About Centrick

Centrick’s dedicated Build to Rent Asset Management team provides a full consultancy service and integrated property solution. Centrick offers consultancy advice and management services on residential development schemes, from concept to delivery, to maximise and sustain long-term asset value.

Number of Developments

2

Ratings

3.23 Rating

Rating (based on 31 reviews)

Excellent

16.13%

Very Good

32.26%

Average

29.03%

Disappointing

9.68%

Very Poor

12.90%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 2 developments

Centrick reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 31 reviews

Average, claustrophobic, great location

The development is fairly new (2016) and the expectations are quite high. The apartments are quite big (the biggest I have seen in birmingham – however there is no balcony). Even if the concierge is nice and the gym is big enough and fairly equipped, there are quite a few problems. The room’s windows are sealed (so yes you cannot get any fresh air inside the house, you only have the ventilation system) and they are very thin (so dye forms on them in the winter/late autumn). This causes the apartments to be very hot in the summer (up to 28 degrees even if outside there is only 19 degrees) and cold in the winter (there will be a flow of cold air which was chilled by the contact with the huge surface of the poorly isolated window) – be prepared to pay a bit more on heating due to this.
There has been some issues in the common area caused by rain. The response from the management was very non existent, so even after 2 years, the common rooms affected are in extremely poor condition (mold and wall exfoliation).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very lively, with a wide variety of nice venues restaurants, pubs, cinémas and gyms. However, it is not a car friendly area, so having a car here would be an expensive struggle (high insurance + expensive parking). With Morrisons so close to the development and the good bus connection to the city center, I personally did not feel the need for a car.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The poor isolations of the sealed windows. More emphasis of the problems caused by a sealed windows (you are dependent on electricity for the ventilation system – in case there is shortcut or a electricity break you literally cannot get any fresh air in the apartment)

What is the best feature of your home:

Spacious apartment with good installations (you don’t leave home in fear of a pipe getting broken).

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

City living just off the Five Ways roundabout

While there are some good aspects of the design of these apartments, there are also some real drawbacks and hence the average overall score. To start with the good, the apartments are modern, fairly spacious for city centre properties, have fibre optic Internet pre-installed and come with fitted kitchens with built-in appliances in all units. The bathrooms are modern and the quality of fittings is good (but not excellent). The downside is that the apartments have no windows that open, and hence rely on a Vectaire forced ventilation system that works OK when the weather is cool but isn’t up to the job when summer comes round. At the height of summer, I find that even keeping the blinds shut all day to stop the sun heating up the apartment. The apartment often feels airless.
It is also worth noting that the development includes a multi-storey car park (tenants can rent spaces) and a gym. It’s also worth noting that the maintenance of the building as a whole could be better: for a new development, there really ought to be no visible water damage in communal areas.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Broadway Residencies is located just off the Five Ways roundabout, within walking distance of Birmingham city centre. There are gyms, supermakets, cinemas and restaurants within a short walking distance, and Brindley Place is just a stonesthrow away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Had I known how hot and stuffy the apartment can be in summer, I would not have chosen it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

To date I’ve raised only one issue (a leak from another apartment) which I consider should have been addressed in a maximum of a week (to be generous). Three weeks later and I’m surprised the issue is still unresolved.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  Broadway Residences, B15
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Disappointing and very expensive

There are no windows that open, so they become like greenhouses with the large windows in summer, sadly in winter they are very cold – and with only small electric heaters, it is very costly to keep apartments warm.
There is a gym in site, however you are limited to the hours you can use and must book slots in advance.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A central location to Birmingham City Centre. wide range of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and two cinemas. Supermarket within walking distance and both trams and trains on the doorstep.
Sadly the building is run down and in desperate need of repair, but as Severn living now rent out more and more of the apartments as hotel rooms with short stay bookings, groups just come in and use it as a party base. This has lead to numerous noise complaints & leaves piles of rubbish and damage – which doesn’t get fixed as it’s at a cost to developer.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If I had known this would be used for air bnb/ hotel bookings I would not have leased. If I had known issues such as repairs and concerns would be so frequently ignored I would not have leased here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Faults and issues take a significant time to be acknowledged. The main front door was jammed open for over 6 months – which was a security risk. The lift has been broken for over a year.
I’ve had to chase multiple times for repairs to be undertaken in my apartment.

1
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Broadway Residences Review

The apartment is generally very nice, nothing special visually but it comes with good facilities like a washing machine, dishwasher, oven/hob, sofa, couple of tables and four chairs. Our main gripe with the property is that there are no opening windows and the airflow system is pretty underwhelming. The building is ok, it does look very drab from the outside and I’ve seen the lifts be out of service a few times but they are always repaired. It has great parking facilities and the receptionists are friendly characters.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, close to major transport links and a huge variety of restaurants and bars. Also only a short drive from some nice parks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Its not a big space so all the necessary information can be gathered in one viewing.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Windows that open or some sort of air-con would be appreciated.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More