Edenbrook Village, GU51

Edenbrook Village, GU51

By
Berkeley Homes
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 12 in Hampshire
4.27 (33 reviews) 4.27 (33 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.12
Facilities
4.21
Design
4.55
Location
3.97
Value
3.67
Management

Edenbrook Village is a collection of 2, 3, 4 and 5 bedroom new homes conveniently located, just 2 miles from the centre of the sought after town of Fleet. Set on the edge of a stunning 82 acre Country Park,

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

With a few tweaks, a decent location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

The development itself has a rather dangerous entry once passing the Leisure Centre at the t-junction. The road is not wide enough & you cannot see if anything’s coming & there is not enough room for two vehicles to pass. This needs re-thinking urgently.
It’s a shame so many properties are so overlooked from other properties, though most do expect this when buying on such developments.
As mentioned, we could do with a small convenience store – ideally with a Post Office counter & a post box. That said, I doubt the cost justifies it – but those moving into the development would really need a vehicle. I’m not aware of what the bus services are like.
The grounds appear to be maintained well. I do however have issues with the positioning of trees & shrubs next to parking spaces – no consideration for vehicles have been taken here.
Parking is not an issue generally – it only becomes a problem if someone has a party or gathering with many visitors.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Edenbrook is close enough to the town centre, but far enough out too. It’s a bit of a trek to the station if unable to drive (which is extortionate to park at the station) or cycle (bikes are reportedly frequently stolen from the station).
Sadly we’ve lost our closest Post Office, so it’s not very convenient when needing such services. Whilst Morrison’s is around 1.5 miles away, we would benefit from a small convenience store on the development.
There are some lovely local pubs, most of which would be quiet a walk – however, I personally wouldn’t one any closer for the anti-social behaviour/noise that inevitably comes with that.
Apart from a few noisy instances, we have (so far) been lucky with anti-social behaviour. There are always a few that could do with learning what consideration of others means.
Traffic before & after school is awful. Hitches Lane comes to a complete stop due to the poor layout not allowing for filtering to the school. I have witnessed many times people then using the opposite Lane to bypass it, which is dangerous & senseless – although I completely understand the frustration.
Lovely to have the Country Park on our doorstep. Sadly we are losing too much green/outdoor space, so we need to be protecting what little is left.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The infestation of worms & similar creepy crawlies in the winter & when it rains heavily!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fobbed off whenever reported anything – such as the location of trees/shrubs & the dangerous junction.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A lovely peaceful development in the heart of Hampshire

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Edenbrook Village is a lovely development. Design is very nice, nice green open spaces and landscaped areas.

A shame that recently a large apartment block (council owned) was installed. Would be nicer without this, however the building is well landscaped and had been zero disruption from the tenants over the past 6 months.

Facilities on the development are lacking. There is a great gym and leisure centre on site, however no shops in short walking distance. Also no post box.

Most take a 5 minute car journey to the local supermarket. Also nearest pub is a 30 min walk / 5 min drive away.

Would certainly be nice to have some more facilities in a 10-15 min walking distance, but the fact that there is a large country park on site more than makes up for this.

Management company are fine, reasonably responsive. Management fees are expensive however the value for money is good (regularly gardeners for landscaping, gritting, etc etc)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Edenbrook Village is a lovely development, in a lovely area (Fleet Hampshire).

Fleet town centre is 5-10 mins away by car. Plenty of parking. Nice shops, coffee shops, some decent restaurants etc. Lots of nice local pubs.

Fleet station is less than 10 mins away and offers direct links into London Waterloo.

Our street in Edenbrook Village is very quiet, a private road so no through traffic. Zero traffic noise apart from residents coming and going. Problems with delivery drivers speeding through the development but that’s the same everywhere. Bin collections are regular (fortnightly) and efficient. No anti-social behaviour, no traffic noise.

