Helical

Helical is a property investment and development company based across London and Manchester. The company develops customer-focused and design-led properties. Find out more about Helical on HomeViews. For smart spaces and a central setting, Barts Square is a large, mixed-use Helical redevelopment comprising of 236 high-quality apartments. It's got a great location close to Farringdon, St Paul’s and Barbican stations, plus the esteemed Barbican Centre is less than a 10-minute walk away.

Helical

Unclaimed Profile

Claim your profile for free

Company

  • Website: www.helical.co.uk

  • No. of developments: 1

  • Development locations: Central London

Companies you may also like

    Developments by Helical

    Viewing 1-1 out of 1

    Development image of Barts Square, EC1

    Barts Square, EC1

    4.18

    (19 reviews)

    View development

    Page 1 of 1

    Latest Reviews

    4.18

    19 total reviews

    Stats

    Overall

    4.11

    Facilities

    4.21

    Design

    4.26

    Location

    4.68

    Value

    3.84

    Management

    3.74

    Viewing 1-5 out of 19
    Happy with the new build

    TP (Owner)

    Barts Square, EC1

    Oct 2021

    Brand new building with modern appliances and amenities. Well maintained and kept quite clean. Concierge service is usually on top of things - only problem is they do not accept any food deliveries even if only for a little while. Management has been fairly responsive so far.

    Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

    Very convenient if you work in the city and very well connected but can get slightly quiet on the weekends

    How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

    Not raised too many issues but the ones raised at the beginning were sorted out quite quickly

    Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

    The concierge sits in a different building which can confuse some of the delivery people

    5

    Facilities

    5

    Design

    5

    Location

    4

    Value

    5

    Management


    Don’t be fooled by the appearance! Avoid!

    MT (Tenant)

    Barts Square, EC1

    Oct 2021

    The facilities of the apartment are limited. Private bar, dining room and cinema are not really useful. There is no swimming pool and with very limited parking. The quality of the apartment is bad. We had to move out temporary because the developer forgot to lay the water proofing for bathroom floor. And we were relocated to somewhere really awful. Tried to argue and at the end didn’t really provide like for like. Heating and cooling system constantly breakdown and leak. Apparently the developer didn’t lay the cooling pipe properly and cause the leak. The quality of the finishing in the apartment isn’t great as well. First impression looks expensive but eventually you will realise the quality is like China made. Some of the design of the apartment is quite stupid where it’s clear that the architect or designer didn’t think from the user aspect. Limited power sockets in the apartment. Worst thing, our toilet was overflow due the back flow of discharge from the other unit/outside. And we were blame it was our fault but engineer and plumber have agreed that the fault must be in the communal pipe. No apology or follow up from the building management, and we have to clean it up ourself. If you are a tenant here in the development, you will be guarantee to be treated like a second class citizen. Don’t be fooled by their appearance. Avoid!

    Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

    The apartment is at a very good location. However there are limited useful shops around the area. It can be noisy sometime if your flat is facing the entrance especially if you are close to the refuse & delivery area as well as the pub nearby. Parking is very limited. It is a safe area to live in. Good transport link.

    How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

    If you are a landlord with lots of money, then yes, they treat you very nicely. If you are a tenant, be prepared to like a second class citizen. Bad.

    Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

    The hidden charges of utility bills. Beware that you will need to pay standing charge for cooling and heating even when you are not using.

    2

    Facilities

    2

    Design

    4

    Location

    1

    Value

    2

    Management


    Modern, quiet development for professionals

    Lois C (Tenant)

    Verified Resident

    Barts Square, EC1

    Oct 2021

    The design of the building is very modern, though it would be useful to have two lifts in the building. The cinema room is a nice feature, although a gym instead might have been more useful for most - though I recognise that there are plenty quite near. The concierge is helpful and friendly, but the property management (for my flat its Savill's) has been a bit slow. So long as they fix the issues they say they are going to, then I would have given more stars.

    Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

    The street is great, very quiet and clean. Small supermarkets are not too far and the transport links are good, close to barbican and st Paul's as well as city thameslink. Restaurants nearby could be a bit better/more of them.

    How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

    There were existing problems when I moved in recently, which I would have expected to be fixed in advance, so this was very disappointing. This is the property manager's fault rather than than landlord, as the landlord isn't involved.

    Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

    The property manager at Savill's seems to be progressing the issues, so even though they should have been fixed in advance, they will be sorted soon. The building is very warm, no need to use any heating system, and the windows are insulated against any noise. There are lots of switches in the cupboard involved with the heating system - it would have been good to have an explanation of these, so I know what they all do, as such I am still confused.

    4

    Facilities

    4

    Design

    4

    Location

    4

    Value

    2

    Management


    Overall good experience staying at barts square

    Claire L (Tenant)

    Barts Square, EC1

    Oct 2021

    The design is simple and classy. Minimalist style which is what I prefer. There is a cinema and lounge for the facilities at barts square; however I would prefer a gym or swimming pool. The building management is quite decent, however it doesn’t feel like they can help with personal requests which is the down side of it.

    Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

    It’s a very quiet area, located in a nice location. Nice range of food options. The transportation is very convenient, walking distance to stations.

    How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

    They are quite responsive; however when there’s an issue about the apartment, it took them weeks to send construction worker to fix it.

    Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

    Nice and quiet apartment with very convenient transportation nearby and good range of food options.

    3

    Facilities

    4

    Design

    5

    Location

    4

    Value

    3

    Management

    Review image for review 27fda5d4-8b8d-4fd1-98fd-4feb5e957436

    Perfect location for the central London

    Dmitry (Tenant)

    Barts Square, EC1

    Sept 2021

    Fantastic location. If you living in the centre of the city, it is the perfect spot. Nice and clean, hidden from the main roads and busy high streets noise. High quality facilities available for the residents. Cinema and a Dining Room provide that much needed options to change your environment.

    Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

    Absolutely fantastic location. Perfect public transport access to anywhere in London. It can get a bit noisy because of the restaurants and pubs around.

    How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

    I didn’t really had any actual problems with the apartment.

    Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

    Furniture was not as high quality as the overall apartment.

    5

    Facilities

    5

    Design

    5

    Location

    4

    Value

    5

    Management


    Page 1 of 4

    These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews