About Bellway Homes

Bellway Homes is one of the largest housebuilders in the UK. Based in Newcastle, it operates up and down the country. Bellway creates new homes with three pillars underpinning every project – quality, service and trust. Read on for more information and verbatim Bellway Homes reviews.

Developments

You’ll find a selection of London developments by Bellway Homes on HomeViews, from E14’s waterfront Limehouse Basin to the glamorous The River Gardens in SE10. Look out for in-construction Bellway Homes developments on HomeViews to see what’s coming up, too.

This collection of one, two and three-bedroom apartments – including a handful of wheelchair accessible homes – will no doubt appeal to City and Canary Wharf workers, first-time buyers, and families looking to be a part of the picturesque community of Greenwich. The development stretches for 300 metres along the Thames and covers a 12-acre site, set within pristine landscaped gardens, with views across the City of London and Canary Wharf.” – Bellway Homes review by HomeViews Property Pro on The River Gardens.

Bellway Homes reviews

“Great location that over time will improve. A variety of transport links available and only a short trip to central London.” – Anonymous, verified resident at The Residence.

“The building management are always responding to me on time and even better the concierge, they’re friendly and we all get along. My neighbours are all professionals and never disturb us either.” – Julie, verified resident at Lansbury Square.

“The gardens here are well maintained, plenty of greenery and ponds that are great for the kids to play around in summer.” – Deepak, verified resident at City East at Barking Riverside.

So, to find out more – click on the developments below to read Bellway reviews from residents. Do you live in a Bellway Homes development? Leave a review here. If you can’t find a Bellway Homes development on HomeViews, click here to submit a new listing.

Number of Developments

34

Ratings

3.95 Rating

Rating (based on 424 reviews)

Excellent

25.47%

Very Good

49.76%

Average

20.05%

Disappointing

1.42%

Very Poor

3.30%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 34 developments

Bellway Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 424 reviews

2 year experience

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management

I have been in a Bellway home for 2 years now. I wanted to give them time to fully assess.
Sadly lacking unfortunately. Initially I would have said they were great but as time has gone on their customer service has been bad.

I have had to chase numerous times for repairs, follow repairs and repeated repairs due to not being resolved.
Having to constantly chase up on things is not acceptable.
There has been poor workmanship on various things in the home unfortunately.
On the estate generally, things have not been completed or ave been missed altogether compared to the site plans. Some things with no hope of being done now.

Cost cutting and corner cutting actions have left things not up to scratch. You can literally see where they have tried to penny pinch and not do something properly and to a standard around the site in general just to save their costs.
Dead trees not replaced. Pavements left holey with old posts still protruding.
Patches of land left barren and weed ridden. Cracked and sunken paving.

There have been issues with contractors on site and a mismanagement of parking requirements, Hgv access and parking issues. Poor planning of deliveries and the impact on residents. Littering by contractors terribly.

We took into account that this is a building site and allowances have to be made but it has been extreme and the lack of management and care to the residents unacceptable.

The estate is such a lovely estate that is has been a shame to see a lack of attention to detail in the finishings.

I unfortunately would not consider buying from Bellway again following my experience and would also really think about the idea of buying a new home from a large corporate building company like this in the future.
Profit is king above fulfulling actual plans and completing works to a high standard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location and area itself is lovely.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Speed and profit is more important than quality and attention to detail.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Apathy and slow until you have to escalate. Only taken seriously after numerous complaints and escalating and losing temper.

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent areas

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management

I was a looking for a one bedroom flat in a very specific area and had a few friends that were living here so decided to buy in one of the new phases. The sales team at Bellway Homes were very good, answered all my questions and the purchasing experience was very easy – however once the booking fee and contract were exchanged it deteriorated.

The flat I chose was listed as a disabled flat, I didn’t need a disabled space but liked that the bathroom was a more generous space but it didn’t come with a shower and the developer said they wouldn’t put one in – we went back and forth and eventually they did. Another example was requesting wooden floors instead of carpet and in the end I was allowed but had to pay a lot more. The kitchen was standard and I wanted white and a few small tiny things changed but they wouldn’t allow this.

The timeline was as promised and the after sales lady from Bellway Homes was lovely and handled everything well and quickly as well as explaining how everything worked. We had two small issues when we moved in – the first was that the extractor in the bathroom was really noisy and the second was a leak from the sink, both were quickly fixed.

After the initial move in the management was handed over to a company called Ringleys. They have promised lots of things that they haven’t done, the main one being CCTV cameras which the residents wanted as mail was going missing and this hasn’t been delivered. From speaking to other people there seems to be no good management companies in the UK. When the service charges were due to be paid and people then looked into what was promised and what was delivered there were lots of complaints. I actually don’t think they are too bad as they cut the grass, clean the windows and the inside of the buildings. They do a decent job for what we pay. If something needs fixing owners expect it to be done immediately but it does get done even if it takes a while. The main issues are the lack of cctv, issues with parcels and where they can be stored and garbage getting left out. We don’t have a concierge service.