Has been some keyless car thefts recently, estate is well to do with many nice vehicles so has become a bit of a target area. However this should not deter you, similar things happening all over Fleet, and most homeowners have stepped up their security to deter car thefts / put vehicles in garages.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I had known that the finish (workmanship) would be so poor, so that I could have properly raised these issues with Berkeley prior to our moving in. 9 months of contractors walking in and out on a weekly basis has been astronomically disruptive.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Customer services have been very good to rectify these issues. The After Care manager was very unimpressive when compared to his predecessor, however his team on the ground are excellent.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The location of Edenbrook village is great especially if you enjoy walking around country park. Distance to town is walkable around 25 minutes. There is a leisure centre right at the development with gym and swimming pool.
We are lacking post box at the village and closest one is in Dukes mead around 10 minutes walk.
I always thought we will be missing convenient store at the village but since living here we got used to doing big shops once in a while and if we really need something Morrisons is close by anyway.
We never had any issues with management company however I heard they are not very responsive and do not get outstanding problems solved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are no local shops, closest one will be Morrisons ( 5 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk) all other shops including post office are in town which is walkable and takes around 25 minutes.
Fleet has a lovely hight street with lots of restaurant, bars and shops.
Edenbrook village is located right at the edge of gorgeous Edenbrook county park with lots of walking options. There are allotments being developed and bike track. Another local park is Calthrope park which is around 15 minutes away.
I am not aware of any buses which stop by around Edenbrook ( we use car most of the time).
Never had any issues with parking or anti- social behaviour. Only traffic noise we can hear is from train which is a couple of miles away but still can hear it sometime.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We did enough research about this development before we committed to buy our property so thankfully there were no surprises. Lovely and safe neighbourhood, gorgeous surroundings. Very happy to call this place our home.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes at all times. They have really good reliable customer service

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great area, happy residents

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

We are really happy with the design of the development, there’s are range of different house designs that all tie in together nicely. We have great accessibility to all desired facilities, including leisure centre, shops and transport links. The building and property management team are efficient, we have regular gardening teams that ensure the gardens look pristine all year round, as well as regular window cleaning. There are weekly internal cleaning teams that make sure all communal areas are kept clean. Our management team are always on hand to sort any issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

In our area, there is a good range of grocery stores, clothing shops and restaurants. Along with a large, comprehensive leisure centre. There is a fantastic nature reserve as well as good open spaces and woodland. There is a good reliable service to central London which can take as little as 45 minutes. However the condition of the roads outside the development are poor with potholes. There is little noise or ASB, but occasional military aircraft due to close proximity. Parking is good due to allocated spots for all residents and there is good guest parking also.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are access to electric charging ports in the residents parking area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quickly and effectively. Always with a friendly manner and no problem is too small.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The worst apartment I have ever been in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

I moved into the thistle house apartment block 5 months ago and I’m moving out next month. Between my apartment and the apartment below me (I’m top floor) we can hear each other so just about everything. The apartment below hear us use our toilet, flick on light switches and all other switches, hear our alarms in the morning, hear our footsteps, hear our washing machine and the list goes on. Me and my partner can hear them also walking around, but they live below us! which in itself in completely unheard of! We hear all of their switches and even so much as hear them open and close their curtains all around the apartment. Berkeley homes have done nothing to help us with this and say that the acoustic testing they did met all regulations. So Berkeley homes believe that hearing people walk around below you and hear people use their loo above you is normal. Awful. I will say however none of the other apartments in this block have the same issue as us, my issue with Berkeley homes lays purely with how they have ignored all the emails and calls we have put to our property management team, even though we have begged and pleaded for something to be done as sleeping in these two apartments is not something that can be done without ear defenders, and even then, you can still hear everything it is that loud.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fleet is a fantastic, friendly and beautiful place to live for all ages.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How poor Berkeley homes are at fixing any issues in the apartment or taking responsibility for how Appalling their snagging has been and after sales care.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management is through Bridges who have done all they can to help me and my neighbour below, but the landlords simply do not care enough.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Edenbrook Village, GU51
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A lovely location to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The property design is high quality and completed to a high standard. The bathroom is particularly well designed and executed. It is disappointing that the apartment block (3 storeys) does not have a lift – this restricts access for wheelchair users being able to visit friends/family if they don’t live on the ground floor. Building/property management is OK, there has been an infestation of book lice in the apartment block recently and pest control are dealing with this. They were efficient to check all of the flats, though mine does not have any.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local supermarket is a 20 minute walk away. Lovely country park setting, easy to go for nice walks. Quiet, no through traffic or anti social behaviour – a really peaceful place to live. Leisure centre is only a one minute walk away. Cons – no public transport route through the development. Parking can be difficult when there are events on at the leisure centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The cost of heating is very high – the property is not as well insulated as I would expect for a new build.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, my letting agent has always communicated well e.g. with book lice infestation management. There was an issue with one of my kitchen appliances when I moved in and it was frustrating that it took over 5 weeks to resolve this, I think because the developer/appliance manufacturer we’re in dispute about what the issue was and who should fund the repair/replacement appliance.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very happy here. Second house we have bought in Edenbrook Village, which says it all.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Development is fantastic. Small enough for a community feel. Some do have issues with parking, however parking is fine for a majority of homeowners.

