Hartnalls Farm, TA2

Hartnalls Farm, TA2

By
Persimmon Homes
4th
Ranked 4th out of 10 in Somerset
3.80 (26 reviews) 3.80 (26 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.50
Facilities
3.77
Design
4.15
Location
3.96
Value
3.46
Management

Hartnalls Farm is a collection of homes in the the village of Monkton Heathfield. Offering a choice of 2, 3 & 4 bedroom homes just to the north of Taunton.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Not the worst place to live, certainly not the best by a long shot

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Haven’t had estate management yet as still building. Builders very noisy obviously but hopefully will be quieter once they are done. Roads not wide enough and cars (residents and builders) and lorries park everywhere, including blocking your drive access. Improving slightly as building us finishing at the front but often access to the estate would be completely blocked. Worrying that there was no other access in or out in an emergency. Grass is cut frequently and the entrance to the estate looks fairly tidy. Roomy for houses at front of estate but gets more squashed further in. Flags annoying and noisy in the wind as they are close to our house. Flood light from show home and flapping flags results in a bright light show through our back windows. The houses seem OK quality though the walls are thin, you can literally put a nail in with your thumb… handy to hang pictures but blinds etc have started falling off after 2 years. House covered in mud and dust from building work, again this is improving though. Green spaces around the estate look nice enough and the estate looks pleasing when you enter. Some bits of pavement not fully tarmacced although the pavement has been there nearly 2 years. House numbers and road names very confusing, often gave people at our door asking for directions.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not a lot in the local area. One shop, a pub and some schools. A fair few parks for the children and some nice areas to walk the dogs. Good access to Bridgwater. Traffic through Taunton is horrendous and the main road into Taunton has been made impossible to get out of. Parking situation is rubbish and often people park opposite t-junctions and hanging across corners. People have 2 spaces on drives but leave them empty and park on the road. Roads not wide enough especially on corners. Bus stops along the road. Bin collections are fine, though recycling has been missed on a number of occasions. Very noisy place to live. The road is noisy and can hear bikes racing alongthe main road and all down the connecting dual carriageway. Residents are quite noisy with cars and motorbikes seems to be particularly noisy in the evening. As we are front of estate everyone zooms past us with loud cars and bikes. Also currently a fair amount of building noise and frequently hace military helicopters flying low. Dog poo quite often left in communal spaces but no poo bins which would help.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How constantly noisy it would be. Would not have moved if I could have known that

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Dishwasher door fell off so they replaced it but that took a while but during first lockdown so to be expected

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pretty Good!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

There are a few large green spaces which is really nice, and the garden sizes in at least our phase have been quite generous for new builds!
The roads could have done with being a little bit wider as we have issues reversing into our drive when people have parked on the road opposite, but thats not a huge problem as we know people need to use the space for visitors, etc!
The one thing that we were really disappointed with was the last of internet connection when we moved in, as with everyone else who moved in at the same time as us! The infrastructure wasn’t set up and we were without a proper internet connection for months after we moved in, also through the pandemic when we were all told to work from home, it was almost impossible! We were compensated afterwards, but it was very stressful!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walking distance from local co-op, pub and school
Bus stop close to the estate, but doesn’t run very late, however there are Zipp scooters available
If you live at the front of the estate, you will more than likely hear the cars that like to race up and down the new roads through the night as the sound echos, which isn’t great, but quiet on the actual estate itself.
The estate would benefit from dog poo bins as there have been a lot of issues with people letting their dogs foul on the green spaces and not picking it up, adding these possibly could improve the problem.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Poor mobile signal! Signal is fine outside the house, but for some reason non-existent inside!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We moved in just before the pandemic, so we had issues getting our snagging list fixed, one minor item was on there for over a year.
However, we had a window crack randomly and it was responded to and fixed very quickly!
We were visited frequently enough (not so much it was annoying!) to check how we were getting on and people working on the site are generally very considerate and helpful

