About Legal & General Affordable Homes

Legal & General have been involved in housing for over 20 years. They work with local authorities, housing associations, and developers across the country. They aim to deliver over 3,000 affordable new homes a year. Furthermore, Legal & General Affordable Homes is partnered with 14 housing associations and providers for day-to-day management of the properties. This panel brings expertise and the infrastructure needed to support the development of rental and shared ownership homes.

Number of Developments

11

Ratings

3.90 Rating

Rating (based on 22 reviews)

Excellent

36.36%

Very Good

31.82%

Average

18.18%

Disappointing

9.09%

Very Poor

4.55%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 11 developments

Legal & General Affordable Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 22 reviews

Stunning development, let down by poor after sales and rude atrocious management company who are not fit for purpose.

Beautiful location and lovely apartment. We love it. But o my god you have to fight to get anything done. The after sales service has been appalling. No one owns up to be responsible for anything, muse blaming vistry who say it’s mainstay the management company who should be contacted, a right old mess.
The management company do bare minimum, the public use this area to let their dogs off the lead like its a public park, dogs mess every where. Litter dropped and mess left. Dodgy people parking up in residents parking smoking weed. Mainstay do nothing. The gardens residents gardens are just used by kids and are not cared for. They are a mess. Skate boarders making a nuisance of themselves on our pavements and roads, these are private gardens and roads and paid for in our every increasing mainstay management fees (which went up after 2 month moving in) totally miss sold that one.
I believe all this can be rectified but it will take either muse, vistry or useless mainstay to take responsibility.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely location, shops bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is a problem. Antisocial behaviour from skateboarders. Weed smoking lags in cars parked up all day and night. People using our private gardens and roads for letting their dogs run free and mess everywhere.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

We live the property. But the parking is a problem. No real parking management just pps parking solutions on the prowel to rip its off. This should have been a gated community. We are paying for it to be but any one can use and abuse the area.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Glass and steel right next to the waterfront.

My building has an excellent design and architecture if you like the glass and steel type, which is what sold it to me. Along with the luxurious reception. I love hotels and this is the closest I’ve seen to living in a hotel. It’s pet friendly, which is also a plus for me.
The staff at the reception and security are extremely helpful and polite. They even helped me get the sofa into the flat when the delivery driver wouldn’t, and they didn’t really have to. I’ll be forever grateful for that.
On the downside, I’m shared ownership, and as such I don’t get access to the swimming pool and gym in the first floor. I knew this before purchasing, so it’s all fair. But it’s still frustrating, especially sharing the lift with someone in flip flops and swimming trucks heading to a place in the building you know is not available to you. Makes you feel second class. Same for the rooftop restaurant in the 56 floor. I bet it’s great. I live in the building and I might never see it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s everything within 5 min walk, from shops to restaurants, pub, bars and cafes. It gets a bit busy and noisy but my building has an excellent soundproofing. Which is very important being so close to the DLR station, and the curve, which is surprisingly even louder. With the windows open it can get loud, but not too much…. For me at least.
At night it’s a bit worse. Trains stop but there is a constant buzz in the area, like a humming engine. I think it’s all the high raise buildings.
From South Quay Plaza the only way to get to Canary Wharf is a footbridge. It’s a very nice walk but sometimes it feels a bit out of the way. But in exchange I get to live next to the water, which is amazing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I did know I wouldn’t have access to the facilities like gym, swimming pool and rooftop terrace, that private market buyers have, but I guess I would have liked to know how important that discrimination would become once I moved in.
And the noise. I find it within acceptable limits but it’s way above what I had thought. Again: the soundproofing is excellent but I can’t watch TV with the windows open, for example: I miss all the dialogues when the DLR enters the curve.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Haven’t had much need to reach out for help yet, but still, everyone here has always been extremely helpful and nice.

1
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Hampton Tower at South Quays Plaza, E14
User submitted image of  Hampton Tower at South Quays Plaza, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Two weeks in and it’s perfect!

Concierge are SO helpful and polite, not once have I felt like they’ve given anything less than 110% to help me. They even fetched me a router whilst I was trying to sign up to broadband at about 9PM! The building itself is kept clean to a very high standard throughout. The apartments themselves are very spacious and well designed (network points with the plug sockets is a GREAT touch to help with wifi connectivity issues that might occur).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing location. A few minutes walk to Canary Wharf tube (Jubliee line) and less than a minute walk to the DLR. Restaurants, supermarkets and Cinema all within a few minutes walk too. The local area is very well kept and I’ve loved every minute so far.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had been more aware about stack effect and the level of noise it can make in windy situations.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, I raised an issue about some squeaking floor boards but they informed me it’s not a fault which is fine.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely estate, ok area.

The design and layout of the estate is lovely. It has a very nice appearance and gets looked after by our residents well (mostly)

There aren’t really any specific facilities within the estate, however has a lovely new Aldi at one end, with a local pub and gorgeous large park.

Building management is sub par – the cleaner isn’t great for the flats (he comes in with a hoover for 2 minutes and that’s it) for the money we pay for ‘cleaning’ it is poor.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Southend is a good place to live. You’re near the seafront, shops and restaurants but not close enough that it’s noisy. The town isn’t as safe as it used to be, but hopefully that can be changed. Lots of very nice places near by, and being right next to Priory Park is great!

Train lines to London within 10-15 minute walk

Parking is terrible. Only one space per household and VERY limited visitor bays. People also park on a sharp bend as you enter the estate, which is bound to cause an accident one day.

Anti social behaviour is as bad as anywhere in Southend I would say. I feel safe around, but has the odd incident (around 1 a month I would say of some sort)

Traffic noise is ok! Near a main road and train line but never too loud.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Due to the area, we sometimes get an unpleasant smell from the waste treatment plant on the other side of the railway. I wish someone told me this when I moved in as it has been 3 years of having to close the windows sometimes in the heat of summer! (Not all the time, but too often for it not to be mentioned) – apparently the council is working on this and so far for 2023, there are no issues (yet!)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They came and fixed some bits within my first 6 months, however was supposed to be able to use this for 12 months – they said as it is the building age (and not how long I have lived there for) they couldn’t come out after the 6 month period (but how will things get picked up and worn if no one is there….?)

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More