Design is fantastic. Landscaping looks lovely and is well maintained by the gardeners paid for by service charge.

Council owned flats are a disappointment (visually), however too early to comment on tenants.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic area. Country park is near by. Development is not too large that it feels like a town. A very nice community feel.

The development access being shared with public country park access is a bit of a problem (often youths / antisocial behaviour in the country park car park which does impact residents).

Have been some security issues (car thefts) recently. Not due to the area, but due to a high concentration of affluent homeowners with keyless vehicles! More should be done about the security – residents would be happy to pay for this with service charge increases.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are a number of extras that really make a difference to the finish of the house. Berkeley did not tell us about these, however having already purchased one house, we knew what to ask for.

E.g – moving TV points / plugs higher to sit behind wall hung TVs. Chrome light switch upgrades throughout the house. Combi Oven Microwave upgrade.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Downstairs flooring, whilst a lovely finish, the downstairs flooring has lots of flex in it. For example, when the washing machine in spinning, you can feel the whole house vibrating! This also means that neighbours can hear the base from the sound system.

Quality is much higher than the amtico flooring that we had in our old house (Edenbrook Village Phase 1), however we would have at least liked the option to have paid for our flooring to be upgraded to tiles.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Slightly disappointing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Berkeley Homes themselves haven’t been the best as I have been in the flat 6 months with the first 4 not having a working washing machine. I’ve had to have the entire flat required twice as that wasn’t done correctly and now having to deal with booklice which the entire block is infested with. Apart from dealing with all of that for the 6 months I have been living in the development and continuing with the booklice situation it is very ascetically pleasing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of parking but we have issues with members of the public parking in residents paid spaces and us having to park elsewhere. We are about a 15 minute drive from shops so if you don’t drive it’s about a 30-45minute walk into town. Would be nice if we had a few shops on the development or a doctors surgery etc a bit more local or closer to the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there was a booklice infestation and that I would need the whole flat re-wired.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not quite in a timely manner. I am constantly chasing the problems and issues with the flat.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location and country park

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Really nice development in a great location. Country park has been developing over the years and is really coming together. I often make use of the bike track which is an excellent addition and great to have on your doorstep. The houses on the estate can feel a little ‘squeezed together’ in some places.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport links to London via Fleet train station. Living on my street has been mostly perfect, with the exception of noise (car stereos, kids messing around) late at night coming from country park car park on some summer evenings.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A look around the various park trails that the country park has to offer

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Had a few snagging issues when moving in, including problems with doorbell and front door locks. These were dealt with promptly and efficiently when raised with developer.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Berkeley’s have given us a lovely home with really top end spec appliances and finishes. We’ve bought from new before and Berkeley’s definitely provide a better end product than other developers. The development is well layed out with great attention given to the communal spaces and gardens. Hart Council also ensure the upkeep of the country park and it is beautiful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Set in a beautiful location with the country park on the doorstep, leisure centre a short walk away and Fleet Town centre a 5 minute drive away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Being built above a flood plain the gardens can get very wet and drainage was a problem. However, Berkeley’s contributed to additional French drains and it has resolved the issue.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Berkeley’s has helped to ensure settling issues with cracks etc are fixed within a short time frame and are always available.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Edenbrook Village, GU51
User submitted image of Edenbrook Village, GU51
User submitted image of Edenbrook Village, GU51

Location

Berkeley Homes
Number of developments 44

4.20

Average rating based on 1333 reviews

View company