About Bromford

Bromford are a housing association with almost 45,000 homes spread across central and South West England. Bromford believe in providing warm, safe and secure homes.

Number of Developments

6

Ratings

4.05 Rating

Rating (based on 14 reviews)

Excellent

35.71%

Very Good

42.86%

Average

21.43%

Disappointing

0.00%

Very Poor

0.00%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 6 developments

Bromford reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 14 reviews

Happy residence on The Avenue in The Cotswolds

The Avenue is a slightly larger estate, for the area, so affords a range of properties from apartments to 4+ bedroom houses, shared ownership to privately owned. They’re predominantly Cotswold stone exterior but are interspersed with red brick properties a few painted pebble dash; offering some variety and colour/ textural differences.

The estate is new so the greenery is yet to be fully established, however there are plenty of new trees and shrubs which will give the streets a soft feel along with grassed verges/ drainage ditches. Each property is provided with a range of shrubbery and turfed areas, so in time everything will soften and be beautifully green. There are plenty of wooded areas around the estate, which have been maintained along with an expansive green space between The Avenue and the adjacent estate.

The houses are deceptively spacious and bright. The kitchen is fully fitted with ample cupboard and drawer space. The bathrooms are fitted well and are stylish. There is plenty of off road parking allocated to each property that doesn’t have it’s own drive or garage.

Properties tend to be supplied with a rear garden shed and paved area, which is great.

There could be a little more play equipment for older children as the 2 playground spaces are geared more towards youngsters and the pathway facilities don’t yet fully join into the ‘marsh’ green space between the estates.

Bromford sales team were outstanding as well as the legal team during purchase. As an ongoing management service I really have nothing to complain about. Any report of defect has been acted upon very promptly and by skilled workers.

I would certainly recommend moving to The Avenue.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Moreton in Marsh is well placed for public transport by mainline direct trains to Oxford, London, Reading, Hereford and Worcester and has excellent road access to London, Birmingham, the south west, Wales and Central England.

The village has a very useful range of shops, including convenience stores, bank, gift shops, supermarkets, dry cleaners, haordressers, a very decent pharmacy, hardware & pet shops along with plenty of cafes and pubs.

There are a few primary school options being, St Davids in Moreton, Blockley only about 5 miles away, Dormer House and Kitebrook private schools. For secondary, Moreton is in catchment for Chipping Campden secondary which is a highly sought after and Ofsted Outstanding school and Sibford private school not far away. There are a few Grammar Schools within about an hour too: Shottery Girls, King Edwards Boys, Alcester and Pates.

Despite being served by such great amenities, Moreton in Marsh is a village in The Cotswolds countryside.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t know, initially, that the floors would be unfinished ie. no covering. This was an unexpected outlay however I’m pleased to have my own style.

I wish I had been given an option for the colour of the kitchen doors as the brown that I have is not so great and looks more like student’s accommodation kitchen than a modern, fresh and mature kitchen.

Regarding the bathroom design. I would never have put the toilet directly opposite the door. This reduces room and also we have a risk of the glass shower screen smashing against the sink!!

Finally, the batons provided above each window are not strongly secured and really could do with extending beyond the window by a few inches – giving the option to fit a wider pole thus allowing for curtains to be fully drawn off the window and allowing more light in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management have responded respectively and swiftly in order to fix/ correct and maintain my property.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A good development in a nice location.

The build quality of the properties is very good which are spacious and you can create a lovely living environment. It’s nice to have parking spaces immediately outside your property and are of good size. The quality of finish in the gardens isn’t the best, poor turf is used and very little care is giving to them. Underneath the turf the top soil is full of nails, bricks and other waste materials where attention to detail has lacked considerably. On-site facilities such as open space and parks is currently non-existent but this maybe developed in due course. It does feel like properties are packed in to a small space with the majority of houses overlooking their neighbours garden. Seeing as it is a new development you do expect works to be happening during the day but sometimes works happen outside your property without any advance notice.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is good access to local amenities and a train station within walking distance from the development. Parking is generally good with all properties having a driveway enough for two cars but parking is poor for visitors, often having to park on the road making it difficult to get/off your driveway. Council services such as bin collections are frequent and do not seem to struggle to find properties. Public transport links such a buses are non-existent but I think this is a wider issue within the local area. There is plenty of open space and public footpaths around the immediate area which can be enjoyed. It’s nice to see the community within the development coming together with a friendly atmosphere most of the time. The ongoing building works can be a little disruptive with contractors leaving waste materials about and then finding them in your front garden where they’ve blown in the wind. Overall it is a nice development in a good location with direct links to major commuting routes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we got to see the quality of the garden prior to moving in as it has been poorly turfed and finished, this is disappointing. Other than that our property is very nice with rooms feeling spacious and light.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We’ve raised several snags since moving in and Bovis have responded well to them but we have often had to go back to the developer as the contractors have done a poor job and haven’t actually resolved the snags. We had an ongoing issue with the ceiling in the kitchen and whenever someone comes to look in to it, it never seems to get resolved and a half finished job is done.

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely home on great estate

The beauty of the estate is there is a good mix if house designs on here with a mix up of housing association, shared ownership and privately owned homes. People near me take pride in our homes and gardens and the fact the association cut the grass and tidy after them makes it easier to maintain the front of our homes. When we applied for our home it was nice to meet the housing assocations team before we were confirmed to get our home, it ment that we knew someone local from the association.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We have a sainsbury local just over the main roD and co-op on Hanwell fields as well as indin restaurant, subway, chip shop, and charity shop. There is no bus to the estate so short walk to dukes meadow if you want a bus yo town. They play parks are we cared for and thr charente love them. The main road has not been finished yet as they still building the estate. Some people do drive a little fast on the estate but I think it could be delivery drivers. I have very friendly and supportive neighbours that have been there throughout some tough times. There’s plenty of parking on the estate for resident’s and visitors. I live close to Warwick Road but only hear it if I have doors & windows open. I live in a quiet little section iff the main road. The inly problem with that is there are no street lights down our area. The bins on the are emptied regularly so the estate looks clean and tidy. My family have been impressed with the estate to the fact 1 daughter brought a house here just over a year ago and a 2nd is just waiting for hers to be built.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No lighting down our area as coming home in the dark can be a little scary. I feel extremely lucky to have made some good friends on the estate

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Bromford at Hanwell Chase, OX16
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development

The houses are nicely spaced so you are not on top of your neighbours and there is plenty of space for visitors parking. The houses look really nice and the lay out is quite nice. There are a couple of strange junctions that can be confusing to visitors but they are nicely spaced so plenty of room to negotiate cars that are lost. There are a few childrens play areas and quite abit of green space. 18 months in I still haven’t had my defect fixed by the developer, it’s a minor thing but feel it should have been addressed by now. The grass and flower beds that are managed by the developers look nice and are maintained regularly

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close enough to town centre to walk, good range of shops in town. There is everything you need locally. The pubs, cafes and restaurants are really lovely and friendly. Train links are great if you need to go London or Birmingham. There is some traffic through town but it doesn’t take too long to get through so not a huge issue. There is plenty of space for parking and parking for visitors. Bins are collected on time with no issues. I have not noted any anti social behaviour or traffic noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

What they feel is a snag issue and my thoughts on snags were very different. No attention to detail on workmanship that just felt abit shoddy in places. I would say expect lots of things to still need to be sorted out after moving

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Depending what the issue was, Bromford were understanding and helpful. Bovis not so much

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More