Hillingdon

If you are looking to buy a home in London, the Borough of Hillingdon may be the perfect place for you. Located in west London, Hillingdon is a large borough that encompasses urban, suburban and rural areas. There are plenty of things to do in Hillingdon, and it is home to several universities and top schools. The population of Hillingdon is diverse, making it a great place to live if you want to experience different cultures. Let’s take a closer look at this fascinating borough!

4.61
Average Location Score

Excellent

59%

Very Good

37%

Average

2%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

2%

Best places to live in Hillingdon

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Where is Hillingdon?

The Borough of Hillingdon is located in west London, just outside of the city centre. It is a large borough that encompasses urban, suburban and rural areas.

Areas in Hillingdon

Hillingdon is a diverse borough with something to offer everyone. There are several towns and villages in Hillingdon, including:

Hillingdon – The borough is named after its main town, Hillingdon. This large town has a population of over 60,000 and is home to Brunel University.

Uxbridge – The largest town in Hillingdon, Uxbridge has a population of over 20,000. It is home to Brunel University and many shops and restaurants. It is also home to the Hillingdon Hospital and RAF Uxbridge.

Cowley – A small village with only around 800 residents, Cowley is popular with commuters because it’s just 14 miles from London Charing Cross station!

Ruislip – This area has plenty of open spaces, including Ruislip Common and Yeading Brook Meadows. It’s a great place for families to live as it is close to many schools and public transport links.

Ickenham – If you love the outdoors, Ickenham is perfect for you. It has plenty of green spaces and a lovely village atmosphere, making it a popular choice for those who want to live in the suburbs.

Universities in Hillingdon

There are several universities located in Hillingdon, including:

Brunel University – This university specialises in engineering and business studies. It has around 12,000 students from over 100 countries!

University of West London – The University of West London is based in Ealing and has about 14,500 students studying there. They offer a range of courses including law, nursing & midwifery and education, to name just a few.

Top Schools in Hillingdon

Hillingdon is a great place to raise a family, with several top schools located there. Here are some of the best:

Foxhill School – This school has been given an ‘Outstanding’ rating by Ofsted and is perfect for children aged 11-18. It offers GCSEs and A-Levels and prides itself on its excellent pastoral care.

Hillingdon School – This secondary school has also been given an ‘Outstanding’ rating by Ofsted and is perfect for children aged 11-18. It offers GCSEs and A-Levels, as well as the International Baccalaureate.

The Wellington School – This school is perfect for children aged 11-18 and has been given an ‘Outstanding’ rating by Ofsted. It offers GCSEs, A-Levels and the International Baccalaureate, as well as a range of vocational courses.

Queen Mary’s Grammar School – This grammar school is perfect for children aged 11-18 and has been given an ‘Outstanding’ rating by Ofsted. It offers GCSEs, A-Levels and the International Baccalaureate.

Population of Hillingdon

The population of Hillingdon is estimated to be around 230,000 people. The borough is made up of a number of different areas, each with its own unique characteristics.

 

Reviews in Hillingdon

Write a Review

Pinnpoint us a great landlord with new look buildings thst are secured, modern, well lit, and convenient

Review Date Sep 2022

good: convenient to travel to town snd tube station. Management comminicates fadt and effectively if you have a question. Pinnpoint is very secured.

Bad: Noise level bear development site can be frudtrating when working from home. There is a lot of restrictions on what you can not do for wall decors. Management needs to control twnsnts who smoke.

Please review your development:

overall, Pinnpoint us a great landlord with new look buildings thst are secured, modern, well lit, and convenient. The agents are easy to vomminicate and friendly. There are restrictions however that i don’t feel would be necessary such as wall decorations-no holes, high cist if parking in garage, no shoes policy outside the flat door

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

that there will ve long term construction atound the property

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

yes, either redirecting me to a source or directly

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great team of property management

Review Date Jun 2022

The area is quiet and safe and really good for the small family with young kids like us.

