XY Apartments, NW1

XY Apartments, NW1

By
London Borough of Camden
Ranked 38th out of 56 in North London
4.00 (22 reviews) 4.00 (22 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.68
Facilities
4.27
Design
4.23
Location
4.00
Value
3.29
Management

Developed by the Camden Collection, XY Apartments is a scheme on York Way, one of the arterial roads into King’s Cross from north London. Residents are equidistant between Camden stations vibrant centre and King’s Cross’s six tube lines, intercity trains and the Eurostar. The development is made up of 273 one and two-bedroom apartments.

Read more Read less

XY Apartments, NW1 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

A dream flat, amazing value and in the most incredible location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

I cannot fault the flat, the design is to the highest specification and we have had absolutely no issues since moving in.
I love how soundproof the flats are, I have never once heard our neighbours.
Concierge are 24/7 and are so friendly and helpful

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Absolutely amazing flats, the value is incredible compared to other Kings Cross flats two minutes down the street.
Concierge are friendly and accommodating and there is a real sense of community in the block of flats, due to the WhatsApp group we have and socials we attend.
Kings Cross St Pancras station is on the doorstep, connecting to the rest of London, the UK and Europe.
Kings Cross has developed so much even in the 2 years we have lived here. There are so many bars, restaurants and offices creating a real buzz. Kings Cross management do regular events and I feel honoured to live in this location.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known just how quickly Kings Cross would be developed. We were initially worried that all the plans would never happen, how wrong we were! The area is beautiful and we are so lucky to be part of this community!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I genuinely cannot think of anything I could improve, this flat has completed exceeded our expectations and we intend to stay here for a very long time to come.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

WILL be GREAT (4-5 stars), but spoiled right now by slow resolution of teething problems

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Being next to Kings X Central is great and the homes are comfortable and represent good value.

There is also a good sense of community because we have had to get together to deal with many too many teething problems. Camden is responding but, in my opinion they hadn’t really understood what it takes to run a premium development. This means, while they say the processes and structures are now in place, still haven’t sorted out some fundamental issues with this development. Others have listed them, but here are the main ones:
– many of the units get much too hot (in the Tower especially), including at night. We think this may be due to the unvented hot water header tank in the same room as the ventilation unit, as well as a lack of lagging to the water pipes in the main services, which makes upper floor landings really warm. The benefit of this is some people NEVER have to put their heating on.
– there isn’t yet in place a process to clean the exterior pillars of the buildings. We are working on this.
– rubbish collection is unreliable because of uncontrolled parking on the estate behind (blocks the trucks)
– there have been multiple failures to hot water and lifts – though Camden claim these are fully resolved, we are yet to see concrete evidence of these (the lifts in 9c did fail recently)
– there aren’t yet abseiling points to the Tower roof which means the balcony glass to floors 5+ isn’t cleaned – again we are working with Camden on this
– transparency around the service charge is poor
– there are some people who have had significant numbers of snagging issues that remain unresolved. To be fair Camden have just instituted a new programme to try to get these finally fixed, but again, we are yet to see if this happens

More positively:
– we are able to deal with Camden CIP team at the highest levels, and they appear to have a positive attitude and a desire to change things. They say they have put processes in place that should improve all service to CIP residents (not just XY), but we are yet to see ANY REAL IMPROVEMENT to services. They are a council and they are SLOW.
– Savills and Camden’s direct management team reports has improved dramatically in terms of communications responsiveness, but problem resolution remains poor
– the concierge team are now really great, and the service they give has improved because of residents’ feedback
– there’s a good sense of community here and an informal residents’ group (ask at concierge, they can put you in touch)
– the buildings are secure and generally we have few security issues considering it’s an urban development, although there are one or two issues with specific people in a specific block that still need sorting out
– York Way is up and coming, but represents great value vs N1C, which is obscenely expensive!: the old Fayers site will eventually be replaced with new buildings, there are new plush offices opening in April 2020, Egg will be moving backward from York Way and further down Vale Royal (once Fayers is demolished), Tileyard (look it up) encourages young creative people to work in the area, Two Tribes and Little Creatures breweries are nearby and are great, the lower section of York Way (Kings X triangle extension) will soon develop and will have shops etc., and Facebook, Google, Adidas are all building offices in N1C…

In short, if you are looking to rent or buy, I would pause a few months, but do come back to these reviews once things have improved. We are keen that XY realises its true potential and many of us are working hard to ensure it does. We will be sure to shout about the improvements when they do, eventually, happen!

If you do intend to buy, these flats really do represent good value (that was one positive finding from the survey we conducted), so you WILL be comfortable and happy here. We just want you to be aware of these bumps in the road, so do get in touch with the residents’ group. I would negotiate very hard with Camden, and I would ask to be shown the units they are not listing – there are plenty that are unsold right now (Brexit I suspect), but I bet they aren’t listing all the available units right now.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Absolutely love my home

Review Date Sep 2019

I’m a private tenant and was lucky enough to be offered a Camden Living apartment. Prior to this I was in accommodation that was more than double the monthly rent and didn’t meet my needs as a disabled person. My XY flat is built with wheelchair accessibility in mind and is massive by London standards with loads of storage, underfloor heating and a balcony.

