About Bloor Homes

Bloor Homes has over  50 years experience in the UK residential. Bloor homes strives to put their homeowners at the heart of all decisions they make. In addition Bloor Homes try to always evolve their standards into Bloor Standards. As well as this the company make sure that buyers experience a distinctive quality.

Bloor Homes Developments

Fen Meadow, By Bloor Homes, lists on HomeViews. It sits in the village of Nursling, seven miles north-west of the Southampton. In addition the development offers 2, 3 & 4 bedroom houses.  As well as this Fen Meadow provides the best of both worlds being in rural setting and close to the city. Fen Meadows comprises of 326 homes in total, creating a new community hub.

Bloor Homes Reviews

You can read reviews from Bloor Homes residents on HomeViews. Also, if there’s a Bloor Homes property you can’t see on the site, click here to submit a new listing. As well as this, if you live in a Bloor Homes property, click here to leave your review. You could help someone considering your development find their next home.

Number of Developments

21

Ratings

4.08 Rating

Rating (based on 132 reviews)

Excellent

40.15%

Very Good

46.21%

Average

9.09%

Disappointing

2.27%

Very Poor

3.03%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 21 developments

Bloor Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 133 reviews

Disappointed with the quality of my new home

The development is probably the most expensive in the area, premium price for average quality.
When you have a walk to see the houses around, you straight away notice issues with with the gutters, down pipes, bricks, garage doors.
You wonder how the people occupying the houses haven’t noticed.
Even two of the three show homes had tiles missing from their roof for months.
The street name signs are attached to the ground with metal legs, some of those metal legs not even straight.
My whole experience is badly affected by the many problems I’m experiencing.
A few examples:
Multiple plumbing issues.
Issues with very expensive flooring.
Windows and window glass issues.
Issues with doors operation, being told what the problems are but taking months to sort.
Noisy squeaky floors upstairs.
Parts of items falling off.
Bricks literally crumbling, due to rain water getting into the many cracks in the many damaged bricks, and after a cold frosty night you can see in the morning half of the brick in the floor broken into pieces.
One external wall has developed a long crack in it.
I could be listing more problems, but a selection would do for illustrative purposes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very popular, mostly due to being close to the motorway.
At the moment it’s a busy and noisy building site with a lot of house foundation shaking. It feels like little earthquakes happening every time digger machines pass by.
It’s been muddy until recently, very poor street lighting.
When first moved in, for months it was pitch black at night.
Heavy lorry and contractors start working earlier in the mornings than they are supposed to, despite complaints from the residents.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how much frustration and disappointment I would feel when finding and experiencing the many problems found with my house. If I had known, at least it wouldn’t have been such a negative shock.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly for some issues, doing nothing at all for other issues.
And to add insult to injury, I had to hear some contractors and site management admitting, as if it was something funny, that the issues I’m having are due to people being lazy and not doing their job properly.
It clearly feels like there is no interest in sorting out the problems.
I’ve had to explain and demonstrate multiple times to multiple people and during different months, the same issues and problems, but nothing happening to sort some of the issues.
Some issues eventually dealt with, but half sorted, or the result not even an improvement at all on the original situation.
I’ve discovered that site management had my list of snags with many items ticked as done when they are still pending.
Site management don’t seem to think about the waste of energy, waste of time, waste of manpower that is involved in taking the wrong approach and ending up doing double job, triple job, for repairing and fixing afterwards what has been done wrong due to speed.
And in the process sacrificing the customer, causing major inconvenience to buyers who have to alter their routine and day job times in order to accommodate the work the contractors need to do to fix issues, and many times the contractors don’t even turn up at all or simply tell you that the work is too much or too difficult for the time they have and they have to re-schedule it for a future unknown date.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fantastic development, created by a top class developer!