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Houses are nicely designed but do feel that 2 car park spaces would make a huge difference for day to day living.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Houses are nicely designed but do feel that 2 car park spaces would make a huge difference for day to day living. We have been really pleased with the after service, the only issue was the clay soil in the garden which proved very challenging. The site is still in the early stages so cannot comment on facilities etc but the site team are polite and they are very respectful with the comings and going’s. We have been happy with the finish and quality of our home and the service for the 6 month after care and have encountered no problems when requiring assistance after that initial time. Have not had a reason to review the property management other than fact that grass areas are cut regularly at this time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is very good, estate is within the catchment for good schools, has a local shop and is only 10 minutes from the town. Parking is not good on the estate and roads are just a bit to narrow really. It would be far better if every house had 2 spaces or there was an area for visitor parking also. Too many dropped curbs or T junctions for parking on the road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bad, the clay soil was horrific
I would have liked to know my house was going to have steps as I would have had an outside light fitted
Parking is tight, select a plot carefully

Good, really pleased with the house and design and after service

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded in an acceptable time scale, all issues must be logged by an email generally and a response has been received with 48 hours, when we just moved in the site team did respond if at hand straight away and care round regularly to check all was good

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good area and lovely houses

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Design of the property is very nice and good value for money for the location, as Monkton Heathfield is highly sought after. The downstairs and main bedroom are generously proportioned, the second bedroom is slightly smaller and wouldn’t be useable as a double bedroom due to the addition of the office room, however the office room is very practical if you work from home as a dedicated space to work (but you need obviously don’t have to use this as an office if not applicable, it could also be used as a small nursery or dressing area if required). Property and building management has been good, I’ve not had any major issues to report but persimmon homes via aster have been very helpful with property management.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is very nice, Monkton Heathfield is a lovely little village with a local pub and convenient shop. There are lots of open spaces on the development and nearby facilities such as a park and fields and I believe a cricket ground. Bin collections are regular, never had an issue with parking as it is allocated, however if I lived in a household with more than one car and only one allocated space I could foresee that there could be issues with availability. Traffic noise is minimal however due to ongoing building works on the development you do hear workers but that is to be expected.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It would have been useful to know more about the services I.e WiFi and gas and electric as to which providers could service the area and which couldn’t yet. For the record, in the end I found that persimmons own WiFi company fibrenest were the best overall for pricing and quality.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded very quickly and efficiently, all queries were dealt with promptly and in terms that were easy to understand.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

In general our experience has been good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

In general our experience has been good. We have had minimal issues with the house, and initially upon moving in issues we did locate were resolved. The house design is good, we have good facilities and the development itself will in time have good facilities such as a little park etc. We however since being in the property beyond 6 months, had issues with correspondence from the developer in terms of any further issues we found with the house and upon receiving contact (after nearly 2 months of many emails to them) they refused to solve these problems and therefore we now have to do these ourselves, all of which are either material or build issues. This however would be my only complaint

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area in monkton Heathfield is lovely and in general very quiet. There is a lot of through traffic through the village however this is almost never heard from our property, it only affects driving time (this is greatly increased currently due to many road closures and diversions throughout taunton). The area has a little coop which is suffice for ‘quick’ trips to the shop. Anything else we need is a short drive into Taunton which is no issue for us. The bin collection in general has been good, there has been 2/3 occasions where the recycling hasn’t been collected, however this is partially expected throughout the pandemic. There are a good amount of open spaces for dog walking, which is great for us – lovely little walks around the fields and village areas. There is two pubs and a garden centre (which has a lovely cafe) also which is great.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be INCREDIBLY thorough with your snagging ASAP because they will ‘forget’ about you after the first month or so!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Initially yes (first few weeks of snagging) however then refused to engage or solve build/material issues without any discussion.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy with property and surroundings overall

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Hartnells farm is a well designed development of well designed houses using a varied range of materials giving a good sense of individuality often missing with this type of estate development.
The building management is generally good but there have been a few minor incidents where attention to detail has been lacking. Although in the main I am very happy with the property and area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links are excellent, close the bus routes, train station and M5 motorway and a little over an hour from either Bristol or Exeter airports. Many pubs and restaurants within a few miles. Parking could be better planned. Spaces are small and limited in number leading to people parking on the roadside on roads that are quite narrow. Some traffic noise but not excessive. Long wait for council bins to be available on this new estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nil

