Image of XY Apartments, NW1

XY Apartments, NW1

View all by London Borough of Camden
Ranked 5th out of 30 in Camden
Area guide to Camden
3.53 Rating (based on 10 reviews) 10 reviews
Developed by the Camden Collection, XY Apartments is a scheme on York Way, one of the arterial roads into King’s Cross from north London. Residents are equidistant between Camden stations vibrant centre and King’s Cross’s six tube lines, intercity trains and the Eurostar. The development is made up of 273 one and two-bedroom apartments. Read more

Category Scores

3.30
Facilities
3.90
Design
4.30
Location
3.70
Value
2.89
Management

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Absolutely love my home

I’m a private tenant and was lucky enough to be offered a Camden Living apartment. Prior to this I was in accommodation that was more than double the monthly rent and didn’t meet my needs as a disabled person. My XY flat is built with wheelchair accessibility in mind and is massive by London standards with loads of storage, underfloor heating and a balcony.

The flats were built onto the Eastern side of Maiden Lane estate, which is a large low rise council estate . Obviously my carer and I came to have a look at the area before we accepted the tenancy (I’m amazed that some purchasers of these properties claim to know nothing about it’s existence – it’s a thousand dwellings that have been here since the sixties – hard to miss). Obviously there is some antisocial behaviour which comes with such high density occupation – I haven’t witnessed any crime, but it is noisy, especially since there’s a nightclub on York Way. This can be a real problem during the summer, as the flats get very hot. Contrary to what another reviewer states, there is ventilation – an air-exchange system – but in the temperatures of 35 degrees plus this isn’t enough to cool the flats.

However, the flats are triple glazed, which means that when you shut the door, you can hear a pin drop which is amazing considering we’re slap bang in central London. This extra insulation means we barely need to use the heating even in mid winter, so our heating bills are very low.

We have a very helpful aftercare team who have helped us with any problems.

Despite the few cons listed above, I LOVE my apartment. Without it I would have the choice of a private rented bedsit with my carer sleeping on the sofa, or to have to move out of London away from my community. Camden Living have provided a precious lifeline to Londoners on a low income.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Pros
Brilliant transport links
Lovely community
Cons
Poverty and antisocial behaviour
Gentrification

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A quick Google streetview will tell you almost everything you need to know about the area. I wish we had a loading area on my street (Broadfield Lane) as it’s hard to receive deliveries. There hasn’t been the promised maintenance of the communal areas which is a real shame.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

WILL be GREAT (4-5 stars), but spoiled right now by slow resolution of teething problems

Verified Resident

Being next to Kings X Central is great and the homes are comfortable and represent good value.

There is also a good sense of community because we have had to get together to deal with many too many teething problems. Camden is responding but, in my opinion they hadn’t really understood what it takes to run a premium development. This means, while they say the processes and structures are now in place, still haven’t sorted out some fundamental issues with this development. Others have listed them, but here are the main ones:
– many of the units get much too hot (in the Tower especially), including at night. We think this may be due to the unvented hot water header tank in the same room as the ventilation unit, as well as a lack of lagging to the water pipes in the main services, which makes upper floor landings really warm. The benefit of this is some people NEVER have to put their heating on.
– there isn’t yet in place a process to clean the exterior pillars of the buildings. We are working on this.
– rubbish collection is unreliable because of uncontrolled parking on the estate behind (blocks the trucks)
– there have been multiple failures to hot water and lifts – though Camden claim these are fully resolved, we are yet to see concrete evidence of these (the lifts in 9c did fail recently)
– there aren’t yet abseiling points to the Tower roof which means the balcony glass to floors 5+ isn’t cleaned – again we are working with Camden on this
– transparency around the service charge is poor
– there are some people who have had significant numbers of snagging issues that remain unresolved. To be fair Camden have just instituted a new programme to try to get these finally fixed, but again, we are yet to see if this happens

More positively:
– we are able to deal with Camden CIP team at the highest levels, and they appear to have a positive attitude and a desire to change things. They say they have put processes in place that should improve all service to CIP residents (not just XY), but we are yet to see ANY REAL IMPROVEMENT to services. They are a council and they are SLOW.
– Savills and Camden’s direct management team reports has improved dramatically in terms of communications responsiveness, but problem resolution remains poor
– the concierge team are now really great, and the service they give has improved because of residents’ feedback
– there’s a good sense of community here and an informal residents’ group (ask at concierge, they can put you in touch)
– the buildings are secure and generally we have few security issues considering it’s an urban development, although there are one or two issues with specific people in a specific block that still need sorting out
– York Way is up and coming, but represents great value vs N1C, which is obscenely expensive!: the old Fayers site will eventually be replaced with new buildings, there are new plush offices opening in April 2020, Egg will be moving backward from York Way and further down Vale Royal (once Fayers is demolished), Tileyard (look it up) encourages young creative people to work in the area, Two Tribes and Little Creatures breweries are nearby and are great, the lower section of York Way (Kings X triangle extension) will soon develop and will have shops etc., and Facebook, Google, Adidas are all building offices in N1C…