My flat was delivered as promised and as advertised, no issues and everything covered by warranty. The wow factor for me and the biggest reason we bought was the open plan kitchen which makes the living area seem so much bigger. The reason we bought new build was because the bedrooms and storage is so much better and bigger than older houses.

We have no issues with noise and the walls are well insulated – we have an owners group and we communicate well and let each other know if we are planning to have a party or anything going on but even with the doors closed you can’t hear anything. There is a decent community here and dominated by South East Asians and Eastern Europeans, we all get along and help each other out when we need something. There seems to be a lot of people like us – younger generation of first time home buyers who have put all their savings down to buy.

If we move it will be to get more space as we are in a one bed flat and I would look to buy within the development but I would prefer to buy through another developer. I believe there is no perfect developer and would now be mentally prepared for the process of buying. I have been looking in Uxbridge and would now read reviews of what other residents are saying before I buy again.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is very little around but it is a good commuter town as we can get to London in 20 minutes and most people I know working in London. There are a few restaurants and pubs and it ticks all the boxes but there are not a wide group of things here. One big incident was when the Sainsbury cash machine was bombed to get the money but bar that incident it is a safe area. There are kids and teenagers loitering around which some residents complain about but I think it is just kids being kids and not a big issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish to have known That the crossrail is delayed.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amenities in the area are great

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management

I moved here for the location and the nearby amenities. The building inside is really spacious and modern for a place in south west London, it is a really nice flat to live in. However I was previously living in an ex-council house and the rooms are smaller than an older house however it comes with lots of modern amenities and we have two bathrooms for a 2 bedroom flat. I like the open plan layout to the living area, the balcony area and the flat the doors open out onto it. The kitchen is great with built in fridge and freezer and the bathrooms are both of great quality with great finish. The flat is really energy efficient and we have not had the heating on in a year but in the summer it is like a greenhouse or a sauna as it gets so hot.

There are no facilities such as a gym or garden but I don’t think they are needed. We pay good value for money in our rent but there are three of us sharing a two bedroom flat. It would be helpful to have a concierge or at least a better mail system, the letterboxes are tiny so loads of packages just get dumped in the main hallway. There is also no parking and that would be great to have.

We have had no issue with anything going wrong in the building, we have had a problem with our boiler but the landlord got that sorted pretty quickly.

The biggest issue is the noise. You can hear the noise from the flats above/below and to the sides as well as the traffic on the street side and the train noise on the other side of the flat. The walkway to the flats is also right by the bedrooms so anyone walking to approach the flat goes past your window.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is a great area and location and the reason I chose my flat was because I wanted better transport links and I am now 2 minutes from the tube and 10 mins from Stockwell with the Victoria line. We are right on the High Street which has loads going on though it can get quite noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be aware of the mail delivery issues, if you are having something delivered of value you would want to be home to collect it or take time off work. Also be aware of the noise.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management

I bought in Hale Village 4 years ago before the building had been completed and moved into my flat a year later. At the time of buying the London property market was booming and we were finding it impossible to find a place. We were looking at lots of different options and not much choice as we wanted to be within Tottenham. We learnt about Hale Village as they were still building the final building and we queued overnight on the Friday so that we could secure a flat, some people had camped out for 3 nights.

My experience of buying with Bellway was fine. We had to wait one year whilst the building was being completed and they kept us updated. We could view the flat 2 weeks before we moved in and an opportunity to spot anything that needed doing. They then staggered the move in dates so we moved in in batches. We had a few small issues but these were sorted out. The management company has been good – for the first 2 years any issues were covered by Bellway and since then I haven’t really had to go to the management for anything. They clean the buildings and everything is looked after very well. There is a concierge for the village at the front gate but I don’t have much cause to speak to them and everything is always well looked after.

My flat is 2 bed and 2 bathroom, the second bathroom is a definite plus. The flat feels very modern and spacious and as we are on a corner there is light from two sides. The communal gardens are entered via a coded gate and are between two buildings. They always look well kept and are nice to look at.

I feel very secure within my development though Tottenham as a whole is not always considered as the safest area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We wanted to buy here because of the amazing transport links and how close it is to get to the Victoria line and the train to Liverpool Street. You also have the wetlands and Lee Valley a step from the development and it is great to have such great open spaces that make you feel like you are out of London.
It takes 20 minutes to get into town door to door are there are some great cycling routes and the lee river for running. The area is lacking some shops and restaurants which would be good with the new developments being built nearby rather than having to go elsewhere.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is no parking permit if you live in the developments – we have a car parking space but with the new developments being built there is less and less available to get and you are not allowed to apply to the council for a permit.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More