About Jones Homes

Jones Homes has been operating since 1959, currently building more than 500 homes a year in the UK.

Number of Developments

7

Ratings

4.19 Rating

Rating (based on 69 reviews)

Excellent

36.23%

Very Good

49.28%

Average

10.14%

Disappointing

1.45%

Very Poor

2.90%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 7 developments

Jones Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 69 reviews

First time with Jones not had many issues so far

Good: nice range of houses, most streets don’t have the same style more than once, if they do it’s 2 max. Even within the same style, thought have been put into different touches that make them unique (different garage and front door paint, some have a Tudor style painted beams etc)
Bad: a bit narrow at points, only one way in and out is both good and bad. Good as avoids people using rat runs, bad because it means long detours to go short distances (thus not great for the environment)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: quick to get on the A57 if work outside of Worksop. Bus stop nearby but not had need to use it yet so not sure how frequent service is. Shireoaks train station is ~10 min drive away, Worksop station slightly further away (~11 mins??) can take a while to get to Sheffield if it stops everywhere between here and there.
Road noise not noticeable but currently this development is in active construction and will be for many more years so if you work nights or from home and easily bothered, that might be a problem for you. It isn’t for us. Good range of local big name shops
Bad: Still missing some big services (no Pizza Hut, only dominos, as an example). we are on an off shoot unadopted street so no street lighting except from our own property (extra cost) and have to walk the bins down to a bin area. Not big problems… Main issue is lack of room on the roads. If they were an extra 1m wide, it wouldn’t be an issue, but can be difficult when having people visit or unloading when moving in due to blocking the narrow roads.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I had asked about broadband and told we could have BT or Virgin and that virgin was installed in every room. It turns out there are aerial and virgin points in every room but no aerial is provided and the virgin point is there for the box to be installed and that’s it, basically. So you will have a useless blanking plate in every other room. Also, virgin still need to come and hook you up. Unlike some developments that have fibre to the premises included as part of the development. This one doesn’t. It’s copper to a local box and then fibre out from there. So the max speed you will ever get is 600mbps. Not slow, but in 2021 I am seriously surprised it wasn’t installed with fibre to the premises!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We are still waiting on half of our list to be resolved after 4 weeks in. When folks come there is no notice they turn up. The lads doing the work seem very good though and I’m sure it’ll all get sorted eventually. They keep following up on it but many bits are waiting for other outside vendors (star glaze for upvc for example)

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Jones Homes – delightful with minor areas for inprovement

The development is very stylish and far superior to neighbouring developments. The exteriors are stylish and the property developer was appealing to us due to the high spec included in the build. Gardens and landscaping have been a little bit of an issue as turf is laid very poorly on top of rubble which is then sticking out and makes lawns uneven and unsightly. There has been no landscaping of the surrounding garden areas on the estate despite assurances and lots of areas look like overgrown wastelands – we have been here for 2 years and it is only getting worse. This is particularly evident around pond areas and walking paths. We hope this will be rectified as the estate is still a work in progress. Any issues raised with customer service have been handled and dealt with well in relation to our actual house. The original site manager was always on hand when we needed him. However, I know issues with the condition of the site and gardens etc have not been dealt with.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Poulton is a lovely village to live in with lots of different bars and restaurants. Ease of access with its own train station and lots of local bus routes. There are a number of parks for children in the area. Although, it would be good to see a play park added in to the estate itself with the large number of families moving in. Parking is excellent with pretty much all houses on the estate having private off road parking and many private roads for detached houses. No issues with bin collections or anti-social behaviour. The estate is very quiet and perfect for families.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are more items you can upgrade – I wish we had been given the opportunity to upgrade things like our hob or kitchen sink unit.
Also, in our house the decisions about style of kitchen units or bathroom tiles etc had already been chosen, which was disappointing as we didn’t have a say in any of these choices.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes – always respond. It can sometimes take some perseverance but eventually issues get sorted.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great looking houses but densely populated development

The development is in an excellent suburban setting backing onto the woods and is quite charming. All the Jones Homes houses are very well presented which extends to the garden and planting but the the plots are a bit stingy and the houses are tightly shoehorned onto the development which results in the majority of houses having overlooked back gardens with limited privacy.

Aforementioned issues with the building density of the development and the lack of double width drive ways means that residents tend to park on the roads and pavements as they are unwilling to use the double length drives. As a result the development does look unsightly in areas and isn’t always the best for pedestrians and those with children.

I do feel that the houses are very well presented internally and externally but this does seem to be at the expense of functionality. For example our landing is very spacious and impressive but this is at the expense of space that could be utilised better in the bedrooms.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Worksop is a great little town, not too sprawling and with a short drive to bigger cities such as Sheffield & Nottingham. As a result there is quite a relaxed feel to the town and generally slower pace to life. Gateford is also in an excellent location on the periphery of the town this giving it a very suburban and slightly rural feel to it. Major road links are also nearby with the A1 & M1 being only 10 minutes away. Celtic point nearby is handy for a small shop but is a bit of a walk if you’re in a hurry & don’t want to take the walk. There is also a plethora of supermarkets and none of them are ever too busy or stressful.

Theres plenty of Green space nearby & placed the kids can play football but the nearby park is a bit rough with bigger kids monopolisong the football court and using constant industrial language.

The town centre itself is a bit dilapidated and many of its inhabitants are salt of the earth types (to be diplomatic) but it does still just about cater for most requirements unless you’re after anything too modern, bespoke or fancy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would be slightly more hesitant in buying off plan again based on the viewing of an identical house type/show home as it wasn’t clear from the plan just how overlooked the rear garden would be and how densely built the new developmemt would be.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Of the few limited issues we experienced the site manager had them addressed on a prompt and timely manner much to our satisfaction.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

We fell in love with Gateford Park on our first visit and glad this is the area and housing development we have chosen to live in when we brought our first child into the world.

Unfortunately at present, there are no facilities here at Gateford but we have been told of plans for a new Primary School, which the area needs, as well as a park for the children- there isn’t a local one so I do feel this will be perfect as the development is home to a large number of children. The green areas surrounding the development are well maintained and I always feel proud driving into the estate at how lovely it always looks.
The Jones Homes are aesthetically pleasing on the eye which is what initially gained our interested, especially compared to some other builders however it has been disappointing that it has taken 17 months to still rectify our snagging.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I fell in love with the development as soon as I stepped out of the car – we were only here to view the show home but ended up buying out hopefully forever home here; neither of us knew the area but were impressed with how close it was to Sheffield City Centre, as well as the motorway for us both to get to work.
We are so close to 4 major supermarkets, two within walking distance which is ideal for walks with the pram.
Being so close to the countryside also allows us to spend weekends walking, as well as giving us several options for family days out; Clumber Park, Rufford Abbey and Sherwood Forest all being less than half an hour away by car.
Our development itself is quiet when the builders aren’t working (the site is currently still being built) and on our street in particular, it is rare cars will be parked on the road due to us all having drives for at least two cars.
We moved not knowing anyone but feel so comfortable within four new community and have lifelong friends now in our neighbours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I personally wouldn’t use the Property Perspective initiative which was used by Jones as I feel we could have sold our home for the initial asking price with a local estate agent who knew the area better.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Snagging has been very slow to rectify – we have much preferred the Cuatomer Care contractors carrying out our work than the original tradesmen.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More