Please review your development:

The balcony door can add a door stopper that not closing automatically.
Maybe balcony door can design better like sliding door. Or not opening on the side so have better ventilation in summer.

The facing of the sunlight
We have too much sunlight in the room in the morning and less sunlight in the living room. Hope you can consider the Sun facing side to arrange the bedrooms and living room in the future planning.

The Leasing and Customer Service Associate, Chandni Gill and her team is so helpful in all aspect. They help me to rent a house smoothly and provide instant help to us. They are the asset of the property management

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good to live in a corporate landlord management property

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes so far
They are willing to help and responsive

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Disappointed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Near a town, with a good shopping facilities. Station 10mons walk.
45mins to central London.
NO PARKING AVAILABLE FOR VISITORS. Still don’t understand why?
People smoking weed and drinking alcohol in underground garage as gates never function as they should.

Please review your development:

Me and my husband have bought a flat from St Modwen back in December 2020.
So it has been almost a year since us moving in.
Long story short, once you complete your post purchase review they are no longer interested. We still have a number of snags which await fixing since we moved in. No dates for it to be done.
Dozens of emails sent, either no reply or no action taken to actually organise it being fixed.
Basically, no customer service post purchase, they are not interested once they get your money and the review.
We’ve just received a second review request, we’re definitely going to put what we think in that one.
Snags outstanding: cracked tiles in the bathroom, bathroom fixtures misaligned when installed, tiling under the sink in the bathroom done unprofessionally with massive gaps between the sink and the wall, flat door lock misaligned hence it doesn’t lock properly, balcony window eaten out by some sort of acid that needs to be repainted (told it was dirt, however it doesn’t clean up, tried by multiple people) it needs to be repainted, leek from the pipes in the garage, leeks coming from walls (unknown where from, as even the developer apparently doesn’t have a clue). Underground garage gates never work, security doors for the block dies too often, meaning anyone can get inside, we had 5 bicycles stolen from bicycles store which is supposed to be secure within a couple of months from moving in, of course security door has not been working, as a new built I would have thought that it’s supposed to be in the top condition and not have everything breaking all the time.
And it seems like the more time we spend here the more faults we find.
The managing agents are appalling, charge outrageous amounts of money for unknown what, no requests for receipts met.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Post purchase customer service, which is non existent.
Daily charge for heating and hot water which is £1.00 a day. That’s £365 a year just for having heating and hot water plus your usage on top.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

By not even bothering to reply.
After you buy and they get their money they are no longer interested.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Would never buy with St Modwen again

Review Date Oct 2021

Location is good, 10min walk to nearest train station and shopping centre very nearby as well.
Bin collection has been very temperamental and we have been left with overflowing bins for weeks at times.
Parking availability is poor as there are no visitor parking spaces at all on the development

Please review your development:

The external design of the development appears to be great, very modern looking and great curb appeal. However that is where my positive feedback ends.
Building and property management has been diabolical, we have been left with damp walls, damp ceilings, water leakage through the ceilings and window seals. This was first reported when we first moved in almost a year ago and has still not been rectified by St Modwen. My messages are ignored every week, I have taken days off work for these to be repaired and nobody turns up to fix these issues. The design of the balcony drainage is awful, this is causing the leaking water in our apartment, we were told this would be investigated 2 months ago and still nothing has been done.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about all of the issues that we would have experienced in the apartment and the poor customer service that myself and all the other residents have received.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The response has been awful. We had a list of over 20 issues with our apartment when we first moved in as is it was simply not liveable. Small issues were fixed straight away but almost a year later we have had no resolve to the major issues with our flat such as leakages and damp. My messages are either ignored, or days are promised for works to be carried out with no one turning up. I first complained about the damp in November 2020 – still not resolved. I have since complained about 2 more leakages since then back in June 2021, still no resolution once again.

1
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Discover surrounding areas