Verto, RG1

Verto, RG1

By
CNM Estates
4.26 (16 reviews) 4.26 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.88
Facilities
4.56
Design
4.56
Location
4.00
Value
3.38
Management

Excellent

63%

Very Good

6%

Average

31%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Verto, by CNM Estates, sits on the banks of the river Kennet in the centre of Reading. Comprising of a range of one, two and three-bedroom apartments, residents here benefit from restaurants, on-site parking and new public realm. Completed in 2018, this development is just 24-minutes away from Paddington Station.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

24/7 traffic noise in Verto

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

in general, the building design and facilities are good, but won’t choose to live here as the noise are unbearable. I can’t even hear the TV sound or talk with someone in the flat if I have opened the window.
the building/ property management seems don’t care about the living of the resident, our lift has only been fixed after HALF year broke down, and I can’t believe why there are so many facilities broke down with only 3 years built.
they decided to not cleaning the window because ONE resident have a birds nest outside of her window. and it has been over 7 months without cleaning the window of the whole block.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

chose to live here because of the prime location and persuade on quality of life. but that’s exactly the opposite that what I was expecting.

Bad side:
– SUPER NOISY, you can hear the ambulance noise in EVERY HOURS or POP & BANG vehicle noise throughout the whole day, or even during midnight, Kings road is one of the main roads in Reading, police car, ambulance, fire truck, deliveroo motorcyclist all using this road 24/7, even you have closed the double glazed window, it can still wake you up in the midnight, and don’t even think of open the window during summer.
– as it’s too noisy to open the window, the average flat temperature will be around 27 -29 degree
– if you open the window at night, loads of flies from the river will fly into your flat cause they were attracted by light
– they NEVER clean up the window since I move in, was being told it will be done once a month
– building management is absolutely a joke, the second lift only been fixed after a HALF YEAR broke down, which means over a hundred residents sharing ONE lift
– NO HOT WATER, it was horrible that the water boiler been broke down in July TWICE
– the air conditioner in the common room seems never going to fix, when every time you need it during the heatwave, will be told it’s broke down.
– parking of the premises is limited. or you can choose the closest and MOST EXPENSIVE council car park in Reading by paying £177 pcm
– Ridiculous energy bill, since it’s central heating, we only notice the energy bill after we moved in

Good side:
– prime location, 5mins walk to Reading High st. , also close to Reading train station
– good quality of white goods in the flat (bosch, siemens electric appliances)
– lounge, gym and common room are clean
– the receptionist is responsive
– residents are friendly
– Spacious cupboard and bathroom

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how noisy it is. if so I won’t decide to move in. my only wish is to move out and find somewhere that is quiet so that I could have a good rest at night. Imagine the pop and bang vehicle stays until 23:00 and start having ambulance noise at 6 am every morning.
and my property agent did not inform me about the energy bill before I move in, it’s the extra cost other than rent.
and i have a car with me, I can only opt for the most expensive car park in Queen’s road, and it’s unsafe to walk in the midnight

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Unresponsive building management, the snagging, air con in common room and gym, life, window cleaning, boiler
all are unexpectedly slow responsive

