Centenary Quay, SO19

Centenary Quay, SO19

By
Crest Nicholson
5th
Ranked 5th out of 12 in Hampshire
3.99 (27 reviews) 3.99 (27 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.70
Facilities
4.15
Design
4.44
Location
3.96
Value
3.30
Management

Excellent

26%

Very Good

56%

Average

19%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Centenary Quay by Crest Nicholson sits in a new waterside development in Southampton. Centenary Quay offers a range of 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. As well as waterside views, residents benefit from huge selection of amenities on their doorstep. Many of the flats are also available with the Government-backed Help to Buy scheme.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

3.5 stars from me

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Centenary Quay is a very nice location. It’s right by the waterside and some of the apartments have sea views. Woolston high street is just up the road and it has good transport links with bus stops and a train station close by, making access to the city centre easy. The development has an underground car park which is a big bonus, but it is often filled with youths riding bikes and damaging cars. They are intimidating for some people and the place would benefit massively from employing security to keep them out. I feel the design is average because it can get very loud and echoes a lot. Although this is normally only problematic in the summer when people are outside late in the pub. Facilities are good in general – there is a gym and beauty shops as well as a bar. The maintenance is good and it’s well kept. The buildings are professionally cleaned regularly. Overall it’s a good development that could do with a few changes and improvements to make it great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Waterside location, located very close to Woolston high street which has all you need in the way of shops! And it’s close to Lidl. Good transport links into the city centre. It’s close to Weston shore which is a nice area for walking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that it would be noisy like it is from my apartment.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern, quiet, comfortable flats situated in a gorgeous area right next to the river!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design of Cenetary Quay is wonderful! The lift is nice and spacious and goes all the way down to the designated underground car park, which makes it feel like you’re going down to the batcave! It’s very secure, requiring a key fob to get into each exterior door, and all flats have an intercom system so you can see who’s buzzing!
Some of the flats have gorgeous river views off of a balcony, which luckily mine has! Property management seems to be great, everything is clean and tidy and all my neighbours are friendly! I’ve only lived here a few weeks but I’m absolutely loving it here!! The flats themselves are Morden and clean, very nicely designed and have NOT been done by cowboys. It’s also a lovely quiet area! You never hear sirens because the main road they drive on is quite far away! The Mettricks coffeee shop is an absolute winner as well, tasty coffees, delicious food and friendly people all within seconds walk! The gym is close by as well if you want to start a membership there, super handy!! I can’t really fault this place at all! There are kids who hang out in the underground car park on their bikes, but they’re harmless, just need to look out for them when you’re driving about down there!! Otherwise it’s a delightful place to live and I have no regrets coming here!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s nothing I dislike about this area. It’s absolutely perfect. It’s a lovely grouping of modern flats that are all secure, has a very easily accessible car park, a wonderful cafe seconds walk away, beautiful views across the river and a prime location that is only minutes drive away from the city centre whilst still being in a nice and quiet area! Lidl is a few minutes walk away along with subway, convenience stores and many other local amenities. There’s a gym at the bottom of the block of flats that you can pay to use, and if you walk 10 minutes along the water, you’ll get to Weston with beautiful views out along the Solent!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew where my car parking spot was before I moved in, it would have saved a lot of bag lugging from my car, but that was ultimately my fault, I should’ve tried harder!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Could be better, could be way worse!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design of the area as a whole isn’t bad, it’s nice to see curves and an attempt at interesting architecture rather than just big blocks of grey. While the cladding has proved to need replacing, it adds something nice aesthetically. My favourite part is the “living wall” covered in foliage. The river used to have nice views and areas to sit and enjoy but again, the further development has rather put an end to that.
Our experience in Parker House has been fantastic regarding management. Very good at letting us get on with things but responsive and pro-active when they need to be. An awful lot of problems seem to occur admittedly in other buildings in the Quay regarding the bin store, elevators breaking down, no heating, no water etc all seem to be daily complaints on our community social media pages. Also as far as our actual apartment goes, it has quite a nice finish, though a little clumsy in places. We were the first occupants of this flat and when we moved in some doors didn’t fit the frames properly, there was paint of the carpets and a couple of doors. Little things like that could be improved upon.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local amenities are great, certainly in terms of local businesses and shops. There is a good community feel about the place in general. There were many clubs and social groups doing regular things until COVID which would be great to see up and running again when possible, which helps everyone feel in it together.

