Kennet Island, RG2

Kennet Island, RG2

By
Berkeley Homes
Ranked 7th out of 8 in Reading
4.12 (based on 17 reviews) 4.12 (17 reviews)

Category Scores

3.94
Facilities
4.35
Design
4.29
Location
4.00
Value
3.76
Management

Excellent

35%

Very Good

47%

Average

18%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Kennet Island, by Berkeley Homes, sits just 3 miles from Reading town centre. Surrounded by acres of green space, the development comprises of a range of apartments, Central Piazza with water feature, established community and other amenities. As well as this, the development is just an 8-minute bus journey to Reading train station.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Kennet Island – safe and convenient location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

The development has a modern design and good energy efficiency rating B and C, very pleasant to leave during winter months with minimum heating required. There are also good bus services to city centre . The property management is responding fairly fast for reported issues.
The missing elements for me are trees around small park, during hot summer, its difficult to find any shadow outside.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

For me personally this is very convenient location , reducing the commuting time. There is easy walking distance to Morrison and Aldi supermarkets. Also Pure Gym is in a nearby area.
There is also small coffee shop near water fountain with very friendly staff, serving all day breakfast and you can buy also fresh bread twice a week from a local bakery

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was aware of bus stop located on the main street of development, but an unpleasant surprise for me was little tremors inside apartment when buses are going fast. Occasionally disturbing is also a smell from recycling side located nearby.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home are location and energy efficiency

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Kennet Island, RG2
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Kennet Island a place to call our home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Our apartment so far has been kept in fairly good condition since we have moved 3 years ago. We are very pleased with energy efficiency rating as we have tested throughout 3 winters with no cold but only warm feeling temperature inside our apartment at very low cost. The only drawback of our place of living is that our bathroom does not have a window as sometimes when take a shower or a bath there could be some excess humidity with no escape to outside, and fresh air intake. The property management so far so good,

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall, facilities, public transport and maintenance management are of good standard. However, access to shops and restaurants are very limited in terms of choices.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Currently we are still happy with our home but if I wold have a choice of changing one thing which I was not aware first when I moved in, would be to ask the Council or property management to find a different route for bus service, as sometimes the buses are too noisy and going too fast causing little tremors.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of our home is energy efficiency.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Generally nice, could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Nice development, well built attractive buildings. Some anti social behaviour in the area, due to proximity to Whitley. Lack of CCTV is disappointing, as this would prevent it. Hallmark are available when needed, and generally respond quickly. Fairly high service charge. Landscaping consists of chopping down all bushes to roots.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent local cafe – fidget and Bob. Not much else in terms of amenities. Local Hudson’s shop, but expensive and not much selection. Morrison’s and aldi within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The anti social behaviour in the area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Door entry system stopped working. Hallmark sent out person to repair fairly quickly.

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy to be a part of Kennet Island

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

We shifted in this development last year and we were really happy with the building designs. We really appreciated the effort of the management team to keep the surrounding clean and always ensuring the development area is tidy and beautiful. We really like the deck where can see beautiful sunsets and sunrise.
We were absolutely delighted to see the jogging routes and made us to think that how much this development is concerned about the health of the people residing in it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Me as well as my family really like the environment, surrounding, management endulged with peaceful area.

I can’t really say anything i dislike about this development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is no any such thing that we felt that we should have known earlier.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

We are really with our house but if there is anything if we could change could be to have a loft room.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Kennet Island, RG2
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I will give this development 9 out of 10. And I think I will have good memories here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

1. The design of this development is pretty modern. I most like the square near the entrance, where has a fountain there and some trees. It makes me feel we are in ONE community rather than individual property owner.

2. Facilities are good. There are bats around the corner and chairs in playground.

3. Management side is fair and needs more improvement. Especially if some chairs and lights out of order, they need to fix them but quicker.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the design of the development. The dislike part is the location a bit close to the recycling center.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Under certain weather, the air is pretty smelly, which I think is due to recycling center.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I will change the face direction. I will prefer south-face property.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall can’t complain

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Design is great lots of residents and don’t feel cramped good amounts of parking facilities do lack though and could do with more amenities and management being easier to contact. Need assistance with cladding but that hasn’t been updated in a long time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Noise disturbances from non development people going through good shop and cafe could do with a bar or pub

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There neighbours had a pet elephant upstairs

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes but not in the most helpful way often to tell you they need access during the week with little notice prior or giving incorrect info

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Property Management is Pathetic

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Design is not well thought of, the design could have been better. The property management is pathetic. Instead of giving house owners to select property management , the builder had selected and we are left with no choice and we are paying huge sums every year with no zero value for money

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quite good and decent neighbourhood. The things I dislike is property management company opted by Cala

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Snagging

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Design of the property and property management company if it was in my remit

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Kennet island

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Love the design, especially the piazza square with fountain, trees and lights. Lovely central area. Lots of nice green areas to use. Communication from building management could be improved, we do not hear about cleaning outside windows or potential noise disturbances from landscaping, they just show up and do the work.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good local shops and green spaces. Good transport links and is close to large supermarket. The area has a problem with vandalism and theft, generally from people outside Kennet island, coming specifically for theft

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking can be limiting.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Semi in Kennet Island

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The 2 bed semi is extremely spacious, up and downstairs. 10years old, and still in excellent condition. the Garden is south facing and a very good size in relation to the house.
No experience of building management as i own the property. Love the house, the only thing i would change is the location within the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have loved living here, the 2 bed house is extremely spacious, the location is very good. It is within 5-10 min walking distance to; supermarkets, coffee shop, clothing shops, pet stores. There are local walks along the canal, and around green park. The local bus stops are close, 2-3 mins walk, and frequent. The only downside is the social housing, and frequent police call outs.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The proximity of my specific house to the junction

What is the best feature of your home:

South Facing garden, and big windows in the bedrooms. Also the spacious hallway.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

practical and boujee style of living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The building/property management and facilities are well organised and routinely carried out. The apartment designs are both practical and aesthetically pleasing. The communal areas and services available near by are an excellent addition to the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has limited resident and visitor parking and when applying for a permit, it takes a while to arrive which leaves you at risk of a penalty charge. Very well located for all amenities.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Accessing my part of the island from the A33 was confusing to start with little knowledge of the area but that changed once I managed to find my way around

What is the best feature of your home:

The home is modern and all appliances and instillations are good quality and in great condition

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Kennet Island, RG2
User submitted image of Kennet Island, RG2

Location

Berkeley Homes

About Berkeley Homes

Berkeley Homes is part of Berkeley Group – one of Britain’s best-known property developers. Operating across London, Birmingham and the…
Number of developments 22

4.25

Average rating based on 652 reviews

View company