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  Verto, RG1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Verto Development Review – highly recommended as a place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The building and apartment I am living in itself are both stunning – I honestly could not have been happier when I moved in as a tenant to rent a 2-bedroom apartment just 6 months ago.
The design is very modern and stylish (my friend actually calls it a hotel after visiting once!). The hallways in the building are well decorated and there is access to all floors via 2 elevators and a staircase. The flat itself is also very modern with smooth wood flooring in the kitchen/living room, and carpets in the bedrooms. Underfloor heating is very cozy. Floor to ceiling windows and a private balcony give stunning views over the river, across the town center, and further into the distant countryside from the 10th floor, and there is even 9th and 6th floor communal terraces where you can bring people to socialize (not to mention a gym and kitchen/living room-type area available for all residents to share).
There are no complaints with building management – the place is kept in excellent clean condition by management and there is always a concierge on hand during the day should any issues arise. The bins in the bin area (separate room) can get full quickly with around 100 apartments in the block, but it’s never a long-lasting issue.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very convenient regarding transport links, with Reading train station a 10 minute walk away, which has trains running direct to London Paddington in 25 minutes. Of course, the train station also has services to many other destinations across southern England.
Local amenities are in abundance, with many pubs, bars and restaurants on the doorstep; The Oracle shopping mall is also a 5 minute walk away. It’s great having so many amenities on your doorstep overall, however there is a pub next door that does generate noise into the night until pub closing time. The noise is not too bad with windows shut, but can be disturbing to sleep with windows open. The only other drawback here is that the closest supermarket is a 5 minute walk way (it’s not even that much of a drawback, and there is a corner shop across the road for essentials). Overall, amazing local area, with the drawbacks mentioned considered a small price to pay by myself.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How to operate the heating – the setup of the thermostat is a bit complicated.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view from the 10th floor south-facing private balcony across the river, town center and into the countryside is second to none.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building is new and nicely designed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The building is new and nicely designed. There is a concierge who will take care of the parcels when you are not home. The care taker is very nice and good in communication with tenants.

The flush button of the family bathroom is behind the toilet cover. You have to lower the board before you can flush the toilet. Besides, it takes quite long time to repair facilities in the building. For instance, the boiler was out of order 2 times in July-September. It takes an average of 2-3 days to get it repaired. Besides, one of the lifts was out of order for a couple of weeks in July / August and recently back to work. There is very minimal carpark space available for tenant’s use. Tenants have to go to the nearby car park to rent a place, which induces significant inconvenience.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

VERTO is only minutes away from City Centre and is very convenient as there are many shops, supermarkets, banks, restaurants, etc.. Bus stop is just opposite to the building and is also very convenient.

However, there are a lot of noises from the busy traffic on the neighbouring road, especially the siren noise from ambulances passing by almost ten times a day, perhaps due to the nearby hospital. You can still hear some noise even you have shut all the windows. Together with the noises is the dust from their emissions.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the traffic noise before I moved in, particularly the busy ambulance.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The concierge respond to every email tenant sent and will explain and address the problem. But most of the time, the maintenance work takes long time to complete.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Verto, RG1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Verto Tower: excellent, modern place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The design is very appealing and modern, and the facilities available for include a small gym, a communal room, and communal terraces on the 6th and 9th floors, which are particularly nice to have. Building management is the drawback here; they took 6 months to fix one of the elevators and even left both of the elevators not working for a couple of weeks at one point. Getting them to fix a small issue in our flat has been impossible, with them ignoring us continually. Despite this, the building is still an amazing place to live, and probably could contend for the nicest in Reading.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops have all the range you could desire, with Reading town centre a 5-minute walk and London a further 30-minute train ride away. The only drawbacks are noise from pubs next door and sometimes traffic noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really. The taps build up a lot of limescale and can block the shower if not maintained with limescale remover. I had this issue after a couple of months after moving in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As mentioned above, they have not been good. Some things they have done no problem, it is simply the ignoring over one of our issues that is a problem.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I really like the see through balconies and size of windows

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the building is beautiful, I really like the see through balconies and size of windows. The facilities have been a bit disappointing though, as we were expecting there to be a restaurant but no supplier has come forward to operate it yet. The management haven’t been great in the past, however, there is a new group who are trying to make more of an effort to improve service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great central location, nearby to pretty much everything needed so personally you may not need a car. Although noise can be a bit of a problem, especially police sirens or people making noise after a night out.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t normally dwell on ifs or buts, although possibly the noise as I realised the windows were not as soundproof as I initially assumed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Being a new built, various issues occurred over time, whether it be in the flats or common areas of the building. Overall the response was good, although occasionally there were delays which the residents found absurd, as the constructor and management company couldn’t resolve between themselves on who should address the particular issue.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Verto, RG1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Building management doesn’t responds to emails and they are not very helpful people.

Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the building is great but yes there are issues with building management. Building management team takes lots of time in fixing the issues with lifts, hot water etc. The windows were last cleaned six months ago and now they are so dirty that we can not even see outside from our apartment which kills the amazing view we have from the windows. Building management doesn’t responds to emails and they are not very helpful people.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is great. It’s 10 mins walk to Oracle Mall and city center. It’s 15 mins walk to Reading Railway Station as well as many bus stops near by. Best Pubs and restaurants are very nearby by as well as view of Kenet River is amazing from the apartments in building. As it’s on King’s Road which is the main central road so its bit difficult to get parking close by but parking spots can be found if you are ok with few minutes of walk from the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The issue with hot water. The pressure is terrible and even engineer was not able to fix it which gives us hard time in winters as we have a baby.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management doesn’t respond well to issues or problems. They don’t reply on emails and take lot of time in fixing the issues with lift, hot water, window cleaning etc. I have complained many times about windows being so dirty that we can not clearly see the view outside but they don’t respond back. The windows were cleaned 6 months ago and are terribly dirty now.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice attractive development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Nice attractive building at centre of town. There is a small residential gym only for the residents (also a full fledge gym just couple of doors away). Famous pub and pizza restaurant next door is quite handy. Building is well kept in terms of maintenance and repairs. Building Management has been recently changed due to issues with prior management company – so things have improved significantly simce then.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is at centre of town – within few minutes of walking distance. Also close to parks and canal walks. Bus stops just outside of property to go either way of Reading and mainline train station less than 10 minutes away by walk. Area is lively and not boring.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Biggest issue has been no accountability or proper issue management. I wouldn’t have bought the flat if I knew about the poor quality of after sales care and customer service. So advice:

Never buy a property if Henry Construction is involved in construction of property and always buy from CNM only if all snags and issues are resolved beforehand.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building Management was recently changed about 6 months ago and they have taken over mostly the inefficiencies from prior management. Things are improving with 2 years warranty period expiring and management company started responding slowly. Recent incorporation of Residents Leaseholder Association has also started asking questions from management and landlord and putting pressure to improve things.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great building; Awful male concierge

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The property management company (Warwick Estates) are the epitome of horror. Little regard for leaseholders and absolutely no care for “tenants”. The initial two concierge’s (supplied by Warwick) were fantastic. Since one left, the new gent is the most racist, unhelpful and disrespectful person we have ever come across.

Proof has been sent to both CNM and Warwick yet nothing happens.

The building is great (once snags have been fixed) but we’d advise against it due to the concierge making life hell.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to the town, restaurants and the train station which is excellent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we had known that the property management company was so bad.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

There is nothing within the property we would change.

2
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good looking development, but lack of committment from the developer.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Nice building, but the developer and constructors are not professional. We had a lot of issues, water leaks, poor communications about the deliveries etc.
Gym facilities are smaller than expected. Cleaning service must improve. Windows have not been cleaned for a year!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Near to the city center, but too much traffic

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

quality of the construction.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Much better than the previous one, but still they are behind a lot of issues in the building.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect location in Reading

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

All good. Nothing specific to mention. The concierge is always there and supportive whenever required. Also building management is sending proper comms periodically to announce any changes. The building is new. Modern and clean. The apartment has a river view.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Verto is located in the center of the downtown i.e. very close to Oracle mall, restaurants and bars. Also it’s only 10 mins walking distance to the Reading train station. The building is new and modern.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing on top of my mind honestly speaking

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Prompt responses whenever required support or when I have any inquery.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Verto, RG1
User submitted image of Verto, RG1
User submitted image of Verto, RG1

Location

Number of developments 1

4.26

Average rating based on 16 reviews

View company