The major downside is the constant construction and maintenance work that goes on day in day out for the near 5 years we have lived here. We expected some, of course, as we understood it was a developing area but were told upon getting our property that just one more building would go up over the next 5 years, 4 and a half years later at least 3 more blocks have been built, rather ruining all views and any hope of quiet during the day. So this should be taken into consideration if you work from home as you may need to soundproof a room as we effectively have.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The amount of development and constant noise everyday.

What is the best feature of your home:

Was the view from the balcony until it was blocked off. Now it’s probably how spacious it is for a young couple.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Centenary Quay review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The development is incredibly modern and I’m a big fan of the design and general aesthetic of CQ.

My particular flat (2 bed apartment) is lovely and my favourite feature is the balcony which has stunning views overlooking the Solent, My particular block (Juno) has a roof terrace which is a fantastic addition to the block.

One thing I would say is that I’ve had a bit of a problem in my bathroom with silverfish insects. I’ve tried various methods of getting rid of them but nothing seems to work. A few other residents around CQ have also experienced this problem too. Might be something for the management team to assist with?

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really like the contemporary feel of the apartment and the wider CQ development. I’ve only lived here a few months but already feel very settled and happy here. I love how close to the city centre I am and being close to transport links is very ideal (Woolston train station just up the road, bus stop literally outside my block’s front door).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The eon community energy scheme (which powers the radiators etc). I haven’t come across this before and it wasn’t explained to me during purchase, so would have been nice to know this beforehand

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

N/a, haven’t reported anything to them yet. However I’ve found the management to be very good at keeping residents up to date with any planned buildings works/ensuring we know in advance what’s happening.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Extremely good value for money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Minor to no problems with any of the tenants. Excellent energy efficiency. The build quality is just ok but for the rent price I consider it very good value for money. Building management is alright. One thing that personally annoys me is that very often the private parking gates are broken and end up having then open for days or couple of weeks. The building is being kept tidy and clean. Personally I would prefer a bit more security cameras . In overall I’m very happy with my choice to rent in this development for second year

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, 20 mins walking from the city center. Coop and lisle in less than 5 min walking, two more independent(one international/polish) small super markets in the same distance. All sorts of take aways, two drug stores and a hardware store. Flower shop and many more small retailers. Busses towards the city every 10 min and a train station in 10 mins walking. In overall the area was the decision maker for me

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That they were planning to build another building Infront of ours and therefore we wouldn’t have water view any more. It wouldn’t change our decision to rent it but we would bargain the price to be more fair

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The white tiles in the kitchen, I would prefer to be wooden floor like the rest of the house

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Ok development with view on Itchen River

Review Date Feb 2021

Not the best design, some flats have balconies right next to their neighbours’ ones, so not much privacy. With the new tower block being built next to the water, a lot of flats lost the view on the water.
Indoors flats are nicely finished but it’s definitely not the high end of the overall quality.
Not all buildings are managed by the same property management, so the quality of management might be different depending on which building you live in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

5 minutes from the city centre, 10 minutes from M27. Lidl 3 minutes walk from the development. Plenty of small independent shops and cafes around the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More awareness about the whole project. We didn’t know that a new tower block is going to be built right next to our block blocking part of the view on the river.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More privacy. Our balcony is right next to our neighbours’ one and overlooking flats opposite.