In short, if you are looking to rent or buy, I would pause a few months, but do come back to these reviews once things have improved. We are keen that XY realises its true potential and many of us are working hard to ensure it does. We will be sure to shout about the improvements when they do, eventually, happen!

If you do intend to buy, these flats really do represent good value (that was one positive finding from the survey we conducted), so you WILL be comfortable and happy here. We just want you to be aware of these bumps in the road, so do get in touch with the residents’ group. I would negotiate very hard with Camden, and I would ask to be shown the units they are not listing – there are plenty that are unsold right now (Brexit I suspect), but I bet they aren’t listing all the available units right now.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern up and coming area

Verified Resident

Likes:
It is a good size for the price paid
It has 2 bathrooms for 2 bedrooms
Overlooks boths

Dislike
The layout is weird hard to put furniture
I’d change the the carpet floors and the layout and I’d love a dishwasher
And there was no washing machine when we moved in

What is the best feature of your home?

The best feature of my home would be the Location or the size

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Great location
Great security
Ships nearby

Dislikes
I dont like having carpet floors
Ground floor bedrooms overlooks the streets

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No ventilation in the apartment space so it gets very hot throughout the year
I wish there were windows but we only have balcony doors so it is suseptible to crime

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern, convenient

Verified Resident

I like how my apartment space is modern with an open plan. The interior is very clean and this is also depicted in the design of the space.
Unfortunately there is no ventilation so is very hot throughout the year

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised?

We had an issue with the security doors but was dealt with 5 days later, so all in all they have a very slow response time with very slow response time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Access to transport links
Good night life.

Dislikes
A lot of construction so very noisy pollution

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Limited parking for visitors and residents
No Ventilation so gets very hot during the summer
Service charge.. dont know what is going towards

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Average

The area is good. There are many local transport links and good amenities, such as the Sainsbury’s nearby. The property is located right next to a local estate where there is a lot of crime and drug taking. High police presence which is annoying, but safe.

What is the best feature of your home?

The best feature of my home is the design, which is state of the art.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is good and central. Dislike the lack of good service.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish that I had known about the aspect of crime in this neighbourhood.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor

Verified Resident

There are non-transparent charges, there are charges for services that haven’t been affective at all.
Many of the services are in a state of disrepair, over all there is a lack of regard for customers.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that the bin store for adjoining estate is located directly opposite my private entrance

1
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Up and coming area

Verified Resident

My apartment space is large and modern, it has an open plan which is great for me because i can watch my children play as i prepare dinner. There are large floor to ceiling windows which provide amazing sunlight. The bedrooms are relatively large for a 2 bedroom apartment. I feel very safe in my apartment due to the 24 hour security. Transport is limited as there is only one bus that stops outside our apartment however there are Santander bikes outside my apartment space which my husband finds so much more convenient.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
24 hour security

Dislikes
Low level crime
Noise due to construction

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known parking would be limited for both residents and visitors

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

You’ll find the XY Apartments in one of the most well-connected areas of London

The XY Apartments development in north-west London couldn’t be closer to Kings Cross St Pancras. That is, unless it was actually built within the station itself. It’s therefore great for those after quick public transport links both further into the capital and for trips further afield. The Victoria, Northern, Circle, Metropolitan, Piccadilly and the Hammersmith and City lines all stop here, so commuters are almost spoilt for choice.

The development houses just under 300 one, two and three-bedroom apartments. All have a high-end finish, with bright and spacious living areas, huge windows and large balconies as standard. A standout feature is the fantastic views of the capital. Kitchens are well equipped with integrated appliances and ample storage space, while bathrooms are chic spaces tiled from floor to ceiling, and come with excellent storage space. Some units have en suites to the master bedroom.

In terms of onsite facilities, there’s a concierge service around the clock and plenty of storage space for bicycles. You won’t find any leisure facilities at XY Apartments, but with such a central location it doesn’t seem to be a drawback for residents.

Please disclose any commercial relationship to this development or developer:

None

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
Read all Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report