The flats were built onto the Eastern side of Maiden Lane estate, which is a large low rise council estate . Obviously my carer and I came to have a look at the area before we accepted the tenancy (I’m amazed that some purchasers of these properties claim to know nothing about it’s existence – it’s a thousand dwellings that have been here since the sixties – hard to miss). Obviously there is some antisocial behaviour which comes with such high density occupation – I haven’t witnessed any crime, but it is noisy, especially since there’s a nightclub on York Way. This can be a real problem during the summer, as the flats get very hot. Contrary to what another reviewer states, there is ventilation – an air-exchange system – but in the temperatures of 35 degrees plus this isn’t enough to cool the flats.

However, the flats are triple glazed, which means that when you shut the door, you can hear a pin drop which is amazing considering we’re slap bang in central London. This extra insulation means we barely need to use the heating even in mid winter, so our heating bills are very low.

We have a very helpful aftercare team who have helped us with any problems.

Despite the few cons listed above, I LOVE my apartment. Without it I would have the choice of a private rented bedsit with my carer sleeping on the sofa, or to have to move out of London away from my community. Camden Living have provided a precious lifeline to Londoners on a low income.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Pros
Brilliant transport links
Lovely community
Cons
Poverty and antisocial behaviour
Gentrification

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A quick Google streetview will tell you almost everything you need to know about the area. I wish we had a loading area on my street (Broadfield Lane) as it’s hard to receive deliveries. There hasn’t been the promised maintenance of the communal areas which is a real shame.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good design and location let down by poor management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Good design which blends in well with existing buildings and Im sure will stand the test of time, sadly Camden the developer has not included any communal facilities making it difficult for residence to come together as a community which i feel is a great shame especially as they sold the development as coming with community space and use off the rear gardens. To date Savills have proved to be very poor at managing the development putting all their efforts into sales and very little into after care and management.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This is a great area on the north side of Granary Square and Coal drops yard which is fantastic. Unfortunately currently let down by the mismanagement of the empty ground floor retail units and lack of street cleaning by both Camden and Islington councils.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had checked the lease thoroughly and checked against seller promises.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to change the developments Management

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Don’t fall for the outwardly appearance

Review Date Nov 2021

Where do I even start- we moved to XY Air in July 2021. The apartment looked in really good condition, freshly painted, good amenities and spacious 2 bedroom flat. We were so excited to be here.

However, our excitement was so short lived. In August, we stared noticing dampness on the walls in the living room and signs of leak were visible. We contacted our agent, who asked us to contact Camden Repairs directly and thus began the most tiresome months of our lives.

After contacting Camden repairs multiple times to flag them about a leakage, we were finally given an appointment to visit the flat in November. By the time it was November, the flat was literally in a derelict condition. The leak had caused all the walls to cave in and flooring started buckling and came off due to the water seeping into it.

Finally, in November the plumber fixed the leak however the apartment was in bad condition. We have been trying to contact Camden repairs every single since then to try and have someone replaster the walls and put new flooring but without any luck.

While those issues are the biggest, the apartment itself has multiple small issues that are frustrating to deal with.
-The windows don’t seal properly allowing loads of flies to come in the apartment.
-In summer, the apartment gets tooo hot.
-In winter the heating hasn’t been working in one of the rooms and Camden repairs can’t bother fixing it so sent us replacement portable heaters which just aren’t as effective.
-The lifts breakdown very often in the building.

Overall, the excitement of living in Central London, in such a great location has paled in comparison to the everyday problems we have had to deal with.

The only positive here is that the reception staff is super helpful, really friendly and really good with handling all the parcels that come in!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to Kings Cross and Camden.

Excellent transport links
Sainsburys local right next door and Waitrose a bit closer.
Area being developed massively so looks a bit rubbish right now but in the future has great potential.
Doesn’t feel too safe at night
Can be very loud, especially because of the club right opposite.
No issues with other building members or tenants.
Excellent reception staff.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Egg London next door which means it can get very noisy if the windows are open in the flat.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The property agent has been awful at responding to any issues and has been of no help. The repair company is a nightmare to deal with.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Up and coming area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

My apartment space is large and modern, it has an open plan which is great for me because i can watch my children play as i prepare dinner. There are large floor to ceiling windows which provide amazing sunlight. The bedrooms are relatively large for a 2 bedroom apartment. I feel very safe in my apartment due to the 24 hour security. Transport is limited as there is only one bus that stops outside our apartment however there are Santander bikes outside my apartment space which my husband finds so much more convenient.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
24 hour security