3
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing location, but a lot aren’t mortgage-able

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

After Grenfell, it turns out the a lot of tower blocks have been built with the same cladding. Some of the blocks down here have been sorted, but my current block hasn’t been (the cladding is ok, but the insulation apparently isn’t). Some of the balconies also need to be redone, as they are stacked and flammable (wooden decking) so every other needs to be replaced with aluminium. Luckily crest are going to pay for all this work, but haven’t given a date for completion (saying end of 2021). Until this is done my block is unsellable, as no-one can get a mortgage and you can’t remortgage your flat. Also a massive problem if there is a fire!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of Centenary quays is the main selling point. Currently in the development is a gym, café, hairdresser, beauty salon and a bar. There are also plans for more commercial properties to go in. Then in the main part of woolston are even more restaurants and shops, including a Lidl. Then you’ve got lovely views from half the flats over the river itchen and easy bus routes into Southampton city centre. All the flats are modern, if a little bland. All the flats have whatever remains of a 10 year guarantee, and that’s where it gets difficult…

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s nosier than I expected. Teenagers hanging around on their bikes, breaking into the “secure” car parks

What is the best feature of your home:

The view is the best bit. Straight onto the river and ocean village opposite

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall location, facilities nearby and design is great. But too many flaws with regards to building management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The downside of the development is enormous service charge we pay for nothing. The communal space is terrible. Carpets in the corridors is a horrendous idea. Especially that we had floods because of broken pipes numbers of times. We don’t see any of the service money that we pay being used to update and upgrade the development areas. The walls need repainting, garage door is constantly broken. So many robberies happened due to that fact. Other downside is the lack of noise isolation. We can hear every step of the neighbours above. Also I don’t feel it’s safe are recently because of the teenagers vandalising the area.. it’s such a shame because whole idea and design of the development is awesome. Just too many flaws.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is not bad, we got plenty of local shops including post office. Bus stops nearby are also very convenient. Couple of restaurants, sports bar and beauty/hair salon is in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that we are going to have such a problem with the building management. We feel that our money is being wasted and important things not being done.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Usually they are quite good with sorting small problems in a timely manner. Like changing light bulbs, fixing leaks. However carpets after floods haven’t been changed. Also wall painting is ignored.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The facilities are really nice – having a salon, sunbed shop, coffee shop and bars to go to make living here really nice, especially when people are visiting – I do wish there was a supermarket here and it would be complete!

The outside of the building and insides are really nice and modern, however I do think that different carper / more cleaning in the hallways would really make all the difference as they are not the nicest and would give more of luxury / modern feel to tie in with the apartments and outside look.

You can always see property management around the building touching things up which is nice as it lets you know the building is looked after.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a nice modern area to live in and the apartments are really nicely furbished.

However, there are kids that hang around the cars and come into the buildings every night – and the construction noise can be really irritating especially whilst working from home.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a lot of water and heating issues which are forever ending, so I wish I was warned about this as I spent the first month of my tenancy without any heating. Also, I wish I knew how loud the construction noise is.

What is the best feature of your home:

The balcony – I have a double balcony that views onto the water, something I am complimented on in my home a lot.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent location, but struggling to justify management charges

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The buildings are all modern in design and in good order. The biggest disadvantage is the lack of visitor parking in the area. The management charges are somewhat extortionate and have massively increased over the last few years with no apparent improvement to service to justify this.

I am fortunate to live in a very quiet block and rarely hear neighbours. As a lady living on her own I feel very safe here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A short bus ride into town, the location is ideal for those working in the city centre. Having a Lidl just round the corner is a big plus and there is still a good range of local shops on Victoria road. It’s a big advantage living close enough to the city centre to benefit from a large array of restaurants on food delivery apps. Buses and trains are easy and the convenient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It is very difficult to secure a second parking space so it is not ideal for households with multiple vehicles.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have found them to be unpleasant, dismissive and in some cases rude when I raise issues, so I have given up.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Centenary Quay, SO19
User submitted image of Centenary Quay, SO19

Location

Number of developments 39

3.92

Average rating based on 497 reviews

View company