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Snag list returned in the lead up to Xmas. Unable to respond until after the Xmas holiday. Had to repair the leaking shower door myself. Kitchen cupboard soft close mechanisms that were missing were then replaced with substandard non matching catches. Resorted to purchasing and fitting better quality ones myself.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely house, quiet area, developers ok, shared ownership shambles

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Aster and persimmons link is terrible. Persimmons won’t deal with anything as claim it’s logged outside of period, but it wasn’t, aster then take forever as they need to constantly ask persimmons. It’s a ring round that takes ages. We’ve been in the property for 6 months, and the property is lacking snagging, I don’t think it was even completed. The design is overall good but lots of problems. And seems things weren’t completed correctly, or strong enough, we have holes in the bricks, chipped worktops and also drains hanging off out the back. No cupboard door on the kitchen sink door, as it fell off WEEK TWO. Terrible. The facilities are okay, nothing really nearby – and no lights in parking lot. Not strict to parking bays for out the front.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s terrible for parking round here. People who don’t live on your street park outside house, you get one allocated space hut when guests come no where to park! Terrible lights to car park at night.
Good as it’s quiet area and friendly neighbours.
Buses seem to run regularly.
One shop nearby which is good but expensive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Terrible and slow and state we broke and damaged everything, which we have not done. It’s stressful and annoying fighting a losing battle.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development for small families and first time buyers.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The design of the development is a good one for our plot. We don’t have any houses opposite us and behind our garden is a car park, meaning we don’t have any houses looking directly into our home. The development has been built with recreation in mind, with several green spaces for dog walking and children being able to play. There are down sides, especially with the width of some of the roads. Due to there being too many cars on the development, it can often feel clogged and difficult to drive around.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is located perfectly in order to commute North on the M5, with just a 5 minute drive to Junction 24 at Bridgwater. It’s also just a 5 minute drive to Junction 25 of the M5 and has good links to Yeovil. The area is a small Co-Op shop nearby, as well as Aldi a 5 minute drive away. Recycling collections occur once a week, with waste collections every other week. The development is now managed by Neighbourhood Watch and has close links to the local community hall. It has good areas to walk dogs, as well as a cricket club and park close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

What to be looking out for when snagging, and ensuring you take as much time as possible to sort this process.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More dog waste bins available in and around the property because it can often be difficult to walk on the green areas without stepping in mess.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spectacular area

Review Date Oct 2021

Everything is good except there is no space for a dishwasher in the kitchen. I was also told there would be a third bathroom upstairs on the top floor alongside the other 2 bathrooms however, when I got here the bathroom was not there. Other than that, it’s all good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s alright living here, the only problem would be that there is a lot of traffic coming through the area where I live so it’s hard to get into town.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I did not wish to know anything else before I moved in here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All problems were solved when I reported them and they were solved fast.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Very happy with the house only minor snagging and sorted quickly. House has enough storage the 3 built in cupboards have taken what I need. But am glad there is only me as overall it is quite small. (its a 3 Bed semi ). The estate is kept clean with a road sweeper going around and the communal grounds have been kept maintained. Generally all is good don’t regret moving here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local area is great with lots of walks out into the countryside but still only 10 mins into Taunton. Couple of local restaurants, large destination garden centre and a local co op and hairdresser. Main bus route into Taunton. Parking is an issue, not enough spaces so pavement parking creates a nusiance. It seems a relatively quiet area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The houses at the back ,same type as mine, are being built higher so they over look. The land must be sloping but that gradient wasnt noticable when it was just a field.

You dont see that on the plans and I may have picked a different plot if had I known.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Snagging was only very minor and all has been sorted. Shrinkage has been minimal too but did follow the advice in the booklet.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Hartnalls Farm, TA2
User submitted image of Hartnalls Farm, TA2

Location

Persimmon Homes
Number of developments 35

3.49

Average rating based on 572 reviews

View company