Dislikes
Low level crime
Noise due to construction

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known parking would be limited for both residents and visitors

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern and hi spec development in an ideal location, within a £3bn regeneration project.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

Great design in the flats and the communal areas. Done to a very high spec, with highest quality materials. Most flats offer incredible views of London, with clear views stretching from the shard and St Paul’s to Canary wharf. Polite and helpful concierge always there to help and there 24 7.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The King’s Cross redevelopment has been incredible, you can see why this development has been the most expensive in Europe. From the new modern shopping centre, the weekly canopy markets, everyman cinema to dishoom, the area has everything. Not only that but to the amazing transport links you can be in Edinburgh, Cornwall or even Paris and Amsterdam in hours. The best part is that there’s still so much development left to happen, including a new food court, leisure centre and arrival of the new Google HQ.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing, everything was per expectations. Make sure you find out about the area and the amount of investment in the area long term. This was the big seller of King’s Cross.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded well to issues and helped with snagging and defects

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful new flats with amazing London view

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The building is almost brand new, it’s beautiful and very ergonomically designed. The materials of the building are of high-quality, the double and triple glazed windows are soundproof and you can’t even hear the neighbors . The reception is and nice to have bonus and offers convenience. There is a bike storage in the building, so if you ride a bike it’s useful. The elevators in the communal areas are always clean and the proximity of the bins is perfect.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

York Way is being developed rapidly the last years and many new developments are being built, meaning that the whole area will be transformed in the future into something really nice. At the moment there aren’t many shops, restaurants nearby but, Granary Square which is a 10 minute walk away offers all those things. There is a street opposite of the development where usually there are parking spaces but obviously they’re not free. In general the area is good and feels safe. Opposite of the development there is also a club called Egg, which is attracting people, but the nice isn’t a problem thanks to the soundproofness of the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a new development being built opposite of the building, ants during the day with the windows open the noise can be quite high. However, our building has amazing soundproofness with double and triple glazed windows, so this isn’t an issue with the windows closed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management is easy to find via an email or a quick phone call, and they usually respond fairly quick.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovel building great location

Review Date Oct 2021

The design of the building is great and the large balconies which are essentially covered make them useful year round. Very happy that there is no sound leakage between flats.

It is unfortunate that they did not choose to put in a lounge / multi-purpose room for use by the residents, which would have been a useful amenity.

The concierges, after an initially bumpy period are great. However, the management company itself is poor and not very transparent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is fantastic. Obviously well connected to Kings Cross which seems to improve each time a development on the main estate is completed. However, it is also very close to Camden Town (there is a little used pedestrian bridge over the train tracks) at the back of Maiden Lane estate that is a useful shortcut.

Parking can be a problem as there is very limited visitor parking in the area (for handyman / contractors) this can be an issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Didn’t realize how close it was to both Camden and Angel.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As the snagging period is over, communication with the building management (aside from the concierges) is almost non-existent, which is the issue.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern up and coming area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Likes:
It is a good size for the price paid
It has 2 bathrooms for 2 bedrooms
Overlooks boths

Dislike
The layout is weird hard to put furniture
I’d change the the carpet floors and the layout and I’d love a dishwasher
And there was no washing machine when we moved in

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Great location
Great security
Ships nearby

Dislikes
I dont like having carpet floors
Ground floor bedrooms overlooks the streets

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No ventilation in the apartment space so it gets very hot throughout the year
I wish there were windows but we only have balcony doors so it is suseptible to crime

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home would be the Location or the size

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very happy with XY Apartments.

Review Date Oct 2021

The development is very sleek and modern – particularly the kitchen fittings which are wonderful and highly regarded by my partner who is a professional chef.

The building is well-managed by the concierge team who are very friendly and approachable. They are keen to assist you on any queries which have been a tremendous help.

Only issue we are experiencing is that BT does not provide good coverage in the building – we were downgraded to 6-20mbps which is a considerable amount given that we were on 60mbps in our previous home. We hope that BT will provide better coverage in the near future.

No further comments as we wouldn’t change anything about the development itself.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a small Sainsbury’s Local less than a minute walk from our building which is very convenient to grab any quick necessities. The closest large grocery shops are situated a short bus/tube journey away. There is a 390 bus right outside our building which conveniently takes you straight to Kings Cross station and/or Oxford Street.

Egg, a nightclub, is on the opposite side of the road and I heard it’s loud for some residents during Fri/Sat. However, my flat faces away from that direction so we can’t hear it.

I haven’t seen many options for parking, though we don’t require it. No issues with anti-social behaviour so far.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Do a bit more research / enquiries regarding the internet. If you are used to fast broadband, the building may not (yet) be equipped to provide you with good coverage.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

N/A – no problems so far.

The building management and our landlord have been superb and very friendly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of XY Apartments, NW1

Location

Number of developments 4

4.00

Average rating based on 40 reviews

View company