L&Q

Number of Developments

61

Ratings

3.72 Rating

Rating (based on 742 reviews)

Excellent

23.18%

Very Good

47.84%

Average

19.27%

Disappointing

4.58%

Very Poor

5.12%
L&Q believe passionately that people’s health, security and happiness depend on where they live.

L&Q house around 250,000 people in more than 105,000 homes, primarily across London and the South East – but L&Q are more than just a registered charitable housing association.

L&Q create better places to live by delivering high quality homes, neighbourhoods and housing services that people can afford.

With nearly 60 years’ experience, we have what it takes to do things right and provide long-term support to our communities where they need it.

L&Q developments

There are a number of L&Q developments currently listed on HomeViews – from North London’s centrally located Colindale Gardens to peaceful Davis Way in South London’s Sidcup. You’ll also see some ‘in construction’ units, such as Wandsworth Exchange – an upcoming mixed-use development close to Wandsworth Town station.

L&Q reviews

All the flats come with outdoor space, either a private balcony or terrace. It’s big enough for table chairs and a small cheeky bbq…..The Landlord looks after the building well; if there are any issues with the flat it is usually resolved within a few days.” – Chi, verified resident at L&Q’s Weavers Quarter

You can read reviews of L&Q developments by clicking on the properties in the list below. If you live in an L&Q development, click here to leave your review. If you know of L&Q properties that aren’t yet on HomeViews, you can submit a new listing here.

Award winner

Residents have rated this company an award winner! Select a development below to see which awards it has won.

Developments

Showing all 61 developments

MAP

L&Q reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 742 reviews

Overall amazing experience!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Very pleased with everything that L&Q has offered with my property. I think they have done a really good job with this development. I’m so happy to be part of it.

Everything is high quality and it’s a great experience being in this development. I’m already looking to move into a bigger place in the future within this development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is so peaceful and easy access to shops and buses. All filled with nice people and so much green. It does feel like countryside at times but everything is still close by. I have not experienced any ASB. There is a problem with bin sheds overloading but I’m aware that that is being resolved.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How quality the flat is and so many amazing features.

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen is the best feature in my flat. So big for a one bedroom.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

I love our flat, the rooms are generous in size with high ceiling and plenty of storage which is often not the norm for new build properties.

I love our flat, the rooms are generous in size with high ceiling and plenty of storage which is often not the norm for new build properties.

I am shared owner with L&Q, the finishes and white goods provided with the flat are of a very cheap standard, I wish there was some storage provision in the bathroom, unable to add any without full remodelling, will have to be a project for the future .

L&Q were great when we first moved in, now we have nothing but problems, they introduced a ‘poor door’ system retrospectively after a year which prevents shared owners having access to certain amenities and through certain entrance routes and the courtyard garden which is a complete joke, a blatant attempt to make the properties more appealing through miss-selling and actually in breach of the terms of our lease agreements.

They also changed the management company who calculate the service charge per flat size which lead to substantial service charge increases for many residents. I won’t pretend to understand what the size of your flat has to do with the amount of service you use. Mind boggling.

The management company are also completely incompetent, our Property Manager has zero people skills, she also treats and speaks to residents with utter contempt and always tries to appoint blame to residents rather than taking ownership and addressing issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great, the development is right next to the Thames and Tide path, great for summer walks.

Under 10 mins walk to North Greenwich tube station which does get extremley busy during peak hours and can be difficult to get on a train. They will need to improve tube services as the area further developments because it’s already operating at capacity. Plenty of bus options nearby too and North Greenwich Pier is walking distance for Thames Clipper and the cable cars.

Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance, Icon shopping centre at the o2 and there’s a retail park in Charlton including an Ikea also just 1 tube stop away from Canary Wharf which also has lots of shops and restaurants . Restaurants at the o2 do get packed on concert nights so best to avoid on concert nights.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would never have used the shared ownership scheme if I had known I would be treated like a poor social housing tenant. Even though I own a share of £570k flat, pay rent on the portion I don’t own and service charges, we are treated worse than somebody that’s just renting privately and paying less.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poorly, we have a list of outstanding issues, we have formed a Residents Association to press these issues further.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good area to live in

I actually don’t like to be able to share communal areas with other building, we had several problems with it already. Overall design of the buildings is good, although you could have added the top floors as terraces for use of some flats. The management is average in my opinion, there is nothing special.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is really good, very close to transport options and different lines, what facilitates when something goes wrong. The area is well maintained and clean, with a few exceptions coming from council houses. All buildingds around have a good design. There are not many shops in the development (apart from Sainbury’s that is really handy) but with a short walk either to Chiswick or Acton you can find more options. Parking is a big problem, if you are building a brand new building, make space for everyone that lives there to park, it is just silly to not do that. Also is a shame there is no space around for barbecuing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The re-sale fee is abusive (there is an obligation to sell via housing association for there first months). It was clear the % charged would be on the market value of the property and not on my share, btw I still have doubts if I am being fooled around.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor quality homes and even worse management

I’ve lived here since phase 1 of Acton Gardens was built in 2013. One word: Avoid.

Issues:

Poor quality fittings
All the door handles had to be changed within a year of normal use. The locksmith we engaged told us that the handles and doors were of poor quality in the first place which was why they broke so quickly.Lift breakdown
Within the first year, the only lift in the building used to break down every alternate week for about a period of 6-12 months until residents protested against paying the increase in service charge until a new lift was fitted. This inconvenience has caused the elderly and disabled a lack of access and frankly should be illegal.

Hot water
It’s been about 6 years since phase 1, and we’ve been having issues with the communal boilers / power cuts up till today. The hot water would be down for long periods especially over winter and any fix would only be temporary. It’s come to a point where you can’t take being able to have a warm shower for granted.

Communications
We are currently receiving text messages informing us of any outages – primarily hot water related issues. However, this usually comes much later after we have reported it to the L&Q emergency number, which might be useful to some, but not the majority who have had to experience it firsthand. When reporting and asking for updates on outages, helplines are staffed with rude CS agents who sound like they need additional training / are inadequately informed by the service/operations team, so they are not in a position to provide proper updates.
What is concerning is that these issues (hot water, broken lifts and poor quality fittings) are not unique to Acton Gardens. Properties all over the country by L&Q are experiencing similar issues. A simple search online would surface lots of examples. Save your hard-earned money for another place with a developer who genuinely wants to provide quality homes.
Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself is fine being close to South Acton overground and Acton Town tube. There has been a growth in amenities around the high street too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had done more research into the issues L&Q developments have been facing all over the country. The amount of grief this development has given me and other residents is unimaginable.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The build is not done correctly, the noise travelling from properties underneath Is very bad.

The build is not done correctly, the noise travelling from properties underneath Is very bad. The same from the properties either side. There is no such thing as having piece of mind within your own home. The master room you can hear the neighbours toilet being used and all kitchen appliances being used since the neighbours kitchen is on the same floor (2)as my rooms. Constantly hearing showers being used in both bedrooms and dripping off water.

The bathroom also has thin walls that backs onto part of the neighbours kitchen and garden there lists of noise and sleepless nights.

Van has been marked up and bin on a Monday are being left near cars

Neighbours are neighbours from hell constant loud music throughout the day and night. I have not had one good night slee since moved in and I have nothing but regrets moving to this site with the lack of uneducated and unclean neighbours that live within the site.

The build also has defects of which was logged early last year and still till this day nothing has been done to amend these issues. Example of one issue no heating and draft coming from windows and wet floor around the edges of the rooms.
Plus many other concerns

Barking and Dagenham and mainstay ignore your issues and concern and have shown nothing but neglect to issues.

The dust since moved in has been really bad on health and the noise from the development also has been unbearable. Works sometimes have started before 8am Monday to Sunday.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Landlord would have been honest and much more structure organised.

The homes were not ready and therefore they were rushed and finished with a poor standard. Even though the homes were not ready to be moved into they landlord still allowed this.

Many people that live within the complex have messed up some of the areas and looks messy.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More