. The open plan setup has been very good for socials. It is a very low maintenance flat: we’ve literally barely had the heating on in four years because the flat is so well insulated (the air ventilation system obviously works very well).

We have had our flat inspected once in four years, and that was after a month of us being there, which has suited us. On that inspection we asked them to fix the fridge door, which never came to pass.

We couldn’t quite understand the tree setup in the courtyard of Canon’s Gate. Having two rows of trees in the middle of the courtyard meant it could not be used as a communal space for, for example. kids to play or people to hang out.

We found there was no sense of community at all amongst the flats, which may have been in part due to the courtyard being unavailable for communal socialising.

We didn’t like the fact that the rent increased every year, particularly given the fact that you’re a housing association. Whilst it may only go up £30 a month a year, our rent is now substantially more than it was four years ago. Whilst we acknowledge inflation, it is also important to note that wages haven’t increased over the last four years.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is on Bristol harbourside, which is great. Lovely couryard out back.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That Amazon couriers often leave parcels in the lobby, even though our flat isn’t connected to the lobby.

What is the best feature of your home:

The size of the flat, and the level of sunshine…

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It’s a peaceful and safe place. you can really call it home.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The admin is approachable and they will reach our timely in your queries. Timely check of the ventilators and supported with fire alarms. The rubbish are organised and collected timely. The window screens are cleaned timely as well and the facilities such as elevators, parking are clean and working efficiently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Accessible to Harbourside, Cabot Center and pubs! The place is peaceful despite the distance with the pub, and the view of the harbourside is such a breather in the midst of the lockdown.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

the rooms are not equally divided. for sharing tenants, it’s quite a handful.

What is the best feature of your home:

accessibility to Cabot Cente along with the workplace.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live but out of reach for most people in Bristol.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

My flat is modern, spacious and well designed. It is kitted out to a high spec and is pretty environmentally friendly. We almost never put the heating on as it is so thermally efficient. The appliances are modern and work well. We haven’t needed much work or repairs done on the place as it is so new but they can be a little slow when asked. The rental prices are not remotely acessible for most people in Bristol though with anyone on a minimum wage or low paying job struggling to live here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is next to the beautiful Bristol harbourside and close to the city centre and local shops and bars. It is also close to Brandon Hill with amazing views of the city. The immediate area however is a little sterile with all chain shops and bars.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The ground floor has a pretty good community vibe with lots of interaction with neighbours.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, the landlord does respond to repairs that are needed. They are usually carried out promptly but there have been a couple of cases where it has taken too long. All sub-contracted out.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1
User submitted image of Canons Gate by A2Dominion Rental Only, BS1

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Location

A2Dominion Rental Only
Number of developments 14

4.13

Average rating based on 224 reviews

View company