About L&Q

L&Q – also known as London and Quadrant – is a housing association and residential developer that’s been operating for 50 years. Based in Lewisham, L&Q specialises in property development across London, East Anglia and England’s South East. The company aims to build 100,000 new homes in the next decade, and offers the Help to Buy scheme on many of its developments. In April 2018, L&Q and East Thames Group became one organisation, meaning that L&Q will now provide homes and services to East Thames residents.

L&Q developments

There are a number of L&Q developments currently listed on HomeViews – from North London’s centrally located Colindale Gardens to peaceful Davis Way in South London’s Sidcup. You’ll also see some ‘in construction’ units, such as Wandsworth Exchange – an upcoming mixed-use development close to Wandsworth Town station.

L&Q reviews

All the flat come with outdoor space, either a private balcony or terrace. It’s big enough for table chairs and a small cheeky bbq…..The Landlord looks after the building well; if there are any issues with the flat it is usually resolved within a few days.” – Chi, verified resident at L&Q’s Weavers Quarter

You can read reviews of L&Q developments by clicking on the properties in the list below. If you live in an L&Q development, click here to leave your review. If you know of L&Q properties that aren’t yet on HomeViews, you can submit a new listing here.

Number of Developments

34

Ratings

3.83 Rating

Rating (based on 329 reviews)

Excellent

21.88%

Very Good

53.50%

Average

17.33%

Disappointing

3.34%

Very Poor

3.95%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 34 developments

L&Q reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 329 reviews

Friendly Neighbourhood/Design Review

I would like to start off with the positive side, the property management seems good, its a friendly neighbourhood and everything is so local i.e. supermarkets, gym, park and schools. There has been security in each building to prevent any danger or hazard happening in the building which has helped residents as we feel safe.

However, I dislike the design of the building. It is not rain friendly, a lot of people may be shocked to hear but we have had a leak for a continuous 5 years now and it gets worse when it rains the design of the buildings are rubbish. Taylor Wimpy really need to re consider designs and they also need to fix this up ASAP.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that its a friendly neighbourhood and everything is so local i.e. supermarkets, gym, park and schools. However I dislike that there are a lot of crimes that happen around this area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known how much service charge we would have to pay. It is ridiculous and our building is NEVER clean. This is something L&Q need to review ASAP.

4
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Waterman Apartments Shared Ownership

I love our flat, the rooms are generous in size with high ceiling and plenty of storage which is often not the norm for new build properties.

I am shared owner with L&Q, the finishes and white goods provided with the flat are of a very cheap standard, I wish there was some storage provision in the bathroom, unable to add any without full remodelling, will have to be a project for the future .

L&Q were great when we first moved in, now we have nothing but problems, they introduced a ‘poor door’ system retrospectively after a year which prevents shared owners having access to certain amenities and through certain entrance routes and the courtyard garden which is a complete joke, a blatant attempt to make the properties more appealing through miss-selling and actually in breach of the terms of our lease agreements.

They also changed the management company who calculate the service charge per flat size which lead to substantial service charge increases for many residents. I won’t pretend to understand what the size of your flat has to do with the amount of service you use. Mind boggling.

The management company are also completely incompetent, our Property Manager has zero people skills, she also treats and speaks to residents with utter contempt and always tries to appoint blame to residents rather than taking ownership and addressing issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great, the development is right next to the Thames and Tide path, great for summer walks.

Under 10 mins walk to North Greenwich tube station which does get extremley busy during peak hours and can be difficult to get on a train. They will need to improve tube services as the area further developments because it’s already operating at capacity. Plenty of bus options nearby too and North Greenwich Pier is walking distance for Thames Clipper and the cable cars.

Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance, Icon shopping centre at the o2 and there’s a retail park in Charlton including an Ikea also just 1 tube stop away from Canary Wharf which also has lots of shops and restaurants . Restaurants at the o2 do get packed on concert nights so best to avoid on concert nights.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would never have used the shared ownership scheme if I had known I would be treated like a poor social housing tenant. Even though I own a share of £570k flat, pay rent on the portion I don’t own and service charges, we are treated worse than somebody that’s just renting privately and paying less.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poorly, we have a list of outstanding issues, we have formed a Residents Association to press these issues further.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good area to live in

I actually don’t like to be able to share communal areas with other building, we had several problems with it already. Overall design of the buildings is good, although you could have added the top floors as terraces for use of some flats. The management is average in my opinion, there is nothing special.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is really good, very close to transport options and different lines, what facilitates when something goes wrong. The area is well maintained and clean, with a few exceptions coming from council houses. All buildingds around have a good design. There are not many shops in the development (apart from Sainbury’s that is really handy) but with a short walk either to Chiswick or Acton you can find more options. Parking is a big problem, if you are building a brand new building, make space for everyone that lives there to park, it is just silly to not do that. Also is a shame there is no space around for barbecuing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The re-sale fee is abusive (there is an obligation to sell via housing association for there first months). It was clear the % charged would be on the market value of the property and not on my share, btw I still have doubts if I am being fooled around.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor quality homes and even worse management

I’ve lived here since phase 1 of Acton Gardens was built in 2013. One word: Avoid.

Issues:

Poor quality fittings
All the door handles had to be changed within a year of normal use. The locksmith we engaged told us that the handles and doors were of poor quality in the first place which was why they broke so quickly.Lift breakdown
Within the first year, the only lift in the building used to break down every alternate week for about a period of 6-12 months until residents protested against paying the increase in service charge until a new lift was fitted. This inconvenience has caused the elderly and disabled a lack of access and frankly should be illegal.

Hot water
It’s been about 6 years since phase 1, and we’ve been having issues with the communal boilers / power cuts up till today. The hot water would be down for long periods especially over winter and any fix would only be temporary. It’s come to a point where you can’t take being able to have a warm shower for granted.

Communications
We are currently receiving text messages informing us of any outages – primarily hot water related issues. However, this usually comes much later after we have reported it to the L&Q emergency number, which might be useful to some, but not the majority who have had to experience it firsthand. When reporting and asking for updates on outages, helplines are staffed with rude CS agents who sound like they need additional training / are inadequately informed by the service/operations team, so they are not in a position to provide proper updates.
What is concerning is that these issues (hot water, broken lifts and poor quality fittings) are not unique to Acton Gardens. Properties all over the country by L&Q are experiencing similar issues. A simple search online would surface lots of examples. Save your hard-earned money for another place with a developer who genuinely wants to provide quality homes.
Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself is fine being close to South Acton overground and Acton Town tube. There has been a growth in amenities around the high street too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had done more research into the issues L&Q developments have been facing all over the country. The amount of grief this development has given me and other residents is unimaginable.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More