Bloor Homes have done a fantastic job in creating a high quality, pleasant development that is in keeping with the housing style of Alcester and offers residents a fantastic place to live. Our house was built to an incredibly high standard with no major issues 8 months on and the few smaller issues we had were rectified within 7 days. The site is still under construction so this will need to be a consideration for anyone who wants to purchase a property here, since you must accept that there will be construction traffic going through the site on weekdays. Of course, as with any new development, you will be tied into service charges that are payable to the management company assigned by Bloor. Since Bloor have not handed over ownership to this assigned company as of yet, I will withhold judgement just yet but again, this is a consideration that needs to be made, as service levels are very varied on other developments and the fees charged can be increased with little option to fight them.
That aside, we are incredibly happy with our new home and the process of purchasing was made incredibly easy for us thanks to Bloor and their partners. All in all, Alcester Park is a great development and we are proud home owners in a wonderful part of the country.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Alcester is a fantastic place to live and the community feel is excellent. The development has been built to a very high standard and you have good access to local shops, schools, amenities and also excellent travel links. You are a 10-15 minute drive from Stratford Upon Avon and just 30 minutes from Birmingham.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The big thing for us, as first time buyers, was around mortgages, deeds and all the fine print that can often be missed. Their recommended mortgage broker was incredibly helpful and helped us out massively. The solicitor was OK but there were quite a few questions around the restrictive covenants and management fees that were initially skirted around. These are incredibly important to consider so make sure you are aware before signing so you avoid any nasty surprises!

What is the best feature of your home:

There is a lot of positive stuff to say about our property but the best feature for us is the fact it has been built incredibly well. The last thing you want is a property that is poorly built and you have multiple issues that need fixing but we haven’t had that. Our house is beautiful and while we haven’;t been without issues, these are very small issues that have resulted as the house settles and have been rectified straight away by Bloor!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy in our new abode at Hilltop Park

The building looks beautiful from the out side with Cotswolds stone and a huge drive that could easily accommodate 3 cars. I wasn’t keen on the landscaping at the front of the house as it was a lot of shrubs that looked very wilted. But the soil is full of clay so we have added to it to make it more receptive to plants and hopefully we will have a pretty array of shrubs next summer ! Our view looks out onto Hilltop Park which is lovely to wake up too ! I have already mentioned the litter and I’m hoping that once the contractors move on people will take pride on where they love and keep it tidy .

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are very lucky to live in a rural part of Wiltshire. The bad I’d say is there is a lot of litter on the estate and I’ve noticed a lot of contractors driving much to fast around the development. But we love the location which is close to local shops and pubs when they all eventually get up and running again ! The Park opposite our house is 70 acres and is due to open in September! To have that on our doorstep is a huge bonus. Our neighbours are lovely and everyone seems to get along. We are less than a 10 minute drive from the train station and 20 minutes from Bath ! The quality of the house build is fantastic and it looks lively to in Cotswold stone ! I was apprehensive about down sizing but we’ve made the right choice ! I would definitely recommend Bloor homes to anyone who is thinking of buying .

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything we did our research ! We aren’t unhappy with anything and feel we have made the right choice in home , developer and location

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All the snagging has been executed fairly quickly we had a small leak in the sink dealt with the same day. Odds and ends like the loft hatch sticking were sorted and the Site Agent Kennan has been great !

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manor farm fields

Pleasant development just off main road and surrounded by fields and countryside. Very nice and quiet tho somewhat spoiled by putting in footpaths which have become cut throughs and walk ways for dog walker’s leaving their bags of dog mess around the estate! Also talk of introducing a bus route which was never mentioned on purchase!? This estate does not need a bus route or dog mess!! Totally spoils the whole area. Also many people incapable of parking on their drives and block up the streets and pavements with their cars and vans!!! All houses have plenty of parking but certain residents continually park on the road!!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent area to live lovely local village approx 10 mins walk away. Large range of shops pubs and facilities etc

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Should have been told about proposed bus route and the amount of people/ dog walkers in the estate due to all the foot paths

What is the best feature of your home:

The location of my property is very good and the fittings in general are good when not faulty!

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More